Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Oxford Book of Gothic Tales (Oxford Books of Prose & Verse)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon April 1, 2006
I wanted to combine a good gothic book with the gothic romance I intended to read and had been on my TBR pile for a while and found this collection at a bookstore. The Oxford Book of Gothic Tales has a large collection stories by authors from times that vary from Georgian period to recent years. Some are dark and sinister, others have a mystery to discover while there are those that have only the gothic atmosphere down pat. There are quite a few popular authors here -- William Faulkner, Edgar Allan Poe, Angela Carter and Joyce Carol Oates, to name a few. There are also some stories written by "Anonymous." My favorite stories are "The Lady of the House of Love," by Angela Carter, Eden Glasgow's "Jordan's End," and Ray Russell's "Sardonicus." The stories are quite dark and are some of the best in the gothic genre. I've already read some of the stories from the authors I've enjoyed over the years (like Poe and Oates), but the ones I hadn't read made this a very enjoyable read for me. I cannot recommend this unique collection enough.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2003
This is a wonderful anthology, giving a full historical spectrum of Gothic tales from silly early ones to chilling modern ones. I've used this as a textbook in two courses I teach in college, and students have been both amused (at blatantly Freudian overtones in 18th century stories) and horrified (especially at Pizarnek's account of Erzebet Bathory's perversions). My favorites are Carter's "Lady of the House of Love" and Cowles' "The Vampire of Kaldenstein," both of which combine eerieness with ironic humor.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2003
This is a very interesting collection of literature. It includes writing from the late 1700s extending to the present. What makes this collection so amazing is that it not only includes stories from Poe, Lovecraft, and Hawthorne, but it also has stories taken from periodicals and anthologies long out of print. You'd never find some of this writing anywhere else, and it is truly amazing.
All of the stories do have somewhat of a dark and twisted theme, but they are all very rich.
If seriously considering this book, I highly recommend purchasing it in a hardback edition. It will last you much longer, and you'll be glad for this after reading it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To get into the spirit of the season, I checked out several supernatural anthologies from my local library, including The Oxford Book of Gothic Tales (1992 edition). This book contains an interesting selection of Gothic tales, all of which are highly atmospheric and added to my knowledge of what defines a Gothic tale.

Here are the stories in this book:
Beginnings
Sir Bertrand: A Fragment (1773) - Anna Laetitia Aikin
The Poisoner of Montremos (1791) - Richard Cumberland
The Friar's Tale (1792) - Anonymous
Raymond: A Fragment (1799) - 'Juvenis'
The Parricide Punished (1799) - Anonymous
The Ruins of the Abbey of Fitz-Martin (1801) - Anonymous
The Vindictive Monk or The Fatal Ring (1802) - Isaac Crookenden

The Nineteenth Century
The Astrologer's Prediction or The Maniac's Fate (1826) - Anonymous
Andreas Vesalius The Anatomist (1833) - Petrus Borel
Lady Eltringham or The Castle of Ratcliffe Cross (1836) - J. Wadham
The Fall of The House of Usher (1839) - Edgar Allan Poe
A Chapter in the History of a Tyrone Family (1839) - Sheridan Le Fanu
Rappaccini's Daughter (1844) - Nathaniel Hawthorne
Selina Sedilia (1865) - Bret Harte
Jean-Ah Poquelin (1875) - George Washington Cable
Olalla (1885) - Robert Louis Stevenson
Barbara of the House of Grebe (1891) - Thomas Hardy
Bloody Blanche (1892) - Marcel Schwob
The Yellow Wall-Paper (1892)- Charlotte Perkins Stetson
The Adventure of the Speckled Band (1892) - Arthur Conan Doyle
Hurst of Hurstcote (1893) - E. Nesbit

The Twentieth Century
A Vine on a House (1905) - Ambrose Bierce
Jordan's End (1923) - Ellen Glasgow
The Outsider (1926) - H.P. Lovecraft
A Rose for Emily (1930) - William Faulkner
A Rendezvous in Averoigne (1931) - Clark Ashton Smith
The MOnkey (1934) Isak Dinesen
Miss De Mannering of Asham (1935) - F.M. Mayor
The Vampire of Kaldenstein (1938) - Frederick Cowles
Clytie (1941) - Eudora Welty
Sardonicus (1961) - Ray Russell
The Bloody Countess (1968) - Alejandra Pizarnik
The Gospel According to Mark (1970) - Jorge Luis Borges
The Lady of the House of Love (1979) - Angela Carter
Secret Observations of the Goat-Girl (1988) - Joyce Carol Oates
Blood Disease (1988) - Patrick McGrath
If You Touched My Heart (1991) - Isabel Allende
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2009
As a fan of gothic literature, I love this wonderful anthology. It begins with an introduction to classic gothic and its writers; and goes on to offer over 30 blood-chilling short stories by authors like Poe, Hardy, Hawthorne, Faulkner, and Borges. My favorite was A Rose for Emily by William Faulkner. It's exciting to have so much rich variety in one place. A bit eerie and unnerving, this volume is not for the faint-hearted. It's the perfect book to read on a stormy night! I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
There are some great tales in this book.by such authors as-
poe,le fanu.hawthorne,g.w.cable,charlotte perkins stetson(weird psychological tale), nesbit,lovecraft,faulkner(this is not a gothic tale but pure faulknew; enjoyable),thomas hardy( Barbara of the house of grebe; loved this one), ellen glasgow (jordan's end; I do wish she had written more ghost tales) and many more fine
tales.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2010
Rating a collection of tales by various authors is somewhat complicated. Here, what is offered to the reader is a wonderful selection of stories from various centuries that were written in the Gothic tradition. Anyone who is interested in studying intertextuality or motifs in various pieces will cherish this volume, as well as people who simply appreciate this genre of literature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2000
I bought this book on a whim. It changed my life. Well not really but it is an incredible book. This book is loaded. From the first tale by someone named Anna Laetitia Aikin (1773) to the last by Isabel Allende (1991)this book is pure quality. Names such as Hawthorne, Hardy, Poe, Lovecraft, Bierce, Faulkner, Ray Russell, Le Fanu, Arthur Conan Doyle, and some chap named Anonymous who shows up frequently in the early stories. Come on you read the names BUY THE BOOK. It will change your life forever.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
Good binding. Ships quickly. Good selection of works. not too many gothic anthologies out there. Nothing else to add. Period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
These stories are deliciously dark and very good. Gothic in the more traditional meaning- not the subculture , but the dark and romantic literary genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse