Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pain of Mind
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
10
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$17.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 16, 2004
"Pain of Mind" (1987) is Bay Area hardcore pioneers Neurosis' first album, a much different effort from their later material. Whereas later Neurosis, as y'all know, is sludgy, experimental, even tribal metal, this is balls-to-the-wall metallic hardcore punk, from back when they played Gilman Street every other weekend with bands that would go on to achieve superstardom (Operation Ivy for example).
But aside from the novelty of hearing one of the best-loved underground metal bands in their punky infancy, this is still a really good album, and highly influential to many political punk bands even today. Most songs are rough-and-tumble mid-tempo scorchers, with quite a few thrashy outbursts thrown in as well. At times, the melodic, metallic guitar lines and almost growled vocals recall latter-day crusty hardcore bands like His Hero Is Gone and current faves From Ashes Rise and Tragedy. Honestly, without the foundation laid by Neurosis on this record I doubt the whole Memphis/Portland DIY hardcore punk sound that's all the rage these days would have developed.
Other tracks, with duelling male vocals and speedy, Discharge-esque riffs and drummming, remind me a lot of Aus Rotten or other similar bands. But whereas Aus Rotten bores the hell out of me, Neurosis doesn't, so that's a good thing.
This album, along with releases from earlier groups like Christ on Parade and later groups like Filth would cement the East Bay hardcore sound -- I'm not talking AFI here, I'm talking the nihilistic, PO'ed, metallic brand of hardcore punk played by smelly guys with dreadlocks in dirty black clothing. The echoes of "Pain of Mind" still ring today in the DIY punk scene. Good album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2004
I can understand how people who became Neurosis fans due to their material from the mid '90s to now would be taken aback when hearing this, their 1987 debut album, for the first time. But imagine how we original fans felt back in 1990; We were introduced to Neurosis through this album (or their demo) and the Abberation EP that came out afterward. They were a raging hardcore band. In 1988, if you were still into hardcore, you were into Neurosis. When the second album (Word As Law) came out, it was a little off-putting to some fans. It was still kinda hardcore, but it was different. It was experimental. A little sterile sounding. Slightly artsy-fartsy. 'Post-hardcore', I suppose. And then the third album (Souls At Zero)... that was when they really changed. And not everyone thought it was for the better. The word "pretentious" was thrown around quite a bit by some fans, and the record was nicknamed "Sales At Zero" by some. (OK, actually it was probably only my friend who called it that.) But that was the direction they wanted to take and they've pretty much stuck to it ever since. Next thing you know, everyone had tribal tattoos and pierced eyeballs and stopped bathing. But yeah, some of us were able to adjust and get into the new approach. Still... this is how it all began. So show some respect, ya freakin' kids.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2004
This is the same band that recently recorded "the eye of every storm?" It's hard to believe. I already had a few neurosis cds and I just got 5 more in the last week because I liked them so much. One of them was this. I haven't had a chance to really get into it yet, but I wanted to offset some of the other reviews. Yes, it's completely different from the later albums, but that is to be expected. A sound like Neurosis had on "through silver" doesn't just create itself overnight. This is a hardcore album, and I don't typically listen to hardcore, but considering how amazing Neurosis is, I think it's worth getting just to hear where this great band started out. The songs are pretty cool too, I like what I know of it so far (i haven't listened to the second disc at all). It's weird to hear Neurosis playing fast. Bottom line is, if you like neurosis later stuff and you just want to hear that and nothing else, than don't get this. But if you are open minded about music, and you want to hear an important part of musical history and an album that started it all for one of the best bands around today, then definitely look into this. Personally, I wanted to get a complete picture of the evolution of Neurosis. It's really amazing how a hardcore band like this turned into the band we know and love today (with the exception of those people who have been there from the start) and I think it's worth getting this for that sole reason. It's really no farther from TSIB than the eye of every storm is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2000
Neurosis is kinda hard to tell in means of their style of music. They really diversify.. "Pain of Mind", somewhat crosses between hardcore and perhaps punk. But other songs have a twist, such as metal mostly. All in all they give off a vibe of pure talent. Both in lyrics and music.. the two collide and you're left with this song that blows your mind.
It happens over and over.. and you'll see as you sit there, it's something that's new. They pop in where Napalm Death and the Dead Kennedys meet. If you're thinking of this title, it's worth the buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2003
you people don't know what you're talking about. it's albums like pain of mind and word as law that gave neurosis their start. without albums like this you wouldn't have your precious times of grace and through silver in blood (not that those aren't also good albums). this was the first album i heard by them and it made me the neurosis fanatic i am today. just because you aren't fans of hardcore doesn't mean this is a bad album-
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 1999
If you've heard only recent Neurosis, you may find this CD a bit surprising. Give it a chance, though; it will grow on you. Great, tight hardcore with a brutal delivery. "Life on your kness" is my particular favorite.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2002
This is their earliest attempt at a raging and hardcore sound, that even amazes me. Seems somewhat like Type O Negative, they started hard, but they evolved into some great sludge metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2000
although i am a huge neurosis fan this cd just doesn't have the cool ambience or the darkness. this isn't even the same style, it's hardcore, but the worst part it's not even good hardcore. i don't think i like one song on this cd. the only reason i got this cd is because i like neurosis so much. if you like neurosis get through silver in blood, times of grace and enemy of the sun, i think you can just leave the rest alone.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 1999
"Souls at Zero" is by far the most emotional and ferocious effort that Neurosis has put out. From it's very first simplistic notes to it's brutal climax, this album builds itself into a real monster. Imagine yourself at the height of any given emotion, put it to music, and you undoubtedly get Neurosis. They are masters of sampling, throwing an eclectic barrage of spoken word into the mix. "Souls at Zero" is the type of album that should be played in it's entirety to be truly appreciated, as each song beautifully leads into the next. Be sure and listen for the "Tie Fighter" sounds. A must have album.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2002
Only a brief review is neccesary. If you like Neurosis, its probably not because of this. So, if your thinking of purchasing it, back away! Get Times of Grace, Through Silver or As the sun Sets. THIS IS NOT NEUROSIS!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.