Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


155 of 158 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun
My 7 year old received this as a Christmas gift, and it has been his favorite toy. The whole family gets involved with the magic experiments. The wand is difficult to make, but not impossible. The little black stoppers for the tube are ridiculously tight, and require an adult with upper body strength and/or patience, but it's worth it when blue slime doesn't leak out and...
Published on December 28, 2007 by Anonymous

versus
226 of 230 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family fun time! Not all parts included.
Most of what our family experienced was as listed in the more favorible reviews. A bit messy, but easy to prepare for that and a great time was had by all. Most of the objects included are common household products, but this simply makes them conveniently at hand and easy to refill by not hiding the ingredients as generic magic powders.
A down side is the...
Published on November 14, 2009 by Ryan Heywood


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

226 of 230 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family fun time! Not all parts included., November 14, 2009
By 
Ryan Heywood (not Chicagoland, sadly) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
Most of what our family experienced was as listed in the more favorible reviews. A bit messy, but easy to prepare for that and a great time was had by all. Most of the objects included are common household products, but this simply makes them conveniently at hand and easy to refill by not hiding the ingredients as generic magic powders.
A down side is the experiments seemed to be a bit repetitive, but the kids didn't mind as it was all so facinating to them.

The real downside? The smoking fingers trick was missing. Our first thought was a mischevious child made the card vanish using newfound magical abilities, but after searching online this seems to be a problem others have been having recently as well (ref: review at Barnes and Nobles web site) we're pretty certain that parts are being left out. While we find it incredible that this educational toy was able to make learning fun, it would be nice if we could perform ten magical activities as advertised instead of the nine actually available. I have to question the true value of any object's educational value when the company sending said product cannot count to ten.

A side note, the caps were not all that difficult to get on the ends of the wand. It just takes a little twisting and shifting, finesse rather than force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


155 of 158 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun, December 28, 2007
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
My 7 year old received this as a Christmas gift, and it has been his favorite toy. The whole family gets involved with the magic experiments. The wand is difficult to make, but not impossible. The little black stoppers for the tube are ridiculously tight, and require an adult with upper body strength and/or patience, but it's worth it when blue slime doesn't leak out and spill on your carpet. Once it's done, you don't have to take them off again unless you want to, so it's one annoyance with a good result.
Once the wand is made, the little wizard can perform the other experiments that are incredibly cool to the 7-12 year old set, particularly the magic smoking fingers trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mom and 7 year old writing review together, September 3, 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
My daughter and I are writing this together - she insisted on rating this 5 stars because "it is awesome!" After doing the experiments in this box, she wants to turn her whole playroom into a science lab - actually that is why we're online right now, to get more science gear since she enjoyed this so very much. Anything that gets a 7 year old kid this excited about chemistry is - in her words - "awesome." She wants everyone reading this to know she just did a really cool experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my top favorites of Scientific Explorer's sets, December 20, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
This is one of the best of the "Scientific Explorer's" kits. It's good for ages 5 to 12- I'm a nanny and used it with ages in that range and it always seems to be a hit no matter what. Some of the other kits don't come with enough supplies so you have to buy them, or the experiements takes a day or two to see the results (bad since kids need instant gratification) or omit those experiments all together. The candy kit makes you wait for several days till the rock candy forms, the yucky kit requires some additional materials you may or may not have lying around, etc. This kit is a good one to start with cause you can do all of the experiments and the use of citric acid and baking soda makes a lot of exciting instant bubbling which kids love. The wand kind of sucks but if you don't intend to keep it around for long it's kind of a cool activity to make it.
The colors kit is cool too. They are all neat in different ways it just depends on how much supervision you can provide and how many of the necessary supplies you want to buy or hunt down. This one is the best for convenience and fulfillment I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, November 6, 2008
By 
Laura Duffy "LD" (BROOKLYN, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
My 7 year old daughter got this for Christmas last year. We ended up playing with it all year. I guess I was lucky with the magic wand. She loved the test tubes and after a while she was able to follow the directions and do the experiments herself. I would highly recommend this as well as other products from this company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Indeed!!!, February 14, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
This Magic Science Kit is FABULOUS!! My daughter just received this for her 5th birthday and truly feels like a Wizard!! She had help with Daddy (certainly needed at this age and way more fun!!) and LOVED every spell, potion, etc.! The test tubes are super and very sturdy...the holder is perfect as well. This kit can be used again and again (even with other ingredients if need be)...highly recommend, the pictures and moments are truly priceless. Love seeing my daughters face light up with "absolute belief" she made everything happen with her magic hat and very cool magic wand and a few magic words!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun chemistry kit, no complaints, January 6, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
My 11 year old has absolutely enjoyed this kit. The wand fit together fine...it's snug, but you don't want the liquid to leak do you? My daughter liked the jiggly jewels that formed in the wand as well, so it has been opened and closed many times...still no complaints. The instructions were simple and my daughter could do most of this without help. The experiments work well when done properly. My daughter especially enjoyed the magic concept as she is a Harry Potter fan; so it would likely make a nice gift for such a fan as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the kids!, December 31, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
I would recommend this to families with children interested in magic and science. I bought this set for my 7 year old and 5 year old and they LOVE it. I read reviews about the wand not going together, but we had not problems with the wands and my children think they are great. They love "casting" a spell over the test tubes before the magic happens. The experiments are relatively quick which helps with excited children. The instructions are easy to follow and everything you need included, just add water. We have completed every experiment and the kids want to do them again and again. We have to purchase more vegetable oil since we used up the small bottles that are included, but that is easy to come by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Educational & fun, but one of the packets was ripped!, January 25, 2012
By 
S. Thomas (Alexandria VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
I bought this for my son for Christmas, knowing how much he loves Harry Potter, and it was a huge hit! Not only does it make learning and science super fun, but there are a number of different activities (as opposed to only one or two!) so it has kept him engaged for hours on end. The one disappointment was that, when we opened the box, there was white powder EVERYwhere, so that I had to clean all of the test tubes, etc. before they could be used. Fortunately, the packet that had a tear in it was the baking soda, which we had on hand, and not on the of the harder-to-find chemical compounds, so no harm, no foul. But I did have to take off 1 star for this. Other than that, I would highly recommend this for kit to kids of (almost) all ages, especially if they're Harry Potter fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An 8 year old's dream, February 9, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: POOF-Slinky - Scientific Explorer Magic Science for Wizards Only Kit, (9) Activities, 0SA247 (Toy)
On this rainy day my 7.5 year old and his 8 year old best friend have spent the day making magic potion after magic potion. I have been able to sit back and observe as they read the easy to understand directions and mix up the experiments themselves. In the process of making these concoctions they have been learning their fractions and how important it is to follow directions step by step.

I would recommend this to anyone with an 8 year old that loves science and chemistry. This is a safe and fun kit that the kids learn from while having tons of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.