Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's All Here.
The reason for the four star rating is that The Pet Shop Boys were not a great video band. I have been a fan since "West End Girls" first hit the radio in 1986. I have collected every single album from them and continue to think they are one of the best electronic bands in pop history. But, they were not that great at making videos! There are many to choose from...
Published on January 14, 2004 by Jason Stein

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't get this for the videos.
I have been a longtime Pet Shop Boys fan since the days of West End Girls. I occassionally see a PSB video playing at the gay bars. So when I saw this I wanted to get it. I don't regret the purchase because I'll always love these songs. But from a visual standpoint some of the videos were very dissapointing. For example the video for "Home and Dry" consist mostly of...
Published on March 13, 2007 by G. C. Cruz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's All Here., January 14, 2004
By 
Jason Stein (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
The reason for the four star rating is that The Pet Shop Boys were not a great video band. I have been a fan since "West End Girls" first hit the radio in 1986. I have collected every single album from them and continue to think they are one of the best electronic bands in pop history. But, they were not that great at making videos! There are many to choose from too. 41 in fact. 2 hours and 45 minutes to be exact--a little overwhelming to be honest. Yet, everything is here from "West End Girls" to "London". There are some well made videos such as "Being Boring" (which Neil and Chris even comment is one of their best videos), "Can You Forgive Her?", "Go West", "Se A Vida E", "You Only Tell Me You Love Me When You're Drunk", "London" and others.
This is a one disc dvd, digitally remastered audio 2.0 and video. It's a regionless, NTSC dvd. It comes with a thick booklet of pictures that do not represent anything in particular and seemed like a waste to me. The unique thing about this compilation is that Neil and Chris give their commentary on all 41 videos and it's insightful as well as humorous. All in all, well worth the high price since it's the most comprehensive video compilation on one disc that you can buy on The Pet Shop Boys.
The track listing is as follows:
1. Opportunities (Original Version)
2. West End Girls
3. Love Comes Quickly
4. Opportunities (Second Version)
5. Suburbia
6. Paninaro
7. It's A Sin
8. What Have I Done To Deserve This?
9. Rent
10. Always On My Mind
11. Heart
12. Domino Dancing
13. Left To My Own Devices
14. It's Alright
15. So Hard
16. Being Boring
17. How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously?
18. Where The Streets Have No Name (I Can't Take My Eyes Off You)
19. Jealousy
20. DJ Culture
21. Was It Worth It?
22. Can You Forgive Her?
23. Go West
24. I Wouldn't Normally Do This Kind Of Thing
25. Liberation
26. Yesterday, When I Was Mad
27. Paninaro '95
28. Before
29. Se A Vida E
30. Single-Bilingual
31. A Red Letter Day
32. Somewhere
33. I Don't Know What You Want But I Can't Give It Any More
34. New York City Boy
35. You Only Tell Me You Love Me When You're Drunk
36. Home And Dry
37. I Get Along/E-mail
38. London
39. Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
40. So Hard (Extended Version)
41. Go West (Extended Version)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Boys on DVD., December 26, 2003
By 
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
"PopArt" is the video anthology of Pet Shop Boys. It compiles all 38 of their videos (as well as extended versions of 3 videos) on a single DVD. When viewed from start to finish, the DVD runs for nearly three hours. While most pop acts release great singles but inferior videos, Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe have crafted music clips that are just as elegant as the albums they release. "PopArt" the DVD runs the gamut of moods and flavors, from the tasteful (Bruce Weber's black-and-white "Being Boring"), the homoerotic ("Domino Dancing" and "Paninaro 95") to high-tech ("Can You Forgive Her?" and "Liberation"), to the violent ("Jealousy") and the silly ("Heart," which has an appearance by Sir Ian McKellan). Even better, the videos are remastered, featuring picture quality ranging from good to striking. The music is also presented in a full-bodied 2.0 channel surround sound. Sure, I would have liked to have seen these videos in 5.1 audio, but the 2.0 sound quality is so superior that I didn't care. You can also watch these videos individually, in random order, or in a continuous sequence. There isn't much to boast in the way of extras, although there is a running commentary by Neil, Chris, and journalist Chris Heath. These guys are very laid back and have a real ball poking fun at each other and at the videos they made. The DVD also comes with a booklet that contains production credits and various pictures of the music videos. For American listeners who can't catch all these clips on MTV, this DVD is a real treat and a must-own. One final note: "PopArt" doesn't have videos for either 2003's "Miracles" or "Flamboyant," but other than that, this covers the groups entire visual history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PopArt is perfection, February 11, 2004
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
Sure to replace the outdated VHS video collections like "Television" and the previous greatest hits companion, "Videography," "PopArt" is the ultimate collection for diehard PSB fans. Digitally remastered in both sound and picture, this represents the Pet Shop Boys at their best, leaving no visual representation of their work out of the picture (save for the new singles, "Flamboyant" and "Miracles").
The commentary from the duo is excellent; the two offer witty insights into the rather dated, yet well-crafted, videos. Tracks are presented chronological via the "play all" function or can be randomized (there is nothing quite like seeing "West End girls" followed by "Se a vida e" or "New York City boy"), a feature that is both fitting and appreciated.
As I said, a few of the videos are dated, such as those representing the "Very" album, but to see the visuals that accompany the singles is a great experience. Highlights include the duet with Dusty Springfield on "What have I done to deserve this," "Paninaro '95," "Single-Bilingual," "London," "Always on my mind," and, of course, "Can you forgive her." (Though it is fair to say that every video is indeed a "highlight," and it is tough to pick out a few favorites). Indeed, some may balk at the included extended versions of "Domino dancing," "So hard," and "Go West," but these are significant works in and of themselves.
This DVD is a necessary and requisite companion for the "PopArt" CD as much as it is a requirement for any true Pet Shop Boys fan. So far, the only available version is an import from Canada (playable on all regions) but it is well worth the wait to receive this stunning work. Also included with the DVD is a companion book full of photographs representing the videos themselves, little screen shots of whatever struck their fancy.
The videos are as eclectic as the Pet Shop Boys themselves and their music, and it is truly great to have such a collection available on DVD with crystal-clear visuals and superb sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all the videos, December 2, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
Excellent and complete collection of videos. I have the UK edition, but I believe they are the same. There is a running commentary on the secondary audio that is pretty entertaining (what was that you were wearing? Armani?).
38 videos, plus 3 extended versions (so hard, new york city boy, domino dancing). Videos are arranged chronologically, but there is a 'random play' selection on the menu so you don't get a flashback overdose of any time period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop art is an appropriate title - WOW!, February 10, 2004
By 
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
In writing this review I could rave on about each video since each has its own unique imagery and style
Instead though I think it helps to view the video as a kind of journey. The Pet Shop Boys have definitely matured from commercial electro pop (admittedly very good mind) to serious musical and audiovisual artists. The way they communicate the message of their songs is nothing short of amazing. Especially notable are the reworked Go West and Paninarro where the PSBs make use of high tech digital morphing imagery. Highly effective. Another video which stands is Being Boring, a nostalgic trip back to happy times with friends, some present some absent with inferences to the sexual promiscuity pre-AIDS generation
All in all this aptly named Pop Art is a must for any PSB fan or indeed anyone serious about their music video collection
Well done guys. You never cease to amaze me with your subtle brilliance
To the readers, buy this DVD, you won't regret it I assure you:-)
PS>The DVD also represents excellent value for money with all their hits included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near complete collection of PSB videos, December 6, 2003
By 
Philip A.Cohen (Bay Harbor Islands, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
This U.S.A.-compatable NTSC edition from EMI/Canada has become the defacto U.S.A. edition,due to complex contractual problems which will likely block Capitol from releasing a U.S.A. pressing.The set contains every Pet Shop Boys video clip,excepting "Absolutely Fabulous".As for the problems which are likely to preclude a U.S.A. release for the "Pop Art" DVD or CD sets,it can be explained quite simply:the group have owned their recordings from 1990 onwards(EMI owns the 1982-89 recordings),but while the group continues to license their recordings to EMI outside the U.S.A.,the group has licensed their 1996-2003 recordings to non-EMI labels(Atlantic,Sire,Sanctuary) in the U.S.A.,so as a result,Capitol must now seek permission from those 3 labels(they ARE trying) or there can be no U.S.A. release for the "Pop Art" CD or DVD sets.But the lack of a U.S.A. pressing on the DVD may not matter,since the Canadian import sells for less than what Capitol would have charged for the proposed U.S.A. pressing.Thanks EMI/Canada!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, January 6, 2004
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
After I bought the 3 disc set of the PopArtMix album I thought it couldn't get much better. I was wrong. The DVD version of the album is brilliant. I have no idea what the Amazon description is referring to but mine has 41 videos (3 being extended versions of songs), audio commentary for each video (which is hillarious at times), shuffle feature (which, in my opinion, all music DVD's should offer) and a booklet with photos from each video and tracklisting. I must say these guys treat their fans like royalty. Aside from Release, they have never disappointed me. I must say hearing the singles from Release on the Album and DVD have shed new light on them. Anyhow, this is a real jem of a DVD. I think a lot of other artists should follow in their footsteps when creating "hits" collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!!!, December 13, 2004
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
If you like the group just buy this DVD. My compliments to the people involved in producing this DVD.

Unlike in many other cases here we are not left with missing important videos, lousy layout or poor quality sound & picture.

Recommended AAA+++!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine Piece of Video 'Pop' Art, December 27, 2004
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
The 41 musical videos put together here are FAR more then mere clips designed to sell an audio product.They all define the different periods of time in whitch the Pet Shop Boys were recording and are works of art in their own right.The earlier ones such as "Opportunities","Suberbia" and of course "West End Girls" reflect the various British 'slice of life' that the songs themselfs portrayed.And the other videos range from the topical "It's Going To Be Alright" and "It's A Sin" to the lever "What Have I Done To Deserve This" and "Left To My Own Devices.My favorites are the colorful early CG videography used for the video's from the 1993 'Very' album era,especially the cone hats worn in the fancifull "Can You Forgive Her?" video.The last 15 or so video's on this set are from albums released long after I lost interest in the Pet Shop Boys music but by the sound and look of things I should reevaluate that notion.So the facts are for any PSB fans who either need to replace or have never seen these video's then this is an obvious must have-it covers every era of their music and is highly comprehensive.And for newcomers this DVD will take you back before music video's became basically just lots of T&A and actually had some genuine thought and theatrical content to them-an era that could really use a comeback in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSB best and the rest in motion, December 6, 2003
By 
Dogville (Sunny Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART (DVD)
How can any video collection be complete without this companion video set to their double/triple disc anthology? As if the PopArt audio set wasnt generous enough, PSB included all of the videos to the songs (except the new ones Miracles and Flamboyant) that were on the CDs as well as two extras Was it Worth it and How Can You Be Taken Seriously and three extended videos of Go West, Domino Dancing and So Hard.

Two things made this DVD superb. First, the remastering of the videos. Obviously, the DVD authors have gone to great lengths to revive the color and sound of all videos especially the older ones. Most of the 80's video look as if they could have been shot any day now. The audio quality is also unrivalled. Loud and crisp with the option of hearing a 3-hour long commentary of the boys themselves. The second thing is the booklet that accompanies the disc. Very often, record companies include a pathetic piece of paper in the inlay but PSB gives you 60 pages of video images and colors.

As with the videos, they need no introduction. Each tells a story of their own and most would have fitted perfectly with what PSB had in mind at the point in time.

Was it worth it? Yes, every penny in your pocket!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART
PET SHOP BOYS - POP ART by PET SHOP BOYS (DVD - 2003)
$44.95
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.