Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just know about the zippers....
The bags are well built except for the zippers. To describe the zippers as crap would be polite. But having said that, I would easily buy them again...in fact, I might buy a few more. Here is what you do...put your sand in gallon size zip lock baggies and then place the filled baggies into the sand bags...zip 'em up and forget ever touching the zipper again. Works like a...
Published on December 10, 2011 by Duane Rumback

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality is ok. Price is great.
I ordered two set of these (8 bags total). I had one bad zipper on 4 of the bags. Luckily it all seemed to be the inner zipper (which is actually a nice feature of these) that failed. And I've had one of the bags with a very small hole in the seam on the outside edge where the yellow stripe comes in.
Other than the quality control issues I like the bags. They've been...
Published on November 20, 2011 by Kevin Younger


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just know about the zippers...., December 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
The bags are well built except for the zippers. To describe the zippers as crap would be polite. But having said that, I would easily buy them again...in fact, I might buy a few more. Here is what you do...put your sand in gallon size zip lock baggies and then place the filled baggies into the sand bags...zip 'em up and forget ever touching the zipper again. Works like a charm. I bought a sixty pound bag of "play sand" at Home Depot. It was exactly the right amount of sand to fill all 4 sand bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PBL Saddlebag Sand Bags - Review Plus Insider Info, July 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
After looking at many overpriced Sandbag options, I decided to purchase the PBL Saddlebag Sandbags. I needed sandbags for lighting stands and tripods, and also to help support a new 24' ladder. The PBL sandbags exceeded my expectations, but you need to know a few things to get the most out of this economical purchase.

First, the sandbags come with both "handles" on the same side. Why? Who knows... However, BEFORE inserting sand, you MUST flip the handles to either side of the bag by manipulating the handles and bag. It's not exactly turning them inside out, but similar. Very hard to describe solely with words, but if you look at my pictures you'll see how I maneuvered the handles to either side of the sandbags.

Second, I would highly suggest buying a package of Ziploc DOUBLE-zip freezer bags in the Gallon size, as well as Play Sand from your local hardware store (Home Depot sells a big bag for under $4 bucks). Why? Inserting the Ziploc's inside the Sandbags prevents leakage. Use the Playsand to prevent sharp objects, rocks, sticks and other debris from beach sand from puncturing the Ziploc's and sandbags, thus creating leakage. Fill the Ziploc's with sand - about three quarters full - and then insert them into the inside pocket. Getting double-zip locks adds another layer of security for preventing leakage. I know how much you like the word leakage, and want me to continue using it in this review, but I'll stop. Promise.

Now your PBL's are ready to rock.

The bags perform quite well and I LOVE the Yellow Striping on the bags to prevent (Ha! you thought I was going to say leakage here, didn't you...) individuals from tripping of the legs of the stand. The added visual element without a doubt helps identify the stand, especially in low-lighting situations. A great idea that bags costing triple the price don't have. They shipped quickly and all four bags, as promised, came in the same package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality is ok. Price is great., November 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
I ordered two set of these (8 bags total). I had one bad zipper on 4 of the bags. Luckily it all seemed to be the inner zipper (which is actually a nice feature of these) that failed. And I've had one of the bags with a very small hole in the seam on the outside edge where the yellow stripe comes in.
Other than the quality control issues I like the bags. They've been holding up well. The yellow stripes are great in dark studio situations and help to keep people from tripping over light stands. If you ever need to be a stealth photo ninja then you easily flip the bag the other direction and get the traditional all black and there is a handle (grab loop) on both sides so it doesn't matter if you go black or yellow. It's nice to have the option.

I'm sure these aren't the best bags out there but for the price they're pretty good. Overall I'm pleased with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value!, July 12, 2011
By 
Ryan (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
I'm convinced that you can't find a much better deal on sandbags than these. They're heavy duty, lined, double zippered and have a tough handle on the top. They're perfect for draping over a lightstand (as shown) or clipping onto a boom. I got the 4 pack and made 2 heavy bags and 2 medium bags so I have options in the field.

Great value, quality, and versatility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, very useful, November 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
Best value in sandbags for photo equipment. Zippers are a little weak, but I only plan to open them once to fill with sand. To keep sand from leaking out I used 1 gallon ziplock bags inside the zip compartments. great for stabilizing backdrop stands and light stands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basically good, but use outdoors, July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
The overall quality is good for the price. Yet, some sand does leak out through the seems of the various sewn sides. I expected a "double bag" system with the double zippers, but in reality it is a single "bag" with two zippers overlapping each other. The stripes are different fabrics sewn together and it is through these sewing lines that sand leaks. I plan to only use them outdoors, but the little leaking sand limits utility. An inner thick plastic bag with one zipper and then the outer fabric with another zipper would solve this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., October 28, 2013
By 
Robert L. (Frenchtown, NJ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
Standard two compartment sand bags built very sturdy...even double zipper closure. I usually fill sand in plastic gallon zip-top bags before putting them in the compartments just as an extra measure to prevent sand leakage. Would give them a higher rating but they are not yellow...they are blue, the whole reason for yellow is for safety or warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Value On Sandbags Out There!, December 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
I bought these bags for video production, and they work just as well as the expensive ones. I use them on several light-stands, mic stands, and just about anything else that needs stabilizing. I have 8 bags and haven't had a single problem with any of them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome transaction, great product!, August 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
The bags not only came in the condition described on the listing but came extremely fast! Very pleased with transaction! Very high quality bags!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Product , Superrrrrr Fast Delivery, January 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PBL SADDLEBAG SANDBAGS 4 NEW SAND BAGS HEAVYDUTY SADDLE BAG HOLDS 20LBS WEIGHT BAGS FOR PHOTO VIDEO STUDIO STAND by PBL (Camera)
Stop Searching and buy this item , construction is amazing , someone told me to put 1 gallon Ziploc bag inside to make sure the will last forever i think is a good idea, now i have to go Malibu to get some Sand ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.