Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Sci Fi channel shows
Without getting too upset, I wish Sci Fi would have followed the true character from the comics a little more closely but hey, it was Sci Fi so I expected them to add a sci fi value to the series. As the series moved along, it did pick up some steam and the writing/stories got much better. Loken really did get the character's attitude and passion for what she was trying...
Published on November 12, 2008 by Patrick C. Wedge

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mindless, entertaining fun that never got the chance to grow
Freely adapted from its Jimmy Palmiotti and Joe Quesada-penned comic book origins and stylings, Painkiller Jane is definitely not the worst original series to hit the Sci-Fi Channel, and is good mindless fun for what it's worth. Terminator 3 and Bloodrayne hottie Kristanna Loken is Jane Vasco; a DEA agent that is recruited by a government agency. She now finds herself...
Published on February 13, 2008 by N. Durham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mindless, entertaining fun that never got the chance to grow, February 13, 2008
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
Freely adapted from its Jimmy Palmiotti and Joe Quesada-penned comic book origins and stylings, Painkiller Jane is definitely not the worst original series to hit the Sci-Fi Channel, and is good mindless fun for what it's worth. Terminator 3 and Bloodrayne hottie Kristanna Loken is Jane Vasco; a DEA agent that is recruited by a government agency. She now finds herself hunting genetically altered and enhanced criminals, or "Neuros", and soon discovers that she too has some strange abilities of her own, including the ability to heal from any injury. Throughout this first (and only) season of Painkiller Jane, Jane and her crew hunt these superpowered individuals, which leads to plenty of banter, fighting, and explosions. There really isn't much else to the show other than that, as things pretty much get wrapped up as the series comes to a close with Jane's allegiance coming into question. Loken, who was basically eye candy in Terminator 3 and had the thankless lead role in Bloodrayne, is pretty wooden throughout the series. She looks quite good though, and the supporting cast, namely Noah Danby as Connor and Sean Owen Roberts as Riley, are pretty good. That being said, you pretty much know what you're getting with Painkiller Jane. It doesn't strike the gold that other Sci-Fi shows like Farscape, The Invisible Man, or The Dresdin Files did and does, but it is mindless, entertaining fun that sadly never got the chance to really grow on what it set up before getting the axe. All in all, if you're a fan of the comic and missed out on the show when it aired on Sci-Fi, Painkiller Jane is worth a look, but don't expect much out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Sci Fi channel shows, November 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
Without getting too upset, I wish Sci Fi would have followed the true character from the comics a little more closely but hey, it was Sci Fi so I expected them to add a sci fi value to the series. As the series moved along, it did pick up some steam and the writing/stories got much better. Loken really did get the character's attitude and passion for what she was trying to accomplish. I'm glad this was collected into a full package and was upset when Sci Fi didn't renew the series. For Sci Fi, it was a great series placed at a horrible time slot (Friday 10pm). So take this chance and grab the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good show, April 22, 2008
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
A pretty good and interesting show based on the graphic novel of the same title. The series was interesting, the acting was not top-notch but it was decent. The storylines were very interesting, especially in the first half of the season. Each episode was sort of an "monster of the week" scheme where the team would search and apprehend that week's monster or rather "neuro".

The series is about the main character, Jane Vasco, who can get shot, burned, fall of 80 story buildings and not die. She will get hurt, and will have a wound, but it will heal. She will still suffer the pain of the wound too. She gets recruited into a secret branch of the government tasked with capturing neuros (people with special abilities). They neutrolize them and ship them off to a facility.

The show also dealt with Jane's realization as to what she was and her potential powers. Towards the end, the show became a bit more confusing and tried to pursue too many conspiracy theories at the same time. It did not give itself time to explore them and thus, the show seemed rush to reach a resolution quickly. Still, it was a pity that this show was canceled.

Now, if Painkiller Jane and Superman (or any other superhero) were in a fight, who would win? Remember that Jane will always heals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sci fi, December 14, 2011
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
Hi,

Just finished watching all 22 episodes on netflix.

This show was great. Don't want to give the plot away because with good sci fi watching what happen next is part of the fun.

First of all each show is pretty much self contained. What I mean is it has a begining and a end. It is not like some series that if you miss one you are lost. However as you watch you will see the relationship of the main characters grow and there is an ending to the series.

One thing I liked a lot about the show was it did not play like a soap opera that had all this stuff about the main characters personal life. Instead each espisode is more like a mission were the team of main characters must stop a sci fi threat and the personal issues are not brought up instead you just get to witness this very human team in action.

Also I really like the team. Each person seemed real and was able to act and emote very well. This is a show were the actors were picked for their acting ability first and they also looked the part, but the acting was priority.

Also each episode was done very well. Out of all 22 I didn't think any were filler.

Also I liked the fact that the violence was there but not sick, also their was not cussing or God's name in vain.

I originally wanted to watch it because the hot Kristina Loken from Terminator 3 was in it, but it turned out to be so much more.

Highly recommeded,
Kevin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun show!, March 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
This was a great show that was cancelled way too soon. It should have been given more time to develop as the stories kept on getting better each week. Buy the DVD set and you will see it was a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite shows..., May 1, 2009
By 
Cris M. "Cris M." (Shenandoah, Iowa USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
Painkiller Jane was another great series that was unfortunately way too short lived. Based on the comic books by the same name this series had some outstanding comic book influences and ranks up there with the best comic book adaptions to date. The first 2/3 of this show were some of the best television I've ever enjoyed. The episodes were exciting... original... sexy... action packed... HOT! Then things changed, unfortunately not for the better. Although the show continued to be very entertaining the last 1/3 of the series appears as if the writers tried to make the show more mysterious, more sci-fi. It didn't work. Kristanna Loken is absolutely smoking in this series as Jane. I'd recommend you buy this series for her sex appeal alone... but add the great acting, action-packed episodes, and original ideas and you have a series that I very highly recommend! This is a great cult hit! Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
loved the movie with Guagier and this series was just as good cinematography and acting were both top notch I recommend this series without hesitation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Stewart, March 22, 2008
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
I watched the show and am looking forward to finally get it on DVD.

All the actors were great in this series, but I only watched it because
of the actor Rob Stewart who played Andre McBride.

He is a great actor in everything he does, this character was not what
he usually plays, but he did a great job.

I only hope he gets a chance to play another lead charater in another
sereis in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, October 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
I love this show I watched it when it first came on tv and I was sad that they didn't make a second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different plotline, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painkiller Jane (DVD)
This is a good series with a different plot line. Kristanna Loken plays a government agent who is part of a super secret government organization whose task is to trace and neutralize a different kind of threat ( no spoilers I hope!) There is a lot of action and some interesting interplay between the characters as well. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Painkiller Jane
Painkiller Jane by Kristanna Loken (DVD - 2008)
$49.98 $9.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.