Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace antidote to Anita...Brit Pagan kicks poncey vampire a*se
If you're looking for some rattlingly good fun, grown-up vampire/werewolf action, you've come to the right place. Soppy puppy eyed vegetarian vamp lovers should stay away.

Pagan follows British Ministry of Paranormal Research & Defence (MPRD) super vampire hunter, Jack `Pagan' Henderson - part James Bond/part vampire bogeyman/good guy with some cool...
Published on February 14, 2010 by sparklynature

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just in case you forgot, Pagan is awesome
This is a good book, but not great. It could have been great. First the bit that made it not great - the author insists on reiterating (numerous times) how godly Pagan is, how hot Marie is, and how vampire powers really work. After the Nth time I've read that Pagan is "special", I was thinking in my head "Yes. I know. I learned that in chapter 1, 3, 6, and 8". After...
Published on August 8, 2010 by Justin Rudd


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace antidote to Anita...Brit Pagan kicks poncey vampire a*se, February 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
If you're looking for some rattlingly good fun, grown-up vampire/werewolf action, you've come to the right place. Soppy puppy eyed vegetarian vamp lovers should stay away.

Pagan follows British Ministry of Paranormal Research & Defence (MPRD) super vampire hunter, Jack `Pagan' Henderson - part James Bond/part vampire bogeyman/good guy with some cool as-yet-unidentified-built-in vampire resistance - who lives in a UK that could be set in across the pond from Anita Blake world. In this UK, no-one's accepted vampires after they came out of the closet and Jack and his team of government hunters roam around the UK drinking beer and kicking butt. Nice.

Pagan lives in a world where his life's been turned into a TV series and a book by the-powers-that-be, keen to cash in on the folklore surrounding him (giving a few quite funny moments) but it's also a world that's incredibly normal in a non-normal situation: riding up the M1, hanging out in pubs, heading to fly out of RAF Brize Norton, getting your `tackle' out and the quite wonderful use of the criminally underused British word `ponce'. It was really nice to read a down-to-earth, funny book that's set in England. Living in NW England, I read most of the book in one sitting with a daft grin on my face.

For the vamp-werewolf genre, you name it and I've read it (and got fed up of it, naming no names, LKH) but this felt like a welcome breath of fresh air to me. The only thing I found a bit hard was the large amount of gun-porn. I like a nice gun battle as much as a never-fired-a-gun-or-been-in-the-military girl can do, but I found the gun acronymns, numbers and ammo descriptions a bit hard going, to the point of get over it already. I get it Andrew - Pagan = boy and likes his guns. However, I'm not taking a star rating away though, as it's equal-opportunity gun toting (birds and blokes both getting chance to shoot stuff and strut their weaponry).

There's a bit of Mike Carey's Felix Castor world weariness in here, maybe a bit of Dog Soldiers (UK werewolf flick) and a feel of Shaun of the Dead ordinariness and black humour, but it's original and really enjoyable stuff and I heartily recommend you purchase it. Pagan's off to Europe for his next adventure. Can't wait (hurry up Andrew!)

P.S. Somebody get this man a British publisher. Now! Am embarrassed that we're not supporting Andrew over here, even if he has gone over to the `dark side' (we forgive you as it was for love). Or alternatively, all buy a Kindle and download the book the quite frankly ridiculous scoop price of £2.25 ($3.51). Best two quid I've spent in yonks. Andrew, if you get it published over here I'll buy a paper copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Call me weird, January 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan: An MPRD Novel (Paperback)
...but I actually like the secondary characters of John and Anna better than Jack and Marie. Their backstory fascinated me. Jack is a very interesting protagonist, however; he definitely has that British sense of humor and a stiff upper lip.

Overall, I enjoyed Pagan very much. I thought some of the descriptions of the group's weaponry got a tad tedious, but that is probably because I'm not really interested in such details. I did enjoy great job of world building done by the author. It wasn't so overly detailed as to be boring, but was in-depth enough that you weren't left scratching your head in confusion. The reveal of the villain was also nicely done.

Pagan is a good, quick read and I'm looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pagan the atheist has a really big gun..., February 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
Jack "Pagan" Henderson is a vampire hunter. Not just any vampire hunter, a rather famous one. The kind that has television shows and smutty novels named after him. Parts of the world have gladly accepted the vampires -- the USA for example, where they've even been given some rights. Pagan, however, works for the Ministry in the UK. They don't see the vampires in quite the same light. They've not welcomed them in, not given into their charms. Instead they've seen families slaughtered, had homes destroyed, etc. So they fight them. Jack, obviously being the best at this job, hence his fame.

In this novel we learn how Jack has ended up as a hunter, how his team came together, their backstories, etc. And finally we follow them on their current mission -- take down one of the three major leaders in the vampire world.

My only gripe is the frequency of detailed weapon accounting. That could just be me though. I'm not into weapons. It all went over my head, I started skimming a lot of those paragraphs as really you could have just told me really big guns and had the same impact. Still I can see why some people appreciate that kind of thing.

In the end it felt like this was really just a introduction to what could be an even better series later. Not that this wasn't a good novel, it was. Just when I read the teaser for the next novel, I felt like AHA this one was just to introduce me to the characters -- the next one sounds so much better. But that's a good thing, authors should make me want to read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just in case you forgot, Pagan is awesome, August 8, 2010
By 
Justin Rudd (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book, but not great. It could have been great. First the bit that made it not great - the author insists on reiterating (numerous times) how godly Pagan is, how hot Marie is, and how vampire powers really work. After the Nth time I've read that Pagan is "special", I was thinking in my head "Yes. I know. I learned that in chapter 1, 3, 6, and 8". After the Nth time I'd read how "hot Marie's butt looks", I was thinking "Yes. I know. I learned that in chapters 1, 3, 6, and 8". And finally the 300 descriptions of the FAL got really old. It felt like at times the author had a word/page count in his head that he had to hit. So he just took generic lines from other parts of the book but reworked the words a bit.

The pure-breed vs. half-breed werewolf was also an interesting twist. My main problem with this was that a half-breed had dominance over a pure-breed in one part of the story. That just seemed to go against all pure-breed/half-breed literature I've read/seen. Half-breeds are almost exclusively lesser beings (which they are in power in this book as well). I just don't see a pure-breed being submissive to a half-breed. Maybe the author was going for something different, but it felt forced to me to give Marie some back story.

The parts that I thought made it a great book - the British propaganda Pagan books were very funny. Especially when the women were making fun of him. I laughed out loud at that part. John and Anna were great. John's "don't mess with my wife" attitude was very well done. Especially considering that Anna is probably stronger than John. But John didn't seem emasculated by it at all. I liked Frenchie a lot. And Norse was pretty cool too, but I think the author put a lot of emphasis on Norse even though he was a bit player (in my opinion).

The vampires in the book were pretty normal. They weren't the blood thirsty beasts as in Wellington books (99 coffins, 13 bullets, etc.) nor were they the dark brooding characters of Rice. They were firmly in the middle. I liked how Pagan made fun of the recently turned about how they dressed. I had this picture of Michael Kors in my head "What were thinking with that outfit?!" (yeah...I watch Project Runway). My only problem with them was they seemed pretty easy to kill. Other than one scene in the middle, I didn't feel like the characters were ever in any real danger from them. At the end, they were in danger only because of sheer numbers.

The book had the general feel of setting up sequels. If there is a sequel, I hope I don't have to endure more than the first 10 pages of how hot Marie is or how awesome Pagan is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Story, July 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written, imaginative tale. It generally moves along well, I enjoyed the characters and I really felt immersed in the story. The only thing I didn't like were several instances where I found myself skimming over yet another love scene so I could get to a part of the book that would advance the story. It's not that I mind those moments being there, but they became so frequent that they stalled things out for a bit. After a great start that was full of action, things hit a wall in the middle where not much seems to happen aside from Marie and Jack flirting or having sex. I do recommend the book, though, and would welcome a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read with fascinating characters, December 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
I started reading this during a layover on my way to visit my family for Thanksgiving. I had a really hard time putting it down and found myself stealing time to read a few chapters throughout my visit. I found the book as a whole to be immensely enjoyable with well-written, interesting characters and a fun plot. Like another reviewer said before me, I could have done without quite so much in-detail descriptions and branding of the weaponry. It wasn't horrible, but I don't know much about weapons so the branding and detailed descriptions went over my head, and I found it a bit distracting. However, other than that I found I had no problems with the book at all. Loved it, and can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars At least these Vamps don't sparkle..., January 18, 2011
By 
BH (NYC, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
A good novel comes down to writing ability, plot, and character development and each is lacking in spades in this instance.

Issue #1. There is our hero "Pagan" who, alone amongst humanity, is immune to the vampires magical mojo and so badass as a matter of fact that in spite of his being an atheist his blood burns the undead like holy water. He is the ex-special forces guy who the guys want to be and the girls want to be with...and oh holy hell do they want to be with him. Every time a character opens their mouth it is to say how much they want Pagan to fill it with something. Oh and he is very, very well endowed, all the characters want you to know that. Every female character in the novel wants to have sex with him, even one of the main villains and the frigid feminist who complains of sexual harassment...because he didn't harass her but someone else you see. And let us not forget his incredibly hot werewolf girlfriend that wants desperately to be completely dominated by our valiant hero and is constantly throwing herself at him but has issues with *gulp* "doggy style" because, you see, she's a werewolf. Get it? Doggy style, werewolf? I could go on for a while but I'll leave this section with a note that the book pretty much ends with Pagan's hirsute life partner promising to *cough* deep throat him.

Issue #2. Others have noted the gun porn so I won't dwell on it so much besides saying that it truly gets tiresome.

Issue #3. Vampires as evil. Okay so at least he makes the vampires the bad guys, except for the ones that are his friends and not the bad guys and the ones working against the other vampires but the vampires are definitely the bad guys. They are pure evil and need to be exterminated to ensure humanity's survival...except for when they're not. Got it?

Issue #4. Vampires are very powerful, so much so that they are overrunning the world. America has pulled a France and surrendered and Eastern Europe is lost. These creatures get immensely more powerful as they age so much that ancient vampires can even go out in the middle of day with few problems and dominate entire packs of werewolves. Got that? Okay. Pagan manages to kill 2 of the three most ancient vampires in England within a couple days of each other and is so god like in his abilities he doesn't even realize he's killed one of them until long after the fact. One of the remaining vamp power players pledges revenge for the killing of his sire, a 1,000 plus year old Vamp that held all of Romania and Germany (not sure if the author knows those countries do not share a contiguous border) in an iron grip until he was killed by (guess who) Pagan when he decided to visit England on a business trip. Oh and the final surviving ancient vampire in England just wants to have sex with him. All in a days work.

It is absurd to say that a novel dealing with vampires as its central premise is unrealistic but that is what we're left with. At the end of the day this novel is a 16 year old boy's wet dream, not much more than that.

The one positive? At least the vampires didn't sparkle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finished, I am ready for the next one., January 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan: An MPRD Novel (Paperback)
I downloaded this book for Christmas, and just now had time to read it. I thought I would start it last night, and have something to read this week. I was horribly wrong. I stayed up all night reading it.
The story is actually a story, not just random scenes linked together by one character. The men and women are equals, and rely on each other to overcome some pretty overwhelming odds. It was so easy to imagine this group of valient soliders sharing rations,drinking tea and counting ammo to kill the vampires.
Mr. Chapman I am ready for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Next Time Leave Out the Graphic Sex Scenes., August 24, 2011
This review is from: Pagan: An MPRD Novel (Paperback)
This book was expertly written. The characters were well fleshed out and engaging. It had funny scenes, the weaponry was well researched and it had a very nice ending. All of that being said, why did the author feel the need to write vivid and graphic scenes of sex and rape. Isn't it enough to imply what is happening if it is necessary for the story? I did not pick up this book expecting scenes that read like they belong in an amateur porn film. So, this 5 star books gets 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action - Sex - Action - Sex, March 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pagan (Kindle Edition)
Pagan by Andrew Chapman is a fun [...] e-book about vampire hunters in England. Kind of a Special Forces unit designed to fight Vampires. Tons of action, bullets blazing, vampires & werewolves. And plenty of sex. I actually bought this book way back in Aug of 2010 when I first got my Kindle, but just now got around to reading it. I am glad I did.

The main character (Pagan) is a kick butt leading man, who alternates between killing vampires and having sex with one of the women on his squad (who also happens to be a werewolf). Far be it from me to say there was too much sex, but Pagan could put James Bond to shame in that department. Not busy killing vampires? Have some wild sex! Still, there was plenty of bullets and action to get me hooked on this sereis. I enjoyed this action thriller and will pick up the 2nd Pagan book when it comes out. Lofty prose? No, but a fun blazing tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pagan
Pagan by Andrew Chapman
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.