Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality at a decent price
For years I have been using these P-C biscuits for building tabletops and panels in various furniture projects. Since I work with alot of 3/4" - 5/4" wood, I use these #20 biscuits more than the smaller #10 and #00.

I have not had any significant amount of "bad" biscuits from Porter-Cable. There is an occasional thick one - meaning it either didn't get...
Published on February 20, 2005 by Scott Pointon

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Biscuits, But Inconsistent Quality
These seem to be the most widely sold biscuits. I don't understand why.
Biscuit joining has become one of the most important aspects of my woodworking, and I have been using Porter Cable biscuits (all three sizes) for some time now. I am surprised at the inconsistency. In a typical canister of 100 biscuits, I have to reject (easily) 20 of them. The rejects are...
Published on June 16, 2000 by Matthew Schenker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Biscuits, But Inconsistent Quality, June 16, 2000
By 
Matthew Schenker (Western Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
These seem to be the most widely sold biscuits. I don't understand why.
Biscuit joining has become one of the most important aspects of my woodworking, and I have been using Porter Cable biscuits (all three sizes) for some time now. I am surprised at the inconsistency. In a typical canister of 100 biscuits, I have to reject (easily) 20 of them. The rejects are usually:
1. Too thick to go into the slot.
or
2. Broken at the tips (therefore giving less glue surface).
or
3. Cracked on one or both faces. This is not only bad for strength, but it also prohibits easy insertion into the biscuit slot.
When I do find nice ones in the canister, they are very strong. Porter Cable needs to do some quality control on their biscuits, so at least 95% of them are good, or they need to set up some kind of exchange system where woodworkers can turn in their bad ones.
I now have two canister full of "rejects."
Porter Cable has a good reputation generally, and I hope their biscuits will improve to match their other products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality at a decent price, February 20, 2005
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
For years I have been using these P-C biscuits for building tabletops and panels in various furniture projects. Since I work with alot of 3/4" - 5/4" wood, I use these #20 biscuits more than the smaller #10 and #00.

I have not had any significant amount of "bad" biscuits from Porter-Cable. There is an occasional thick one - meaning it either didn't get compressed as it should have or it swelled from moisture - but these are few and far between.

Basically, I have had nothing but good luck with these so I highly recommend them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth a dime., August 23, 2006
By 
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
You get what you pay for. Only one out of 6-9 will fit if you're lucky and when you only have few minutes to join boards, you'll wish you had spent the extra cash and bought Lamello.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of broken ones..., December 31, 2002
By 
Michael A. Griffith (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
I must agree with a previous reviewer about there being quite a few defective biscuits. I picked up several containers at a local home center and took a good look at them. It was very easy to find them with chipped corrners or with cracks. The Freud biscuits that came with my cutter were much better in appearance. I'm not sure how it will ultimately affect the strength of the joint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Something That Makes Such A Strong Joint -, February 23, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
- why so many broken and defective? Now when I go into Lowes and look at their cans I don't see any broken ones. Could it be the shipping method which Amazon uses to receive the items and the shipping method used to send to the customer? It seems that the Biscuits would spend as much time on a truck getting to a Lowes store. I don't know what it is. The biscuits are great and out of a hundred I will have 1 or 2 defects, ie too small (and no it's not my joints that are too big!). The biscuits will measure smaller. I am going to order a few of the 1000 boxes. Maybe the problem is with the plastic can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality at a fair price, February 20, 2005
For years I have been using these P-C biscuits for building tabletops and panels in various furniture projects. Since I work with alot of 3/4" - 5/4" wood, I use these #20 biscuits more than the smaller #10 and #00.

I have not had any significant amount of "bad" biscuits from Porter-Cable. There is an occasional thick one - meaning it either didn't get compressed as it should have or it swelled from moisture - but these are few and far between.

Basically, I have had nothing but good luck with these so I highly recommend them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars They work., June 22, 2014
By 
Mr. Bill (Brighton, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
The biscuits fit the slots and hold wood together well. That is neither extraordinary nor unsatisfactory - the product performs as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect package..., June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you are not using biscuit joinery, why not? I have been woodworking for over 30 years and waited more than 29 to buy a biscuit joiner and cannot figure for the life of me why I waited so long. The quickest way to join things together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good product, November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
It is well made and good quality, glad that I ordered it. I would order it again if needed. excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot biscuits!, September 25, 2013
By 
Larry Hall (Fort Lauderdale Fl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PORTER-CABLE 5562 No. 20 Plate Joiner Biscuits - 100 Per Tube (Tools & Home Improvement)
Ah, I like this jar of biscuits. They slide into #20 biscuits slots perfectly. I used them to make a plyometeric box and a lectern. They smell good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.