Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 139 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ORA Cookbook Vs. WROX Solutions
I ordered a copy of the "PHP Cookbook ORA", along with a copy of the "Professional PHP 4 web Development Solutions WROX". Upon reading both these books, i thought i should offer a honest review comparing the two:
Both the books were informative in their own right
o The ORA book had small snippets of code based solutions (very similar to the...
Published on December 16, 2002 by Kevin Peach

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but desprately needs an update!
This is a good book for learning how to use the tools PHP provides. However, in 2005, the tools are out of date... For instance a lot of the XML parsing has been updated so the code in the book is largely deprecated.
Published on August 23, 2005 by Chet Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 139 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ORA Cookbook Vs. WROX Solutions, December 16, 2002
By 
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
I ordered a copy of the "PHP Cookbook ORA", along with a copy of the "Professional PHP 4 web Development Solutions WROX". Upon reading both these books, i thought i should offer a honest review comparing the two:
Both the books were informative in their own right
o The ORA book had small snippets of code based solutions (very similar to the PHP Developers cookbook from Sterling and Andrei) that are very useful for programmers who are confounded with small to medium coding problems. However, there was nothing enterprising about the coverage, that one could not achieve from using a combination of the online docs + mailing lists. Another downside was that i could not find full solutions that i could re-use in my projects.
On the Other hand, i found
o The WROX book offered complete solutions to real world problems - a Simple/advanced CMS (the core of which you can plug into your site), a simple search engine, a classified ads board, and lots of cool creative case study solutions that i could extend to use in my hobby sites. The content was very enterprising and all of the solutions presented are the most popular one's amongst web developers these days. More interesting is that these solutions can be completely re-used and extended into your projects. However, the downside of this book is that you would need to have prior PHP knowledge either picked up from WROX' Professional PHP 4 (as is mentioned as a pre-requisite in the book) or from the Programming PHP ORA, or any another competent professional PHP programming books in the market.
So the bottomline is:
oCare for an appetiser - Pick up the ORA book.
oCare for a full meal - Pick up the Wrox book.
I am posting this same review for both the books (so customers can benefit from it). However, i have ranked the Wrox book, a notch above this one, simply because i wanted a burp:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good "cookbook" reference, October 14, 2003
By 
Todd E Smith (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
I have been programming PHP for a couple of years, and have lots of books on the subject. IMHO, I felt like this book serves the role of a "cookbook" very nicely. The contents are organized by language function via chapters (i.e. strings, numbers, arrays, regex, forms, classes, db, security, XML, etc...) which makes it convenient to find what you are looking for. Within each chapter, are very specific "Problem" and "Solutions" which contain simple code snippets (like 10 lines or less) and a description of what it does. Most problems are solved within one page. It is really concise and to the point. The index is comprehensive so it is straightforward to lookup the issue you are having, find the problem / solution and get on with your coding. You don't have to read thru lots of code or descriptions of why somebody setup a display template or complicated object. Look up your problem, read a quick solution, and BOOM, you're done and back to implementing it in your code.
I have read some other reviews for this book here that recommend the Wrox book, stating this one is too simple. I don't agree with this. The Wrox book appears to me to be another "... let's show you a bunch of full blown application examples ..." book to me, similar to the classic Welling and Thomson SAMS published text. The "cookbook" will not teach you the language, nor is that its intent; it assumes you know what you are doing.
This book is exactly what it says it is, a cookbook. If you need a quick solution to specific coding problems, at a fairly advanced level, it is a really good reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommened for web developers with basic/intermediate, December 2, 2003
By 
Juergen (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
If you are completely new to PHP, just forget about this book!
If you are looking for complete programming solutions, do so as well!
However, if you have some basic experience with PHP and MySQL this book is just great.
This book deserves the word "cookbook" as it contains over 600 pages of receipts (do not expect big explanations, but just snippets of code), which will help you to solve many problems. And the best of this book - in my personal opinion - is, that by reading it, you will find a lot of problems/solutions/ideas you have not thought about before.
Be warned: This book is not a real "help" for anybody who looks for the easy solution, but it will definitely help YOU to develop your site and develop yourself.
Just buy it - it's well worth the money and if this book won't pay out, none will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable asset for any developer, May 3, 2003
By 
Foti Massimo (Vezia (Switzerland)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
An excellent cookbook, following the old O'Reilly's tradition in the field. The recipes are clean, concise and elegant; the authors try to solve real world, common problems. Unlike other outdated books, the code is designed with PHP 4.2 or above in mind. A valuable asset for any developer, it assumes a decent understanding of PHP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am so lucky to have found this book, December 3, 2004
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
I have never written a review before, but I felt that I needed to put my 5-star vote in as my small token of thanks to the authors. So here it goes:

I have dabbled in PHP for a few months now, but am developing a php/mysql app for the first time. I refer to this book every single day. It's my favorite Oracle. I ask, it answers:

"How do I $MyDailyQuestion?"

"See page $MyDailyAnswer."

Sure puts a smile on my face!

This book does not make me read through pages and pages of code and explanation. Just enough code snippets and the most insightful reminders to help me solve my daily how-do-I's. It also tells you where to look up further info for each function/feature on-line.

I think you would love this book as much as I do if:

- you are somewhere between PHP super-newbie and super-master

- you have a pretty solid background in some other language

- you are using PHP now and have problems to solve everyday

- you learn well from small examples

- your vision starts to blur when presented with long chapters

My thanks to authors Sklar and Trachtenberg! Happy hunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but desprately needs an update!, August 23, 2005
By 
Chet Lee (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
This is a good book for learning how to use the tools PHP provides. However, in 2005, the tools are out of date... For instance a lot of the XML parsing has been updated so the code in the book is largely deprecated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sklar and Trachtenberg's Expertise Shines Through, December 11, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
There's really no other way to describe "The PHP Cookbook" than to point out that Trachtenberg and Sklar are obvious experts in their fields. Easy to read, concise and simple to understand, this coding cookbook provides a soup-to-nuts approach to PHP. With just an average understanding of computer code and the will to learn an exciting new approach, "The PHP Cookbook" is a choice guide for those interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book with excellent examples!, December 11, 2005
By 
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
You need a solution to a problem? This book will give you the answer. This is a great reference book that helped me a lot and I think that every PHP programmer should own. This book is the next best thing to searching Google for PHP answers where you can find a wealth of information. The examples are very useful and the flow of the book is perfect. When I bought this book it was expensive but it was worth every single penny.

You need to know the basics of PHP coding before this book is useful. But if you know at least the basics you are going to find this book to be your best PHP teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filled with GREAT examples, June 24, 2003
By 
Rick Summers (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
This book has been a lifesaver for me. As is the case with all those in the Cookbook series, this book is filled with practical examples. This isn't a tutorial book, but honestly, this book combined with the online docs were all I needed to build my own web site based around PHP. I definitely encourage you to buy this book if you're hoping to learn PHP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great php book, September 30, 2004
By 
M. Volmar "mv1" (Westminster, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Cookbook (Paperback)
Full of usable real world examples. Combine this book with some of the great php community web forums and the php.net manual and you are all set.

While I did find some errors in the book, a quick email to the publisher tended to get a quick response and one good thing about O'Reilly is they maintain a list of confirmed errors on the book webpage along with downloads of all examples.

In general its a great book for someone who knows programming and wants to pick up php, but probably not for the beginner who knows nothing.

The book's weakest point is probably dealing with objects and classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PHP Cookbook
PHP Cookbook by David Sklar (Paperback - November 27, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.