Customer Reviews


1,046 Reviews
5 star:
 (751)
4 star:
 (164)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


238 of 250 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great in Protein Smoothies
I added two tablespoons of it to my chocolate protein and vanilla soy milk with a few slices of bananna. It was delicious. Tasted just like my smoothies with regular peanut butter. It cut out 160 calories and 14.8 grams of fat.
Published on July 22, 2009 by Tammy

versus
613 of 660 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great flavor!
This is a tricky product to review. On the one hand, the flavor is great! (especially the choc. peanut butter). If I were rating it on flavor alone, I would give it five stars. However, I took one star off for the price and another star off for the quantity. It has 15 servings, with each serving being two Tablespoons. however, two tablespoons of the powder mixed with...
Published on September 10, 2010 by Meredith Parrish


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

238 of 250 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great in Protein Smoothies, July 22, 2009
By 
Tammy (Myrtle Beach, SC) - See all my reviews
I added two tablespoons of it to my chocolate protein and vanilla soy milk with a few slices of bananna. It was delicious. Tasted just like my smoothies with regular peanut butter. It cut out 160 calories and 14.8 grams of fat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


613 of 660 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great flavor!, September 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz (Grocery)
This is a tricky product to review. On the one hand, the flavor is great! (especially the choc. peanut butter). If I were rating it on flavor alone, I would give it five stars. However, I took one star off for the price and another star off for the quantity. It has 15 servings, with each serving being two Tablespoons. however, two tablespoons of the powder mixed with a little water only yields about 2 teaspoons of peanut butter. So if you are making peanut butter for a sandwich or for apples, you go through the jar pretty quick (only took me about two days). But if you are going to add it to a vanilla protein shake, the one serving adds a ton of flavor. So I would repurchase this but only for adding to shakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 198 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the rest, May 22, 2009
By 
Always Dieting "Al" (san antonio, texas United States) - See all my reviews
This comes in powdered form that you mix with water to the consistancy that you like. It is by far the best low cal/low fat peanut butter product. I've tried them all, and although it's not as good as full fat/full cal peanut butter - it's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Good why isn't it Bad???, December 8, 2011
This review is from: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz (Grocery)
After a couple of days to try out these 2 Peanut butter substitutes (the regular and chocolate versions) I can say I'm a convert. I LOVE peanut butter, for me it's a trigger food. If I eat it, I tend to want to eat half the jar at once and it can lead to wanting to eat other things I know I shouldn't. I've worked damn hard to shed 170lb this past year and half and indulging in PB is something I very rarely do anymore. I'd all but given it up. So actually finding something like this, which will allow me to enjoy the occasional PB&J sandwich without the feelings of guilt and remorse is a godsend!
The reg. version of PB2 does have a roasted peanut taste to it, so it's not quite like regular PB, you don't get the salty sweeter taste of Jiff or Skippy. JUST the roasted peanut taste. But it's quickly adapted to. And the Chocolate version (which I was more skeptical of) was even better! You can eat either one right after you mix them with water, but I think they're best when added to something else.
First of all I like to mix a base of reg PB2 with the chocolate version since I prefer a bit more of the nutty flavor to the chocolate. When just eating the chocolate my first thought was this would be great on whole wheat with a smear of marshmallow creme. And I don't even like marshmallow creme. But I will probably try it out one day to see if I'm right.
Either spread works great on fruit. I've tried apples and bananas so far. I also tried a PB&J with reduced calorie jelly and it worked very well. Good enough to replace the high calorie reg. PB&J sandwiches.

It might sound strange but one combo I REALLY like is to scoop a bit of the powdered PB onto a fat free potato chip (I use Pringles fat free sour cream) and no there wasn't a taste clash or anything. I'm sure you could use the reg Pringles fat free, I just happen to think the sour cream ones taste better. Anyway turn the chip upside down and scoop a bit of powder into the "bowl" of the underside and eat. The salt of the chip is the first thing that hits your tongue and then the PB powered crumbs. And the combo is just....yumm!!!! Like that, it really does taste like any PB you could buy. I tried it with the chocolate version too, and there it's really like eating a peanut butter cup. And surprisingly the salty chip and powered PB isn't dry in the mouth. Quite the opposite actually. Now on the other hand, I tried adding the powdered PB2 as a topping to my skinny cow ice cream as I do on occasion like some melted PB on my ice cream, but there it DID dry out my mouth completely. Very strange. So I decided to try and mix the PB2 with water then heat it up in the microwave to see if it would melt like reg PB. It didn't. It got hot, but ended up dry like the cookie dough for peanut butter cookies where you can basically ball it up in your hands. I guess without all the fat the PB2 can't melt like standard peanut butter. So as for ice cream topping, at least so far, it hasn't worked.
I am looking forward to seeing what else these 2 powdered products would work with and am already planning on ordering the larger sizes as I'd like to try some baking with them too.

All in all, I highly recommend them!

Edit; Okay so it DOES work as a melted peanut butter substitute on ice cream. The key is to start with a base of water and gradually add powder to it until you get a very creamy consistency that will run off a spoon, just like melted pb *then* heat it up in the microwave. My first attempt with this method I used far too much water so be careful there. I kept adding bits of powder including the chocolate version for fear I'd use all my pb2 up. But it was so much water I couldn't thicken it up enough and decided to start over. However, rather than just throw it all out, I decided to try it out as a drink. And you know, heated up, it was like a super rich cup of cocoa....delish! Even with no added sweetener it was sweet enough. And as a plus, since it's just water you can save those calories there. Not to mention, if you're lactose intolerant like me, regular hot chocolate is out anyway.

Now even though this stuff is 85% less than regular peanut butter it does have some calories and fat, so I wouldn't over do it. But as an occasional indulgence, I'm so happy I found this!

PS: I just want to add since purchasing PB2 from Amazon I've found a site called "netrition.com" and I highly recommend buying food stuffs from them. Amazon is great for pretty much everything else, but they are way over priced on their food.
I bought the large 16oz pack of PB2 from netrition for only 7.99 per bag. the same price Amazon charges for the small 6.5oz size! They don't have free shipping like Amazon, but they only charge $4.95 flat shipping fee no matter how much you buy. So it's not bad. Maybe because I bought so much, or it was my first time ordering but they also sent me a free low cal. quick cook cake mix. They were also way WAY cheaper on PB2 peanut butter crackers and everything else I ordered from them.

So like I said, Amazon is great for most things, but when it comes to food. Netrition is a whole lot better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, except for Amazon's pricing mistake., January 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz (Grocery)
Excellent, mixes well in a protein shake and tastes just like a jar of peanut butter!
The only problem with ordering it from Amazon is they have an obvious pricing mistake, I can get this from other websites for $3.99 a jar, even if your an amazon prime member and get free shipping here, you will still save a lot ordering it elsewhere.
You can even get it from the manufactures website for much cheaper.
I called the company and the suggested retail price is approx. $4.00 per jar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


215 of 273 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE WHEN MIXED WITH JELLY!, October 4, 2009
By 
J. Wilson (New York / New Jersey) - See all my reviews
I first purchased PB2 in Manhattan and was so excited about its great taste that I bought another four jars and mixed spoonfuls for colleagues at work. You can use PB2 as others have suggested, but I like it on sandwiches. My entire life I've been addicted to peanut butter, so much so that during college I ate 4 lbs of freshly ground health store peanut butter per week! I find that when I mix 2 TBSP of PB2 powder with jelly and put it on a sandwich it tastes as good as any peanut butter sandwich I've ever had.

At 55, I'm blessed to be in great shape and have tried to stop eating peanut butter all together but it's impossible. So I'm here to order four more jars of what I consider to be a miracle: PB2! Mix it with jelly (even margarine or a little butter) and enjoy an extremely low fat, old fashioned peanut butter sandwich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peanut Butter Flavor without the Peanut Butter Guilt, January 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz (Grocery)
I love high-octane peanut butter, but not the fat/calorie content.

TASTE: If you are accustomed to low-salt or raw products, the taste will be fine. If someone in the house balks at the taste, you can toss in a dash of fine sea salt or honey (agave works well too). You could easily mix PB2 with PB to wean onto this gradually.

TEXTURE: Mixes fast and is very smooth (surprisingly). From the jar, it's similar in consistency to powdered sugar. Open factory seal on jar carefully so it doesn't fly out (trust me).

MIXING: Easily mixes using a small spoon or spatula in a gently sloping small bowl (I use a pinch bowl)

USAGE: PB2 has recipes on their website (Bell Plantation) and they also sell a chocolate/pb product. I'm a fan of straight PB2 (a spoon by itself) but have had PB2 on crackers, sprinkled on banana/apple slices, and am looking forward to making homemade PB2 ice cream this summer.

STORAGE: I was a bit disappointed at shelf life projection. As a dry product, it should last for years but the company says 10-12 months unopened and 4-6 opened. I would prefer to buy the larger sizes or a case to save more.

COST: It can be obtained cheaper elsewhere (like on the PB2 website) but I had free shipping purchases to offset the cost. I wanted to try just one jar before committing to a larger sized container from the company. If you purchase natural products, the price won't be such a shock.

BIGGEST PROS: lower calorie and fat content - hands down the best. Dogs like it too ;)
BIGGEST CONS: high cost and not a product you can 'make ahead' very successfully (though this could be considered a "PRO" because it helps with portion control. I make it as needed.

This product will not change your life, but it will satisfy your peanut butter cravings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Issue with Amazon and Price, March 1, 2011
This review is from: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz (Grocery)
This is a great product; tastes great, much healthier than regular commercial peanut butter. Unfortunately, it is also available everywhere else on the internet for $3.99 while it's nearly $12 on Amazon. I notified Amazon of this 300% difference in price nearly two months ago and they assured me they would look into it. No adjustment to the price has been made and I would assume at this point, that it won't be.

Buy the product but buy it anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great taste, but measure by weight not volume, August 24, 2011
By 
Erica K (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz (Grocery)
I was very impressed with the taste of this peanut butter. After playing around a bit with the water to powder ratio, I got a smooth creamy spread that was fantastic on a piece of bread.

Be sure to measure out the amount you want by weight, not volume. I am dinging them one star because their serving size is 21g or 2 tbps. I found that 21g came out a bit over 1 tbps, but it is definitely not 2! Since most people are likely buying this to watch their calories, that's a big error. You still end up with enough to comfortably cover a piece of bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic product for a Peanut Butter lover that needs to cut Calories, December 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had seen this on Amazon and wanted to order it but was appalled at the shipping +cost of product, but put it in my wish list cart. Later I was at the store and found a different no calorie peanut butter and took it home and tried it and found that it was chemically tasteing and i threw it out. My husband bought me PB2 as a stocking stuffer (seeing that it was on my wish list) and I tried it that day and was AMAZED at how good it was at such a low calorie count. I mixed mine with water as per the directions and ate it with a spoon it was so good. I am fully intending to give up full-fat peanut butter for this as I need to watch my calorie intake. I am going to the Bell Plantations website to order a full case. It's THAT good. I plan on adding some to my morning protein smoothies and experimenting with stir-fry....but just off the spoon and on a PB & Jelly sandwich has been so good. My husband even says it's good...and he hates ALL diet food type stuff. Just try it once....you may love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter,6.5 oz
$9.49 $6.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.