Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than digging up a timecapsule
The Abstract Expressionists have been cannonized and mythologized to such an extent by popular culture, that the reality of the most important American Art Movement is difficult to experience from the recent books and treatises on the subject. Painters Painting, itself an important art work by film-maker Emile de Antonio, propels us back into that existentialist time in...
Published on January 20, 2001 by John B. Woodward III

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great video for students
It is a great video of short interviews from artists of the time. But, if you are not that into the New York School of painters it is rather boring.
Published 21 months ago by Phil DeAngelo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than digging up a timecapsule, January 20, 2001
The Abstract Expressionists have been cannonized and mythologized to such an extent by popular culture, that the reality of the most important American Art Movement is difficult to experience from the recent books and treatises on the subject. Painters Painting, itself an important art work by film-maker Emile de Antonio, propels us back into that existentialist time in such a complete and satisfying way, that we finish feeling like we just had dinner ourselves with all the suspects of the time at the Cedar Tavern . We discover even the notorious critic Hilton Kramer has a face. From deKooning to Warhol, the musings of the artists include Frankenthaler, Hoffman, Motherwell, Barnett Newman (my personal favorite in this film: "I believe that art theory is to me as an artist what ornithology must be for the birds"), Johns, Rauschenberg, Noland, Olitsky, Pavia, Poons, and Frank Stella. Interviews include the controversial Clement Greenberg at his best. As you can tell from the artist list, the film begins with Abstract Expressionism, winds its way through Hard-Edge and Color Field painting, before it finishes with the Grande Dame of the New York Art Scene of the 60's, Andy Warhol. This is a documentary not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, May 26, 2009
By 
S. Ginsburg "Susan B" (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painters Painting (DVD)
This is an important document! And, it is finally available on DVD. Many of the artists that speak for themselves are now dead, so it gives us a chance see them in their studios again. And, it shows the Abstract Expressionists, Pop artists as well as the abstract artists of the 60's such as Stella, Noland and Poons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Damn Good--Needs to Be Re-Released So That More Will Have Access, August 2, 2005
By 
Play It By Ear "rumba_phile" (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I cannot believe that this documentary is so hard to find. I never thought I would be able to find a copy in my lifetime. One appeared about a month ago at a reasonable price and I cannot believe my luck in picking up a copy. Remarkable 116 minute documentary by Emile de Antonio. The artists that appear in this film are very relaxed and forthcoming. There is no dumbing down here but it is not esoteric either. Unique product. My copy is well worn so I will have to copy it to my computer and make a DVD or VCD copy because eventually all VHS degrades further until it dies. This is required viewing for anyone who is crazy enough to have painting on his mind every day of his life like I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars De-mystifying the process., January 8, 1999
By A Customer
You smile when you watch these artist attempt to affix words to their work. It's a painful task, but De Antonio's conversational style turns an interview with even the most laconic of artists into an entertaining and instructive ride. (deKooning, 'Painters aren't so clever').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insiteful, March 16, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This film/video is rich with ideas, thoughts, philosophies, humour and it gives a wonderful glimpse into this period in American painting.

It includes Interviews with Abstract Expressionists De Kooning, Frankenthaler, Newman and more, Pop artist Andy Warhol, Post Abstract Expressionists Rauschenberg and Johns as well as with some of the color field painters and some critics and patrons. Each offers valuable insight into the creative thinking process. The interviews are broken up and collaged together. It's not a formal documentary, it takes a conversational tone.
Critic Clement Greenberg and Gallery owner Leo Castelli are also among those interviewed.

I never tire of this film, it always stimulates new thoughts and revelations about the artistic process and about this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A time capsule of the golden-age of the New York Art Scene, February 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painters Painting (DVD)
Emile de Antonio's documentary of the New York art scene from 1940-1970 is a masterpiece in itself, equal to the works of art put on canvas by the artists interviewed. It is a time capsule, captured on film, of a bygone era. The effects of Jackson Pollock's work and the aftermath of the 1960's factory scene and it's effects on the world and culture of American art are discussed. Legends of the cubist/neo-dada/pop art movements like Andy Warhol, Willem de Kooning, Kenneth Noland, Robert Rauschenberg, Helen Frankenthaler, Jasper Johns, and Frank Stella are interviewed among many others and their art analyzed with great attention to preserving their individual flavors and not allowing the editing process to dilute their unique contributions and bleed them together. You really get a sense of what makes each individual artist tick and what inspires them to create what would later become near-priceless works of art in just under a half-century.

To be honest, I didn't even know the film existed until a year or so ago and was delighted to find it on DVD here at Amazon. I ordered it and watched and was blown away. It is much different hearing the artists talk about their own work on film as opposed to reading about them. You get a more intimate portrait of the artists themselves and it is a DVD I will treasure forever. As a bonus treat, there is a very interesting PBS interview included on the DVD of Emile de Antonio filmed shortly before his death in 1989 included on the bonus section of the DVD where he discusses what went into the creation of the documentary and about his relationships with the various artists interviewed. Nearly worth the cost of the DVD by itself.

Overall this is a must-buy DVD, not just for the artist or aspiring painter, but for anyone interested in the beauty of paint and canvas in general and of the New York art scene in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, October 23, 2011
This is a gem! It's amazing to be able to hear these artists (de Kooning, Motherwell, Hans Hoffman) talking about their art. This video should be required viewing for art history classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painters talking!, September 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painters Painting (DVD)
got this on a recommendation from a friend. Its a mixed bag really but there are some stand out moments from Frank Stella and Andy Warhol that make listening to the collectors and gallerists big them selves up bearable. I enjoyed watching the old guys talk about their work with a cigarette in one hand and a drink in the other. Good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Movement Documented, July 31, 2012
In the amazingly done documentary, we get to be party to conversation that gives insight into the way these artists' minds work and how they present their art. The Color Field movement was the foundation for modern graphic design. It's a thrill to watch some rare footage of candid thoughts from some legendary modern artists, critics and the placement of Color Field within the context of Abstract Expressionism and Pop Art. Thank you for digitizing and streaming this, Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film about Post WW2 art in America, June 8, 2012
By 
Patrick Zoller (FORT COLLINS, COLORADO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Painters Painting (DVD)
Every painter in this great film were heros of mine growing up in NYC in the 70's and 80's... Many of them attended or taught at the Arts Students league on 57th Street were I painted for 3 years....
I would have just loved to have been a part of making this film.... to meet and talk to these painters was everything to me while a student of painting~
Listening to Raushenberg talk about how his "Erased De Kooning" came to be was priceless...... and how those two "Ballentine Beer cans wound up in Leo Castelli's gallery , brings such a insight into the humor of these guys as well !

If you are a student of American Painting post WW 2 this film is something you would want to own and watch many times~
Every time I watch it I swear I can smell Turpentine and Damar Varnish !!! Love this film !!!!!!!

Those who like this would also like the DVD of Motherwell , storming the citadel..... great stuff about brilliant men ~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Painters Painting
Painters Painting by Emile de Antonio (DVD - 2010)
$29.95 $17.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.