Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


214 of 222 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Create a little Disney Magic of your own!
The basic idea of the Disney Infinity Power Discs is simple. These discs come in a blind 2-pack and each disc can enhance your game. Circular Power Discs are used to grant your character special power ups that can be used in the Play Sets and in the Toy Box. Hexagonal Power Discs unlock special gadgets, vehicles, and themes in the Toy Box. There are a a total of 3...
Published 17 months ago by Nancy

versus
141 of 156 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The discs are fun, but several things not thrilled about.
UPDATE TO REVIEW- After writing my original review I noticed a very helpful hint in one of the reviews I was reading, it states to do not open your packs take them home and place them on your base it will still scan so you will know if you already have or not, and just return if you already have!!! I wish I would have known sooner, since I already have 6 duplicates!! I...
Published 17 months ago by Tiffney Shipley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

214 of 222 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Create a little Disney Magic of your own!, August 23, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
The basic idea of the Disney Infinity Power Discs is simple. These discs come in a blind 2-pack and each disc can enhance your game. Circular Power Discs are used to grant your character special power ups that can be used in the Play Sets and in the Toy Box. Hexagonal Power Discs unlock special gadgets, vehicles, and themes in the Toy Box. There are a a total of 3 Series of discs planned for release, with at least 20 unique pieces per Series.

The chances of purchasing multiple discs are pretty high, as some discs are far more common than others. 20 discs should cost an extra $50.00, already a high price for extra content. However, you may spend twice this amount or more trying to get all of the rare discs and ending up with many duplicate pieces. The rare discs include Abu as Elephant, the Buzz Lightyear Astro Blaster, and the Dumbo Ride. These discs are far easier to acquire if you simply wait to open the packages until you are at home with your Disney Infinity Portal and scan them in the package. The portal will read the discs through the package with little added effort on your part. Once you receive the desired packs, simply return the others to the store or to Amazon. Perhaps this little trick will save you some money and prevent future game enhancements from using this sales technique.

Overall, it's a great game with fun characters, and I look forward to seeing the new Power Discs as they are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 170 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finding Rare Disney Infinity Power Discs in Closed Packages, August 28, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
Length:: 9:10 Mins

Disney Infinity is a wonderful family game, except for a major flaw in the way families can collect all the pieces. I believe the only way Disney will address the ease of which scalpers and unscrupulous store employees are taking advantage of us fans is if they hear from a great many people who are dismayed by the way discs are currently packaged. As an example, I encountered a local Toys R Us electronics section employee selling a lot of full sets of rare discs on eBay meaning the discs were probably pulled by the employee before even racking them and also meaning honest folks had ZERO chance of getting rare discs locally at that store. This needs to stop, obviously.

Perhaps everyone here doesn't know how easy it is to cheat the system. Simply scraping a fingernail over the disc faces while still in the foil packaging in the store reveals whether the disc inside has the small ridges which are only on rare holographic discs. Placing an unopened package on an Infinity Base at home reveals the exact identity of the discs inside, which then allows one to return the package unopened if the discs inside aren't the ones desired. If Disney doesn't fix the packaging we all have no choice but to use the same methods or pay a premium on eBay to scalpers who will quickly clear store racks of all the rare discs. I think most would rather it was fair for everyone, right?

I made a video demonstrating the problems, and offering some solutions. Please share if you wish. It is on YouTube under the same title as this review. If you do nothing else, please register your dissatisfaction with the Power Disc packaging at the Disney Infinity site as the more voices they hear, the more willing they may be to make change. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


141 of 156 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The discs are fun, but several things not thrilled about., August 26, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
UPDATE TO REVIEW- After writing my original review I noticed a very helpful hint in one of the reviews I was reading, it states to do not open your packs take them home and place them on your base it will still scan so you will know if you already have or not, and just return if you already have!!! I wish I would have known sooner, since I already have 6 duplicates!! I suggest to not even buy them first, almost all of the stores have the bases already set up, just place them on that to see if its a duplicate of what you have or not!! So you don't even waste your time returning!!! Just thought I would add, since there are so many views I feel everyone should know this and not keep wasting your money!!!---------------

I was excited about the packs, didn't really think about the possibility of duplicates until I have already collected 6 duplicate discs with my first batch of buying them!!! It wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't $5 for a pack of 2!! So I have already basically thrown away $15. I am very disappointed that the hex discs can only be used in the toybox, not in the worlds. Plus you run the risk of throwing $5 away everytime you buy a pack. There needs to be away to know what you are buying, or some kind of trade program at gamestop, toys r us, or etc. I am not buying anymore packs until series 2 comes out, so I don't get anymore duplicates. I have 3 fix it felix circle discs, 2 bolt circle discs, 2 stitch guns, 2 wreck it ralph with mountains in the back, and 2 rapunzels with the Chinese lanterns. They need to rethink the mystery part of buying these, or lower the price significantly, or have a official trading program at one of their major retailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
Disney Infinity has certainly shown an enthusiasm for testing how far this model can pushed, with a starter pack and additional Play Sets set to drain bank accounts in order to open up not only characters within the game, but large environments based on franchises, containing a mixture of missions and the freedom to explore. In addition, buffs and special items will be available to fire up on the game's custom portal via Power Discs, and Disney has confirmed details of the first wave which you can get buying this product.

Circular Discs:
Bolt’s Super Strength – Character that you’re playing with does 10% more damage
Fix It Felix’s Repair Power – Character you’re playing with has 20% more health
C.H.R.O.M.E’s Armor Shield – In-game character receives -10% less damage
Pieces of Eight – In-game character gains 10% more loot
Hexagonal Discs
Mickey’s Car – Drive Mickey’s Jalopy in the Toy Box
Cinderella’s Coach – Drive Cinderella’s Carriage in the Toy Box
Kahn– Ride Kahn the Horse from “Mulan” in the Toy Box
Stitch’s Blaster – In-game character gets Stitch’s blaster from “Lilo and Stitch”
Carl Fredericksen’s Cane – In-game character gets Carl’s cane from “Up”
Sugar Rush
King Candy’s Dessert Toppings Texture Set– Adds a “Sugar Rush” theme from “Wreck-it-Ralph” to Toy Box terrain objects
Sugar Rush Sky Skydome – Adds a “Sugar Rush” theme from “Wreck-it-Ralph” to the Toy Box sky
Alice in Wonderland
Alice’s Wonderland Texture Set – Adds an “Alice in Wonderland” (animated film) theme to Toy Box terrain objects
Tulgey Wood Skydome – Adds an “Alice in Wonderland” (animated film) theme to Toy Box sky
Finding Nemo
Marlin’s Reef Texture Set– Adds a “Finding Nemo” theme to the Toy Box terrain objects
Nemo’s Seascape Skydome – Adds a “Finding Nemo” theme to the Toy Box sky
Tangled Lantern
Rapunzel’s Kingdom Texture Set – Adds a “Tangled” theme to Toy Box terrain objects
Rapunzel’s Birthday Sky Skydome – Adds a “Tangled” theme to the Toy Box sky
Rare Hexagonal Discs
Dumbo the Flying Elephant – Adds the Dumbo ride from the Parks in the Toy Box
Abu the Elephant – Adds the elephant version of Abu in the Toy Box
Astro Blasters Space Cruiser – Adds the Astro Blaster vehicle from the Buzz Lightyear attraction in the Toy Box

These will be collectible through these blind packs of two. As anyone who's collected stickers or similar blind collectibles in the past, this makes the whole affair a lottery, with the constant danger of paying money for duplicates; at that point it's off to the playground or a friend's house to try and trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-so value for these discs, but much less so through amazon, August 31, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
Disney Infinity, the main game itself, is excellent. The toybox mode is epic and robust, and so I totally understand the appeal of these power discs, especially when several of these items are pretty awesome.

However, I can't recommend this. Partly, it's because of the obvious; you cannot see what you're getting. With two discs per packet, you're paying $2.50 or so for a random disc, which you may already have. In contrast, you could buy one figure for a little over the price of two blind packs.

But another reason to avoid this product is specific to amazon. There's a great trick for finding the rare, ultra-cool discs (flying Dumbo, Buzz Lightyear's Astroblaster, or the Abu Elephant). When you pick up a package and scratch its surface--through the plastic, no opening required--you will feel smoothness on all the normal discs. But all the rare discs are lenticular and thus give a scratchy sound and texture when you rub the package with your fingernail. I saw this trick online, tried it at a local Target, and I found two "scratchy" packages on the first two I tried. Sure enough, I got home and the kids got the elephant and astro blaster.

So even if you REALLY want a disc pack, get them live in a store to maximize your chances to getting what you want (heck, you can even feel the hexagonal-shape deco discs from the round power-up discs).

Stores are having better deals, too, like TRU's one pack regular pack, a second pack for $1 (the deal is coming back in a week or so, I read).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love the surprise of what discs will be in the ..., July 5, 2014
By 
C - Mama Likes To Read Book Blog (Ft. Lauderdale, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
Kids love the surprise of what discs will be in the pack. Disappointment sometimes when it's a duplicate but none the less kids are excited to try,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but costly., August 21, 2013
By 
Theotokos "Mother, Amazon, Student, LSG" (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
I like the added fun the disks create, especially the power up disks. If they weren't so expensive for the type of reward you get, I would have rated them 5 stars. Basically it's a fancy way of doing micro transactions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok but not as promised, July 9, 2014
By 
Neal M. Mcphillips III (Hastings, Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
I am happy but they are not series one, so I did not give a great rating. We kept them any way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
my son loves it!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Infinity Disc Pack, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack (Video Game)
Add variety to Infinity games but too easy to buy the same pack and get the same power ups. Should be a way to let you know what power ups you are purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack
DISNEY INFINITY Power Disc Pack by Disney Interactive (Not Machine Specific)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.