Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: PROKNOT Outdoor Knots
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Misc. Supplies|Change
Price:$4.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 2, 2014
So, this set of six waterproof cards costs about $5 and shows you how to tie knots. Simple. The cards are the size of a regulation deck of playing cards, and each is about 1/132" thick. The plastic stock is flexible, and feels well-constructed. A brass grommet is punched through the top left corner to keep the cards together. If you stick two strands of 550 cord (each a different color) through the grommet, you can have cord with you to practice these knots.

The knots included are:
-Bowline.
-Tautline Hitch.
-Sheep Shank.
-Square Knot.
-Water Knot.
-Timber Hitch.
-Buntline Hitch.
-Rolling Hitch.
-Clove Hitch.
-Constrictor Knot.
-Half Hitch.
-Sheet Bend.
-Prusik Knot.
-Double Fisherman's.
-Cleath Hitch.
-Trucker's Hitch.
-Figure Eight.
-Mooring Hitch.
-Butterfly Knot.
-Bowling On a Bight.
So, that's twenty knots. For each, there's a brief description of what the knot is used for and about two illustrations. The illustrations are nicely done; they're detailed enough to see what the knot is, with small arrows shown to help you visualize what's going on. When two different pieces of rope are being used (like the Sheet Bend, etc.) there are two different colors of rope shown, so everything is clear.

For the five dollar price, these are good cards. A learning tool for some and boredom busters for others, these fulfill their intended purpose. Toss a set in your backpack to get some practice or use your "down time" more easily.
22 comments|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2004
I'm sold on this waterproof plastic card concept. Great knot illustrations, too. Amazon.com also sells this author's ROPE KNOTS printed on plastic cards - just do a search for PROKNOT and you'll get 14 essential rope knots on a 6 page waterproof plastic fan pack. I keep both on my boat but could just as well use the PROKNOT cards for camping or tying stuff on the car. These cards rock!
review image review image review image
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2003
This is one knot reference made for the elements! Solid plastic cards are waterproof so it is stashable anywhere - tackle box, boat, fishing vest.. I love it! The drawings are clear and the selection of knots covers all the bases - line to line, line to hook, loops... It's got me tying the right knots the right way! Good value too.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2003
Since I found the PROKNOT Outdoor Knot cards--I'm never without them. All the best knots to know on 6 waterproof cards that fit in my pocket. The illustrations are easy to follow and make knot tying EASY! They make the perfect gift and stocking stuffer for anyone who backpacks, camps or wants to know how to tie knots for any situation. Great product!!!
33 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2010
I thought it would be helpful to you to know exactly WHAT 10 knots are included. They are: Perfection Loop, Dropper Loop, Surgeons End Loop, Nail Knot, Blood Knot, Improved Clinch knot, Palomar Knot, Uni Knot, Surgeon's Knot, and Double Uni-Knot. It also has some tips on knot basics.
The instructions and diagrams are nice and large, so that you can see them without reading glasses. The three cards are connect together, plastic, waterproof, and extend together to make a 12" inch ruler. The plastic is thin enough to be lightweight, heavy enough to be durable. Well worth the price, although I did get mine at a big discount store it was the same price as here.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2007
This is a handy little reference. It's about the size of a credit card, but twice as thick. Suitable for a wallet or pocket.

There are six cards, double-sided, and some two knots, for a total of 15 knots. The cards are fastened together, so there's no chance you'll lose one of them.

I'm just getting started learning knots, and I have tried a few of these. So far this has been a good help. This will be handy to have around. With practice, I'll have a few of these committed to memory.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2003
These are the knots I needed but never had time to memorize. Diagrams are easy to read & follow. Tucks away neat & looks like it'll last forever!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2011
I've been carrying this around with two 24" lengths of paracord to practice/learn knots in my free time. It's been perfect for that. The only thing someone could complain about is the choices of knots and that their favorite knot isn't included. Since these cards got me interested in knots, I've learned several that aren't in these cards and probably would have made different choices for what to include. Specifically, these cards don't include any instructions lashings, and could have done without the half-page used for the rolling hitch with the 3 other hitches included.

That's just nit-picking though. Overall these cards are an excellent introduction or refresher for knot tieing.
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
The booklet is perfect for attaching to a backpack. The illustration is simple & also tells you which knots are best to use in a situation requiring tying knots. A must for anyone camping outdoors in a tent or mountain climbing.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
Pros: convenient size/weight for pack, laminated. Lots of different knots.
Cons: too abbreviated and hard to follow, not enough info on how the knot would be best applied to situations. Trial&error with practice will help.
Overall: handy reference for your pack
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse