Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$17.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 24, 2007
This Atlas is beautiful. It has a combination of a variety full-color maps (some of which are interesting, low-angle images), satellite images, and color photographs of the many different regions and climates of the Biblical lands. The narrative is a helpful chronology of the major events of the Bible--including the "inter-testamental era--and concludes with an examination of the role of archaeology. There are also separate two-page snapshots of key archaeological discoveries. This atlas has everything I was hoping to get when I ordered it.
0Comment35 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2010
The best Bible atlas I've seen.
The maps are detailed and easy to read.
The text tells the Bible history that occured during the time each map depicts.
All the pages listed in the place index have the same map coordinates, making it easy to locate a city.
The color pictures are excellent and the page paper is thick.
I used this atlas in seminary and found it very useful, although
this 4th edition is far superior to the prior editon I used.
This is a Bible atlas worth owning.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
This Atlas was disappointing, first because the print is too tiny to read, and when you pinch to zoom in, it all becomes blurred. Secondly, the maps themselves provide little detailed information. On my device the map appears on one side of what is mainly a blank page. There was plenty of room for labels, but none were given. The Roman numeral labels are explained in narratives several pages away, with no links to take you back to the map. For example, the map for the period of Joshua and Judges could have labels, showing where Deborah fought Sisera, where Gideon tested his men by watching how they drank water, and where Samson fought the Philistines. Instead you are only given the general divisions of the 12 tribes, and impossible-to-read city names. I wish there was a map of the Jezreel Valley, and the surrounding hills, labeling Mt. Carmel, Gilboa etc. so the reader can see the significance of that area. There should be a map highlighting the distance from Bozrah to Armageddon, one of the Sea of Galilee making the major points of the Lord's ministry. None of these are offered.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2010
The main attraction here is the books collection of full-color maps and photos, which add a powerful new view of the biblical world. I would have liked to see more political maps, perhaps even a few maps speculating on the positions of armies during different battles. The writing that accompanies the text is straightforward, though it doesn't coordinate well with the maps. This atlas would have been better if it used archaeological data to sparse evidence over various claims about ancient sites and events, rather than offer a cursory view of biblical history.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2010
A Bible atlas is essential for any student of Scripture. While there are numerous such books available, the Oxford Bible Atlas is superb for the price. The atlas is full of information and photos of outstanding quality. This atlas is a perfect option for those looking to purchase an excellent resource without having to break the bank.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2010
Although have studied the Bible in various settings, I am currently doing a 34 week study that will have covered about 70% of the Bible when completed. We are currently in the Old Testament and having maps that are specific to not only regions but time periods makes it easier to follow the familiar history for better understanding. More that just maps also includes historical perspective type info and time line info. Very helpful to me as an analytical type reader with a bent toward history.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2010
For those of us interested in biblical history and the latest archeological perspective, this Atlas is the best source of illustrated information. Use it with the bible and you get a real insight into the history of the holy land. Recommended for all -- whether you are religious or just interested in world history.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
I looked at the sample on my kindle touch. the maps are unreadable. While they can beexpanded - its only 1 step. Using the "pinch" method increases only the type face, not ithe pictures. i did not purchase - I understand this is alimitation of the format. Honestly I do wonder if Amazon has anyone that actually LOOKS at these books with the various devices.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
I bought this Kindle version of the Oxford Bible Atlas because I am a frequent user of the hard copy, and I wanted to have a more portable edition. So, my negative review of this product does not have to do with the quality of the Oxford Bible Atlas itself, which I think is an excellent resource. Instead, it specifically concerns the Kindle version.

The Kindle version of this book is very disappointing for one reason: you can't see the maps! In the hard copy, the maps themselves are given either one or two full pages. But in the Kindle edition they are treated as 'illustrations' by the software, and so are minimized in the presentation of the book's contents. I tried every different display setting to get them to be large enough to read, but they remain impossible to use. This is very disappointing, as the maps constitute the most important part of this book's contents. I've had great success with Kindle editions of books with normal presentation styles, but Amazon has yet to work out how they will digitally present the content of books with full page illustrations, etc. I think there should be an option to zoom in on images/illustrations, or to enlarge them in a separate window.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
Just not what I expected - I wanted more information available - I was more interested in maps and less interested in the extended content about a limited numer of places - I found that information informative and enjoyed the reading but am looking for an atlas that better suits my needs.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse