Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Palladium is simple, easy and fun to play, which allows for the world, overtly based on Greco-Roman and Dark Age culture (maybe a rough 6th Century AD date would suit its cultural construct) to be very detailed and interesting. You only need one book and one set of RPG dice (4,6,8,10 and 20 sided) to play, although you would be best buying books two, "Old Ones" and...
Published on June 23, 2007 by Plotinus

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New and Not-So-Improved
If you started out playing D&D in the '70s and '80s and then got tired of how bloated and nit-picky the rules were getting, the original Palladium Fantasy RPG was like a breath of fresh air. Sure, it wasn't the work of smart-alecky college kids who constantly used obscure latin abbreviations like e.g. and q.v., but that was why it was so nice. No fancy words, no...
Published on August 7, 2006 by B. Crist


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New and Not-So-Improved, August 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
If you started out playing D&D in the '70s and '80s and then got tired of how bloated and nit-picky the rules were getting, the original Palladium Fantasy RPG was like a breath of fresh air. Sure, it wasn't the work of smart-alecky college kids who constantly used obscure latin abbreviations like e.g. and q.v., but that was why it was so nice. No fancy words, no cumbersome encumbrance rules. Just dwarves and elves and dragons. And you only had to buy maybe two books. Sweet.

But this is not the original Palladium Fantasy RPG. It is a version (awkwardly) designed to be compatible with Palladium's far more successful Rifts game. So there are lots of rewritten elements that end up unbalancing the oringinal system. Not that the original system was flawless, but its flaws were just part of what made it attractive--the kinds of things you might mess up if you created a game system.

The new version just feels more slick and less charming. Perhaps this is more noticeable if you played the original version for a decade; there are certainly people who seem to like 2nd edition. As for me, I'll stick with my tattered old black and red 1st edition, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, June 23, 2007
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
Palladium is simple, easy and fun to play, which allows for the world, overtly based on Greco-Roman and Dark Age culture (maybe a rough 6th Century AD date would suit its cultural construct) to be very detailed and interesting. You only need one book and one set of RPG dice (4,6,8,10 and 20 sided) to play, although you would be best buying books two, "Old Ones" and three, "Adventures on the High Seas" as well, so as to have several years of ready-made adventures for you. Probably at some point people are going to realize that real RPGs are better for you than video games: since you actually have to read, talk, create and calculate. Palladium started me off as a teen on the road to academic success. A Master's degree in Classical studies is the result. I see the Palladium game as an excellent way to keep the mind sharp and to keep life skills in shape. The only drawback of the game is that you have to actually get people together to play it. RPGs are really interactive stories and as such are a brilliant modern twist on the traditional art and science of storytelling. Strangely, there is a lot of fun to be had in exploring the world of Palladium even on your own, as a prospective Game Master or as a lone adventurer, since the fantasy world, based as it is on ancient civilizations, is fascinating in and of itself. The writers are clearly widely read in the classics and in fantasy novels. It's really brilliant, fun, interesting and mind-improving stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, not great, November 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
I am a long-time D&D player, but one of my friends decided he wanted to run a game of Palladium. Now, if you are a d20 gamer, STAY AWAY. You will be confused, bemused, and befuddled. If you are a Call of Cthulu veteran, however, you will be familiar with the d% based skills. The rules have not been updated for many years, so these are the rules to get if you want to play.

All in all, not a bad system, but not as good as D&D or GURPS. There are lots of additional books to expand your library, but unless you have something against other systems, I recommend this one as more of a novelty than a primary system.

The binding of the book is the weird laminated paperback cover, and peels fairly easily, as well as retaining creases very prominantly. It will not stay nice for long, so don't bother ordering a pristine one, unless you are very OCD about it (I am, and ordered a "Like New" one)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Fantasy RPG's then you need to buy this book., January 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
The Palladium Fantasy RPG is one of the best fantasy-based RPG's ever written. The combat system is more realistic than most yet is still easy to learn and fast in actual play. The many races and character occupations combined with the excellent skill system allows one to be more creative when creating a character. The only drawback this system has is that the books are not organized as well as those by other companies. You may end up spending more time looking through the books to find that piece of information you are looking for. This shortcoming shouldn't be enough to keep you from buying the book though. You won't regret your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique and variable fantasy, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
I have played and GM'd Palladium Fantasy off and on for about 15 years now.
Price is the first selling point for this system. While there ARE many expansion books, this is the only book necessary. It has heroic classes, combat rules, monsters, and enemy/evil-ish races enough to generate entire campaigns. The multiple magic systems are very inventive, and allow for sick combinations. With so many tabletop games going to grids, it's nice to still have a story/description based combat and magic system. The highlight of Palladium Fantasy for me is the XP reward system. Avoiding unnecessary violence, good role-playing, problem-solving, and useful ideas and actions can be worth far more than even large battles.
While I don't particularly care for Rifts, it's worth pointing out that all of Palladium games' settings are compatible and interactive. So you can take your Paladin and walk into a TMNT or Robotech campaign as a man out of time just fine. in fact the Rifts RPG system grew out of the writers' own Palladium Fantasy campaign so many years ago.
Down sides: The information is not always clearly indexed, and some of the combat rules are counter-intuitive (your hand-eye coordination doesn't help you shoot a gun if you find one... really?!) and there are some ambiguities in descriptions. But if a GM takes their best guess and goes forward, it's nothing a house rule or two can't fix.
There really is an immense amount of potential, and while I take breaks from PFRPG, i keep coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent combat system copied by AD&D in 3rd edition, very underrated, December 24, 2010
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
The 1st edition especially had some of the best art in almsot any 1 place I've seen, with some sick pencil dawings of dragons and balrogs n stuff. I am not sure if the efforts to RIFT enable this game might have buged it a bit but the game mechanics of simply have 20 side die and the adding bonuses are awesome. I used to hack the rules further and basically give armour class as damage reduction, a rule from some other game I forget. It was like say plate is 10 armour, if your dagger hits plate it wont puncture. I am not sure how one would handle for example someone try to stab at seam of plate mail or to a soft spot where the mail doesn't cover, perhaps a negative hit difficulty "feat" or some thing. I also tended to hak the rules and have fighters stack a weapon skill on top of general fighting skill. Rogues I modeled after the fritz leiber books where they can throw strangle nooses, and have caltrops, set traps, and backstab etc. The magic and psionics as in most games are a bitch to handle so its up to the DM to fix that up. Overall a complete product with cleaner simpler rules that the wizards of the coast stole shamelessly got 3.5 rules d&D. The art and settings in palladium fantasy are awesome. My favorite game ever. MY background was ad&d before it so perhaps it is excellent post ad&D game??? Like many conan novels the summoning and magic circle drawing magic classes are represented with more force than ad&d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Role-Playing at it's finest! Better than AD&D!, August 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
This is the must-have book for any die-hard RPG-er. The combat system is simple, yet probably the most advanced and enjoyable around, far surpassing the AD&D system. Players get experience points for helping people, using their head, saving lives, and avoiding unneccesary violence as opposed to just killing and hording treasure (a-la-Dungeons and Dragons). For once - a game for thinkers! Characters are easy to make, and very fleshed out. If you liked Rifts, but find the game to be too much of a "He-Who-Has-The-Biggest-Gun-Wins" scenario, Palladium RPG is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Palladium is one of the best RPGs to come along, September 10, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
One word comes to mind when thinking of the Palladium RPG series: GREAT! It has everything: psionics, well over six totally different schools of magic, men of arms, clergy, tons of races with individual strengths and weaknesses. One of the best battle and attribute systems I've seen. It is also well supported with well over ten expansion books available. Characters also covert easily to all other Palladium made books, ie. Rifts, Heroes Unlimited, TMNT, and Ninja's and Superspies. All these combine to make one of the best most easily expandable RPGs around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST EVER!, April 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
THIS IS THE BEST RPG EVER CREATED! The only drawback is th lack of world info. But they are greatly described inthe world books.The combat is one of the best systems I have ever used. Also, when making a character you are almost limitless in what to create. Tons of races and classes. They give occupations also, thats a plus. If I could I would give the book 10 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Palladium RPG, August 28, 2001
By 
"z_monkey" (Sandy, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Paperback)
I give this book 4 stars, and only for one reason, organization. Things are a little out of place, but when you know where they are you should be able to grab them immediately. The AD&D books are just the same, you have to search through endless pages of text for your questions, so there's not even an argument! Why this is the best game system there is. It's open to everything! The whole game is designed for you to edit it slightly to how you like it. The author even encourages players to alter the rules to make fun playing games. Creating your character is fun, not long! You choose the skills you want. Do you want to be a chubby merchant that can sing and dance? Do it! Want to be an assassion who plays the flute? Go for it. With this system it gives you your classes skills, and then lets you choose more. Because they know everyone is different, and that itself makes the game more fun. The races are everything you'd expect from a Fantasy. I can't believe people who say it's a Rifts Junior, because I have played the two and frankly there is a LARGE difference. Everyone in the world except that minority think so, and it's cause they aren't open minded! You have elves, dwarves, even changelings for heavens sake! A variety of weapons. Swords, maces, daggers, down to gnomish weapons and giant weapons. Magical and Rune weapons even! Shields and their strength. The best part, half the classes don't force you to choose a particular armor! You choose what kind would fit your type of character. The combat is flowing. People take turns going first, everyone gets the chance to parry and dodge. This works well with the levelling system, because it's no longer who can just deal the most damage, but who can hit with that damage! Get this book, and enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Palladium Books Presents: Palladium Fantasy Role-Playing Game by Kevin Siembieda (Paperback - April 1996)
Used & New from: $5.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.