Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multiple Talents Or Just Plain Scam?
I have read the review below by P. N. Payne about the paid reviews. Immediately, I checked on the "See All My Reviews" link for Herrington, Boudville, and Matlock. Here's what I found:

Herrington: Reviewed 20 books on March 8th (no exaggeration), ranging from "RFID Essentials" (whatever that means), "Web site Cookbook", "Open GL", to "Degunking Your Home"...
Published on March 18, 2006 by Fadi El-Eter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typographical errors abound
I have never seen a book with so many typographical errors, including errors in code. There is supposedly an errata page, but there is nothing on that page except sponsored links.

--Kenoli
Published on April 17, 2009 by Kenoli Oleari


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multiple Talents Or Just Plain Scam?, March 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
I have read the review below by P. N. Payne about the paid reviews. Immediately, I checked on the "See All My Reviews" link for Herrington, Boudville, and Matlock. Here's what I found:

Herrington: Reviewed 20 books on March 8th (no exaggeration), ranging from "RFID Essentials" (whatever that means), "Web site Cookbook", "Open GL", to "Degunking Your Home". Suspiciously, almost all of these reviews got 5 stars, where the pros stated are almost identical to those stated by the publisher, and the cons are really funny ones, such as "I would have liked full color throughout".

W Boudville: Reviewed 15 books on March 15th, including "Nanoelectronics and Nanosystems : From Transistors to Molecular and Quantum Devices", "The Origins of Cauchy's Rigorous Calculus (Dover Books on Mathematics)", "The Norton Anthology of English Literature: The Major Authors", "Natural Resources and Violent Conflict: Options and Actions", and of course "Computational Geometry in C (Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science)". This guy usually gives all his books 4 starts. I think he's playing it safer than Herrington.

John Matlock: This guy reviewed 11 books on March 15th. Apparently, he read the "Handbook of Parallel Computing and Statistics", "Practical Poser 6", "The Rock from Mars : A Detective Story on Two Planets", "Carrara 5 Pro Handbook", "Beginning Visual C# 2005", "The Glorious Cause : The American Revolution, 1763-1789", and of course a book about marketing, seeing how marketing relates to the American revolution, C#, Carrara, Astronomy, Posing, and Statistics. Matlock opts for the 5 stars on all his reviews.

Now about this book, I'm buying it, because I read some excerpts in the library and I think it's great, not because of the rating of these guys. My 5 stars are given for the book, and the people who wrote the book, but certainly not for the publisher. Now I'm not against anyone making a quick buck, but I'm certainly against people getting paid for misleading others. I think Amazon has a real challenge over here:

1. Review their rating system, raising an alarm when someone has a way above normal number of reviews/day.

2. Dealing with unethical publishers encouraging and paying for this trash, and I think this is the hardest challenge for Amazon.

I just hope that Amazon is not aware of this, which I really find it hard to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Advanced Topic Coverage, May 24, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
This book is one of those rarities in computer-book industry that are actually worth reading and a place in your bookshelf. The authors do an excellent job at uncovering what lies beneath the hood, so to speak. The first few chapters are a great refresher for those of us who come from a different programming language background. The intorduction to OO programming and patterns is one of the best I've read coming from a non-academic source. Thereafter is when the real substance surfaces. Showing how to take full advantage of not only PHP5's OO, but also of the C-based Zend engine and PEAR modules. The chapters on database connectivity are absolutely outstanding. The book is well written, and in some parts goes down to the time and space complexity and also the data structures used by the engine. Very good book overall. The only reason I did not give five stars to this excellent primer is because I found at least five or six typographical errors in the first few chapters. Not a big deal, just a matter of personal preference.

A must for PHP power developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, July 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
PHP 5 Power Programming is the ideal introduction to PHP 5 for those who are already familiar with the PHP language. This book, written by some of the best known in the world of PHP, brings together all of the new and powerful features that PHP 5 has to offer, from polymorphism and interfaces to SQLite and SOAP. Anyone who knows PHP 4 and are wanting to make the change to PHP 5 would benefit from the "Making the Move" chapter. Watch out beginners, while the book does offer a "Basic Language" chapter, it isn't designed to introduce new programmers to the language. Those who are familiar with similar programming languages may be able to learn PHP from this short chapter, however don't expect the rest of the book to stop and wait for you.
PHP 5 Power Programming succeeds in showing the new features of PHP. The principle addition to PHP is the improvement of OOP. This book dedicated two chapters to introduce PHP 5's Object Orientated language and makes a fine job of simplifying something which appears complicated even to an experienced programmer. If you ever wanted someone to make sense of what PHP 5's OOP can accomplish, this book delivers it without fail. One of my personal favourites about this book is Chapter 5. Unlike the myriads of other PHP books, Chapter 5 actually deals with real life situations, such as file uploads and basic (but important!) file architecture. This chapter deals with the problems faced with cookies and sessions, and provides an excellent way around them. By the time you reach Chapter 6, you could be wondering what's left to be learned. The answer? Lots. So sit back and enjoy the journey through PHP 5, your in the hands of very experienced authors.
Not only does this book provide you with the "definitive introduction to PHP 5's advanced features" it also includes an extended 90-day trial of Zend Studio - the ideal Development Environment for PHP. This may make it a tempting purchase for programmers who are new to PHP. Even if the back cover encourages new developers to buy this book, I would strongly recommend against doing so. Chapter 2 does help set down the basics, but be prepared to take the plunge as Chapter 3 goes straight into OOP. If you're new to PHP and sure about choosing this book, I would suggest skipping both Chapters 3 and 4, head into Chapter 5 and see how the language should be used to the best of its ability.
PHP 5 Power Programming by Andi Gutmans (co-creator, PHP 5), Stig Saether Bakken (PHP core team member, creator of PEAR) and Derick Rethans (PHP contributor and the PHP QA team leader) is the perfect purchase for PHP developers wishing to bring their skills and programs into a new level. This book wastes no time in getting stuck into the advanced new features of PHP 5 and soon you'll be putting a big of reflection into all of your code. While not ideal for beginners, anyone who has experience with languages such as C, Perl or Java will find themselves understanding PHP in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Upgrade Book, July 19, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
If you're already writing PHP and want to hone your skills, this is the book for which you've been searching. Bring a highlighter because you will want to go back for quick references since the book is packed with so much good information.

If you don't write code and think OOP is a sound you make when you drop something, you will never have to buy another book as it will take you a lifetime to finish this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and valuable, but terse in style, November 8, 2004
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
Reasonably experience web or PHP engineers will like this book. The PHP language introduction at the beginning is a brief seventy pages which sets the tone for the rest of the book; fast and concise.

After the first three chapters that introduce PHP there is an excellent chapter on design patterns. From there he heads into PHP application design in another solid chapter that effectively mixes code and illustrations to demonstrate best practices.

I found some fault in the database chapter that follows. He shows the use of string substitution in building SQL queries. This is never ever a good idea because the database access is slow and more importantly, vulnerable to SQL injection attacks. He fixes it though by showing proper use of replacement operators with the section on PEAR.

The heart of the book, which I believe is the first seven chapters, finishes of with a strong chapter on exception handling. The chapters that follow cover XML, regular expressions, file I/O, and graphics. The regular expressions chapter is very good.

There are chapters on installing and configuring PHP and PEAR. There is also a very good chapter on extending PHP with C.

In the appendices are some reference sections. In particular there is a listing of PEAR modules that is handy, but not particularly well organized. I would have much rather have had the modules organized into groups of related technologies.

There is room for improvement. There could be more illustrations, and the text could use some more exposition. But this is a solid book that will be valuable for PHP programmers looking to flesh out their knowledge of the platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In-Depth PHP 5 Knowledge for the Already Initiated, January 17, 2005
By 
Russ Woodman (Mount Vernon, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
OK, so you've created your first web page with PHP and MySQL and it's all right--it does what you want--but you want something more. Something in there is lacking. You've been searching for the best way to get your object-oriented applications working properly, or you need to find a better way to assimilate your data graphically for your boss and the only computer technology he understands is the World Wide Web. Welcome to the world of power programming with the latest version of PHP.

One of the latest books in the Prentice Hall's Bruce Perens' Open Source Series is this one called "PHP 5 Power Programming." Written by Andi Gutmans, the lead PHP 5 designer, Stig Saether Bakken, the creator of PEAR, and Derick Rethans, a key PHP contributor, this book is a self-proclaimed tome of wonders which contains insights into all the key features of the latest version of PHP and the keys to unlocking all its wholesome goodness.

After spending a little time showing the evolution of PHP, the authors dive right in. They only devote a brief introduction to the basics of PHP. Clearly, if all you've done is convert a six-line BASH script into PHP, you might check out a less involved reference first. You're expected to be tired with the PHP basics already when you dive into this work, because it's barely a chapter gone before you start getting involved in advanced constructs like iterators, object polymorphism, overloading and exception handling. The best part is the authors never leave you floundering about a simple topic just because they're in the midst of a complicated one. They never let you forget how to unset a cookie, while explaining all of the safeguards necessary to maintain a safe operating environment for a published Web application.

Some of the topics that can be found in this very involved book are: stucturing and designing Web applications, integration with MySQL for data storage and recovery, working with the GD libraries for extensive graphical manipulation, and a detailed discussion and reference on PEAR, the PHP Extension and Application Repository, which does for PHP what CPAN does for Perl. There are also sections with great insite into using PHP with XML and SOAP, regular expressions and streams. And there's even a detailed chapter towards the back about benchmarking your PHP performance and enhancing its operation. Three appendices provide information on the packages available through PEAR and PECL, the phpDocumentor application and Zend Studio.

For a technical manual, this book is surprisingly well laid out. You can use the index in the back to find the topic of your interest, but just skimming through reveals that everything is put where you can find it. Reading the book cover to cover works well also. I doubt the average reader will skip over much as this reference is chock full of good information and written with a style that keeps the reader interested, even if it's a topic he might already be familiar with.

For anyone who already has the fundamentals of PHP in pocket, but wants to get into the nuts and bolts of the new version and explore all of the depth and richness of some of its advanced features, this book is definitely a keeper. At 689 pages, it's long enough to contain a treasure trove of information, but short enough not to turn anyone away by its sheer volume. The best part is, all of this information is straight from the guys who know it best, so you can be sure that all of the best tips are included. And by the end of the book it's clear that PHP has evolved a great deal more robustness than it's original title and function of hypertext preprocessor had likely ever imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Great, November 20, 2005
By 
S. Hickey "SH" (Staten Island, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book, and I did learn a good deal of things in the process. However this book covers a lot of topics, and because of that it doesn't get too in depth about any one subject. It mostly skims over many of the new OOP features of PHP5, and PEAR. Think of this book as a good resource for further web research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typographical errors abound, April 17, 2009
By 
Kenoli Oleari "Kenoli" (Berkeley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
I have never seen a book with so many typographical errors, including errors in code. There is supposedly an errata page, but there is nothing on that page except sponsored links.

--Kenoli
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fill in the gaps for PHP Programmers, June 25, 2010
By 
Jeffrey Cobb (Daytona Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
If your a newbie coder I would try to find something else to start on. If your an all around code everything depending on the job kinda programmer this is a great book for you to help supplement your current php knowledge. I have been coding php, perl, c and shell for over a decade and found myself a little lacking in an in depth look a php. I finally found a book that doesn't spend most of it's time explaining simple crap and does not assume you know the obscure stuff as well. The book does a good job at sectioning out the structure of php scripting and describing most of the functionality of functions and shows you how to code inline and OOP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book but it can be used only for reference now, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PHP 5 Power Programming (Paperback)
this was a nice book that i purchased before i get the zend certified engineer certificate. it covers several topics but it is old now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PHP 5 Power Programming
PHP 5 Power Programming by Andi Gutmans (Paperback - November 6, 2004)
$48.99 $37.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.