Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2009
Marianne Berkes introduces the arctic habitat and its animals in a fun sing-song format that will engage babes in arms, young readers, AND their adult caregivers. In addition to learning about the arctic, kids can practice counting skills and learn about the ways we name baby animals. (Did you know that baby rabbits are called leverets?) The end of the book provides a special treat as we learn that each page hides another arctic species, which parent and child can seek together. Content pages complete the book with information about the arctic tundra and about all 20 animal species featured. There are also pictures of the author and illustrator along with activities suggested by each to help young readers experience science and art first hand. The illustrations are beautiful - with surprisingly vibrant colors for a world of arctic white. Reviewed by Kelley Weitzel, author of Journeys with Florida's Indians and The Timucua Indians - A Native American Detective Story.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2009
Well, Marianne Berkes did it again! If you have enjoyed her other "Over in the" books (Rainforest, Ocean) you will love this too. The author has included so many facts about the Arctic and its animals, both in the rhyme and in the back of the book. For younger children this is a super counting and searching book. Each page offers a number of things to count. This book also provides a well rounded introduction to the Arctic. Older kids will enjoy learning new words for baby animals as well as being introduced to some lesser known animals (arctic hare, wolverine). This book can be used as a springboard for several research projects including migration, camouflage, change of seasons in extreme locations, adaptation and, of course, the animals and the arctic as a whole. The cut paper illustrations are beautiful and lend a softness to an otherwise harsh environment. I will use this book when I plan collaborative teaching units about ecosystems with the classroom teacher. The kids will love it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
Every teacher needs this book. It's not just for young grades who are learning to count, but for older grades who are learning about organisms, habitats, and the animal kingdom!! It is so chalk full of information! The opportunities to use it in the classroom abound! The illustrations are amazing! The song is wonderful, and easy for children to learn, not to mention that it is a melody that many children already know. The best buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
Over in the Arctic by Marianne Berkes is a delightful addition to my collection of polar books. The rhyming verse and 1-10 counting are perfect for the age I teach. The soft illustrations by Jill Dubin are inviting and soothing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2008
"Over in the Arctic Where the Cold Winds Blow" is an enchanting children's work showing and counting arctic creatures in lyrics set to the familiar tune, "Over in the Meadow." The beautiful cut paper full color illustrations contain little hidden secret creatures on each two page spread, in addition to the 10 theme creatures. To maximize its impact as a teaching tool, "Over in the Arctic" contains additional information about the Arctic tundra, hidden Arctic animals in the illustrations, and tips from the author and the illustrator. "Over in the Arctic" is a beautiful and informative children's book for ages 3-8 that uses multifaceted learning approaches, adaptable to many levels.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
The book itself is great, but it does not work well on the kindle reader on my laptop.

The teacher resources in the back are written in such small font that they are unreadable. Because it is so small, the "double click to enlarge text" feature doesn't work because the text is so small that it doesn't register as text! As an education major writing a unit plan on the arctic, helpful lesson ideas would have been a huge asset, but now they are null and void.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
Great graphics with hidden pictures and singable text makes this book excellent for read alouds and for learning with primary grade children. The students in my class love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
This is a fun story to read. It is written in rhyme which makes it fun to read because it has a wonderful flow to it. I also believe it helps children how to create rhymes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I would love to be able to read this book to my students, but it will not work on the Ipad or Mac Kindle Readers. The Supported Device list is not correct and is contradicted in additional notes on the listing.

I have the paper version of this book, I bought it years ago and it is tattered. For this reason, I want a new copy and I now use an Ipad for most of my books. It's easier and more convenient for me.

I feel obligated to share this review of the format of this book because I would not want someone else to buy the digital version and it fail on them, especially if they are excited about sharing the story with their children or grand children.

Dear Author / Publisher - Please advise us when the updated digital version is available.
55 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
Very nice book. My daughter loves the pictures and the rhythm of the words. This will be one that we will enjoy for a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse