Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Package Quantity: 1Style Name: BlackChange
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2008
I bought this phone to have as a back up for when power goes out. So obviously it doesn't require power to operate. It has no bells or whistles. No caller ID, no message waiting light, and so on.
For the price you can't beat it. My only grip is the ring tone is horrible. It's a "chirp" sound and it scares my cat!
I highly recommend this phone to anyone that wants a plain basic phone. Something rare these days.
0Comment39 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon December 13, 2011
The Panasonic KX-TS500B Integrated Corded Phone System is a good basic phone. It's a worthy option for those looking for a corded phone for primary use or as a backup for power outages. It's just not very attractive and it has some missing features included on other corded phones.

PROS:
++ Good backup phone for power outages
++ Surface lacks crevices and thus is easily cleaned / disinfected
++ Adapter includes room for coiling the wall cord
++ Can be used for both tone and pulse dialing
++ Can be wall-mounted
++ Decent quality sound for a corded phone
++ Acceptable value when on sale

CONS:
-- Phone looks cheap
-- The handset is poorly shaped to be used as a primary phone (no curve for holding up with your shoulder)
-- Phone base seems larger than necessary for an analog phone (not many internal components)
-- Handset cord provided with black phone is a strange shade of grey instead of black
-- No speaker phone
-- Only 4 volume levels
-- Dialing modes & ringer volumes not printed on the phone body (so keep the instructions!)
-- Letters are offset-printed to the left of the corresponding numbers instead of above them (this is just weird)

NEUTRAL:
~ Wall mounting requires moving the plastic wall adapter

CONCLUSION

This is still worth considering. It's a basic phone and performs like the budget model that it is. Just make sure you don't invest anywhere near the list price. And if you need a speakerphone or are picky about appearance, look at another phone.

Enjoy.
0Comment41 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2007
It's actually a nice phone. Didn't want features, just something to use during power outages and ended up using it as an everyday phone.
0Comment30 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2007
Basic phone with minimal features. Handset is a little light and is not so easy to hang up when wall mounted. Could be a little smaller. Bought as a replacement for the basic Sony corded phone which has a better feel but is no longer available.
0Comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A basic wired telephone, handy for when the power goes out, or the batteries run down in cordless units. As one would expect from Panasonic, this is a well-made, functional unit. Not surprising, since Panasonic is an old hand in the consumer electronics market, and also makes many other models of telephones.

I prefer this design over "slim-line" phones, since I can press the buttons while holding the handset to my head, making navigating voicemail trees much easier ("Press 2 to..."). The volume buttons are convenient, and change handset volume between four levels. The handset coiled cord is a little short (pick up too aggressively and you'll yank the whole phone), but I swapped mine with a longer cord. The looks is modern but not excessively office-looking.

This unit replaced my old, similar-looking, Sony phone (no longer made), which was a little more solid feeling, and featured a speakerphone. The lack of a speakerphone is this most phone's only "defect".

For this price, it's hard to go wrong. Recommended.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2011
I use this phone in my office and it is very durable and has a stylish design. Buttons are rubber like and help for grip when pressing. Calls are clear. The only "cons" would be that the volume at the lowest is still a little louder then I would prefer and there is no mute button. No batteries required is good too.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2008
what can I say this is a corded wall mountable phone with no screen. this is tech that has been perfected for decades. if Panasonic one of the best players out there couldn't pull this off perfectly I would be shocked. this is a basic phone that works exactly like you would expect. buy it with confidence.
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
i read all of the reviews for this product and all of them was great (the positive ones). The ringer is LOUD, the buttons are huge, and lightweight. I need a business line for my at home work and had a headset compatibility. I would recommend this product to all my at home workers. Wonderful item!
11 comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
Bought this to broadcast audio from one room to another. I put the handset against a speaker so the people in the other room can hear what is being said. The sound quality is quite good for a low-tech device. Since it doesn't use a battery or wall power it doesn't fail during long telephone calls. It's so simple to use the set-up team has no trouble with it. Although I'm intrigued by hi-tech sometimes low-tech just works better.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
I purchased this as a gift for my elderly aunt who is hard of hearing. I plugged it in and showed her how easy it was to control the volume and demonstrated the sound of the ringer, which I set in the loudest position. It was basic enough for her to become familiar with, plus it had the features which she needed - volume control and ringer loudness settings. The design is basic and fits in to any decor.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.