Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the series
Marianne Berkes introduces the arctic habitat and its animals in a fun sing-song format that will engage babes in arms, young readers, AND their adult caregivers. In addition to learning about the arctic, kids can practice counting skills and learn about the ways we name baby animals. (Did you know that baby rabbits are called leverets?) The end of the book provides a...
Published on January 31, 2009 by K. MacCabe

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Text is too small
The book itself is great, but it does not work well on the kindle reader on my laptop.

The teacher resources in the back are written in such small font that they are unreadable. Because it is so small, the "double click to enlarge text" feature doesn't work because the text is so small that it doesn't register as text! As an education major writing a...
Published 7 months ago by Julia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the series, January 31, 2009
This review is from: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Paperback)
Marianne Berkes introduces the arctic habitat and its animals in a fun sing-song format that will engage babes in arms, young readers, AND their adult caregivers. In addition to learning about the arctic, kids can practice counting skills and learn about the ways we name baby animals. (Did you know that baby rabbits are called leverets?) The end of the book provides a special treat as we learn that each page hides another arctic species, which parent and child can seek together. Content pages complete the book with information about the arctic tundra and about all 20 animal species featured. There are also pictures of the author and illustrator along with activities suggested by each to help young readers experience science and art first hand. The illustrations are beautiful - with surprisingly vibrant colors for a world of arctic white. Reviewed by Kelley Weitzel, author of Journeys with Florida's Indians and The Timucua Indians - A Native American Detective Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She did it again!, May 6, 2009
This review is from: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Paperback)
Well, Marianne Berkes did it again! If you have enjoyed her other "Over in the" books (Rainforest, Ocean) you will love this too. The author has included so many facts about the Arctic and its animals, both in the rhyme and in the back of the book. For younger children this is a super counting and searching book. Each page offers a number of things to count. This book also provides a well rounded introduction to the Arctic. Older kids will enjoy learning new words for baby animals as well as being introduced to some lesser known animals (arctic hare, wolverine). This book can be used as a springboard for several research projects including migration, camouflage, change of seasons in extreme locations, adaptation and, of course, the animals and the arctic as a whole. The cut paper illustrations are beautiful and lend a softness to an otherwise harsh environment. I will use this book when I plan collaborative teaching units about ecosystems with the classroom teacher. The kids will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and informative children's book for ages 3-8, October 11, 2008
This review is from: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Paperback)
"Over in the Arctic Where the Cold Winds Blow" is an enchanting children's work showing and counting arctic creatures in lyrics set to the familiar tune, "Over in the Meadow." The beautiful cut paper full color illustrations contain little hidden secret creatures on each two page spread, in addition to the 10 theme creatures. To maximize its impact as a teaching tool, "Over in the Arctic" contains additional information about the Arctic tundra, hidden Arctic animals in the illustrations, and tips from the author and the illustrator. "Over in the Arctic" is a beautiful and informative children's book for ages 3-8 that uses multifaceted learning approaches, adaptable to many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Sharing Nature with Children Books), August 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Paperback)
This is a fun story to read. It is written in rhyme which makes it fun to read because it has a wonderful flow to it. I also believe it helps children how to create rhymes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars over in the artic, March 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very nice book. My daughter loves the pictures and the rhythm of the words. This will be one that we will enjoy for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for reading aloud, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Paperback)
Great graphics with hidden pictures and singable text makes this book excellent for read alouds and for learning with primary grade children. The students in my class love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow (Paperback)
Used as an intro to an art lesson. Good book. I can't believe they require a minimum amount of words. Crazy. They want an opinion and then ask for so many words. What are they nuts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Text is too small, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book itself is great, but it does not work well on the kindle reader on my laptop.

The teacher resources in the back are written in such small font that they are unreadable. Because it is so small, the "double click to enlarge text" feature doesn't work because the text is so small that it doesn't register as text! As an education major writing a unit plan on the arctic, helpful lesson ideas would have been a huge asset, but now they are null and void.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WON'T WORK on Kindle IPad or Kindle Mac, February 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would love to be able to read this book to my students, but it will not work on the Ipad or Mac Kindle Readers. The Supported Device list is not correct and is contradicted in additional notes on the listing.

I have the paper version of this book, I bought it years ago and it is tattered. For this reason, I want a new copy and I now use an Ipad for most of my books. It's easier and more convenient for me.

I feel obligated to share this review of the format of this book because I would not want someone else to buy the digital version and it fail on them, especially if they are excited about sharing the story with their children or grand children.

Dear Author / Publisher - Please advise us when the updated digital version is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars faulty - cannot read with kindle app on iPad or kindle cloud reader, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just purchased this book...downloaded it but other than the book cover, i cannot see anything...very disappointed...Amazon, pls fix this ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow
Over in the Arctic: Where the Cold Winds Blow by Marianne Collins Berkes (Paperback - September 1, 2008)
$8.95 $8.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.