Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very decent light stands
At this price they are perfect.
The air cushion saved my stuff once already. It works just fine with both stands and on all sections.
One of the sections came in with the plastic bracket that attaches it to the next section loose, I just tightened the screw and it was back to normal.
The locking knobs have a plastic head that seems sturdy enough to...
Published 19 months ago by Patrick Perdu

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but works.
You get what you pay for on this stand, so expect to replace it about every year. If you are rough on your gear like me, spend some more money on more durable stands. The heads are screwed in by two tiny screws and become loose often. The extension poles come out of the stand frequently. But these work for additional stands in the bag when you need them.
Published 19 days ago by Kinkade Photo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product for the money, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
I have used both high end (Manfrotto) and lower end studio equipment in the past.
While these do not have the quality of a Manfrotto light stand, they also do not carry the hefty Manfrotto price tag.

These stands have plastic clamps and knobs (vs metal), which I expected for the price.
I have small hands and my only complaint is that the knobs are spaced/stacked close together and I prefer more spacing between the knobs.

With that being said, these stands will serve my purpose(s) well and for the money I can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, but they'd be better without the air cushion, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
These stands are great for the price but, as is usually the case, poorly implemented air cushioning is more a detriment than a benefit--seriously, they'd be better without the lame air cushion implementation (which is why I docked one star). The air cushioning makes it difficult to adjust the stands up and down, makes precise height adjustment without a load on the stand slow, and is just overall annoying.

That said, the stands are light and surprisingly stable despite their small footprint (especially once you put some sandbags on the legs). I haven't put all that much weight on these yet (just a Norman LH-2400 strobe head with a 40" PBL soft umbrella), but they seem like they could hold a fair amount so long as you don't fully extend any one segment of the stand. Full extension of a stand segment results in the plastic clamp/coupler flexing easily and, thus, a bit of pole sway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very decent light stands, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
At this price they are perfect.
The air cushion saved my stuff once already. It works just fine with both stands and on all sections.
One of the sections came in with the plastic bracket that attaches it to the next section loose, I just tightened the screw and it was back to normal.
The locking knobs have a plastic head that seems sturdy enough to withstand reasonable abuse. The gears on which the feet hinge are plastic but seem reasonably solid, and both of them (top AND bottom) can be loosened to move them along the stand.
All in all if you want light stands to take with you for a month-long trek in Patagonia this is not the reliability or lightweight you need - for any other activity involving light stands, this is just fine for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stands, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
Why buy lowel or any of the big guys when you can get these for so much less. They work fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great deal, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
"EXCELLENT stands for the price. I purchased 2 3' stands and one backdrop support system that included 2 12' stands with air cushioning as well as 6 of these 8" stands. Well made, good stuff. Love these guys!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stands But Tighten The Screws!, September 1, 2014
By 
Herb G. "tech junkie" (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
I've been using these with my Monolights for a few months now. They are a step up from the usual non-cushioned stands. The tubes are thicker and do not flex as much and the air cushion works. One note though, you have to tighten the screws on the clamps every so often. If not, the upper tube will disconnect and come completely out of the lower tube as you pull it. I plan to put some Loctite on the screws to keep this from happening. The bags they come with are crap and it cracks me up that they included two velcro straps. But those are inconsequential. In conclusion, these are decent stands for the money. They are definitely a step up from the basic stands...just make sure to tighten the screws or Loctite them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, but you get what you pay for, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
These work well enough, but as a professional photographer I'm just not excited about them based on their lightweight and less than stellar performances/construction. I already have a few expensive stands and didn't want to break the bank buying more of them so I went with some low priced ones to add into the mix. I greatly prefer my more expensive ones as they are far more durable, extend higher and operate smoother. That being said, bang for the buck these are awesome. Especially if you are not a professional or if you simply don't have an overabundance of money to spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PBL stands, July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
The tubing is a bigger diameter compared to another brand of light stand I have, but could use some metal collars as someone else stated in their review. The bag material that holds the stand is very thin so it doesn't look like it will hold up with continuous use. The PBL stands are sturdy enough for my use and the air cushion works very good. The price for these stands for someone just starting out in photography and using these stands to hold speedlites and umbrellas is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product., September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
It's strong and looks profesional! Only one thing I found that was an issue. Some small parts were missing from the box. So be carefull with handling. Besides that, I would recommend this.. Btw they are Really tall .. can reach around 2,50mts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but works., August 30, 2014
This review is from: Pro PBL Heavy Duty 8' Light Stands, Air Cushioned, Velcro Ties, Set of 2, Steve Kaeser Photographic Lighting & Accessories (Camera)
You get what you pay for on this stand, so expect to replace it about every year. If you are rough on your gear like me, spend some more money on more durable stands. The heads are screwed in by two tiny screws and become loose often. The extension poles come out of the stand frequently. But these work for additional stands in the bag when you need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.