Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Deradoorian $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Gear Up for Football Learn more
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
POSTCAGE has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

POSTCAGE Limited Edition

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio DVD, Limited Edition, January 1, 2010
"Please retry"
$32.95 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Fifth in a series with previously unreleased works by emerging composers, this 124-minute 96kHz|24bit Audio DVD features the world premiere recordings of 14 chamber works composed or reworked after John Cage's 1992 death.


John Cage would have been 100 in September. This project, which has been in process for several years, is a marvelous contribution to the occasion. No work seems duplicated by another, and almost every one repays repeated listening. The performers are quite committed and acquit themselves admirably. --Rob Haskins, American Record Guide, July/August 2012

This disc proffers more than two hours of 'post-Cageian' music; that is, music composed after the death of John Cage. Interestingly, much of it seems to have no link to Cage's style, but these are all 'new music' works by a wide variety of composers. All in all, fans of new music will find this disc interesting. --Kirk McElhearn, MusicWeb, June 2012

I'm not quite sure what, if anything, the pieces here have to with Cage aside from the fact that, more or less, they were composed after his death and presumably contain some amount of his influences (what doesn't?). Oh, and this release is on DVD format so there's quite a bit of music here (over two hours). And, by and large, it's very enjoyable. All in all, a strong set of music from a range of composers likely not too well known to most readers here but worth delving into more deeply, no matter what one's opinion is of Mr. Cage. --Brian Olewnick, Just Outside, March 2012

1. Fuerzas for violin
2. For Morton Feldman
3. November Test Pattern, the ecstasy of electric trees weeping in the twilight including recumbent bright insects and relevant footnotes
4. Meditation
5. I Sail'd Out To Sea
6. for violin and piano
7. Viola, Klavier
8. Five Decadal Studies for Dick and Clyde, No 1
9. Five Decadal Studies for Dick and Clyde, No 2
10. Decadal Studies for Dick and Clyde, No. 3: 5 Decadal Studies for Dick and Clyde, No. 3
11. 5 Decadal Studies for Dick and Clyde, No. 4
12. Decadal Study for Dick and Clyde No. 5: 5 Decadal Studies for Dick and Clyde, No. 5
13. Under Stars
14. My Idea of Fun
15. R Modern Love Waltz (arr. R. Moran for 8 keyboards minus piano)
16. for 1 or 7 pianists (version for 7 pianists)
17. Antimusical Book of Recipes, IV. Electronic Antimusic
18. Antimusical Book of Recipes, XIV. Antimusic of the Spheres
19. Antimusical Book of Recipes, XXI. Disco Antimusic
20. Antimusical Book Of Recipes, Xxix. Merengue Antimusic
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Performer: Christina Fong, Paul Hersey, Glenn Freeman, Michael Kornacki, Karen Krummel, et al.
  • Orchestra: Chance Operations Collective of Kalamazoo
  • Composer: Maria de Alvear, Dionysis Boukouvalas, David Kotlowy, Marc Chan, David Beardsley, et al.
  • DVD Audio (January 1, 2010)
  • Please Note: This is a DVD-Audio disc which is playable on most DVD players as well as all DVD-Audio players. Click here for additional information regarding compatibility.
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Limited Edition
  • Label: OgreOgress productions
  • ASIN: B0067STJP6
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #968,484 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Jeff Redmond on April 17, 2012
Format: DVD Audio

This eclectic compilation of minimalist music was released in the 100th year celebration of John Cage's birth. There are 14 pieces on this Audio DVD offering a wide variety of satisfaction for just about every kind of listener. Pioneering composer John Milton Cage Jr died in 1992, an incredible innovator of indeterminancy and electroacoustic creations.

Cage has been a major influence on such diverse artists as Brian Eno, Frank Zappa, and Sonic Youth. This collection clearly continues his amazing legacy. Such composers as David Beardsley, Walter Horn, David Kotlowy, John Prokop, and David Toub are included.

Single sustained notes, lasting moments of silence, poignant pauses, and softly persisting combinations of one, two, or three instruments have been recorded here. One by Robert Moran and Philip Glass is "Modern Love Waltz" (1977) has an Ambient theme of electronic keyboards and synthesizers. Combinations and variations of violin, piano, glockenspiel, viola, vibraphone, clarinet, and cello proffer an amazing variety of styles and colors.

Those fans who practice yoga and meditation will especially appreciate the mood enhancing offerings of POSTCAGE. Solitary mournful tunes, along with quiet contemplative soul searching, can and will happen. This is another in the fine series of 21st Century preservations of musical genius. The entire DVD is two hours of enjoyment, entertainment, and education. Enjoy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in