Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lives and works of the Bronte sisters, November 26, 2006
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to the Brontės (Paperback)
This book supplements other books about the lives, works and legacies of the Bronte sisters. It includes entries on sequels and adaptations of the works of Charlotte, Emily and Anne as well as coverage of their juvenilia.

The book itself is organised alphabetically, has indexes, cross-references and contains over 2000 entries.

Highly recommended for those of us who can never have too much information about the Sisters Bronte.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable source book... and a GREAT read!, February 27, 2009
By 
R. David Roe (Hixson, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to the Brontės (Paperback)
If you are beginning any research on the Brontės or just want the back story behind the origins of their writings, you can do no better than to start here. Detailed biographical sketches, citations to the latest scholars and scholarship, plot summaries, character analysis, historical characters and local background sketches, as well as reconstruction of the basic Glass Town, Angria, and Gondal (inasmuch as is known) narratives. And far, far, more.

IMMENSELY READABLE! while maintaining the highest standards of scholarship. There is enough here to sate much of your Brontėan appetite and whet that which is still wanting. And enough bibliographical references to show you where to look next. Christine Alexander and Margaret Smith have produced in a single volume, a model for reference work that I only wish were available for other writers. I own two copies. One to mark up and abuse, the other to cherish and admire. If you like any of the Brontės (for me it's Emily and Anne), you NEED this book whether you know it yet or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassed Bronte Resource, May 10, 2010
I have used this wonderful resource as part of a seminar course concerning the Brontes, and especially Branwell (featuring his juvenilia). I have become a fan of the book overall and will be heartily recommending it as I present new materials dealing with the Brontes. If you teach Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights or if you want quick information about any of the Brontes or their backgrounds, this is THE source! (Anxiously awaiting Alexander's 2010 book on juvenilia, too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcover vs. Softcover of the Ultimate Brontė Resource, May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is THE outstanding reference for the entire Brontė family, their lives and works. It has to be the best compendium of biography, literary criticism, and historical background in print. But Oxford University Press does not bind their paperbacks well. I have had the paperback edition of this book for two years, read many of the 2000 entries, cracking the book's spine. Many of the pages are now loose.

Solution? Buy the hardcover, which I found from my favorite source of used scholarly books, Pennsylvania. (I love plumcircle books and Midtown Scholar Books.) It was only $24.72, an incredible bargain, and had only a light little remainder mark on the page edges. This edition is easier to read, perhaps because the paper is a different quality, perhaps because it lies flat for easy perusal.

Whichever edition you choose, you will treasure this book as you read and reread the entries, make connections among them, and become a devoted fan of this marvelous family that has intrigued the world for almost 200 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars companion to the brontes, June 23, 2014
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to the Brontės (Paperback)
I found this an informative & well organized book, useful in a course I just gave on Charlotte and Emily Bronte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adding my praise : Great !, January 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to the Brontės (Paperback)
I found this book endless fascinating and the best of its kind.
It not just tells you who was who or what was what, in Brontė history,
It's very well written too!

Should be in the book case of any Brontė enthusiast
Many thanks to the authors life time devotion to the Brontė family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one book that will give you all you want to know, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you still don't have this, then save some money and get it. This is THE encyclopedia on the Brontės.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Brontė!!, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to the Brontės (Paperback)
This book is awesome. It contains everything you could care to know about the Brontės and their writings. Awesome book to use for research or just for leisurely perusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Oxford Companion to the Brontės
The Oxford Companion to the Brontës by Margaret Smith (Paperback - June 1, 2006)
$30.00 $24.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.