Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


409 of 426 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Evolution in Home Fitness. . . But Not as Accessible as the 1st Series, Won't Appeal to Everyone (Even Though It Should!)
New update at the bottom as my first round comes to a close.

SHORT REVIEW: It's absolutely incredible. It'll challenge the heck out of you. You should only do this if you're already in excellent shape or if you've completed P90X (which means you're in excellent shape). Beginners should stick with the first system. The new series, while not as accessible to the...
Published on December 15, 2011 by Garvinstomp

versus
337 of 366 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad
Having worked through P90X and P90X+, P90X2 falls somewhere in between. There are some great points about P90X2 and some very bad--even dangerous--points about P90X2. I loved P90X and still think it's the best exercise program on the market. P90X+ was just a marketing program designed to sell more gear and videos, and it quickly died. Like P90X+, P90X2 is very much a...
Published on December 22, 2011 by G.W.


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

409 of 426 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Evolution in Home Fitness. . . But Not as Accessible as the 1st Series, Won't Appeal to Everyone (Even Though It Should!), December 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
New update at the bottom as my first round comes to a close.

SHORT REVIEW: It's absolutely incredible. It'll challenge the heck out of you. You should only do this if you're already in excellent shape or if you've completed P90X (which means you're in excellent shape). Beginners should stick with the first system. The new series, while not as accessible to the masses as the original due to the exotic moves and the plethora of extra gear required to maximize the effectiveness, is truly the most elite home fitness series I've ever tried (and still way cheaper than gym memberships and Bowflex machines). Yes, it's everything it was hyped to be (and probably more). You'll pretty much be able to don a cape and fight crime when this is all over.

LONG REVIEW: If you've read my review of P90X, you know that while I love the system, I've never been a "fanboy". I'm not a coach or involved with Beachbody in any way. I've never purchased any supplements or shakes. And the only piece of equipment I've ever purchased from them are the Power Stand push-up bars (because they really are the best out there). I've used P90X and Tony's 1-on-1's because they really have worked for me and allowed me to get great results a) at home b) on a budget c) during a time crunch and d) while I'm traveling.

I struggled when trying to give a star rating to P90X2, though. The reason there was a bit of hesitation on my part stems from the fact that this series, while absolutely delivering the goods on the workout front, moves away from P90X in terms of the complexity. With the original series, the big draw was that you could work hard with very little gear and get in crazy good shape. Part of the allure was the "just some dumbbells and a pull-up bar" mantra that permeated the set. And with P90X, that was largely true. With just those two pieces of gear you could get over 90% effectiveness in all of the exercises. But with P90X2, that's just not the case.

Sure, in the new series there are plenty of options for those people with minimal equipment, but the difference between doing standard push-ups versus doing them balanced on four medicine balls is night and day. If you want to get the most out of P90X2 here's what additional gear (on top of what you had for P90X) you'll want to pick-up: Stability Ball, Power Stand push-up bars P90X PowerStands Push-Up Stands(no, the regular little ones will not cut the mustard here due to the amount of movement), foam roller, plyo platform, 4-8 medicine balls, some floor tape, and a stick for stretching and core (a broomstick or bat works just fine). Fortunately, I already had a good amount of the equipment needed, but it's still an investment as plyo platforms aren't cheap (they say you can use a sturdy chair, but that better be one REALLY STURDY chair).

So yes, at first I struggled looking at my workout space now populated by a bunch of new gear. Gone was the Spartan simplicity of "The X". But all of that thought was just academic until the workouts began. And that is where the 5-star rating comes in. These workouts truly are the next level, delivering on their promise of being an evolution, as opposed to a sequel.

Before I jump into doing P90X2 (as I've only had the system for a little more than a week), I decided that I would do each workout individually so as to get a feel for what I was dealing with and make any adjustments to my space or equipment needs beforehand (and be able to review the set, of course). I very quickly came to realize that all this extra gear wasn't just some sort of gimmick, it really was challenging me, pushing me to go to places I've not been in a workout. While the options without the equipment will certainly push a person and increase their fitness, I'd have to estimate that you're only 60-70% effective, at best. It's important to note that Beachbody didn't promise that this would be as simple or as streamlined as the first series. They didn't promise that there wouldn't be more equipment involved. That was just an assumption on my part. What they promised was that the new system would evolve the old system, using new science and technology to take super fit people and put them into and elite type of shape. And it certainly seems to live up to that promise.

First, let's discuss the structure of the program. For those familiar with the original, there are a few changes. In the original series you worked out 6 days per week, doing the same routine for 3 weeks. After that there would be a recovery week where the 6 workouts were lower impact and focused on stretching, core, and recovery. In P90X2, the 3 week period is now a bit more fluid, letting the individual do anywhere from 3-6 weeks of the same workouts before heading into a recovery week. And instead of the 6 workouts per week with an optional stretch on the 7th, there are 5 workouts per week with an optional 2 recovery days (days 3 and 7 of the week). The original was also structured so that in the third section you'd end up doing the same workouts from the first and second sections. Not so, anymore. Now, instead of just some muscle confusion where exercise routines are rotated in and out, each one of the three sections has its own set of workouts. Sure, you'll see the Yoga and the Plyocide, but there are different resistance workouts in each section, each with its own set of goals. The first section sets up your body for all the work it's going to do, called the Foundation section. The second is the Strength section. And the third is the Performance, taking your body from just looking good to being super functional as well.

What's interesting about the new series is that there really isn't a dedicated cardio. Because so many of the moves this time around aren't isolation movies, they're compound moves working many muscle groups at the same time, there's a cardio element built into many of the resistance workouts that the first series didn't have. Plyocide, of course, still brings the plyo pain like the the first one did. And you'll still find yourself sucking air trying to get through it. And the third section, the Performance section, utilizes the one of the newer fitness concepts called Post Activation Potentiation. That means that you do a heavy load on a muscle, immediately followed by a light, explosive movement. It supposedly helps to stimulate growth and increase a muscle's performance. Since I've only gotten to tinker with the workouts, I can't give my assessment on the long-term results (I'll post a follow-up in several months once I've been through the fire with this incarnation). The bottom line is that anyone worried they won't get a good workout for the heart and lungs needn't concern themselves. You'll certainly get the wind moving.

Just an additional note on all the extra gear. No matter how much I wish it was different, there is always a limit to how much progress can be made by doing bodyweight only exercises. Bruce Lee, one of the strongest pound-for-pound humans to walk the planet, had a body that was lean, incredibly functional, and was built using some pretty large weights. I knew people that could do pull-ups until the cows came home, but their overall fitness wasn't that spectacular. It's kind of like having a regular old sedan. You can change out the tires and rims and engine, put a spoiler on it, tint the windows, and redo the entire inside, but it's still a sedan. It's not going to be a Ferrari. If you want a Ferrari, you've got to get a Ferrari. And that's what I'm finding with P90X2. The extra gear allows me to push myself further than I would have with just the original gear I had from the first series. I bought a great roller from a company called Triggerpoint The Grid Revolutionary Foam Rollerand it is a life changer. The recovery that Tony takes you through with the roller is like a massage for your whole body and it is amazing. I feel so good when I finish up that workout that I almost want to do it every single day (you'll do it every other day in the recovery weeks, alternating with Yoga). There are also two additional workouts that come in the fancier packages offered by Beachbody (V-Sculpt and Chest/Shoulder/Tris) that are really good and can substitute in during the second, Strength section. They're excellent, but not critical.

Another thing to note is that the diet guide is more comprehensive than the original series. Aside from just having the standard healthy eating options, they've included a lot of variations, such as a vegetarian option (although Tony is no longer a veggie). But the diet certainly covers a lot of ground, giving people a lot different ways to achieve their diet goals, from people that can cook (and have the time) to people that are on the go.

This is truly a series that accomplishes what so many others don't. It builds functional strength with flexibility. It gets the heart and lungs working in incredibly effective ways, and helps the body protect itself, becoming more stable and resistant to injuries. What I liked about this series is that there doesn't seem to be a weak link. In the original, Kenpo and Cardio always failed to push me, while Legs & Back always felt like and afterthought. There were times in the new series where I felt like they were going out of their way to use the most exotic movements and exercises they could concoct just for the sake of being different, but in the end they all challenged me and I look forward to perfecting them. It really is a more complete and balanced series. And with the option to spend 3-6 weeks in each phase, there's more flexibility to make sure your body really is where it needs to be to move on. It's also great that each phase has it's own set of resistance routines. I feel like this will really keep away any feelings of the mundane or repetitive.

The bottom line is that P90X2 truly is built on some of the best, up-to-date exercise science out there. It's not just something that's a gimmick to cash-in on the popularity of the first one. My guess is that had they wanted to do that they wouldn't have designed something with all the extra gear to purchase. This is cutting-edge working out that can be done in the privacy of one's own home. And while there is a decent amount of gear to buy, it still pales in comparison to what gym memberships cost (not to mention the time to go to the gym, change, wait for machines, make sure the kids are taken care of, etc. . .). It's hundreds, if not thousands, cheaper than buying an at-home piece of gear like a Bowflex or Nautilus. So at the end of the day I have to give it 5 stars because it truly is what they promised, the next and best evolution of working out at home. I've done P90X for years and this thing whooped my tail straight out of the box. But this isn't for everybody.

Although you could modify the movements and go half-speed to get through the workouts, I would strongly recommend that someone starting out go with the original series. The movements are simpler (no beginner should be doing one-arm curls in a push-up position with the other arm balancing on a medicine ball), the workouts favor beginners more than P90X2's do, and there's less gear required to get the full experience. Plus, there are a bunch of used copies out there that can be picked up for a fraction of the retail price (oh heck, at this point somebody you know has to have it, just borrow it). X2 should be for those already in excellent shape and those that have made it through P90X and are looking for their next challenge. The new presentation is great. The graphics and music are vastly improved. And, best of all, Yoga is just 60 minutes! If you're in good shape and want to get into ridiculous, superhero/ninja shape in the privacy of your own home-this is the one for you!

Update 5/20/12: Holy Cow! I'm a superhero. There's really no other way to describe it. I turn 35 this year and I'm pretty sure I just became Batman.

After completing a full cycle of this bad boy I can say with zero equivocation: IT WORKS! At first I had concerns like many people that all the new gear might just be marketing and all the new moves might just be complicated for the sake of being complicated. But the truth is far simpler: This is by no means a sequel to P90X with an identical formula and theory where old moves were simply substituted with new ones. This is an (R)Evolution. P90X increased your overall fitness with a focus on looking good. This one focuses on taking your in-shape body and making it super functional, super injury resistant, and super stable. I know there are lots of people that are put off by the fact that because many of the exercises require balance components lighter weights must be used and therefore they might lose their "pretty muscles" they worked so hard for. The thought crossed my mind, too. But there are a couple of factors to consider. The first is that because you're in a balance pose you can't cheat and throw your body weight or rock like you might have before. This is going to isolate the muscle in a way you've not imagined before. So you would be using a lower weight anyways due to that isolation. The second factor is that as your body acclimates to the balance postures and your core begins to really get crazy strong, you can start upping your weights fairly quickly. It didn't take long once I got used to everything to start pushing myself again, but-to be fair-as a martial arts guy my balance is fairly good (it's better now thanks to this series).

These exercises are the types of things you're going to see in high-level performance athletes. Watch videos of UFC guys training before a fight and they're all on stability balls with weights, doing push-ups on medicine balls, and doing plyo. With the exception of heavyweights you'll see a lot of these guys using smaller weights because they need to build functional muscles with high endurance levels. I just saw a video the other day of Peyton Manning on a foam roller. Denver has millions invested in this guy's health and they've got him foam rolling. The point is that this program is made out of the latest and most cutting edge exercise science that can be brought into the home. This is the kind of stuff they use at Gym Jones, the facility where all the guys from the movie 300 trained.

Don't let the idea that because you're not using as big of weights as you did in P90X deter you. You'll be challenged like crazy. You also have to push yourself to make this system work for you: Bend over as far as you can in your balance postures. Go as deep in your lunge as you can when doing those types of moves. Really pushing yourself in the new positions will make a difference. Just doing a half-effort lunge while doing curls won't challenge you. GET DEEP! To be honest, P90X really handed you everything you needed to do. Just showing up and doing the motions was enough. There wasn't much mastery to be had over the moves and there wasn't much motivation needed beyond hitting Play. You could zombie walk through 90 days and still come out like a boss. P90X2 is on more of a sliding scale. You're going to get out of it what you put into it. You work on mastering the positions and the movements to find the way that challenges you the most, you push your flexibility and balance to their limits, and you learn how to manage the pain while your balance muscles want to give out before your biceps are totally burned out, and you'll achieve amazing things with this series-things well beyond what you achieved with the first series.

Now, let's address a few of the more common complaints:

First off, I've seen a lot of people talking about fear of injury from using medicine balls and balance balls for the resistance training. And they're correct. But there's a very simple concept at work here: Bigger risk, bigger reward. That being said, you can get crazy good results from doing P90X and continuing to mix it up. But using stability exercises is going to push you further. Working out on the balls is truly a "next-level" of fitness. There was never a claim that this would be safe and vanilla. When the first series came out people were very concerned about Plyo because it was so different than normal at-home workouts were putting out. Tony is going to push you. And stability balls are one of the most common and effective ways to do this. That's why review says that this system isn't for everyone.

The second thing I've seen quite a bit is people having issues with the rolling, claiming that it doesn't work. Let me be frank, if the rolling isn't working for you, you're doing it wrong. Myofascial Release is an absolute proven concept with loads of science behind it. It's like massage therapy where your playing the role of patient AND massage therapist. It will absolutely help you recover and will guarantee better, more usable muscles. It takes patience to learn to do it properly. You have to go slow and sit on one spot. It's not easy, but the rewards are well worth it.

There has also been concern over retention of muscle mass since the first phase isn't as resistance-heavy as the original 'X'. Yes, this is true. You are more likely to develop greater flexibility and crazy core strength during Phase 1 than you are to bulk up. I was curious about the new layout of the system, so I took it to some of my friends who train professional MMA guys out here in LA at some of the big gyms. While I am not a fighter, I do train in various martial arts and attend some of the more prominent schools out here, as well as being friendly with some of the more noted fighters and trainers. Frankly, they liked the approach. They said that a lot of the moves were very similar (if not identical) to what they use on their guys. With the exception of heavyweights (and some light heavyweights), these guys are training to be lean, explosive, protected from injury, and functional. And while not all the fighters have the "sexiest" builds, they can call their muscles into action at a moment's notice and have wind for days. The general feeling was that the layout of the plan and the effectiveness of creating usable and injury-resistant muscles and lungs is consistent with the top training methods used by professionals today.

I did six weeks in the strength phase (3 with the first set of exercises and 3 with the second set of exercises) and I feel great. I ran through the original Chest and Back on Monday of this week and I've made solid gains. NOTHING decreased by a single rep. Plus, I feel more solid in the core and in my flexibility.

Like it says at the top, it's not for everyone. P90X will serve a great many people very well. It is very Spartan and will get results. P90X2 is not a scam to get you to buy equipment. You can get all the extra gear at a local sporting goods store or a Target or Wal Mart. The extra gear DOES work. Take the time to learn it properly and you will get pushed further. But it's not going to be to everyone's liking. The bottom line is that you can't go wrong with either series 1 or 2. Find which one you like and then just go at 100%. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have to go hit the heavy bag for a bit and then have Tony lead me through some Yoga X!

More updates to come. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


135 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big guy getting slender, getting muscular, feeling better!, December 28, 2011
By 
Storylover (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
I took a good look at myself about a year ago, and didn't like what I saw. I was embarrassed to wear most of my clothes; taking my shirt off at the beach was not going to happen--period. Heck, I could barely look at myself in the bathroom mirror. I had no neck. My belly was sticking out and sagging over. My fat fat pants were too tight. I couldn't find shirts that I could close the collar to wear a tie.

I had manboobs.

I hid myself behind big sweaters and oversized sweats. I am 5'6" and weighed about 225 lbs. I was exhausted going up a single flight of stairs to my bedroom. I have 3 active little boys, and they wanted to wrestle with papa. That was simply not going to happen either. Something had to give.

So I did the craziest thing I could have--I did Insanity, and loved it. I followed that with Insanity: The Asylum, and then P90X x 2 rounds. I lost 45 pounds, and gained a lot of muscle. I'm still a big guy. I need to loose about 25 pounds more, honestly, and I have a long way to go to get into shirt removal at the beach shape--but I have my self respect back. And I have learned some important lessons.

1. I got fit when I took responsibility for my own fitness. I had a lot of good excuses--full time job, wife with full time job, no gym very close, don't like to diet. Finally, I just decided what was most important to me--being able to be a good dad for my kids. I decided that everything else just had to fall in line. I was a couch lump but I secretly knew that my pre-marriage slender self was still there somewhere, so I decided not to try, but to succeed. No matter what. I made this decision with my heart and my head, and so can you--even if you are really big, or really scared, or really uninterested in exercising. You just have to decide and commit. If you do that, you will succeed.

2. No matter how much the exercise hurts, it feels better than feeling horrible all the time, barely being able to breathe, being too big to play with your kids or climb the stairs. Exercise hurts much less than that.

3. I know now that there is nothing I can't do if I put my mind to it and don't let myself have any excuses. I write down what I eat. I announced to my friends and family what I am doing and gave them full permission to encourage and ask me impolite questions about my exercises. I put it out there on facebook that I was starting to exercise, and I posted for accountability every day. I found a facebook group of exercisers and joined them. (if you need one, let me know, I'll hook you up). I didn't let food rule my life--I decided to eat what I always knew I should, and soon it seemed natural. Online Weight watchers helped me, but there are a number of good programs available, and the p90x2 diet is just solid, sensible nutrition.

4. I didn't let myself be scared off because someone told me p90x was "extreme". Half measures hadn't worked for me. I needed something that I knew was bigger, harder, better than me. And when I began, I wanted to cry. I had to scale everything down when I started, but I did my absolute best, and kept trying to make it better. And guess what? I did it, just a little better each time. I probably looked like a white whale flopping around on the floor, but I did it. And I am so happy!

So what does this have to do with p90x2? I need a new challenge. I'm getting a little bored of p90x after 6 months of doing it daily, and boredom is the enemy of fitness for me. I know that telling myself that I'll join a gym is a recipe for failure for me. I'll never go. I love my dvd's that let me go down to the privacy of my basement and get totally nuts without an audience except my family. So I need a new program that will push me. I need something to pit myself against as a challenge. I need to recommit to being healthy for my boys and my wife and myself.

I got p90x2 about 2 weeks before Christmas. I've been doing it and here is my report.

1. Is it harder than p90x?
Yes and no. It is different--the moves are now focused on including balance and core work while doing resistance. This is a new way to think about resistance workouts, honestly, and it is huge. It is making me work hard in ways that I have never worked before, and the more I do exercise this way, the more I enjoy it.

2. Can I do it?
Yes, you can. If you are willing to give everything your best shot, then you can get through these workouts. Yes, even if you are very big. Even if you are very out of shape. But you need to be smart about it--wear a heart rate monitor. Wear whatever braces you need to wear. Don't push yourself too hard on the first day. When Tony shows you how to modify to make things more do-able, then do what he says. But the beauty is that you just do your best, and the rest will take care of the rest. Soon, you'll be able to stretch farther, pull more, squeeze out your first pull up (!). Look at yourself in the bathroom mirror and say "I'm doing something about it."

3. Is it worth it?
Yes, it is. I'm wearing pants that I wore when I got married. I can go toe to toe with my 4, 6, and 7 year old boys for more than half an hour now and not be winded. I can run with my son on my shoulders, I can do pushups with my son on my back--and I couldn't do pushups at all before.

4. How is the yoga?
Well, let's be honest. Yoga is frikkin' hard. But I decided that I was going to stick to it, and I have grudgingly come to appreciate the yoga. In p90x I only did 45 minutes of the 90 minute workout (I'm just being honest here). p90x2 yoga is 67 minutes instead of 90, really only about an hour after the pre and post talking is done. And I like it. It is sooo hard, but so good, and I feel fantastic when it is finished.

5. What is this foam roller thing? Should I get one?
YES YES YES! The foam roller is my favorite part about this new set, honestly. I'd never heard of foam rollers before, but I bought one (not that expensive, I think I paid $15) and used it. It feels GREAT! It is like a merciless massage from a very determined therapist--except you are in control of where the massage pressure goes. It really helps to loosen tight muscles and honest to goodness has already really helped my range of motion. Plus it feels so good. The recovery/mobility workout in p90x2 is a love letter to your muscles--I love it so much.

6. Should I get this if I haven't done p90x?
Well, I love p90x. It changed my life and really helped me. But there is no reason that you have to start with p90x...p90x2 is another very solid set of exercise routines. It is going to take some work whether you are a seasoned athlete or (like me) someone just trying to finally get healthy. If you like the idea of adding core strength moves to your resistance moves, and are not scared to get yourself moved out of your comfort zone and re-think what exercise is, then this is a great set to do. My advice? Pick a set, this one, p90x, or any other reasonable exercise set, and STICK TO IT. Don't let yourself weeze out. Not even a day! Promise yourself that you will do your best, and just keep doing it.

7. What equiptment do I need to do it?
You can do this with a small amount of equiptment, or you can spend mega bucks. Don't let lack of equiptment stop you. Here is what you really need:

--A good pair of shoes. Seriously. Invest in some decent shoes. You'll thank me. You can wear whatever shoes you want, but good shoes will save your feet when doing cardio.
--A cheap set of dumbells or an even cheaper set of bands. I love dumbells (can't believe I can say that!) I got mine here on Amazon for about $40, and they work great. Pick them up on Craig's List, or get some at your local sporting goods store. If you are just starting out, don't buy a big crazy set. Get something that will get you up to 20lbs in adjustable units, see how it goes, and buy a couple heavier ones if you need. I have bands now, and they are great too. And you can get a fantastic set of bands very inexpensively.

That is all you have to have.

I would recommend strongly to get:
--a pull up bar. You do tons of pullups in p90x (don't be scared, I couldn't even do one when I started, Tony shows you how to do them with help). If you don't have a pull up bar, you can use a band to substitute (he shows you how). But a pull up bar is also pretty cheap and is a great investment.
--Push-Up Bars. These really helped me. I have bad wrists, and these cut down on wrist strain. I listed some cheaper ones above, but I actually bought the more expensive P90x ones (yea, I'm a sucker) and I really think they are great. The link to these more expensive super over engineered but truly awesome push up bars is here.

It is nice to have, but not necessary to have:
--a yoga mat. A beach towel will do the trick if you don't have one. Heck, the floor is fine if that's what you've got.
--a stability ball. I love mine. I use the TKO Anti Burst Fitness Stability Ball (65cm), and we have the Valeo Body Ball also. which works for my height and probably if you are up to about 6 feet. If you are bigger, they have bigger balls, and smaller ones if you are so inclined
--A medicine ball (I use 12 lbs) to do some of the crazy balance strength maneuvers. If you can, get 3. you'll know why when you see the crazy workout with the balls.
--a foam roller. This one is a great splurge. I think I picked mine up for $10-15 or so. It is worth way more than that to me now.
--a Pull up assist. This is a fancy elastic strap thingy that will help you get the most out of your pullups before you thought you could. Tony shows you how to use a chair, so don't spend the money on this unless you really want to. I used the chair for 6 weeks of p90x and then graduated to the pull up assist because I still needed help, but felt I was "helping" myself too much with the chair. I'm now doing pull ups with no or minimal assist, which is freaking insane!

8. What about my family, my friends, all the people who will make fun of me exercising?
I had one goal. Get better for me and my family. Stop being miserable. I didn't have any exercise shorts. I worked out in bermuda shorts and oversized polo t-shirts. It's what I had. I sweated and flopped and twitched and sighed my way through my workouts, and crawled up the basement stairs looking like a wrung out cat. But I was smiling. I felt like Spartacus! My wife never laughed. She watched me workout like a fiend for 2 weeks, then quietly got her own pair of shoes and joined me. The boys got onto my mat with me and started working out with me. My friends remarked almost instantly that I looked happier and better. Your family and friends will support you, and if they don't, just calmly tell them that you are doing this for yourself, and you'd appreciate their support. Don't let naysayers dissuade you.

I'm going to post updates with my progress. I've been sampling the workouts daily with friends to get the feel of the workouts, but I'm starting the program in earnest on December 31. I'll let you know how things go. Remember--you don't have to be out of shape. you don't have to join a gym. you can do this in the privacy of your living room, no one has to see you sweating and gasping. But you can take control. I am doing it, and I am so happy.

***Update Week 1 done
Well, I've finished week 1. Technically, today is day 7, but it is a rest day, so I'm calling this a done deal. My first impressions from sampling random workouts prior to beginning the program have been borne out thus far. You are going to work your core in ways that you have never imagined, and it hurts so good! I've been doing insanity cardio abs and Insane abs, as well as ab ripper x for the better part of last year. Apparently, using a stability ball is a serious game changer. In week one, you use tons of stability ball based moves while lifting dumbells and other strength maneuvers. I am very sore from my shoulders to my pelvis, and it feels great to be working muscles in a new way. The workouts are tough, my calorie watch has said that I burn between 600 and 1050 calories during a workout. The high end was for the resistance+ARX2 workout day; the low end was for Yoga. But 600 calories doing Yoga is nothing to sneeze at. I was not fast at most of the moves, I could only get a fraction of them done compared to the insane posse of fitness gazelles working out on my screen, but I just kept plugging away. I've had a ball the last week, and while I will enjoy my rest tonight, I'm already looking forward to getting back to it tomorrow! Gotta keep going!

***Update Week 2 done
Week two in the bag. I didn't plan on updating this week, but it has been such an amazing and unexpected week I wanted to let you know how it went. Last week was great, but I was horrible at many of the workouts. I was struggling to get the moves done. this week, I more than doubled my weight on lots of the exercises because my balance was so much better! I cannot believe how quickly my balance has improved! Abs are looking more defined, which I hadn't expected but am pleased about. I added in an extra workout (day 3 is usually a rest day, but I did P90x chest and back because I wanted some more resistance). My weight is down 3 pounds, but part of those props have to go to diet, as I am back on my diet in a more careful fashion.

***Update, Week 6 done
Well, I'm done with the Core section (I did 3 weeks) and have now completed 3 weeks of the strength training. I'll just let my results speak for themselves. Last night, I did 80 unassisted pullups. I did 1 unassisted pullup when I began p90x in June of last year. I was doing 5-6 unassisted pullups when I started p90x2. I'm not sure what happened--I guess I just finally cracked the pull up code or something. They aren't great pullups, mind you. I have to rest midset sometimes, and they aren't consecutive--they are 10 sets of 8 pullups. But I'm doing this 3 times a week now, and I've gotten lats like I never imagined. My core is tighter and my arms are bigger. My wife spontaneously told me that I had muscular legs the other day. I don't think of myself as having muscular anything, honestly, so that was a huge compliment for me. I feel strong. When I walk around, I don't slouch. My friend told me my shoulders look broad. Wha? Me? Broad shoulders? Muscular legs? 80 pull ups? Wow. p90x2 is a bit of an odd workout--if you want to just slide your way through a workout, you could probably do it without breaking a sweat. Tony has you lifting weights in odd positions, using the stability ball, you might decide to modify your way out of the med ball pushups, and if you don't commit to the whole workout with intensity, I bet you wouldn't get much out of it. p90x made you work, and the exercises were intuitive, and I think that in many ways, p90x is a better workout for folks who are just starting out because that intuitive good sense helps you to trust the program. But my results on p90x2 have completely blown through the roof. Tony says lift while in warrior 3, I lift all I can while in warrior 3. Tony says do push ups with your hands and feet on 4 med balls? I struggle, I fall on my face, but I do it. Now I can do 4 medball pushups without an issue (wow). Even when his methods don't seem to make much sense for me, I have just tried to commit to whole heartedly pushign as hard as I can. And it has done me a lot of good. Blown through the roof. I have no other words for the explosion of growth and strength I've gotten in these 6 weeks. I'm gonna do 3 more weeks of phase 2, the strength phase, then do 3 weeks of the last phase (performance). I'll keep updating. You keep working!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


337 of 366 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad, December 22, 2011
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
Having worked through P90X and P90X+, P90X2 falls somewhere in between. There are some great points about P90X2 and some very bad--even dangerous--points about P90X2. I loved P90X and still think it's the best exercise program on the market. P90X+ was just a marketing program designed to sell more gear and videos, and it quickly died. Like P90X+, P90X2 is very much a marketing program designed to sell a lot of overpriced fitness equipment. In spite of what they advertise about the hotel workout, you cannot do P90X2 without a lot of gear. You need 3-4 medicine balls of various sizes (actually a couple of large ones, for balance purposes, as well as smaller ones for some lifting), and they need to be firm enough to support your weight. So the cheapie plastic ones won't do. Practically every exercise uses a stability ball, so that's a must have. You also need a lot of dumbbells. Bands are problematic, since it's hard to use a band on a stability ball. I'm not convinced the foam roller does a lick of good, so you can take it or leave it based on your own experience.

I've just started this program, so I will probably update as I work through various videos.

PROS
The pros are:
1. It's something new. You can only do P90X so long before you get bored with it and lose the challenge. P90X2 brings a new challenge.
2. The X2 Core and Plyocide exercises are fun and different and really emphasize the core. I can see how these are especially beneficial to athletes who are trying to improve explosiveness, performance, flexibility, and core strength. For those of us who just want to look good, these routines are really going to do a lot for your waist, hips, lower back, and abs.

CONS
1. The traditional resistance programs (i.e., X2 Total Body, X2 Ab Ripper, etc.) really provide little resistance. They constantly combine basic moves with Warrior 3 or some other balance move. Like any mutlitasking, instead of gettng twice the benefit, you end up doing two things poorly. The balance moves keep you from maxing out the resistance moves, and trying to do the resistance lowers the effectiveness of the balance moves. Also, many of these exercises are outright dangerous and tweak joints and tissues in inappropriate ways. My intent is to swap these routines out with an equivalent P90X routine. These routines are significantly inferior to the P90X routines and won't give you the same level of intensity.
2. The X2 Ab Ripper is useless. Worse, it's dangerous and extremely bad for your lower back. Don't do this routine. Replace it with Ab Ripper X, if you have it.

The net of it is that P90X was so popular because it was an intense workout that used simple exercises that required little equipment. P90X2 uses incredibly complex--and sometimes dangerous--exercises that require a great deal of equipment. Many of the exercises seem created solely for the purpose of using the equipment. Consequently, they place odd streses on joints and ligaments and increase the possibility of injury.

If you're a P90Xer, like me, I'm sure you'll buy this product and try it, because you're ready for something new. I would encourage you, though, to consider modifying it as I will--substituting Chest, Shoulders, Tris for X2 Total Body or Legs and Back for Base and Back, as an example. You'll put less strain on your body and do a much better job of building strength in those areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. Not what I expected at all., January 18, 2012
By 
Mike.the.kraken (Highlands Ranch, CO, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
Like others, I've completed multiple rounds of P90x, tried p90x plus, and even mixed in some one-on-one workouts (plyocide, medicine ball core cardio). I agree with most: P90x was great, P90x+ was largely a miss, and there are some gems in the one-on-one series.

I was very excited to get P90x2! I've been using a stability ball since my first round, and have been using medicine balls since medicine ball core cardio. After doing two weeks of P90x2 core, I decided to go through the other workouts because I was really missing the weightlifting aspect of P90X. Unfortunately - the thing I love the most, weight training, is the thing P90x2 offers the least of.

After evaluating all the workouts I elected to return X2. Even after such a long wait, it just wasn't designed with a direction that I agree with. Here are some of the reasons it didn't sit well with me:

1. It's almost entirely core/balance focused, with very little emphasis on actual weight lifting. Even when there is weight lifting, it's biased toward balancing postures. (x2 shoulders & arms is the only redeeming lifting workout - though even it includes some balancing moves).

2. It is, at times, very repetitious and uninventive. Warmups are almost entirely the same for every workout. Chest and back is ONLY pushups and pull-ups. The Base & Back leg routines feel like recycled plyo.

3. Many of the pull-up variations do not work with door-mounted pull-up bars because they require you to fully extend your legs. Try to modify X pull-ups and your knees hit the doorframe.

4. I have the one-on-one plyocide and while it's rough around the edges, it's tougher than p90x2 plyocide... a real head-scratcher.

5. The workouts are front-loaded with 10 minutes of foam rolling followed by a 10 minute warmup - so you don't actually workout until 20 minutes in! I really enjoy foam rolling, but I thought this would be a recovery-day thing.

6. P90x2 wasn't advertised as 90days of core work - but that is, in my opinion, the real focus; it's very misleading. This isn't what I expected at all.

7. The workout construction is at times off - which can lead to my being challenged, but not thoroughly worked-out. Chest & Back is one of the worst offenders: you do so many balance pushups that your stabilizers wear out well before your chest/triceps. Doing so many pushups on medicine balls kills my wrists.

8. I simply don't understand what the fanatical preoccupation with the core/balance work is. Wasn't it enough to dedicate 3 discs and an entire phase to it? Frankly, balancing on medicine/stability balls isn't the only way to challenge your core - a lot of the moves feel like a gimmick because of this relentlessly singleminded approach.

I'd like to point out some positives:

1. Massively improving yoga. It's not perfect, but it is significantely improved and the work done there should be commended.

2. I'm one of the few who actually likes ABX2 better than the original. I didn't find it nearly as difficult, but it didn't kill my lower back either. I added a couple sets of hanging knee raises/oblique raises afterwards - and I was set.

3. Trying to introduce some freshness into the program - some of the core work is pretty fun (balance & power comes to mind).

4. Including some foam rolling in the program (though it's overdone).

5. The PAP workouts are intense. For performance workouts, these are money.

6. Some really fun/effective moves like: crunchy-levers/ levers, stability ball side stretch, stability ball plank-circles, burpee jump-press w/medicine ball.

What do I wish I had gotten with P90x2? One, and only one phase of core focused work. One solid phase of honest to goodness weightlifting routines. I'd keep the Yoga, and I'm fine with ABX2. PAP is fine, though I'd like less core work there too. And for goodness sake, they should have just cleaned up the one-on-one plyocide and released that or gone with something else for cardio.

If you do buy P90X2, I agree with others who have suggested that you try all the workouts within the first 30 days. I did, and it wasn't for me - maybe you'll find enough to enjoy the program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review and P90X2 vs P90X, December 21, 2011
By 
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
P90X vs P90X2
1. P90X2 focuses more on balance throughout the program.
2. P90X2 doesn't have a cardio specific workout.
3. P90X2 has two rest days per week.
4. P90X2 requires more equipment.
5. P90X2 has more technically difficult exercises.
6. P90X2 there are bigger differences in the phases.
7. P90X has more structured phases.
8. P90X has a better yoga video.

Misc.
1. Doing P90X before P90X2 is not required but you would deffinitly bennifit from doing P90X

Pros:
1. Structured program so that you know what exercise to do every day.
2. Flexible schedule with two rest days per week.
3. Minimal equipment required.
4. Get in the best shape of your life.
5. Scientifically researched training methods.
6. No time spent driving to the health club, waiting for machines.
7. Challenging.
8. Includes Yoga, for many people it's the only place they would try it.
9. Modifications for your ability (easy - medium - hard) are part of every video.
10. Modifications without equipment are part of every video.
11. No boring cardio specific workouts, but you will sweat and get your heart rate up.
12. Each 3-week phases prepares you for the next 3-week phase so you do not start with the difficult stuff until you're ready.
13. Fitness guide to explain the reasoning behind the program. Take a minute to read this!
14. You only need about a 10 x 10 area in your home.
Cons:
1. Sometimes Tony talks too much.

In this review, I am attempting to: (1) Review P90X2 and (2) compare P90X2 to the original P90X. I am not a Beachbody coach and I am in no way associated with Beachbody. Throughout the review, I refer to a guy named Tony. Tony Horton created the program and he is the lead trainer.

WHAT P90X2 IS NOT? When I purchased it, I assumed it was another P90X with better music. I was wrong. P90X left me sore every day for 90 days; P90X2 didn't because of the gradual increase through the phases. Don't get me wrong, I was sore but I remember limping around after Legs & Back and having trouble brushing my teeth the morning after doing the bicep workout. P90X2 is a more gradual approach that builds your core and muscular foundation for the next phase but it's not easier. P90X2 is more technically difficult. Each exercise seems to engage more body parts.

CARDIO: There is no specific cardio workout in the entire program it is based on strength, balance and speed. You will get your heart rate up and sweat for sure but there are no real cardio specific workouts. For the most part the fitness guide (program documentation) says that if you need / want cardio to do it on your own time. Two scheduled rest days can be used for cardio.

THE SCHEDULE: P90X2's schedule is definitely more flexible than P90X. The entire program has 3 phases. For the most part, you decide when you're ready for the next phase. There are 2 rest days per week in P90X2.

TIME COMMITMENT: Just do the math. How long does it take you to get to the fitness club? How long do you wait for equipment? How long to stop and chat? Do you work out with the same intensity? Same numbers of reps, as many exercises, limit your breaks to about 30 seconds? Working out in the privacy of my home makes sense from a time perspective.

COST: The program and the equipment together is about $300 (at the very most). That's 3 - 6 months at a health club. And even if you only do P90X2 for a year and get sick of it the popularity of Beachbody programs means that there is money to be made. I believe that the trend of at home fitness programs will continue into the future.

EQUIPMENT: When I started the original P90X I had no equipment. Nothing. No dumbbells. No bands. No pull up bar. If you don't have the equipment don't let that stop you from beginning the program. Buy the equipment when you can but you don't need it to get started.

REQUIRMENTS: If you have never completed P90X, I would recommend that you do it first. Do you have to do P90X first? Not at all. However, some of the more technically difficult exercises are modifications of P90X exercises so it is helpful.

P90X2 FITNESS GUIDE: I started the program and even writing this lengthy review before I read the fitness guide because I wanted to be as objective as possible. The problem? I am not a doctor or fitness professional so I did not understand the reasoning or purpose for doing some of the exercises. I was ignorant to the science behind the program and it made me question the program. After reading the fitness guide, my commitment to the program became stronger and the program itself makes more sense. Take a few minutes and read it!

-----THE PHASES-----
(Completed in the order listed)

FOUNDATION PHASE (3 to 6 weeks): Strengthen your core, workouts focus on total body. This is perhaps one of the biggest differences between P90X and P90X2, because there P90X2 begins by building you a foundation, which you improve upon as you progress through the phases. The reason for phases in P90X was muscle confusion. While muscle confusion is used in P90X2 for improvement and overcoming plateaus, it is not the focus. After a few weeks in this phase I noticed an improvement in my golf game. I was compressing the ball on every drive. I think this was the result of a stronger core and the balance exercises.

STRENGTH PHASE (3 to 6 weeks): Build up individual muscle groups. For example, workouts focus on your back, chest, legs, arms...etc.

PERFORMANCE PHASE (2 to 4 weeks): The previous two phases are preparation for the Performance Phase. The workouts, called PAP Upper and PAP Lower. PAP stands for Post-Activation Potentiation. This is newish type of training. Researching this topic was not easy because I do not understand all the terms and principals associated with biomechanics. An example of this type of exercise that P90X graduates will remember is the Plyometric Push-up. The Plyometric Push-up is done similar to a regular push-up but instead of finishing in plank position, the person exerts enough force going up that he or she leaves the ground with both feet and both hands. Often, the person doing the push up will clap their hands together while in the air.

-----REVIEW OF WORKOUTS-----

X2 CORE: (Entire Video: 57 minutes, Warm up: 19 minutes, Cool Down: 5 minutes, Workout: 34 minutes)
This workout has some great stretches in it. There are however, 6 minutes dedicated to Tony and the kids using foam rollers for stretching. The basic workout uses isometric exercises that build muscle endurance and strength. Most of these exercise focus on your core and the big muscles in your legs. After a few weeks, I got better at this video but instead of increasing the number of repetitions, I feel that I got a better workout by just having better form.

BALANCE AND POWER: (Entire Video: 61 minutes, Warm up: 11 minutes, Cool Down: 10 minutes Workout: 40 minutes) Simply lifting weights is one form of exercise that anyone reading this review is probably familiar with. Balance and Power is a combination of balance postures and weight lifting. For example, one exercise combines the yoga pose warrior three with a row press. My entire body was engaged while I struggled to keep my balance. The benefits to this type of exercise are something that I have completely overlooked as an avid golfer. I think it's a great workout because in almost any sport as power increases balance usually decreases.

PLYOCIDE: (Entire Video: 57 minutes, Warm up: 15 minutes, Cool Down: 12 minutes, Workout: 30 minutes) I usually push myself to the point where I am about to throw up in plyometric workouts but that wasn't the case with Plyocide. However the moves are technically difficult. In other word you need to have, certain muscles developed enough to be able to get the full benefit from the exercise. If you have those muscles developed, you will be able to benefit more from the workout. If you don't you'll certainly progress throughout the program and get stronger in ways you didn't know possible. I guess I expected more cardio from this workout.

X2 AB RIPPER: (Entire video 24 minutes, Warm up: 2, Workout: 12, Commercial: 10 minutes (end of video) Tony delivers another great ab workout! It is very tough to make it through all the reps of all the exercises. The exercises use your body weight as resistance and the video requires no additional equipment.

X2 RECOVERY + MOBILITY: (Entire Video: 58 minutes)
This is optional on one of two given rest days. Mostly it is stretching, a little yoga and a lot of foam roller. I think I get all the stretching I need doing the yoga video. On rest days that I feel good on, I throw in Pure Cardio from the Insanity series. If you struggle with flexibility then you should definitely do it to avoid injury. I am not really super flexible but I have maintained decent flexibility gained by doing Yoga from P90X.

X2 YOGA: Entire Video: (68 minutes) X2 Yoga is a good yoga workout and not very difficult for beginners. X2 Yoga contains variations on moves for beginners and advanced moves for very flexible experts.

X2 TOTAL BODY: (60 Minutes) I would have called this X2 Total Body + Balance. This video contains the most advanced exercises found in the foundation phase. It covers back, biceps, triceps, legs and chest. The reason I would say it is advanced is that there is an element of balance associated with every exercise. For example, triceps kickbacks and curls in warrior three.

-----P90X VS P90X2-----

X2 RECOVERY + MOBILITY VS. X STRETCH: Do it if (or when) you need it to avoid injury or to work out tightness. The difference X2 Recovery + Mobility and X Stretch is the heavy use of the foam roller. Although like all the other videos there is a person doing the exercises without the foam roller.

X2 YOGA VS. YOGA X (P90X): I could not get through Yoga X the first few times I did the workout. I was sweating a lot and my legs were on fire. This was not the case with X2 Yoga. Some of the same moves are done at a faster pace. There is nothing new except for a few variations to old moves. Yoga X had 45 minutes of solid Yoga and 45 minutes of balance postures. Seeing as though this video is 30 minutes shorter, I think it does a good job. However, I definitely think that Yoga X was more difficult and more rewarding in terms of gained flexibility and increased balanced. If you have Yoga X (the original) and can spend the extra 30 minutes, I think it is the obvious choice.

X2 CORE + BALANCE AND POWER VS. CORE SYNERGISTICS (P90X): You have to combine both videos to compare them to Core Synergistics because Core 2 alone does not come close to the workout that Core Synergistics is. Mostly the exercises are different from Core Synergistics. A few are the same or slightly modified. The biggest difference though is the added equipment used in X2 Core. Core Synergistics did required a dumbbell for a few exercises if I remember correctly but X2 Core frequently uses a medicine ball and a stability ball (large blown up rubber ball). There is one person in the video that shows you how to do the exercises without a medicine ball or stability ball; sometimes he uses a towel or resistance band in their place. P90X2 focuses on your core more than P90X. This is the proof, two entire videos dedicated to your core strength.

X2 AB RIPPER VS. AB RIPPER X (P90X): The original and X2 are comparable. There are some new exercises and modifications to old exercises. X2 is more technically difficult but still a great workout.

PLYOCIDE VS. PLYOMETRICS (P90X): Plyocide is more technically difficult but over all its easier in terms of having the endurance to make it through the work out. Plyometrics from P90X was a punishing workout. I do not think that I even made it all the way through the video until week six. Does anyone remember "Rock Star Hops"? By the time i did that the second time I was lying on the floor. Some of the Plyocide exercises are variations from P90X and even Shaun T's Insanity.

---TIPS---

1. Never skip a day. Okay, I know it's tough but once you skip one day you can rationalize skipping another.
2. Get some Cross Training shoes. They are different from running shoes and support your feet, knees and back when you're making lateral movements.
3. This contradicts tip number 2 but don't put off starting the program because you don't have equipment. There are modifications in each video that show you how to go through the entire program without additional equipment.
4. No one has enough time. Occasionally I work out late at night and then it's tough getting to sleep. However, I would not trade how I feel overall if it means I have to be a little tired sometimes.
5. Each workout gets better the second time you do it so do not get frustrated. Learning the exercises helps a lot.
6. I train / exercise in my basement. I started doing P90X on a concrete floor. After about a week on the concrete floor I purchased 48 Square Feet ( 12 tiles + borders) 'We Sell Mats' Charcoal Gray 2' x 2' x 3/8" Anti-Fatigue Interlocking EVA Foam Exercise Gym Flooring for about 30 bucks. Then I put a very thin piece of carpet over it (like the type in an office building for 33 bucks at Lowes) with double-sided duct tape. The reason that I put the carpet over it was because it gets very slippery when you get even a little sweat or water on it. 60 bucks well spent to save my knees.
7. Read the fitness guide that comes with the program. Your commitment will be stronger and the program will make more sense.
8. Take before pictures and after pictures. I did it at the beginning of each phase too. It is great motivation and very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Response To The Negative Reviews, April 25, 2012
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
I have diligently read every review on Amazon.I will start off by stating that I am a P90X grad and a P90X2 grad. I believe that qualifies me to give an honest and unbiased opinion of this program. I will be honest with many of the reviewers who reviewed this product negatively. Here's why:

They didn't finish the program. Every single negative reviewe I have read did not follow the program as guided, so it seems to me they are incapable of judging its usefulness or value.

Didn't push themselves hard enough. Too many of the reviewers on here complain that it's too easy. True, in a way. The first phase CAN be easy if you do not push to your limit. P90X2 is not P90X all over again. You are a physically mature individual who knows his own limits and knows how to "bring it." If you didn't break a sweat on these workouts, then you are either doing them incorrectly, or you are not working to your potential.

P90X2 requires equipment. Sure, you can modify; if you push it, you can get a great workout. But to fully comprehend the power of this program, you will need equipment. Too many reviews gripe and complain about it being expensive and just a money grabber for Beachbody. Again, read the reviews of people who actually did the program correctly. This stuff WORKS. Every piece of equipment is important to this program.

If you want to stay in great shape, then forget the equipment; do P90X again- there is nothing wrong with that! But if you want to get into superhero shape, then purchase the equipment and stop judging a program without trying it. The equipment is there for a purpose.

Scared of injury. This is a legitimate claim; yes, some of these moves are dangerous. But you already learned in P90X to understand your boundaries. If you can't balance on medicine balls, then YOU SHOULDN'T BE BALANCING ON MEDICINE BALLS. On every workout, there is someone who is modifying without the equipment. The whole first phase is developed to work on your balance so you can handle the stress on your wrists and ankles. If you do the program how it's designed, there is a significantly lower chance of you injuring yourself.

This stuff is intense. When you practice handstands, you might fall on your head, when you're curling a super heavy weight, you might throw out your shoulder, when you practice the "Crane pose" in yoga, you might land on your head. Intense exercise is risky if you don't have the sense to know your limits. Know your limits, and behave accordingly. I did this entire program with two individuals who were not P90X grads (although somewhat physically in shape), and two who were. Out of the five of us, none suffered any injuries, major or minor, from this program.

Warm-ups and cool-downs too long. Yes, in this program, they are both longer and more drawn out. This is because this stuff is intense. If your body isn't warm, you're going to snap. Trust me, the workouts are just as intense, if not more so, than P90X workouts. Follow the plan, and stick with it.

Foam rolling doesn't work. I won't even waste much time answering this one. It's just ridiculous. There is so much science and personal experience behind this amazing tool. If you're too foolish to try it, then don't mislead others.

Ab Ripper is too easy. Again, if you push it (like I did), then you'll definitely feel it. In my opinion, Ab Ripper 1 is easier. But that doesn't stop me; I incorporate weights and advance each of the moves to the max level. You're a P90X grad--you know how to modify and to intensify. Quit whining and work!

Not simple enough. Yes, P90X2 is complicated. But what a disappointment P90X2 would have been if it had just been a remake of P90X. Instead, Tony Horton did something amazing and created a new approach that revolutionizes fitness at home to a new level. P90X got you fit, P90X2 gets you insane performance. It's a step up. You still have some heavy weight lifting, but it's not the exact same approach, and that's a good thing.

Not enough weight-lifting. Guys, if you had actually followed the program or read the manual, you would have known that there is a STRENGTH PHASE after the first (core) phase! Don't try doing the strength phase workouts until you have done the core phase. This is so obvious to me; Beachbody set it up like this for a purpose! Don't blame them because of your lack of understanding!

I've also seen reviews that complain that the strength stuff isn't enough strength and still focuses too much on balance. Trust me, if you do the core phase, once you move into the strength phase, you'll be able to do this. I don't quit on four ball pushups because my wrists are exhausted, but because my chest feels completely wasted. IF AND ONLY IF you do the core phase, once you get to the strength phase, the balance will become background to the strength building because you are able to balance with much less effort.

Core and balance work isn't necessary. Once you finish this workout, you'll be thanking for Tony Horton for training you in an area you didn't think important. This stuff has helped me tremendously in many areas of my life.

Well, I hope that answers all the negative reviews for this program. I'll now give a quick review of each workout:

X2 Core - Bang! What a way to start the program, possibly the most enjoyable workout in the series. A super core shredder that will have you sweating and straining to no end. I have read that some people think this is inferior to Core Synergistics. I strongly disagree. In fact, Core Synergistics was hardly a core workout at all. It was more of a multiple muscle group workout that anything else.

Cons: Barbie, the woman in this workout, acts rather strangely throughout this workout. Not much of a con, but I find myself laughing at her strange behavior

Plyocide - A different approach from plyometrics in the fact that there are fewer jumping moves, and more explosion/precision moves. Much more enjoyable and less mentally taxing than plyometrics. Quite difficult, but I did have to intensify several moves beyond the point anyone on the dvd (after my fourth or fifth time through it) did to feel maximum burn. I would accept the argument that this is easier that plyometrics, but not by much.

I also experienced an interesting side benefit to this workout that I didn't expect. The last week of core, I substituted plyometrics for plyocide to see how it felt. Big surprise! I actually had the best plyometrics that I had ever had. I think this may have had to do with the different training that plyocide offers.

Cons: Tracy, the woman on this workout (you'll recognize her from P90X plus), is insufferably full of herself. She seems to be showing off the entire workout, and laughs at EVERYTHING that Tony says- even when he's not trying to be funny. It gets to be very hard to deal with after awhile.

Recovery and Mobility - You are introduced into the fantastic Foam Roller in this routine. This baby, once used for a couple weeks, is a fantastic way to release knots in your body, and to increase flexibility. The workout itself has a pretty laid back tone too it. Definitely one you will look forward to.

Cons: Like one reviewer noticed, this workout seems to take a beginner approach that can get annoying. For example, in the warmup vinyasas when you jump back to plank, they spend over thirty seconds holding it and Tony goes around fixing everyone's form. We're P90X grads! We know how to make a pretty plank!

Total Body - This is possibly the most painful of the three core-centered workouts in the first phase. This is where you'll start to incorporate weights into your core training. This is an intense workout, and most likely, you will not be able to keep up with the crew the first couple times. You'll notice dramatic improvements in this workout as you do it several times. Stick with it!

Cons: None really. Just not my favorite workout.

YogaX2 - An improvement of the old Yoga and a disappointment at the same time. While this one offers more opportunities for advanced folks (like myself) to try their hand at advanced moves, it does not contain any balance moves (besides crane, and the balance stuff in the vinyasas).

Cons: They do something called a single, double, triple which I find useless. It's a sped up vinyasa to Warrior one then back again, repeatedly (you'll see what I mean in the dvd). It moves too fast to get anything out of it but warm-up (and you're already warm at this point in the disc). I just replace this part with my favorite vinyasa moves not included in this disc.
There's a lot of good stuff in this workout, but there are several little things that I dislike (for example, Tony talks through the entire Chavasna)

Balance plus Power - A good all around workout that falls somewhere in between the difficulty of Total Body and the fun of X2 Core. A lot of tough moves, and it gets harder as the workout progresses (the bonus round is wicked).

Cons: Just a small one, but Tony is rather obnoxious on this workout. His whole "power to you" jingle is rather annoying.

That does it for the first phase. Here are the phase two workouts:

Chest, Back, and Balance - Yessir! This workout had me completely wasted the first four times I worked through it. I still struggle to keep up with the team on this one. If you did your core workouts properly, you won't struggle near as much on the balance moves as you thought you would. Granted, this is a very difficult workout the first couple times you do it (arguably the hardest workout in the program), but stick with it and you will see improvements and results.

Cons: None really, it's a very frustrating workout to do, especially the first time, but I guarantee that you will see improvement.

Shoulders and Arms - A nice upper body pump that will definitely get you the nice burn pretty quickly. Incorporates simple arm moves with some balance. Pretty good all around.

Cons: One of the guys in this workout is rather immature acting and can get on your nerves. Also, a lot of "balance" parts on the weight lifting in this workout is just standing on one leg- something that is often almost impossible to do (no matter how strong your core is). I generally just put one foot on a chair instead of trying to stand on one leg. I'm also disappointed by the "do one set of moves, then repeat" approach. I was hoping for more variety here (like the original).

Base and Back - Ouuuch! This is the workout to watch out for. Every time I did this workout I was at least mildly nauseous at its completion. Some nice pull-ups variations interlaced with some wicked plyometrics. A tough, bare-bones workout that will have you gasping for breath.

Cons: Although the plyo is great, I do miss the squats from Legs and Back. Granted, Legs and Back was boring, and not near as enjoyable as this one, but I wish that Tony had incorporated just one weighted leg move in this DVD.

V Sculpt (this workout is included in the Deluxe set) - Definitely worth the extra money! This is a completely different approach from Back and Biceps, the "lets see how many different types of curls there are" workout. An amalgam of all types of back and bicep moves that's a pleasure to work through. My favorite upper body workout in the P90X2 series

Cons: Made the mistake of working out barefoot the first time I did this. This workout has several band moves, which makes shoes a must.

Chest, Shoulders, and Tris (this workout is included in the Deluxe set) - A nice workout that leaves you feeling pretty good afterwards. Nothing terribly special, although I find the Three Ball Extravaganza move to be exceptionally challenging.

Cons: Like the Shoulders and Arms workout, this is a repeat workout. I wish there was expecting more variety here.

PAP Lower - Wow! is all I can say. Two complexes with eight seemingly simple moves. Trust me, if you do this workout correct, you'll be soaking wet when you're done. Completely devastates your hips and glutes as you learn to incorporate all the other phases of P90X2. Best part? This workout (along with the PAP upper) leaves you feeling energized afterwards, not exhausted. This stuff is going to really help you live better

Cons: None. Just a good kick butt workout!

PAP Upper - Not quite as good as its Lower twin, but quite a burner in itself. You'll be drenched and feeling energized after this one. Not much else to say, you just have to try it for yourself. Focuses on your shoulders.

Cons: None, this and Lower are both practically flawless workouts that do exactly what they claim to do.

**Bonus Workouts**

These were two workouts included by ordering through Team Beachbody (they are both One on One workouts):

One on One Leg for Legs - I love this workout. The entire workout is on one leg. You're going to feel muscles in your ankles you didn't even think you had. If you do this workout regularly, your Yoga is going to improve dramatically.

Upper Body Balance - A good workout with some advanced stuff, but not to compare with Chest, Back, and Balance. Tony moves from move to move too slow, and the ab stuff always feels like an after thought.

OVERALL PROS FOR P90X2:

The equipment is really fantastic, the medicine balls, the stability ball, and the foam roller really pushes you to a whole new level.

Takes a whole new aspect that P90X did not take. Don't expect another P90X, expect another revolutionary product from Beachbody.

Tony is his usual crazy self. Not quite as humorous, but still cheesy and funny in his own weird way.

OVERALL CONS FOR P90X2:

There are dangers of injury, but only if you're stupid enough to do something you cannot do. You must, I repeat, you MUST do the core phase before attempting the strength phase.

The cast is just not the same. The only people from the old P90X that show up are Dreya and Bobby.
The cast seems to be straining to compete with Tony for personality dominances; this can be quite annoying. I was hoping for Adam, Pam, Tim, and friends. It was a disappointment with Tony's selection of cast, but this is just me being picky.

The warm-ups are generally the same moves throughout the entire series. This can get tedious, but the moves do the job, so I can hardly complain.

Overall, I strongly recommend this program. It has revolutionized my fitness, as it will yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, May 13, 2012
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
If you have P90X and want P90X2 without actually buying it, do the following steps:

1. Take every weight work out in P90X and do them while balancing on one foot.
2. Take every push up/floor exercise and do them while balancing on medicine balls.

Congratulations! you now own P90X2!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mismatched expectations, January 10, 2012
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
So I have been a Tony Horton - P90X and Shaun T - Insanity fan for the past year. With these two programs, my fitness level has increased dramatically. I'd say that I am in the best shape of my life. So when I heard about P90X2, I was really looking forward to it. PAP, Core, new YOGA and Ab ripper2. Bring it! Bring it!! Bring it!!!

But the reality hit me after I did a few of these workouts. P90X2 has a different focus than the original. It is almost like they want to make it to be something in between insanity and the original p90x. So here are the workout I have done and what I thought about them. I will update my review as I tryout the workouts. However for the ones who only want the short and sweet bottom line - see below.

so comparison:
P90X - original, no thrill muscle building, fat killing workout.
Insanity - Awesome cardio-conditioning, which p90x lacked. But not as much resistance training.
P90X2 - attempt to cover both cardio/muscle building/balance control - a mix between the two above.

So for p90x2:
Pros:
Great overall body workout with individual phases (1, 2, 3)
Yoga is shorter and faster
New moves for the p90x grads
Lots more focus on warm up and cool down (about 20 mins total in each of the 55 min workout)
Lots more focus on balance moves

Cons:
Too many equipment required
Too long of warmup and cool down - about 1/3 of the video...really...1/3 of the video
Progression between moves are very fast (too fast to follow at times)
Some moves are unnatural and can be dangerous to do
Tony did not count out the moves very well...or at least compared to p90x.

Different from P90X - not as focused on muscle building...people who really dislike this program should think about that maybe they are at a very different point of their fitness (p90x did what it suppose to do...so now you are looking for that something extra).

The last thing I have to comment:
looking at p90x to p90x2; then looking at insanity to asylum: both workout progression published by beachbody appears to incorporate a lot of new workout equipments in the second iteration. I hope they realize that people buy their product because of the workouts...not the equipments. of course, your profit goes up when you can get people to buy all the accessories that comes with the workout...but you may also turn people off. Besides...you already got great first generation workout without the need for all the excessive workout gear. Think about it...we are trying to do this at home/apartments. if we want to get all the gear and create a home gym maybe we should just buy a gym membership...

Individual workout review - this is a little lengthy...so have patience:

1. Ab rip 2 VS. Ab rip 1 = I really liked ab ripper 1. the new ab ripper just did not do it for me. The number of moves progressed too quickly. I did not feel a great amount targeted work. Now, it is like they decided to modify a couple of moves from ab ripper 1, core synergistic, yoga 1 abs and do a mix match to create this. I am not sure what I am expecting but which it was harder... Also, some of the moves are not natural...unlike P90X ab ripper where everything just felt right. maybe it's because I am used to ab-ripper 1. -- a couple times later -- I stand by my opinion and recommend if you really want a day to just do abs - try to do ab ripper 1 and 2 together for a session.

2. Yoga 2: shorter yes, different moves yes, better...NO!! I hate it....I liked the original yoga so so much better. the moving options progressed so quickly, you felt like you were doing a cardio workout. I mean guys...this is yoga! you need to hold your poses not just progression from move to move.... Anyhow, I do like the fact it is shorter. I did not like the yoga belly in the new workout. the original yoga is so much better....I'd just add a couple of moves to the original, shorten the stretch sections, and just do the moving options. I think that is enough for strength and flexibility. The standing options are good to do but if you are sick of it like me...don't bother...stick with yoga 1.

3. PAP lower: great workout. really pushed you to the limit. I would not have been able to do this if I have not done insanity. It is a mix of lift and cardio...or if you want to use the correct Post-activation potentiation terms - resistance then explosion. If you look at some of the studies, the elite athletes perform better than the recreational athletes with this workout. Also all the studies used heavy lifts (squats). Anyhow, without getting into the details, I'd say this is a great workout. It really made me sweat - dropped 4 lbs in one session (all in water weight). Do be careful with explosive moves...you may get injured if you don't be careful (esp. when you are exhausted.)

4. PAP Upper: okay workout. moves are okay...first complex is better than the second. I'd say they probably could design a better resistance workout before you go explosive. This workout does a total upper body - ie. arms, core, back...so maybe that is the goal. Anyhow, it is an okay workout. I am tired at the end of the workout but definitely not feeling the muscle burn in my arms like you do when you do P90X chest and back or shoulder/bi/tri.

5. Core x2 - good workout but not as good as core synergistic for p90x. It has a couple of moves that I'd incorporate into synergistic workout but that is about it. Alot of the balance moves with medicine ball/balance ball are very uncomfortable and dangerous...you can really hurt your wrist or lower back or simply fall on your face... too much focus is put on balance rather than actual core work. Did not like it that much, stick with the ab ripper 1&2 combo and core synergistic for the core.

6. Plyocide - This workout is not like plyometrix...It is more like insanity's max interval plyo. There are a few moves that I thought it was really like insanity's workout. Anyhow, really good cardio...by then end of the workout, I was showering in my own sweat (not a great picture...) Great cardio-workout. A few moves changes way too fast...really hard follow the first time around.

7. Total Body - This workout has a litte of everything. Hits the shoulders, back, bi/tri, core and legs. I think that is why it is total body. The only thing is there are some balance moves that makes you feel like either you are gonna to slip or fall so to injure your wrist. This is a great workout though - you will sweat like a bear. 12 moves 2 rounds - reasonable and doable.

8. Chest/Back - This workout is full of balance moves. NOT A FAN. Most of the moves are unstable without any instructions on how to do the moves or what modifications to do to work up to the balanced moves. I don't feel that I really worked out afterwards...well...that was because half of the time I was not able to push myself due to falling off the medicine balls. I feel that this workout could have been so much better. Becareful on the moves with medicine balls - if you are not careful, you will slip and hurt your wrist.

9. Shoulder and Arm - This is closest to the original p90x workout. After the workout, I felt similar to when I first started p90x. But be careful, there are still alot of balance moves.

10. Base and Back - This is basically a pullup and jump training workout. Not as intense as the p90x's legs and back. But I did learn in the video that Tony is 52 during the filming of p90x2. I guess that is a pretty good testament to taking care of yourself then you can look and function better than a 30 year old when you are 50.

okay I am done for now... untill next workout..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy, April 6, 2012
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
I was an avid fan of the first P90X and told all my friends about how good it was and raved about it to complete strangers. Needless to say I was ecstatic when the mention P90X-2 came out. I thought it would revolutionize the world by introducing fast and simple workouts to the masses.
I was surprised to find out that P90X-2 is just a propaganda machine that forces you to purchase dubious amounts of exercise equipment and repeats pointless workouts over and over. I mean who really has the money in today's economy to buy 3 medicine balls? And a 60 dollar roller that is on every disk and just happens to be Tony Horton's "favorite" piece of equipment.
I, being the sincere guy that I am, gave away the first P90X set to my best friend thinking that I would no longer need it and now I am contemplating going back to the gym, again, and pay a membership fee.
I was in the military, I know how to work out and I don't think that you need stacks and stacks of cash to purchase your own in-home gym to be fit. I think that this is a money making scheme that is in the same line of a Kardashian plan to squander money from the clueless.

If you have the first P90X, don't buy the second one. That's what I'm telling everyone here at least in my community. I'm sure that this post will be deleted shortly after I post this but it feels good to vent about something that I am so frustrated by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on what you are after, December 31, 2011
This review is from: P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit (Sports)
P90X2 really isn't for you if you want to build muscle. In P90X you did push ups, pull ups, rows with weights, militaries with weights, etc. which was the core. You could build muscle. P90X2 you do almost all your push ups with a stability ball. Great for balance and core, but not so great for building your muscles. 4 ball push ups (on medicine balls) same thing. This stuff is not easy, but it is not a big muscle builder. Doing curls and kick backs in warrior 3 is tough only for balance. You really can't build biceps or triceps with this. The Back and Base (like Legs and Back) is lots of pull ups which I like, but the leg work is just more plyo. Long story short, if you want to build muscle and get good cardio too, then P90X is for you. If you want to have good cardio and good muscle tone (note not get bigger muscles) then P90X2 is for you. I also think the reason they put some big guys in this P90X2 video is to try to convince you that you can get big like them. These guys didn't get big from this workout. This workout probably slimmed them down and gave them functional fitness they lacked from just lifting weights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

P90X2 DVD Workout - Base Kit
$139.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.