Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Comedy!
Thanks to Sony/Columbia Pictures for deciding to release this great Jack Lemmon film as a stand alone movie since up until now it was only available in the The Jack Lemmon Film Collection (Phffft! / Operation Mad Ball / The Notorious Landlady / Under the Yum Yum Tree / Good Neighbor Sam). If you are a Jack Lemmon fan and have the extra money, I would highly recommend...
Published on October 27, 2010 by J. Schmidt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro Love
I love Jack Lemmon. Love Judy Holiday. But together...in this movie anyway...a dud. I blame it on the script. It was not smart, clever, or in the least imaginative. I was bored most of the time, but I stuck with it and watched it all the way through. It reminded me of so many movies of the era. That was the problem. It seemed to take twists from other movies and...
Published 22 months ago by Lawrence J. Ukolowicz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Comedy!, October 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
Thanks to Sony/Columbia Pictures for deciding to release this great Jack Lemmon film as a stand alone movie since up until now it was only available in the The Jack Lemmon Film Collection (Phffft! / Operation Mad Ball / The Notorious Landlady / Under the Yum Yum Tree / Good Neighbor Sam). If you are a Jack Lemmon fan and have the extra money, I would highly recommend investing in that set as all the movies in it are truly worth watching. That said, "Phffft!" is a great 50's comedy that revolves around a divorcing couple (played by Lemmon and the wonderful Judy Holliday) who may or may not still have feelings for each other. The film is particularly notable as it is one of the first films to officially introduce Kim Novak to the big screen who here plays a Marilyn Monroe type vixen smitten with Lemmon (Novak had already starred in Columbia's "Pushover" earlier the same year). In addition, the script is pretty witty, and there is one scene which features a great dance scene with Lemmon and Holliday, If this DVD is anything like the previous release in the Lemmon Box Set, you can expect an excellent transfer in the correct anamorphic aspect ratio, and english/french audio and subtitles. As far as special features, the previous release included the theatrical trailer, photo galleries, and an enjoyable 25 min. episode from the Ford All-Star Theater called "Marriageable Male," so hopefully those will all carry over to this release as well. This is a fun little film to see, and I highly recommend it to all those who enjoy a good, old, classic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PFFFT Unjaded for its humor, March 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
Though "Pffft" focuses on divorce at a time when "divorce" wasn't a household word, the insights into the marriage & the character of husbands & wives keep the story fresh & interesting. The humor of writers Ruth Gordon & Garson Kanin never falters or fails! The cast, too, is amazing: Jack Lemmon & Judy Holliday, both at home in Drama AND comedy, have an enviable chemistry evident in "Pffft" & "It Should Happen to You," which should not be missed. Kim Novak & Jack Carson shine in the supporting roles, whose characters' attempt to lead the main characters into separate lives provide comedy & counterpoint. Not for car chase & ninja dedicated fans,"Pffft" seeks out those who value, character, humor & poignancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro Love, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
I love Jack Lemmon. Love Judy Holiday. But together...in this movie anyway...a dud. I blame it on the script. It was not smart, clever, or in the least imaginative. I was bored most of the time, but I stuck with it and watched it all the way through. It reminded me of so many movies of the era. That was the problem. It seemed to take twists from other movies and mesh them all together into one film. But judge for yourself. It was great seeing these fine comedics again. I just wish the movie had more going for it than the yawn syndrome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Divorce, American-style, August 9, 2013
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
PHFFFT! is an oddly titled, quaint romantic comedy that handles the sticky subject of divorce most delicately.

As Walter Winchell's gossip column reports, the Traceys, Nina (Holliday) and Robert (Lemmon) are 'Phffft!" after an eight-year marriage. Nina cites "incompatibility" and "mental cruelty" as grounds only because they're the most commonly used reasons.

Robert moves in with Navy buddy Charlie Nelson (Carter) while Nina's mom (Gear) influences her daughter by redecorating the bedroom and making unsolicited suggestions.

Concerned for his friend's social well-being, Charlie sets Robert up with gorgeous college girl Janis (Novak as a Monroe type), but when they're alone Robert freezes, confesses to being depressed and sends Janis home.

He would try dating her again, but first some mambo lessons (Nina meanwhile is learning the same dance at Arthur Murray's). Robert takes Janis to a club for dinner and dancing. Nina is by coincidence also there with a co-worker. The two couples mambo and somehow Nina and Robert end up together. Their flamboyant dance moves clear the floor.

The next day, Robert finds a pretext for visiting his ex, but they quarrel and he leaves. When Robert later learns that pal Charlie is with Nina at his old Westchester home, he dashes off to confront the cad. After quietly entering the house, Robert picks up the ringing phone and hears Nina tell her mom that she kicked Charlie out. Then Nina laments how she never should've divorced her husband. It WAS the 1950s after all. You know how the story ends.

(Watch for Head Mousketeer Jimmie Dodd in a cab driver cameo.)

"Phffft!" is also available on THE JACK LEMMON FILM COLLECTION.

Related item:
Jack Lemmon's first credited big screen role came a few months before "Phffft" was released. He again appeared with Judy Holliday in George Cukor's IT SHOULD HAPPEN TO YOU.

Parenthetical number preceding title is a 1 to 10 IMDb viewer poll rating.

(6.4) Phffft! (1954) - Judy Holliday/Jack Lemmon/Jack Carter/Kim Novak/Luella Gear/Donald Randolph (uncredited: Jimmie Dodd/Merry Anders)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Lemon and Judy Holliday - Best Couple Performance!, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
Jack Lemon gave one of his funniest performance opposite Judy Holliday. After their divorce their life got complicated and their realization
what they had was special in the first place especially with Phffit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Judy Holliday movie...that in itself is enough, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
Been a big Judy Holliday from the start of her career. I enjoy all of her movies. This one has the extra added attraction of Jack Lemmon who is terrific....and the charming and beautiful Kim Novak. Lots of fun .Recommended to anyone who likes any of these stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PHFFFT, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
What a treat maybe not a great movie but boy what a cast the great JUDY HOLLIDAY who left us all too soon ( damn that cancer ) JACK LEMMON and of course my own favorite MISS NOVAK in one of her earlier films making quite a splash .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
Born Yesterday is my all-time favorite Judy Holiday movie, but this one is cute. Good picture quality and sound. Would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
I'm a big Jack Lemon fan and this is one of my all time favorite movies. It's clean, no foul language or fancy graphics, just good family movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Lemmon, February 6, 2013
By 
Hal "Hal" (La Crescenta, ca. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHFFFT! (DVD)
I saw this on TCM and bought this for my brother and his wife. I really like these old shows that I grew up watching..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PHFFFT!
PHFFFT! by Mark Robson (DVD - 2011)
$17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.