Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porter Cable Template Guides appear to be the standard
I'm a multi router owner person. It seems that no matter what router I am using, they all accept the Porter Cable template guides. They work in the Dewalts, Makitas, or course the Porter Cables, as the description says, but they also work in the Fein Rt-1800, and with the Bosch routers as well with the adapter.
Template guides are useful when routing out a piece of...
Published on March 13, 2003 by Bob Feeser

versus
86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best template kit
Porter Cable 42000 Template Guide Kit

I've had a 42000 template guide kit since the mid 1990's. The set works OK, but my advice is to buy another brand. The P/C kit comes in a cheap & fragile hard plastic case that must have cost all of ten cents to make and the components are held in place with inexpensive cardboard separators. In addition, after a dozen...
Published on August 17, 2005 by Victor H. Agresti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best template kit, August 17, 2005
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
Porter Cable 42000 Template Guide Kit

I've had a 42000 template guide kit since the mid 1990's. The set works OK, but my advice is to buy another brand. The P/C kit comes in a cheap & fragile hard plastic case that must have cost all of ten cents to make and the components are held in place with inexpensive cardboard separators. In addition, after a dozen years or so, every component in my set had corroded terribly -- the metal looked similar to very old aluminum storm windows, pits and all. It's not clear why this happened, since they've never been outside the basement workshop, and no other tools corroded. The corrosion caused significant resistance when screwing on the lock-nuts. Steel wool reduced the roughness of the corrosion, but the pieces still look dreadful.

The three largest guides in the P/C set are too long for numerous dovetail jigs, such as the Leigh jig. It's possible to modify them to work with these jigs, by hack-sawing the excess length off the offending guides, flatten the cut end on a grinder and sanding the edge smooth. A no-cost approach.

If you want steel guides, the Milwaukee's 49-54-0700 set comes with a nice case, and the steel finish looks a whole lot better than P/C's. Unfortunately, the three largest guides in the Milwaukee set are also too long for many dovetail jigs

In any case, brass is a better material for guides than steel, because brass is easier on a rotating router bit if it ever touches a guide. Once, near a day's end of routing doors for hinges, my template's locking ring came loose, allowing the guide to touch the spinning bit, and the locking ring to rub against the router-bit lock nut. Since the guide and ring were brass, no noticeable damage to the bit or router occurred. Had I been using any steel template with a steel locking ring, the bit or router could have been damaged. Try "brass router template" via Goggle - and buy a kit made of solid brass, in a decent case, for less money than this set. Also check out the Woodstock International H3134 Brass Bushing set at Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Is A Good Set !! ,,,,,BUT,,,,,,,,, September 15, 2005
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
I prefer brass. The Porter Cable guides are fine, they install easily, center easily, and perform flawlessly,, Most of the time. Just once in a while though, they fail completely. Steel, no matter how you protect it, will eventually corrode. Mine turned white and rusted, not all over, but on one side or the other. My guides often get removed from the case and hauled out to the job-sites while attached to the router. Early, foggy mornings and those sudden summer-time cloud bursts, expose my tools to far more of the elements than I like. So maybe,, it's my fault. But brass just hasn't let me down yet.

Search "brass template guide set" and be amazed at the difference in price and the fact of the quality of these "no-brand" guides. Occasionally you may need to shine them up a little, but being solid brass, that's not a big problem. I've used both steel and brass on door hinge templates, dovetail templates, stair tread templates and strike plate templates. Brass just slides easier, smoother. On dovetail templates, especially plastic and soft aluminum the brass guides show less wear on the surfaces that the guides contact.

I'm sorry P.C. ,,, I can't recommend these guides.

I saw a review with a problem, the steel guides were too long and reached past the bottom of the dovetail template. With brass you can simply file the guide down to size to get the right length. Simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porter Cable Template Guides appear to be the standard, March 13, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
I'm a multi router owner person. It seems that no matter what router I am using, they all accept the Porter Cable template guides. They work in the Dewalts, Makitas, or course the Porter Cables, as the description says, but they also work in the Fein Rt-1800, and with the Bosch routers as well with the adapter.
Template guides are useful when routing out a piece of work using a template as a guide. The appropriate size guide to accomodate the size router bit, simply attaches to your plastic or metal removable center base plate, using the template guide, and a threaded metal securing ring. The gap distance between the outer edge of the template guide, and the leading edge of your router bit, is the oversize dimension you have to make your template. The template guide prevents the edge of the router bit from touching your template. The protruding nipple-collar accomplishes that. To accomplished routists that earn a duh no kidding award, but to the new guys on the block, that is key to know, and opens up a new world, and a reason to buy the kit.
The Porter Cable 42000 kit is made out of white metal. Their are some manufacturers that make them out of brass, but this kit is hard to beat. The price is right, and it does the job more than adequately. My one gripe is that they are hard to remove from the metal base plate in my Fein. No way to grip the spinninng bottom that sits perfectly flush with the plate. A huge rubber eraser might help. :-) I plan on coating them with WD-40 so that ease of removal doesn't become a problem. All in all a very nice set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Porter-Cable 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit, May 4, 2002
By 
"boehme6" (Arlington, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
The kit that I received did not appear to be cast as some of the Porter Cable sets apparently have been, but they may use stamping in their manufacturing process because they are obviously not "machined" (as in cut on a lathe). However, I found that these steel guides do not work nearly as smoothly as brass guides such as those available from Oak Park. The reason may be the cadmium plating doesn't seem to be very smooth. The brass guides are quite a bit more expensive but are very well machined. When I bought my Leigh D4 Dovetail fixture, I was advised by the Leigh rep at the woodworking show to not use the PC guides. Leigh can supply guide sets that are very high quality machined steel. I bought the Leigh guides and found that they are just as good as the Oak Park brass guides, but I still prefer brass for its smoothness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best on the market, June 12, 2001
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
For hardly a little more than the cheapie template guide sets you get a very nice one from Porter cable. The nice thing about it is if you have a Porter cable or Makita router you simply slip the guide into the existing hole in your baseplate and secure it with one of the provided nuts. Insert the right sized bit and you are now ready to go to work on whatever guide you need to follow. Much nicer than changing your base out with one of those universal kits , which use three screws to secure the guide to the base. If you need a template guide kit , you can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Porter Cable Template Guide Kit, November 28, 2001
By 
Jerry W. Lewis (Coalinga, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
This kit came with seven different sized guides and two threaded rings to attach the guides to the router's base plate. The guides seem to be sized correctly but the general quality of the guides is rather poor. The pieces are advertised as "MACHINED", but are obviously NOT machined as the threads on all the pieces are showing signs of either casting or stamping. While the locking nuts DID thread onto each guide easily, it was discerning to see something with PORTER CABLE'S name on it with such obvious flaws. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doors, June 15, 2000
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
The ease and simplicity of attaching these guides to the router are great. I used my sons set about a month ago to route out hinges, etc for about 15 doors and I loved them. The reason to want to buy from Tool Crib is the customer service I received in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Porter-Cable 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit, May 4, 2002
By 
"boehme6" (Arlington, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
The kit that I received did not appear to be cast as some of the Porter Cable sets apparently have been, but they may use stamping in their manufacturing process because they are obviously not "machined" (as in cut on a lathe). However, I found that these steel guides do not work nearly as smoothly as brass guides such as those available from Oak Park. The reason may be the cadmium plating doesn't seem to be very smooth. The brass guides are quite a bit more expensive but are very well machined. When I bought my Leigh D4 Dovetail fixture, I was advised by the Leigh rep at the woodworking show to not use the PC guides. Leigh can supply guide sets that are very high quality machined steel. I bought the Leigh guides and found that they are just as good as the Oak Park brass guides, but I still prefer brass for its smoothness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a router..., January 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
Opens a whole new dimension in router use. It would be nice to have included a centering guide, but the price is fair. It is a sturdy functional guide set - fits the Bosch router too [with adapter].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended For Use With Leigh D4 Dovetail Jig, July 30, 2001
By 
James A. Collard (Pacific Palisades, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)
I purchased this product, specifically, to use with the Leigh D4 Dovetail Jig because I wanted to use half-inch router bits to cut the pins and tails in a through-dovetail operation. When doing this the end of the board to be routed rests at a 90-degree angle against the underside of the dovetail jig. What I discovered is that the templete guides are too long for this operation -- they descend lower than the dovetail jig fingers. Of course, the board can be lowered to accomodate for the difference, but then there is no support for the finger assembly, resulting in unevenly-cut dovetails. This set of template guides is not the answer if you are looking to route dovetails using the Leigh D4 Dovetail Jig. You will want to find template guides that complement the jig without having to make unneeded adjustments.
This is in no way meant to criticize this product for normal routing operations. Again, I purchased this product for a very specific task and subsequently found that it was not the right tool for that task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PORTER-CABLE 42000 9-Piece Template Guide Kit
$56.26 $32.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.