Customer Reviews


409 Reviews
5 star:
 (295)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


209 of 222 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Multipurpose Gaming/Media/Content Creation Monitor!
I think that the PB278Q is the best value WQHD monitor that you'll find that's currently available as of 10/8/12. I got mine from another Online Retailer because they offered a pre-order bonus, but the price was the same overall. Most manufactures are now putting out WQHD monitors, but prices are still very high. As the market becomes more saturated with different...
Published 22 months ago by Ryan

versus
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Quality monitor held back by poor Quality Control
I have had 4 exchanges so far and they all had various distracting flaws like: dead pixels, severe backlight bleeding, poor uniformity that one side looked warmer, dust behind the AG, Dim backlight, and the 2nd replacement was completely defunct. The 4th and the last one was almost perfect (excellent uniformity, bright and minimum BLB), Almost! except one dead pixel on...
Published 21 months ago by Xel Adune


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

209 of 222 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Multipurpose Gaming/Media/Content Creation Monitor!, October 10, 2012
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I think that the PB278Q is the best value WQHD monitor that you'll find that's currently available as of 10/8/12. I got mine from another Online Retailer because they offered a pre-order bonus, but the price was the same overall. Most manufactures are now putting out WQHD monitors, but prices are still very high. As the market becomes more saturated with different manufactures making WQHD Monitors you'll see prices go down, but don't expect this for at least 2 years. The PB278Q uses a PLS based panel which when compared to other IPS based panels it has higher contrast, improved viewing angles, a faster response time, exhibits less reflectiveness, produces a clearer and crisper image, is 10% brighter than competing technologies; all while maintaing lower power consumption levels.

Originally there were to be two variants of this monitor. One for Content Professionals (the PA - ProArt Series) that would come factory calibrated and have some additional "Quick Fit" settings. The other (the VA Series) that would virtually be the same thing but without factory calibration and the added Quick Fit settings. Eventually Asus decided to just Market the Monitor as the PB278Q with the QuickFit settings, but without the added factory calibration. The matte finish is great, not overbearing like the finish you'll find with other displays on the market. My past WQHD monitors were all Glossy which can be very nice, but the glossy finish allowed for a lot of reflections on screen which contributed to greater eye strain. Depending on your viewing environment you'll notice considerably less eye strain after prolonged sessions with this monitor if you're accustomed to a glossy panel.

I won't get heavily into the 2560x1440 vs 120Hz gaming debate, but I've been working with WQHD Monitors for the past few years and also game using them. I'm not a huge fan of 3D gaming and don't care about High Framerates as much as I do about crisp and clear picture quality with awesome viewing angels. That said, a good 120Hz monitor (or more than one in a multi monitor setup) is an amazing thing and you will notice a difference with how smooth your games will play if you have the power to push up to 120FPS on nice a 120Hz monitor setup. Overall I'd pick the screen real-estate that you get from an WQHD monitor as well as the overall better multipurpose use factor. When I say multipurpose I mean that a 27" 2560x1440 Monitor is a much better match for those looking to game, create content, and consume content and multitask on one monitor.

I watch a lot of digital media (a large portion of that being Anime) and I don't always want to be in a seat close to my monitor when viewing my digital media; it's just not comfortable all the time. The viewing angles on the PB278Q are great and allow me to watch from different areas in my room without suffering a loss of color/contrast (tonal shift) that other early IPS monitors or TN based panels would when viewed from non standard viewing angles. I have noticed no shift in color or contrast with the PB278Q. If you are looking for a monitor dedicated to gaming and you're a serious gamer, then there are better TN based panels that will provide a better overall gaming experience. I play mainly RTS and RPG games, but do enjoy a good FPS games just like most gamers do. If you are a twitch FPS gamer look into the reviews that Anandtech or TFTCentral will eventaully publish to see if the actual input lag and real black-white-black response times are acceptable for you, most likely though you will be better off buying TN based monitor that will give you much faster response times and lower input lag.

***Overall:
For a multipurpose monitor that isn't dedicated to competitive/professional FPS gaming you'll absolutely LOVE this monitor. For Media junkies that love their HD content, Anime or just editing video and photos as a hobby you'll get great use out of the expansive screen real-estate. Watching bluray content, or 10bit Anime encodes is a dream on this monitor. If you have any content that goes above 1080p it will look stunning on this display. Until they produce a good 2560x1440 monitor that is capable and advertised as being 120Hz out of the box, I'll continue to game on the standard 60Hz at 2560x1440 resolution. (sure you can overclock some monitors to get a higher refresh rate or even get a Korean Catleap WQHD monitor that is advertised as 120Hz capable (depending on what video card you use) and Pixel Perfect (which still doesn't mean your getting no dead/hot/stuck pixels), but there are drawbacks to going that route: poor stand quality, lack of valid warrant and/or support, potential for quality issues, dead pixels, cheap external power supply, etc.

**Pros:
- Height, Swivel, Tilt and Pivot adjustments. You also get minimal cable management.
- Every Cable you need comes with the Display. Dual Link DVI-D, VGA (D-Sub), HDMI 1.4, Disaply Port 1.2, and a 3.5mm Audio cable.
- The matte finish is wonderful on this display, not too much not too little. Images still look crisp and colors still look vibrant.
- Extremely easy to assemble, just screw the stand (which is already mounted to the display) into the monitor base and you're done.
- A wide variety of configuration options, presets, and adjustments which will let you calibrate the display if you know how or what to find out how.
- Minimal backlight bleeding on mine (This really depends on the individual monitor you get, but Initial reports are showing that backlight bleed is minimal overall with the PB278Q).
- Minimal ghosting in fast paced games and/or video content. If this worries you then go for a 120Hz monitor.
- Has a down facing Blue Power Button LED that you can turn off via the OSD, so that you don't have to light up your room. Very nice!
- Insane Viewing angles, like most IPS based monitors, but slightly better overall than others on the market. I can't see color shift at all at extreme angles.
- MarshallR@ASUS an Asus Marketing guru has confirmed that the PB287Q does in fact have a true 8Bit panel. Great news :)
- No noticeable input lag.

**Cons:
- No USB Hub. Would have been nice, but not really necessary. When it was the VA278Q it was advertised as having a 4 port USB 2.0 Hub.
- Ships in it's own box (not shipped in an additional shipping box), for most people this won't be an issue. A lot of monitors ship this way anyway.
- Not factory calibrated (again, not a problem for most people especially since those with the tools and know how prefer to do it themselves)
- The manual reports that it is an "6-Bit Hi-FRC" based panel which they need to fix to resolve some initial confusion. It is in fact reported to be a true 8-Bit panel.
- It isn't as aesthetically pleasing as some of the WQHD monitors, which doesn't change it's functionality, but the Samsung S27B970D is the sexiest monitor ever created!

**Alternative WQHD Monitors:

It's not as pretty as the Samsung SB970 S27B970D 27-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor, but the PB278Q is almost half the price. Sure if you get the PB278Q you are missing some functionality like a USB Hub, and factory calibration, but I don't think it's worth the extra $500 that you would pay as of 10/8/12. TFTCentral has a great review up for the Samsung S27B970D, google it if you're interested. Some people are reporting that there are some issues with quality control for the Panel itself for the S27B970D.

There is another WQHD Monitor that costs even less which is the Nixeus WQHD 27" S-IPS Ultra High Resolution 2560x1440 PC/MAC Monitor NX-VUE27. It uses an S-IPS panel and thus offers an improved pixel refresh timing when compared to earlier IPS technologies, but has lower contrast and poorer color reproduction than newer iterations of IPS panels based technologies like P-IPS, E-IPS, H-IPS, or AH-IPS. You could always go with one of the Korean WQHD Monitors like the Catleap for even less money, but you run the risk of having more than a few bad pixels because they use A- grade panels in their Monitors. You also get no Warranty support depending on who you purchase from, while only having a single DVI input on most of the Korean monitors you'll find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Risky monitor roulette? Mine is great and awesome though, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
In reading these reviews, they range from "OMG AWESOME!!!!" to "I've just sent back my 4th one...". I don't know the ratio of great ones vs ones people have to send back but mine is great. Luckily for us, Amazon's return policy is great so if you get a lemon, it's not too big a deal to send it back and get a good one. I know that's not something some should be having to do, but it's worth it to keep trying till you get a good one.

Pros:
-------
- Very clear, crisp, detailed, sharp, vivid picture
- I've tried low rez 120hz, I've tried triple screen, I'm back to this 2560x1440 at .233 dot pitch. This is the best to me. For gaming, for reading text, it's all awesome.
- After having tried 120hz and even triple screens at low 1080 rez (1920x1080 and 5760x1080), switching back to high rez, BF3 is amazingly clear and detailed again. Not just the high rez, but the .233mm dot pitch is stunningly sharp to game on. I'm convinced high rez is the best way to go. Not 120hz, not triple screen.
- The matte coating isn't aggressive or harsh
- Stand does all the motions you'd want and is easy to put together

Cons:
-------
- Mine appears to be fine, no dead pixels, no backlight issues, no smudges behind the coating, so the panel itself is great, however the BACK portion of the plastic bezel that surrounds the screen appears to have nicks ands scratches on it. Very minor quality control thing but it affects me none, affects the experience none. Not too worried about it.

UPDATE: 03/23/2013. Oh ;) I just found out about this was, the Con that I was talking about. It wasn't a bunch of scratches on the back part of the bezel. It was actually a thin film of plastic that's supposed to be pealed off when I unboxed it. My mistake. The monitor is perfect.

Note: In the monitor settings. Be sure to set some custom settings:
- They say to put brightness to 37, however that was too dark for me. I like 55
- Contrast to 80
- Splendid mode : User
- Set your RGB gains to:
R to 47
G to 49
B to 45
- Set Trace to 40

Summary Update: 03/23/2013. So been using the monitor for a few days and couldn't be happier. No dead pixels, no backlight problems, stunning clarity. Great monitor. If you order this and happen to get one with a problem. Don't get discouraged. I know that sucks, but return it through Amazon and get another one again. It will be worth it. This is a great, detailed monitor with a vivid beautiful picture. Played lots of BF3 as well and there's no ghosting/input lag issues at all.

Another Update: 08/10/2013. The moniter has been awesome except it began to have an electrical problem. It started randomly cycling through it's graphic modes. User, sRGB, Theater, Scenery, etc. Rabidly cycling through modes and I couldn't do anything to stop it. Menu buttons wouldn't respond so couldn't reset it. Left it unplugged for awhile but that didn't help. I had it too long to return to Amazon, so I went through Asus's RMA process and that's why I wanted to give an update and give them props.....

Asus paid for shipping to/from and replaced a board inside the monitor in about a week or less. When they shipped it back, it was nicely packed well in packing bubble insulation and it works perfectly again. Asus is a great brand, and their support is great as well. This monitor is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Display for the money, November 9, 2012
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
Pro:

Display: Stunning graphics, excellent color reproduction out of the box, no defective pixel, fast response time for gaming compared to similar monitors in this price range. As always, if you have a professional tool to calibrate the display, it will be even better. However, this display has excellent color reproduction/accuracy out of the box that you don't really have to have a calibrator to enjoy it. For those who don't have a calibrator, I recommend you to adjust the brightness down a little bit since it came with 100% brightness out of the box. The antiglare coating on this display is very light (hence they call this monitor semi glossy) and thus when compared to the heavy coated anti glare monitor like the old Dell U2711/3011 series, it looks much better. Also when compared to the full glossy panel such as Apple Thunderbolt, this monitor has no glares at all, which is extremely good for people who hate glares, especially when you are a professional graphics designer and you sit in front of the monitor all day long.

PLS Glow vs Backlight Bleeding: Beware that this display is a PLS display (which is the Samsung equivalent of IPS from LG) and thus do not confuse PLS glow with back light bleeding. These 2 are completely different. This monitor has no backlight bleeding though this may be different depending where you order the monitor since shipping damage can also affect the amount of back light bleeding as well. How to distinguish PLS glow vs back light bleeding? IF you see a slightly brighter area on a supposedly black screen, and when you move around (ie you move left or right while looking at the same area on the monitor) and the bright area starts to disappear, then that is known as PLS glow. Back light bleeding means that the bright area on a black screen does not change no matter from what angle you look at and no matter where you move.

Cables: Monitor comes with HDMI 1.4a cable (need a modern video card ie Nvidia GTX 600 or AMD HD 7000 series to display 2560-1440 resolution via HDMI, otherwise, you need to use the included DVI cable or Display port cable to get full resolution), DL-DVI cable, Display port 1.2 cable are also included. This is actually one of the few monitors that came with all the cables out of the box.

Stand: Stand is very sturdy, fully adjustable in height. The bottom of the stand has a rotation device that allows you to rotate the display horizontally (this may be a con to some of you who wants to rotate the display only, not the whole stand)

Gaming: Very fast response time, no lag ghosting at all. You need to go to the OSD menu and adjust the Trace free to 40 or 20 for a completely lag-ghost free gaming. Compared to the more expensive Apple Thunderbolt or Dell U2713HM/2711, this display actually has less ghosting effects to the point where its incredibly hard to notice. TFTcentral also confirms this as they compared ghosting of this display vs various other displays on the market.

Bundle bonus: come with a free Vulcan headset which is about 100 bucks. Thank you Asus.

Pricing: extremely competitive pricing, cheaper than all of the competitors out there by a large amount while retaining good quality in both forms (external designs/stands) and function (excellent graphics/color reproduction/accuracy)

Cons:
PWM backlight, which may or may not be noticeable. I did not notice any difference between this monitor (which has PWM backlight) vs the Dell U2713HM (which doesn't utilize PWM backlight). If you don't know what this is, you won't see the difference since it is very minimal.

Connectivity: While this display has HDMI 1.4a which supports 2560-1440 resolution, DVI and Display port connector, but it lacks USB connectors. I don't think this is a big problem since most people who uses this monitor already has a computer that has USB 3.0 ports available. Having too many connectors will actually increase cost and introduces more input lag. Unless you are one of those who absolutely needs USB connector on a monitor itself, then you won't even notice this lack of USB connection at all.

Pixel Perfect Guarantee: While this is not really a con since Asus does offer 3 years warranty on the product with a 1 year bright dot warranty with Advance Replacement (They will replace the monitor for you and cross ship the monitor for free if there is 1 bright pixel during the warranty period). However, comparing to the Dell Pixel guarantee which Dell will replace you with another monitor if there is 1 defect pixel during the 3 years warranty period, I find that the Asus pixel warranty needs to step up a bit more.

Summary:
Extremely good quality monitor, excellent out of the box color reproduction/accuracy. Much better build quality than the Korean catleaps (as expected).
Notes: If you use HDMI connector, make sure you use the included HDMI cable in the box since only HDMI 1.4a cable can deliver 2560-1440 resolution. Also, your video card MUST have HDMI 1.4a output as well (currently only Nvidia GTX 600 series or AMD HD 7000 series have HDMI 1.4a output to drive this 2560-1440 resolution). Some people who have older video card and they blame the monitor for not being able to display 2560 resolution using HDMI connector as a result. This makes them look incredibly stupid because its not the monitor fault.

Considering price per performance/quality, as a professional graphics designer, I totally recommend this monitor for anyone who is serious about picture quality/color accuracy as well as durability without breaking the bank. I currently own 4 different monitors (3 at work and 1 at home) including Apple Thunderbolt Display, Dell U2713HM, Samsung Series 9 S27B970D and this Asus PB278Q. Out of the 4 monitors, the Asus is the one that I like the most due to the balance between glare(from glossy display like Apple and Samsung S27B970D) and picture quality as well as gaming. This Asus PB278Q is the cheapest of the 4 (400 bucks cheaper than the Samsung/Apple display) while it has equivalent picture quality as the other 3 which is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Color (With some setting changes), February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I love the look of this monitor. With my GTX 680 SLI set up it really looks fantastic. I've tried movies/games/office work and everything looks really good. It is missing USB ports, but I knew that going in. My keyboard has ports on it so it's not much of an issue. I used these settings to get the colors to look closest to perfect as you can really get:

Brightness - 37
Contrast - 80
Splendid mode - User

Color Gain:
R - 47
G - 47
B - 41

Color Offset:
R - 50
G - 49
B - 57

Trace Mode - 40

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor especially for photography work, September 3, 2013
By 
Curt (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I am a photographer and spent about 4 weeks researching monitors. I went back and forth between the ASUS PB278Q and the Dell 2713H. It was a hard decision but comparing the specs, the price point and reading other reviews I finally decided on the ASUS PB278Q.
Here's Why:
1. The PLS panels produces better blacks than the IPS panels (which is very necessary for photo editing)
2. The price point at mid 500s saved me about 100 bucks that could be used towards a colormiter for calibration
3. There wasn't any real negative reviews about the monitor however I felt the ASUS didn't get the best reviews because it was a constant comparison to the better known name of Dell
4. The resolution was perfect and necessary for a 27" monitor - 2560x1440
5. It is 100%sRGB, which is the smaller gamut of colors compared to ProRGB and Adobe RGB however, sRGB is the internet standard and it still produce proper colored photographs.

It is easy to get sucked into all the technical stuff and the numbers but what it comes down to is real world application. Even with the most expensive, high end monitor with the wrong video card the monitor can be limited and vice versa with a great video card the specs of a mid-range monitor will exceed most people's expectation. That is exactly what the ASUS did for me. It exceeded my expectations on color delivery and accuracy straight out the box. Coming from a 25" 1080P color monitor where colors shifted depending on the angle of view the ASUS was like driving a BMW 750 vs A Toyota Camry. It just did everything better.

In fact I went back to old edited photos and corrected them because I had a more accurate perspective of color. One of the most embarrassing things as a photographer is to have your photos shift color because your monitor showed you something different than expected on the web or in print. I feel as if my editing skills have just gone up with the more accurate colors.

You will read reviews that talks about light bleeding, flickering because of the LED back-lighting, etc. I will tell you I have not noticed any of these issues. Yes, on a total black screen in the corners you can see some light bleeding but in real world application it is not noticeable, not even one bit. I noticed absolutely no flickering. The monitor is a great monitor and I do not have any real complaints. I am very happy with my purchase.

Here are a list of my pros and cons (Please note my Cons are not really related to the ability of the monitor):

Pros:
*Color accuracy
*Resolution (2560x1440 is phenomenal, it presents a much better presentation of images. I can't go back to 1080p NOTE: for 2560x1440 resolution you must connect using DVI-D port or Display Port. HDMI is not supported at this resolution unless your video card can support it.)
*Size of monitor
*Price Point
*Wide Viewing Angle which eliminates color shifting depending on which angle you are looking from (No color shift from top/bottom or left/right)
*PLS panels producing better blacks than IPS panels
*100% sRGB color gamut
*Easily rotated (must pull monitor out some to rotate to Horizontal position)
*Ease of working in the dark or light
*No reflections
*The Semi-Glossy panel is not dull or patchy. It's a nice mix of matte and glossy finish.
*All connection cables are included in the box (Dual DVI, HDMI 1.4, Display Port, etc.)
*Easy to assemble
*3 Year warranty

CONS:
*Doesn't come from manufacturer per-calibrated (but the price point makes it worth it and the colors are great out the box)
*No USB ports on the monitor (a nicety but not a necessity)
*Prefer side buttons instead of buttons at the bottom of the monitor

As you can see the pros out way the cons. If you are in a delima of choosing a monitor and you want a great monitor without breaking the bank this is the monitor for you. I believe you will be well pleased. Other monitors of this size and resolution costs $100-$1000 more. Jumping to a 30" monitor more than double the cost versus a 27" monitor but it is not a huge noticeable difference in size. Also, for even better color accuracy you should calibrate the monitor with one of the better colormiters\calibration software on the market.

I hope this review is helpful.

Happy Shopping and again you will not go wrong with this monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compared to 27" Apple iMac for Photo Editing (Updated), November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I'm posting this review particularly for someone who wants to know how this monitor compares to Apple's 27" monitor or a 27" iMac for editing photographs.

So, first some qualification: I'm comparing my late 2009 iMac's monitor panel to this ASUS PB278Q. And, I'm making my comparison based on calibrating both of them using Coloreyes Display Pro calibration kit purchased within the last six months.

My purpose for this monitor is to rotate it into portrait mode so that I can work on my vertical photographs in Photoshop, Lightroom, Capture One, etc, at the same display size that my 27" iMac provides for horizontal photographs. (roughly 2/3 of my shots are vertical) So, it was important to me to get a close match in performance and behavior between them. And, happily, I feel I was able to do this.

Leaving the ASUS in "Standard" view mode with no user adjustments and calibrating with the Coloreyes app and Spyder, I got a reasonable match, but noticed that the iMac color gradations were smoother, and not surprisingly, the ASUS looked a little sharper. I could have almost lived with this, but I decided to persevere.

I won't bore you with how many approaches I took to resolving this difference, but my bottom line was that I got a decent comparison when I lowered the ASUS contrast down to 30 and then re-profiled it. Coloreyes' profile validation graph looked best at this setting and the monitors looked very close to each other -- close enough that I'm content to get back to work. ;-)

This was actually a very good learning experience in that I got a better sense of what I would demand of a higher level (much more expensive) monitoring solution. But, there comes a point of diminishing returns and I'm going to settle for the performance that a 27" iMac and this ASUS monitor provides for now.

I haven't tried pairing two Apple 27" displays, but I wonder if I tried pairing Apple's newer 27" display with my 2009 iMac if I'd get any better matching. I wouldn't be surprised if I found a similar nuance of difference there as well.

So, after calibration, with ASUS at Contrast: 30, three differences I see between the 2009 27" iMac display and the ASUS PB278Q:

(1) Slight difference in smoothness of very gradual color gradation in light and dark areas.
(2) The iMac's blacks are blacker. But, when comparing actual photographs, this seems to be a non-issue.
(3) Even after calibration, the two monitors do not display colors exactly the same. Here, the ASUS actually looks a little more "right" to me based on neutral grays and pure whites. The iMac looks just a tiny bit shifted to green. It IS going on 4 years old . . .

Conclusions:

Experience has taught me the value of calibrating your monitor. For someone who wants a good cost-effective solution, I recommend Coloreyes Display Pro. And, my conclusions are based on the assumption that you will calibrate your monitor.

If you are trying to decide between Apple's $1000 display and this under-$600 alternative, you can safely save yourself $400-plus by going with this ASUS display. Use some of the $400 to get what you need to keep it in calibration and you'll be better off since you would need to calibrate the Apple display as well.

If you are worried about pairing this display with your Apple 27" display, I think you will likely be satisfied with how close you can get them. *OF COURSE* it won't be a *perfect* match. I'm not convinced that a new Apple would match perfectly either. At least in my case, it's a very workable pairing.

My 27" iMac does not have an anti-glare screen like the newer models. This ASUS does, and it's a welcome improvement.

***

I remember the first time I view my photographs on the iMac. I was previously using an EIZO ColorEdge CE210, which is a decent color calibrated monitor. The iMac just blew it away. And, once correctly calibrated, has served me very well. So, for me to say that I could be just as happy working with this ASUS as I have been with my iMac 27" is saying something.

Hope this is helpful to someone looking for this particular comparison like I was when trying to decide whether or not to buy the ASUS.

If anything changes with use of the ASUS monitor, I will be sure to update my post.

*** 12-11-2013 - OK, so here's an update. Everything is just fine with the ASUS monitor and I have very much enjoyed using it for Photoshop work. Today, I picked up an Apple "Refurbished" late-2012 design 27" i7 iMac (barely any different from what they are selling today). So, now I can compare the look of the current 27" iMac monitor to the ASUS instead of my almost 4-year-old one. Remarkably, the color balance is now much closer between the two. Just thought you might find that helpful. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Quality monitor held back by poor Quality Control, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I have had 4 exchanges so far and they all had various distracting flaws like: dead pixels, severe backlight bleeding, poor uniformity that one side looked warmer, dust behind the AG, Dim backlight, and the 2nd replacement was completely defunct. The 4th and the last one was almost perfect (excellent uniformity, bright and minimum BLB), Almost! except one dead pixel on the lower left side of the screen, arrgg... But I've decided to just put up with it since another replacement might be worse with such p**s poor quality control. Honestly, I've never had any issues with Dell and HP IPS or Samsung screens, all were perfect out of the box and I have not replaced any of them.

It is truly a shame, because the PB278Q is otherwise an excellent screen. First of all I don't notice the PWM even with brightness at 25. The Contrast and colors are deep. Colors are slightly more vivid than sRGB, but no where near as pronounced as on a Wide-Gamut panel, this makes movies and games look absolutely fantastic, especially after you calibrate it. motion blur is minimal, its pretty fast for a PLS/IPS panel but may not be the best for competitive fps. If you have a Nvidia card get the program Nvidia Inspector, limit your framerate to 58 or 59 to reduce mouse input lag if you use vsync, it helps a lot in fast games and it may also fix the micro-stuttering in games like Skyrim. The Anti-Glare coating is superb, that dirty and fuzzy look you see on many IPS AG coatings is not a concern here and you also won't see your reflection as on a glossy screen, its almost the best of both worlds.

If it isn't for all the manufacturing issues I would totally give PB278Q 5 stars and I wouldn't mind paying $100 more if it means better QC. Still, this monitor will be my main screen for now, replacing my Dell U3011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I don't deal with graphics a whole lot, but I'm a researcher in the field of computational simulations/numerical analysis. My work involves long hours of coding while simultaneously referencing numerous published material. It's the type of work that very very rapidly consumes all available screen real-estate, which is why WQHD monitors are so beloved among all the people I work with. After using dual 23" HD monitors for two years, I was fed up and replaced one of them with this monitor.

The Asus PB278Q is one of the best WQHD monitors you can get right now (05/01/2013) for the money. I'll leave the commentary on colors and calibration to the graphics pros and touch upon some other aspects of this product in this review.

** PROS **

- Perfect amount of anti-glare coating. We have Dell 27" WQHD monitors on our campus workstations and they anti-glare matte coating on their screens are very dominant. The colors appear washed out and you can never turn the contrast high enough. Not pleasant to work on. Asus gets it perfect.

- A lot of people reported major quality-control issues (backlight bleed, dead pixels, etc) for the batch manufactured in Q4 of 2012. Asus must have gotten their act together because the monitor I received has absolutely zero PLS glow and I can't spot a single dead pixel. Color me impressed.

- Asus includes every cable you could possibly need with this monitor. This is a huge plus. A lot of competing WQHD monitors don't come with this wide a selection.

- Height, swivel and tilt adjustments are easy and smooth. There's no forcing. The weight of the monitor is balanced very well against a spring-loaded system. Adjusting monitor position is effortless. This is also where you get a feel for how good the build quality is on this monitor. Once again, very impressed.

** CONS **

- Hardly a nuisance but if you're a gamer, you will want to cap your frame rates to 60. Unlike smaller monitors, this Asus does not have a 120Hz refresh rate option and if you leave V-Sync disabled and uncap your fps, you might experience a little tearing or ghosting.

- The built-in speakers leave a lot to be desired, but I don't hold this against Asus. This is a monitor. Not a sound system.

** OVERALL **

Buy it. Period. The comparably priced Dell and LG monitors aren't nearly as good as this product. The robust Asus warranty and the fantastic build quality make it worth your money to jump up one tier from the budget Korean WQHD monitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Apple's Thunderbolt Display, November 4, 2012
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I bought this to replace my Apple Thunderbolt Display, which didn't work properly (won't wake up along with MacBook Pro) and costs $300 more. I connected this display to my MacBook Pro with a Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort cable. Compared to Thunderbolt Display, this ASUS one has -

Pros:
- Much less glare, significantly.
- Adjustable height, and can easily be rotated to portrait.
- Being able to connect to non-Mac computers using DisplayPort, HDMI, VGA, and DVI.

Cons:
- Image is not as vivid.
- Poor sound quality.
- No other functional ports (Apple Thunderbolt Display comes with 3 USB 2.0, one Thunderbolt, one FireWire, and one Ethernet ports.)
- Takes more efforts to set up.

But overall, I'm very satisfied with this replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor! Just make sure the features fit your needs, February 16, 2013
By 
billchase (Winston-Salem, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS PB278Q 27-Inch WQHD LED-lit Professional Graphics Monitor (Personal Computers)
I this my second unit from Amazon. The first one had a couple of imperfections (some type of speck or smudge underneath the panel). After several days, decided RMA due to the distraction one of the imperfections caused. Other than those issues, the monitor worked as advertised and had a terrific picture. No noticeable backlight bleed (other than the standard IPS/PLS glow which is normal). RMA was quick and painless and replacement arrived next day. You can't ask for anything better. This replacement is perfect. No imperfections or dead pixels to be found. No noticeable backlight bleed on this one either. I highly recommend using the calibrated settings and ICC profile for this monitor found on the tftcentral.co.uk site. Out of box settings are ok, but way too bright. Some points of consideration if deciding between this and the Dell U2713HM:

The ASUS uses PWM backlighting (which can be a minus). The Dell does not
ASUS: internal speakers Dell: usb 3.0 hub
ASUS will do 1:1 pixel ratio for certain resolutions, the Dell does not
ASUS will do WQHD resolution from HDMI, the Dell will not

After debating between the two. Based on feedback from various forums, the Dell seems to have more issues with quality control. (Flaky USB hub, image retention, blacklight bleed) Of course each unit is different. Check various forums and decide for yourself. Personally for me this ASUS suited my needs better.

One final note: Displayport may not wake-up after monitor goes to sleep. Not sure if this affects NVIDIA folks, I am on an AMD Radeon. Using DVI instead until I can try a new displayport cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.