Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Band Smokes!
Yeah! Lee has really come across full strength with this DVD. The sound is excellent, crisp and clear with a nice 5.1 sound mix. He has some of the best musicians on the planet playing at these gigs. Harvey Mason is mind-blowing on the drums and with Anthony Jackson's pumping bass and Alex Acuna's percussion it is one of the stongest and tightest rhythm sections I have...
Published on July 9, 2005 by Russ Bellinger

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Concert for the Band Less the Fans
Good Music - Lame show

This is a concert for Ritenour's ardent fans only. The music is good, but there really isn't much worth seeing. A CD would provide compareable results.

The performance is essentially a concert for the band, not the fan. Great muciscians with a good grove, but little else. It looks as if they crowded into a sound stage,...
Published on May 9, 2007 by Michael C. Lott


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Band Smokes!, July 9, 2005
By 
Russ Bellinger (Northville, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
Yeah! Lee has really come across full strength with this DVD. The sound is excellent, crisp and clear with a nice 5.1 sound mix. He has some of the best musicians on the planet playing at these gigs. Harvey Mason is mind-blowing on the drums and with Anthony Jackson's pumping bass and Alex Acuna's percussion it is one of the stongest and tightest rhythm sections I have ever heard. The vocalists were also amazing. Loved hearing them do Captain Fingers - Absolutely incredible! Lee's guitar playing really burns it up. This is essential music for anyone who truly loves great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of one of the BEST, April 17, 2006
By 
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
I first heard Lee Ritenour when I started listening to Fourplay. Before then, I didn't really listen to much jazz. A friend got me hooked on Pat Metheny, and it all started there.

This DVD is an important contribution to any jazz fan's collection. It spans Ritenour's career from the 70s to now, and it does it by featuring not only the music but also the people he played with. And the atmosphere is not what I thought it would be: rather than a "this is Lee Ritenour, and these are the people who I have decided to allow to play with me on this project," it was "these people are good in their own right: I brought them here to celebrate history, and to make a little as well." The DVD is also NOT an extended guitar solo. It is very much Lee Ritenour and Friends.

The interaction between artists in this setting is amazing to watch. The fact that they can all improvise so well, and stay close to the theme of the piece, and bring everything back together when it's time says a LOT for the quality of the musicians that Ritenour assembled for this project. Dave Grusin, Ernie Watts, Patrice Rushen, Anthony Jackson and more - these are not just studio musicians hired to make one man look good. The whole in this case is indeed greater than the sum of it's parts.

Some standout moments on the DVD:

* A set featuring the Brazilian music of Ivan Lins, including "Harlequin."

* Ritenour's hand-punishing "Captain Fingers."

* My personal favorite: A rendition of Miles Davis' "Blue in Green." When I was 10, I used to listen to an AM station in Washington DC that played jazz every Friday and Saturday night from about midnight to six in the morning. This song reminded me a LOT of the songs I used to listen to with that transistor radio under my pillow.

The interviews that are included add a lot to the historical value of the DVD set. This can't be stressed enough - this is a DVD that has some long-term value to people who are serious fans of jazz, because of the way it covers a 30-year span of time. It's also a great collection for someone whose jazz collection is looking a bit thin, because right here you can see and hear some great talent.

It's clear that after 30 years of playing jazz, Lee Ritenour hasn't lost a step. This collection proves it, and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sonic Masterpiece!, June 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Overtime [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have to admit that Lee Ritenour has never been my absolute favorite jazz guitarist but he's always been good enough to hold a decent amount of respect in my book. Well this Blu Ray raises that admiration several notches.

The audio quality on the DTS HD is absolutely stunning. If you have a good system this is among the best HD audio you can find. Completely blown away from song one.

This is set in a very intimate setting with no more than 50 or so in the audience. More of a private / studio setting. Lee surrounds himself with some of the biggest names in jazz along with a few newcomers. They play some older standards along with some of Lee's more well known work. The results are fantastic. Some outstanding musicianship. First class all the way.

If you consider you self even a modest audiophile this is a MUST have for your collection. Even if it's not your favorite musical genre you will be very happy.

The production / mixing / mastering on this disc is among the best I have heard. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagerly awaited and not disappointed !!!!, June 30, 2005
By 
G. Bates (Rockford, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
I pre-ordered the DVD from Amazon (don't normally do this) since I am a huge Lee Ritenour fan and have been waiting for the US release of this for many months. It arrived yesterday and when I got home from work, popped it in and went through both discs. Although the Amazon review is fair, the reviews to date fail to mention that the DVDs contain a number of mini-interviews. I enjoyed these mini-interviews with most of the artists with particular interest in Rit's comments. Despite his critics, I have enjoyed listening to all of Ritenour's music and admiring his career. The CD covers most of his hits or well known songs. Particularly interesting are the new artists Ritenour always seems to introduce to his audience. Kenya Hathaway and Grady Harrell are 2 vocalists that Lee has performing songs like "Is It You?" and "Papa Was a Rolling Stone" (maybe my favorite track). Kenya also performs who original song "Possibilities."

The guest/supporting artists are legendary studio musicians and the sound quality is real treat (if you have the requisite system)!!!! Basically, this is pop/jazz instrumental audiophile dream. Even if you are not lee Ritneour fan, this project should still capture your attention given the other contributing artists' performances.

All in All, a real gem!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Quality, June 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Overtime [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everybody knows about this guy. I just want to say this Blu-ray has the best sound and video quality that you heard and seen before.
If you don't have a top level audio system, please try this Blu-ray for one time in a high quality media room with a dts- HD system. I promise you love it.
Also you can listen to this songs in stereo mode with a fantastic quality.
This Blu-ray included 11 tracks and some interview plus 4 beautiful songs from Lee Ritenour at Montreux Jazz Festival 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 stars for this magnificient Blu ray update, August 12, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Overtime [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Although this Blu ray was released in June of 2012, the studio session was recorded in 2004 and released in various formats in 2005. Added to this release is a 1080i video resolution which is extremely good and a magnificent audio conversion in DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1. You also have a choice of an equally good lossless PCM stereo track for those who prefer just 2 channels or only have that capability. Both are demo grade.

The studio session was recorded at Enterprise Studios in Burbank with a small audience consisting of friends and family of the musicians and the production staff from what I could tell. The 2 ˝ hour recording was set up in a circle with jazz guitarist Ritenour in the center. The musicians come and go depending on the music. Ritenour set this up in 4 sections which loosely follow his career. The music moves from acoustic jazz to Brazilian to fusion to the more recent "smooth" jazz. The later features singer Kenya Hathaway, daughter of Donny. It is all relaxed and it is all good.

Sprinkled throughout are some brief interviews with members of the band and Ritenour. They are short and because of the set up don't interfere much with the music. To justify this new release, a 4 song, 25 minute set from the 2011 Montreux Jazz Festival is included which besides Lee has Dave Grusin and Melvin Davis (both also on the studio set) and drummer Sonny Emory who for some reason was left off the credits.

In the studio session, Ritenour uses 16 or 17 different musicians. Some he's worked with for decades, others are fresh young talent. Check out "Papa Was a Rolling Stone" featuring trumpeter Chris Botti for a special take on this old Temptations song. This is a masterful recording equal to the great jazz musicians who do the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rit's Best, June 27, 2005
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
Anyone who plays guitar or follows the music business is probably familiar with the technique and diversity of this prolific and exceptionally gifted musician, arranger and producer. Lee Ritenour's "Overtime", the long awaited DVD spans his career and

covers the best of the best. The sound quality and dolby digital 5.1 surround sound really make you feel like you are there watching and feeling the interaction of the musicians. Long familiar with eachother, the musicians play so well together it takes on an almost telepathic connectedness. The cheerful Ritenour, spins fresh and exuberant versions from his vast arsenal of music across different genres: acoustic, jazz, funk etc., and his fretwork seems to just be getting better, if that is even imaginable. Some musicians love playing music for its own sake and Ritenour is certaintly one of those people. Thanks, Lee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, still watching after all these months, April 18, 2006
By 
21and12 "21and12" (Vestavia Hills, AL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
I was one of the first to review the Overtime CD, but I have yet to review the DVD. I won't rehash what has already been written, but will try to offer unique insights and/or elaborate on those already made.

I have picked up on a few things, such as:

1. Ritenour the conductor.

2. Ritenour the exemplary studio musician.

3. Ritenour, the smiling, jamming, let's have some fun jazz guitarist.

As far as Ritenour the conductor, it's interesting to watch him cue the other musicians either with a nod of the head, a quick hand movement or even a wink. The man has an idea and he's making sure everyone else is aware of it. During "Dinorah Dinorah" was Anthony Jackson messing with Rit when after being cued he simply sits there and does nothing for a couple of seconds?!

As far as Ritenour the studio guitarist, who can walk away from this DVD without realizing why Rit in the 70s was worth every penny he earned as a triple scale studio guitarist, earning $600 per hour - and this in the 70s! He simply makes everyone else sound good, especially vocalists.

As far as Ritenour, the smiling, jamming, let's have some fun jazz guitarist - he simply does everything with a smile. In this sense, unlike with Rit, it's much easier to listen to a guitarist like Pat Metheny than it is to watch him. I believe this may be one reason why Rit has everyone fooled - he makes it look too dang easy! He rarely even looks at his fingers on the fretboard.

I think the one song, for me, which encapsulates the whole project is the song "13." Not just wow, but double wow!

So sit back and enjoy. They all just want you to have some fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overtime DVD, August 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
A most excellent double DVD ... recorded in Hi-Definition and the sound quality is superb! The musicians and their performances are great but I have one major complaint... after just about every song there is an interview with one or more of the musicians. The continuity of the performance is disturbed by this IMO and the interviews, while entertaining in their own right, would be better placed as a DVD extra. Regardless, I do not regret purchasing the Overtime DVD and recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Musicianship as usual!!!, September 28, 2005
By 
B. Rowe (Charleston SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lee Ritenour - Overtime (DVD)
Lee Ritenour and his stable of monster musicians have created one of the best musical atmospheres I've ever enjoyed on this concert DVD! If you're a fan of "smooth jazz", you are in for a treat with this one. On this DVD, Lee and company share many years of creativity. We are treated to some of his greatest work. And the musicians... Anthony Jackson and Melvin Lee Davis on the bass, Patrice Rushen and Dave Grusin on piano, Harvey Mason and Oscar Seaton on the drums - man, it just doesn't get any better. Something the "ad" fails to mention is the many "mini interviews" conducted with the players. These were simply fantastic. From a guitarists point of view, you can see the vast array of equipment Lee uses as well. It's interesting to me how his backline of gear is probably worth nearly as much as both of my vehicles... If not more! Buy this DVD, you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Overtime [Blu-ray]
Overtime [Blu-ray] by Lee Ritenour (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.98 $18.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.