Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2007
Don't let "Oxford" scare you. Although amazingly researched and documented, the book is written for everyone who has eaten a twinkie to a

buche du noel.

Amazing history lessons on everything you like or dislike to eat.

As a native marylander, i was happy to learn the derivation of "stuffed ham"

A great gift for anyone who eats.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2007
It's hard to put down - you can just open up to any page and find something interesting about food in American history - and drink too, of course. The foodie will absolutely adore having this book on their shelf! The illustrations and the historical images throughout are very interesting. The quality of the writing is excellent - I wouldn't expect anything less from Oxford. I'll be putting this right alongside my Oxford Companion to Wine!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
Anyone who is interested in both food and history--this is for you. This heavy paperback has wonderful stories and illustrations of how to use certain foods and their backgrounds. I would call it a great coffee table book, though it's a bit thick for your average coffee table reader, I suspect. Definitely a nice gift for a cook or foodie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
This is an amazing resource filled with so much knowledge. The book is arranged like an encyclopedia where different foods and their histories are given sections. This book also covers manufacturers, food companies and other relevant history. This is the first book I go to when starting research on food history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
I wasn't expecting a text book-like book, but with as many pages as it has I didn't find one page dull or boring. It has a lot of good information on all topics related to food and dining. It's like the encyclopedia of food. It covers a lot of concepts such as ''fast food" to "entomophagy" to various food companies. Though large, this book would be great to leave out in a waiting room, office, or even on your own coffee table. Full of information! Even my kids enjoy reading it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
This book is an incredible resource. The problem is with the binding. I've used the library's copy of the same book, including opening it to make copies. I opened my copy for the first time and and the binding is broken at page 230-231. Page 229/230 is now out of the book. The binding is also broken at page 454 and that page is now loose. I can't afford (time) to return and wait for another copy. The poor quality binding on this book (obvious when you look at the book before you even open it) detracts from the wealth of information inside.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
A huge brick of a book containing everything anyone would ever need to know about American gastronomy. Well laid-out and well-written. A wonderful present for a literary-minded gourmet who would enjoy knowing all the details of what they are eating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
This is a great book for foodies. It is a great source for food history ingredient information. Nice light reading before bed and most sections are very fast reads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
This was a fantastic research aid for my project on the history of east coast Indian cuisine that transferred into American cooking in the early settlement period. So much I didn't know!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
If you are a lover of history, you will find this book both informative and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse