Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camcorder for the money
After reading the poor reviews listed, I wanted to put in my two cents worth. I got this camcorder a few months ago and took it on a week long vacation. It has the ability to increase the brightness of the LCD display so it can be seen in bright sunlight. I purchased a Canon camcorder that does not have this ability. In low light, there is a built in light that can be...
Published on August 29, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
28 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT Full HD
The fact is that it doesn't have enough pixels on the sensor to make it full HD. True 1920x1080 needs at least 2.07 million pixels.

But the Panasonic HC-V500 has a very small 1.5 megapixel sensor of which 1.12 to 1.3 million effective pixels are used for video. So the sensor needs about 50% more pixels to be "full HD".
This shows in the picture quality -...
Published on October 22, 2012 by xorjon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camcorder for the money, August 29, 2012
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
After reading the poor reviews listed, I wanted to put in my two cents worth. I got this camcorder a few months ago and took it on a week long vacation. It has the ability to increase the brightness of the LCD display so it can be seen in bright sunlight. I purchased a Canon camcorder that does not have this ability. In low light, there is a built in light that can be used to light the scene. Works well up to 5 or 6 feet. Not going to light up a whole room, but it does quite well for what it is intended to do. I did not have any problem with the software on a Windows computer using XP or one using Windows 7. One nice feature is the image stabilization even at zoom ranges. (Much better than the Canon) I also like the fact you can get third-party batteries that the camcorder recognizes (Unlike the Canon) so you know how much power is left. Video quality is excellent, and you can record at full 1080p at 60 fps. Uses a lot of memory, but the image is great. Sound quality is quite good with the built in microphone. Overall, I would recommend this camcorder to anyone looking for a good, mid-priced consumer-friendly model
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, the negative reviews are fake, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
$260 for this camcorder and you're going to give it a bad review? Don't know if serious or just flat out nuts?

Takes beautiful videos you won't find a camcorder that even comes close in quality for the price paid for the Panasonic hc-v500. This camera takes videos that you would expect from a $600 camcorder.

Pros

*Has a great zoom that's very clear

*Great stabilization for you shaky hands

*Compact fits right in the palm of your hand

*Stunning video recordings

* Offers the same quality that a much more expensive camcorder has

Cons

* The software that comes with this camera won't edit your videos for you, you have to do that yourself.

* isn't the quality of a broadcast quality camera you see on ABC or NBC

* Won't solve world hunger nor will it save the World from Armageddon

* Won't be able to shoot 100,000 porno scenes without breaking down (personal use only)

* You get a bunch of people who complain about this camera because they don't know how to use it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
Nice camera, works as expected, good video. Would have preferred a charger that charged batteries ourside of camera with the pop up power prongs. Since it comes with a small brick it has a separate power cable and must take more things when I travel, won't fit in my camera bag. A remote control would be great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Camcorder - Highly recommended, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
My last camcorder i had until now was a Panasonic HDC-SD5 it has long been discontinued,i finely decided to buy a new one but there is so many on the market, That was for sure i wanted to stay with Panasonic because i had good experience with them in the pass, secondly i didn't want to over pay by now i know how this goes prices can go down like nothing i came across this Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder,I'm so impressed the HD quality on these videos i shot is excellent amazing sharp,the camera is very easy to use. I was able to get started with it without reading the instructions i was surprised that it was so light i am use to heavy cameras in all I am Blown Away by this camcorder i would highly recommend this camcorder i am preparing to travel to Africa this week with a maga zoom like this camcorder has i am set to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anniversary gift for husband, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
I bought this as an anniversary gift for my husband, and all I really know is that he absolutely loves it. He said to get the "next step up" you would have to pay another $200 or so, so think I got a really good deal on this. We took some video of a pileated woodpecker and that zoom made for some fantastic photography!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Buy for the money, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
You might find better camcorders but you won"t find one as good as the panasonic HC-V500 for this price range. I searched the web for reviews on budget HD camcorders. I don't use them often and did not want to spend an arm and leg for something I use maybe 6 times a year. According to a review on a consumer magazine, this one was rated a best buy. I would recommend this camcorder to anyone. The software installed easy on my computer and works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this camera!, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
Have been loving an older model of this camera for a while now, so when it got a little fritzy, decided to replace it with the current model. It would appear there are two choices - the V100 and V500. Wanted 1080p (not 1080i) and wanted the lens cover to be automatic (not manual), so paid 2X to buy this one. Very happy. Great camera. I love the fact that I can take good still pictures WHILE I am shooting video. Huge optical zoom. I'm not in love with the actual "camera" function of the camera for still pictures (the camera operates in either video mode or camera mode, but you can take stills during video mode); it never seems to get the lighting/colors right (but neither did my old one). The first thing I used this camera for was shooting video of a dance recital from 5 rows back; the video came out great and the stills are great too (and I didn't use the integrated (and extremely bright) video light/flash)). With my old similar camera, we could even grab good (but lower resolution) stills out of the video footage by just grabbing frames; I haven't tried that with this one, but I think it probably would work well too. Great camera!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Camera, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
I had another Panasonic that I ran over with my car (long story). I tried to replace it with a Sony, and also JVC. I wasn't happy, this Panasonic is just a great camera. It captures memories in light and dark nicely with great color. Battery life hasn't been an issue and with todays large capacity SD cards, the camera's small size, and ease of use it is unbelievable how easy it is to capture priceless moments. If you've lived through the 8mm era like I have, you'll appreciate what i"m saying. This camera works well in dark and light scenarios without the grainy appearance I saw on the Sony, and JVC that I tried out. I was able to focus on the moon during the late afternoon using the zoom feature. It came out clear which is amazing for a digital zoom. Color is great. I'm not a zealot for perfect quality but I do appreciate good quality and this camera has it. For the money, this is an incredible deal. If you've lived through the 8mm era like I have, you'll appreciate what i"m saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) Review, December 26, 2012
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
I choose this rating because the camcorder works perfectly and i was more than satisfied with this product. It is one of the best camcorders that i have bought in a long time. I would recommend this camcorder to anyone who wants a great video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black) (Electronics)
This is an amazing tiny camcorder!!! Good battery life, nice video. Very good deal for the money!!! Very easy to use!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Panasonic HC-V500K Full HD SD Camcorder (Black)
$449.00 $399.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.