Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay on the ground, and don't be a Hero!!
Payday is a fantasy for those of us gamers that have hankered for the chance to play roles as the anti heroes, and feel good doing it. Who hasn't had that little voice in the back of their head when going through the drive through at the local bank that wants to pull a Heat style heist and escape with the Payday, well this game scratches that itch. Payday 2 is a much...
Published 16 months ago by Jerod Lytton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but very unfinished game
For my part I have been greatly enjoying Payday 2, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an objective-based co-op shooter with leveling and character customization. That said, the game was released very unfinished, and still contains some serious flaws.

==The Good==
Payday 2 is more heavily class-based and incorporates far more RPG mechanics than...
Published 15 months ago by K. F.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay on the ground, and don't be a Hero!!, August 13, 2013
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Payday is a fantasy for those of us gamers that have hankered for the chance to play roles as the anti heroes, and feel good doing it. Who hasn't had that little voice in the back of their head when going through the drive through at the local bank that wants to pull a Heat style heist and escape with the Payday, well this game scratches that itch. Payday 2 is a much improved version of the first game, allowing for customization of the skills, masks, and weapons you want to use to make the ultimate criminal to fit your play style. The missions vary from a simple smash and grab store heist to multiple day events from meth houses to a dark highway.

The gunplay is tight, the weapons are varied, and every mission can either be ninja'd with professional finesse where nobody knows you are there, or you can tank up with shotguns and heavy armor and take the place by storm. The limit to what and how you take down your scores depends soley on your crew and your ability to work together. Overkill has taken great time and effort to work with and implement requests from players and forums to make the game cater to the fans. They generally care about the fans, take pride in making characters that are endearing and fun, and to keep you coming back for more.

You get a safe house to practice your weapons and skills in action before taking them to the field, and it doubles as a personal hangout complete with rooms for showing off your collections and armory, as well as your own vault with cash that stacks up and keeps track on a big screen to flaunt your successes to others. Every mission, while the same in scope, varies and changes each time you play it, and unless playing with the same crew over and over, your approach will too as different heisters join with different skill sets.

The price for the game is half of normal AAA titles out, and is worth every penny. Steam support was and continues to be top notch, and this is a title I will be dumping a lot of time into. If you take Heat, Left 4 Dead, and a Hollywood approach to an interactive first person experience, and think that sounds like a good time, you should have no qualms about picking up this great title.

I played for 4 hours after it went live this morning, and had about 50 hours into the Beta, minus a few hiccups, had a great launch so far. There are some hit box issues with a few weapons, some weird spawns and glitches yet, but nothing anywhere near serious that I encountered, and Overkill is actively finding, balancing, and eliminating things as they come to light. All in all, I think you should glove up, lock and load, and put your mask on. To quote Wolf, "Let's get rich."

Now if you'll excuse me, my escape van is waiting... and it is Payday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Payday 2 is an awesome game, but..., October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
First of all, i just want to say i have put about 45 hours to payday 2, and still havent got bored of it.
The game isnt perfect, far from it, but it gives the best bank heisting feel that i have had in any games yet.
The biggest problem with payday is that they really published an unfinished game that has been patched 13 times already (and they arent small patches either) and the game still is quite choppy. About multiplayer, i really, REALLY suggest getting atleast one friend to buy this game with you, because people online are really hard to communicate with and most are obnoxious people that grief games.

TL;DR, this game is really fun bank heist game with some bugs, get friends to buy this with you and it will be atleast 40 hours of fun fun fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hint of Left 4 Dead with a pinch of adrenaline, August 16, 2013
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
So much better than the first installment in the franchise. I just can not wait to see what else this studio will make with this huge success! Big things are coming their way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but very unfinished game, September 10, 2013
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
For my part I have been greatly enjoying Payday 2, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an objective-based co-op shooter with leveling and character customization. That said, the game was released very unfinished, and still contains some serious flaws.

==The Good==
Payday 2 is more heavily class-based and incorporates far more RPG mechanics than the previous game. While picking a class in the first Payday meant nothing more than selecting which column your next bonus would come from, each of the four classes in Payday 2 serves a distinct and important role in a heist. The Mastermind class has skills for crew bonuses, intimidating, and even controlling enemies and civilians. The Enforcer has many combat bonuses and is ideal for hauling loot. The Technician has better drills, C4 for blowing open doors and safes, and sentry guns. The Ghost is a master of stealth. When you have three other friends to play regularly with and each has focused on a different tree, the game reaches its full potential. Each player has their own role, leaving you feeling like a well-oiled machine.

Heists are of varying length and complexity, which is a nice change of pace from the uniformly long and complex heists of the first Payday. New realism factors, such as loot bags that the player must pack and carry to the escape vehicle, add more depth to the game, and I enjoy their addition. The developers have toned down the zombie-horde feeling of the assaults in the first Payday - you face fewer, smarter, tougher cops, and the game feels a bit less silly as a result.

Gunplay is excellent, and with a good amount of customizability with each weapon, not to mention that there are far more weapons than the first game. You can add sights, new grips, barrel extensions, suppressors, and other accessories to each weapon, affecting its stats and feel. I find the weapon customization engrossing, although weapon mods are given as random loot upon completing levels and can take forever to find.

Overall it's a really fun game, but not without its problems.

==The Bad==
Payday 2 is obviously unfinished, whatever the developers might claim to the contrary. They are still patching major issues and making gameplay changes that should have happened before release.

A good example of a major flaw is that enemy units do not have hitboxes around the arms and legs. They cannot be shot in the limbs. Other problems: the game has severe network sync issues, including objects and enemies appearing in different places on different computers, and different messages about how an alarm got sounded appearing on each computer. Players will randomly get dropped mid-mission and miss out on the payout. The description for nearly every weapon attachment in the game is wrong - for example, a grip might say "lowers recoil but increases visibility", but the stats show the grip actually increases accuracy and mobility.

Some of the heists are much too easy once players have leveled sufficiently and unlocked some of the higher-tier skills. Rather than appropriately fixing game balance, Overkill has added more escape sequences - extra combat stages the players must complete after the main stage of a heist. This feels like a cheap and ineffective solution for gameplay problems that should have been ironed out before release.

Payday 2 is an enjoyable ride overall, but I would recommend waiting until the more serious bugs have been hammered out before picking it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as advertsed, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Game code works perfectly with steam. Game is as advertised.

WARNING: Do NOT buy if you don't have friends to play with, online players range from amazingly good, to extremely poor, with several different styles of pla, from stealth all the way to shoot anything that moves. Hackers are common, and the AI is completely useless (so the game is VERY difficult solo).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Payday: The Heist was trying to be, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I can't promise that you'll like Payday 2, but for the style of gameplay that it is- it's a fantastic game- one that feels like a near flawless implementation of what the developers were trying to accomplish in the first game.

Let's start with pre-orders. It's not something I should have to talk about, but considering the Metro: Last Light fiasco, its something we should touch on. Those who pre-ordered such as myself recieved 2 special masks (somewhat akin to hats in TF2), a red and black color scheme, a special red dot sight that in reality is very similar to the one offered to all players, as well as some in game cash. An extra few bucks will get you two beta keys.

This is how pre-order bonuses should be done- and considering that the game is in the black pre-release, it worked. Overkill difficulty did not have to be excluded from post release copies to make us buy the game... take note Deep Silver.

Many players purchased Payday: The Heist expecting the game version of the classic Hollywood heist movie, when the game was much more akin to Left 4 Dead. In Payday 2 the stealth you would expect from the genre is finally present. It's not at all like stealth in say, a Hitman game, with specific and exact solutions to every conflict, but rather Overkill purposely pushes in the opposite direction, making gameplay as spontaneous and organic as possible with dozens of randomized elements. More often than not, my cover was eventually blown, but that in no way made stealth less rewarding. Stealth in Payday isn't a binary choice, but rather an entire new gameplay mechanic. Jammers can be deployed, bodies can be hidden, locks can be picked, police radios can be answered and responded to. Cover can be blown via police radios, silent alarms, security cameras, and even metal detectors that must be avoided.

In addition to stealth, the RPG elements are greatly expanded upon. Instead of payouts leveling up linear upgrades, XP unlocks skill points, which can be spent on character upgrades. 5% of a players earnings is spendable cash, which can be used to purchase sexy new equipment and cosmetics. Each player also has a safehouse, which past the tutorial level seems pretty useless, as a player can purchase, modify, and equip weapons from a menu. But it is hinted that this feature will be expanded upon post-release, and players will be able to customize their safehouses. The escape van appears in the garage, but heists always end in a menu, not in the safehouse... so I never felt a compelling reason to visit.

Another innovation is the addition of multi-day heists, which require multiple sets of objectives, creating a more complex campaign-like feel. These are lots of fun- and the plot evolves around how you play. You don't "lose" if you blow up your meth lab first day, but it does effect the last "day" of the heist (the money day) greatly.

The gun-play is largely the same as The Heist, and different scenarios, from robbing banks silently to throwing down thousands of rounds to rip off some ATMs and store safes offer a diverse gameplay experience. In addition, many more random events and variations make every game unique.

For $30 this is a must buy. My new favorite co-op game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ultra fun, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
ultra fun game that i've put about 20 hours into..well worth the time and money. this is a great team based game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Payday 2, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Love it :D Awesome game. Play it way to much :P Hope there is a new update soon, i cant wait :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE it!, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I love 505 games. I love the first PayDay. I was happy to see the work they have done to improve and add more content. Will always treat 505 as a premium game developer. I just wish SOME would take after these guys when it comes to making there customers happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a great game, but it has quirks., January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It's a great game to jump into and you have a blast first jumping in... But you'll soon grow bored of doing the exact same missions over and over. The only thing that keeps this game's reliability up is playing it with friends, so if you get this game, I highly recommend you have friends who play it too, or it will soon grow to be dull once you've played every mission 10+ times .-.

Two other big issues I had with this game were also in the first game:
1. The Ally AI is horrible, they are practically useless trying to do anything stealth, it's better to go solo than to have computer ally's in this game. The only time they are useful is if you are in a firefight and to revive you...but if they weren't there to get themselves detected in the first place, then you wouldnt be HAVING the firefight.
2. The casing mode is horribly lacking, all you can do is walk around. I wish there was a way to tag out cameras, pick locks, knock out people, or something in it. It's basically just a "pre-game" walk-through of your mission of anywhere there isn't guards or cameras.

With those out of the way, it's quite a enjoyable game. I actually like the controls quite well despite others, and don't mind the small weapon selection since I focus on stealthing through missions as much as I can, I just wish they made it more fun options to BE stealthy with, instead of almost discouraging it. I really enjoyed the skill tree, I would say the skill tree and the unlockable attachments and end-mission lotto is quite well put together and enjoyable. Graphics are to par, but I don't really care all too much about that anyway.

All and all, it's a great game with a few quirks... the biggest of that being unless you have at least 2-3 friends to play this with, it gets old fast. I grabbed this when it was $10, but it's worth the full price if you have friends easily, and for $10 i'm more than happy with what I paid compared to the value of this game. Just need more friends who enjoyed the game and will still play it with me hah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PAYDAY 2 [Online Game Code]
$29.99 $10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.