Customer Reviews


14,895 Reviews
5 star:
 (10,033)
4 star:
 (2,652)
3 star:
 (1,027)
2 star:
 (579)
1 star:
 (604)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4,073 of 4,177 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocked by how good these are.
I have a self appointed mission of finding inexpensive headphones that sound better than average. I have been on this quest for years as I am always never without my mp3 player or radio. I am rough on headphones and go through them fairly regularly. So I am always trying to find inexpensive headphones that sound better than my previous set (Skullcandy Ink'd). This...
Published on January 25, 2012 by Papa Jim

versus
172 of 205 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably Best for the Money, But not High-End Sound
Depending upon your listening needs, these earbuds offer a lot of value for a very low cost, but they don't stand up well in comparison with more expensive, higher-end earbuds. For voice and music that isn't demanding, these earbuds are highly efficient and offer a selection of three different-size rubber earpads to fit most ears.

Unfortunately there is an...
Published on January 7, 2012 by Happy Traveler


‹ Previous | 1 21490 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4,073 of 4,177 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocked by how good these are., January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a self appointed mission of finding inexpensive headphones that sound better than average. I have been on this quest for years as I am always never without my mp3 player or radio. I am rough on headphones and go through them fairly regularly. So I am always trying to find inexpensive headphones that sound better than my previous set (Skullcandy Ink'd). This time, after carefully reading reviews, I purchased 3 different headphones at once, all in the same price range (Under $15.00): The Panasonic RP-HJE120-A (Blue), The Skullcandy Jib, and The 2XL Spoke (Bounty Hunter Collection).

My conclusions were that the 2XL Spoke were adequate, but a distant third place. While the 2XL had definitively better bass than the Skullcandy Ink'd, the 2XL's mids and highs were only adequate. The Skullcandy Jib completely blew the Scullcandy Ink'd away, with much better bass, mids and highs, I thought I found what I had been looking for, that my quest had ended. But there was still the Panasonic RP-HJE120 to listen to. I must say I had little expectation for these after listening to the Skullcandy Jib's. But what was this? Immediately the Panasonic's sounded impressive. After listening to them for a while, I listened to the Jib's again. I honestly preferred the cleaner sound of the Panasonic RP-HJE120, and the Ergo design was a plus, the fit was just so comfortable.

So there you have my layman's evaluation of these three headsets and my hands down recommendation for the Panasonic RP-HJE120 (I got the Blue, however, I very much doubt that your color choice will affect the sound).

I hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


852 of 897 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be fitted properly to hear bass frequencies, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you've been wondering how such a highly-rated product like this can also have one-star reviews stating these earbuds have "absolutely no bass whatsoever" and sound "horribly tinny", I'd like to offer an explanation.

These Panasonics are not designed to be placed in the ears and worn like standard earbuds. If that's how you wear them, you'll get nothing but tinny sound at relatively low volume (think 1960's pocket transistor radio.) These earbuds are specifically designed to fit snugly into the ear, forming an airtight seal. If you choose too small of an earpad and/or don't push them in far enough, you won't hear any low-end frequencies. It's only when you get an airtight seal that the earbuds will instantly come alive with full-range sound and volume.

Here's a quick analogy: Tightly plug both ears with your fingers, close your mouth, and hum the lowest note you can. Now take your fingers away, and notice how almost all of the low end and volume drops out. That's the difference between a proper fit and an improper fit with these earbuds. Although the acoustic principles are different, these earbuds must literally plug your ears in order to give you the full frequency spectrum. Otherwise they'll sound absolutely horrendous.

Unfortunately, Panasonic wasn't very forthcoming on their product's packaging about how to wear the earbuds, and I'm quite certain some unwitting consumers are throwing away perfectly good pairs.

As an audio engineer, I can assure you these earbuds, when properly fitted, sound great. They're not audiophile-quality earbuds with the sonic transparency of a $200 pair of studio-reference headphones, but for the price, they are an exceptionally fantastic bargain -- arguably one of the best product bargains I've ever run across on Amazon. Do they have a lot of bass? They're not deficient in any of the low frequencies, but they're not bass-enhanced earbuds, either, which some of you may be used to. They have a relatively nice, flat bass response as is, but if you want extra bottom end on your music, you'll want to boost the low end of your MP3 player's EQ. Fortunately, boosted lows, even the deepest of lows, are handled very well by these Panasonics.

As a result of how these earbuds are designed to be worn, they could be uncomfortable for some people to wear for extended periods of time. The earpads are very soft and pliable, though, and I personally don't experience any discomfort wearing them. Since these earbuds are designed to be wedged into your ear, there are two unique, negative issues to point out:

1. Be very careful not to drop your MP3 player, because having earbuds ripped out of your ear canal is not a pleasant experience.

2. These earbuds will amplify the sound of your heartbeat when it's racing during an intense workout. The incessant "tick tick tick" is loud enough that it becomes extremely annoying during quiet passages in the music you're listening to.

In summary, the audio quality of these earbuds, when properly fitted, will satisfy 99.9% of the general population. I would not recommend them for bike riding or street running since they block out ambient noise, or for intense workouts due to the amplified heartbeat problem, but if you need some quality earbuds to tune out the world for a while, these Panasonics are an excellent choice and a phenomenal value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


743 of 799 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fit and sound, December 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have 5 of these of various colors and purposes. These fit perfectly in my ears and are incredibly comfortable for me. I use them for everything especially for running and working out. They don't fall out like others I have owned (Koss with foamies, JVCs of a similar design, and Sony in-ear buds to name a few). I have listened to the popular "Beats by Dre" in-ear buds and still think these Panasonics sound great plus they're cheap as heck. I have a Bose ON-Ear head set that sound awesome and these little Panasonic buds are almost as good but more convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


587 of 663 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Headphones for a Greater Price, April 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For about $10, these are a bargain!! I bought the blue version of these on Amazon for the purpose of acting as a backup pair of headphones for my $40 Skullcandy TiTANs (Black), as well as a set of Panasonic RP-HJE120s (White/Silver) and Panasonic RP-HJE120s (Pink) for my friend who needed a couple pairs. I got them because they were recommended from Consumer Reports, and I am impressed. The sound quality rivals that of my TiTANs, and they fit much better in my ears than the TiTANs. My friend says they are much more durable than the other $10 headphones she's had in the past; very sturdy for the price. The only thing me and her were concerned about was how the silicone buds are slightly flimsy, but, then again, these ARE only $10. But for $10, you couldn't find a better pair of headphones.

UPDATE: I have gone through 2 pairs of these things since I first bought them. I washed my 1st pair, & went awhile without another pair like this. When I ordered my second pair, I realized again what I had been missing. The bass isn't as full as my Sennheiser CX300 II in-ears, & the mids aren't as detailed either, but it's not like they are far off. The treble is richer, however. And these things can stand a lot of abuse. As long as the beating is not too intense, the only real reason you would buy another pair is because you lost them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!!! But Not Centaur Proof., January 30, 2013
By 
J. Gaita (Mcdonough, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Before you read this review I can save you a lot of time. Buy these. However if you want more info than that you can read on, but keep in mind this is not an in depth review on how these buds are technically. I could get into frequency range before and after break in with pink noise and all kinds of other crazy crap, but I'm not going to bore you with that. You might be able to find that type of review in one of the other 1900 five star reviews. I'm just going to give you, what I hear, aside from the voices. But seriously, you can save yourself a lot of time by just buying them. C'MON THEY'RE ONLY $6. Okay, waste your time if you want. Read on if you must. But you'll probably be disappointed.

I normally don't write reviews because English is not my first language... bad English is, but on these I just had too. Let me start out by saying before these I had an awesome pair of Bose In Ear Headphones, the old ones. They cost about $100. I did not pay for them. Someone else who is dumb did, and then further proved their lack of intelligence by giving them to me. Actually, they were a, very generous, Christmas gift I got a few years back from the company I work for. Those ear buds were awesome, but like everything else I love, they died. I did manage to get several years of good use out of them, and I treated them like a red headed step child. The fact they lasted as long as they did only goes to show that Bose makes quality stuff. Well, now that I think about it, for $100 maybe they should have been impervious to damage by human means, or possibly even mythical means. I'm going to say it, they should have been Centaur proof.

So after what I refer to as the "Great Loss of 2010." I then went on a search for a decent pair of replacement buds, in the $20 range; because as is proof by how I treated the Bose ear buds, I shouldn't be allowed to have nice things. I tried many different types of replacement buds from different manufacturers. I'm not going to list them all because I don't have that kind of time. I will say through all my testing that 50% were just okay, and the other 50%... well I would rather have listened to the final death rattle of a puppy. A really cute and sweet looking puppy. You know, the ones you see on the TV that make you feel guilty for not donating to the ASPCA.

Well, after losing yet another pair of the okay ones, how I had those Bose for so long I have no idea, I needed a replacement and decided to try a different brand. I went again to the internet and performed the search, "good cheap headphones for someone who should not have good things." I hit enter, the search results came up, and clicked on a link that appeared to be a tech review site and let me tell you... they are really good at disguising porn sites to look like normal sites in search results these days. So after seeing something that I will never be able to unsee, I came across the Panasonic RPHJE120S and figured for $6 on Amazon I'll give them a shot. I've wasted $6 on far worse.

They arrived the day before I ordered them, as Amazon has awesome shipping, especially if you are a Prime Member. I grabbed my Zune, no I don't have an IPOD because I believe Apple, and the late Bea Arthur, are trying to kill me. I put in the buds and selected a track to play, expecting either okay sound or sound so bad that I would black out and wake up naked in a quarry with a dead rodent in my mouth. The latter has only ever happened to me twice in my life... three times tops... four at the most... possibly every Friday. Once my selected track started playing I was just amazed, to find my neighbor on his roof trying to fix his satellite dish in a t-shirt, pair of boxers, rubber rain boots, and a tool belt, with no tools in it, unless you count him. The sound out of the ear buds was awesome too! Clear highs, nice bass, just great frigging sound. It sounded like the puppy was right in the room with me. Then I turned on some music and was further impressed. Initially the highs in certain songs seemed a bit, too high, but over time the buds broke in to be just pure awesome. A $6 dollar pair of headphones that competed with those $100 Bose buds I had. Don't get me wrong, Bose is Bose, but to even approach sound quality on par with those Bose buds in a $6 pair of Panasonic's is damned amazing. But be warned, these buds ARE NOT Centaur proof. I checked. They are fairy resistant though.

I have also found them pretty comfortable, and they stay in my ears pretty well. I have fallen asleep with these things in. I did an experiment in which I tried to give myself night terrors using audio. It worked, I have never felt the same since. I may have also released something that can only be described as pure evil into the world. But like I said they were real comfortable and stayed in my ears even when I woke up screaming and thrashing about.

Maybe if you are insane, or a complete audiophile, or both, because they usually go hand in hand, you can pick apart these headphones. I have friends who are audiophiles/insane/schizophrenic and they can find issues with even the best audio gear. If you are looking for a good set of buds to use in everyday use that have great sound you really can't beat these. My first pair of these I had for about year, and then I lost them. I actually think I know where I left them but promised I would never go back... DAMN YOU NEBRASKA! I just bought 2 more pairs and just got done making sure the they worked and thought to myself; "I have to review these, they deserve it. Also, I need to teach Amazon a lesson for giving me an outlet to share my opinions." I believe this is the first product I have ever reviewed on Amazon and if you have read this far you can probably see why. I'm an idiot.

If you need ear buds... get these. If you don't need ear buds get them. Hell, if you don't like them you are only out $6. With almost two-thousand 5 star reviews, including this one, it's a pretty good sign that these are in fact good buds. If you don't buy these it's a pretty good sign that you are in fact an idiot. I would know, we can spot our own.

Yes, I have read the bad reviews, that's what I do. I research a product to death and then look only at the bad reviews to see if the complaints really seem valid or sane. This may sometimes scare me away from perfectly good products like the Nokia N-Gage, HD-DVD, and reusable toilet paper. But sometimes, especially with bigger purchases, I really want to feel sure after ordering the product, that I have made a huge disastrous mistake. However, that being said, I have no idea what happened to some of the people that left bad reviews for these. Maybe they got defective buds, or they are really picky audiophiles, but having heard them myself I can't agree with those reviews. I also don't agree with the law of gravity or that 9/10 of the law involves possession.

I have also beat the hell out of my first pair of these buds. I used them for everything, airplane, car rides, while I was cleaning around the house, and in the gym. Occasionally I have used these as a leash for my dog, and in two instances these saved my life from demons, that live in my head. Apparently head demons hate death metal, but absolutely love smooth jazz. Strange, I know. Seriously though, in the gym these things got ripped out of my ears a whole lot of times and they still kept working. Like I said, in the end I lost the first pair, but they still worked great when I lost them.

I'll finish on a serious note and stop joking around for just a bit by saying this, at the end of the day everyone's hearing and preferences are different. You can hate something that I love and vice versa. That's just how it is. So in the end there is no guarantee, but if you do the math and you even count the 3 star reviews as bad, only 19% of everyone that bought these did not like them. The other 81% like me... nothing but love baby. These things sound great, fit in my ear comfortably, they stay in my ear pretty good, even when I am at the gym, and seem pretty durable.

See, I told you could have saved a whole lot time if you would have just bought them, but you needed to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


252 of 287 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised (and amazed), January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic RPHJE120K In-Ear Headphone, Black (Electronics)
Let's just get right down to the point. I've owned $70, $99, and $135 headphones from all sorts of high end manufactures. They were all awesome headphones. I use them really often and end up going through a new pair every year. This time though, I was a little short on cash (moving expenses and the like), so I decided to do a ton of research on Amazon to find a suitable pair for a lot less cost. The ratings here speak for themselves. Don't let the very few negative reviews sell them short. At such a low price point, and despite all the high reviews, I wasn't expecting much. I was, however, pleasantly surprised. I had to switch to the included larger size tip and the sound isolation is just incredible. Now the real challenge will be to see how long they end up lasting, but for now, I've very happy.

Edit: It is July, 2012 and the headphones stopped working a few days ago. So these lasted a total of 7 months with very heavy use. I am impressed actually. As stated earlier in this review, I was going through a new pair of expensive headphones every year before buying these. Even though these lasted just over half a year, I am still very happy. I just purchased a replacement pair, this time in white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, especially when you consider the price!!!, February 28, 2013
By 
Igor "Iggs" (Los Angeles, C.A) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic RPHJE120K In-Ear Headphone, Black (Electronics)
What can I say about these ear buds?
#1 They go into the ear canal, and I have no idea if they have noise reduction... but I can't hear anything or anyone else when I'm at the gym listening to music. This is GREAT.
#2 Base is deep and quite excellent.
#3 Clear sound I haven't had any crackling yet.
#4 I'm 6'2 and my only issue with these is that the cord is SLIGHTLY, and when I say slightly I really mean slightly too short for me. Maybe an inch or so too short. I don't mean they don't reach my head, I just have a preference for some leeway when I put them in my ears. And this feels a lil snugger on the cord than I'm used too. (Not an issue with the product just a preference)
#5 Did I mention the price???? $6??? REALLY??????? Jesus these are amazing when you factor this in. I'm considering getting 2 more pairs to keep around at home and in my car for whenever, just because they're so affordable and I get sad when I don't have them on me, but would love to listen to some music.

Conclusion;
There's a reason why these bad boys are at 4.5 star and reviewed by over 1+k people. They are that good for the price and you would be a fool not to get a pair of these just to have for whenever/whatever. Leave em in your car!!! I grantee you will thank me when you need a pair of ear-buds, but you left your favorite pair at home without thinking. Then, a few seconds into your despair ... "Oh, that's right!!!! I have a backup pair in my car!!! Thanks random amazon dude!" So, you're welcome ahead of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna stock up on these...., November 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic RPHJE120K In-Ear Headphone, Black (Electronics)
Got these earbuds to block out the annoying people in the library who for some reason hold social gatherings there. For 6-7 bucks I wasn't expecting much. The sound cancelling/blocking quality on these little earbuds is surprisingly good- so much so that even when music isn't playing I have difficulty hearing conversations around me- great for when I'm studying, but bad, say, when I'm running at night or when people are greeting me and think I'm antisocial for not responding back. Extremely comfortable and I can wear these for hours without discomfort (one reason why i chose not to get headphones that cover the ear completely). The sound is also a pleasant surprise and there's actually a "kick" present from the bass ranges.

The only problem I have with these earbuds is the lack of that sliding cord arranger that allows you to set the length of the separated earbuds. They often tangle as a result whenever i have to shove them in my backpack and its always a pain to sort them out. No idea about the durability of these but they're going strong after a month of fairly constant abuse that constitutes being crushed by my textbooks, liberal gym use, and being tangled in knots that even Houdini couldn't undo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are FANTASTIC!, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Compared to MANY other earbuds that I've had that cost $75, $100, $150... These sound as good as any of them. I'm astounded! I use these for running and I've attached them to my sunglasses along with my iPod Shuffle. I figured for $8, I could afford to sweat up a few of these and replace them whenever I needed to. I'VE RUN 1,500 MILES WITH THESE in the last year and a half!! I've gone through 4 pairs of New Balance shoes, 2 iPod Shuffles, 3 pairs of sunglasses and am on the SAME set of earbuds!! And, THEY STILL SOUND GREAT! See my picture of the earbuds on my sunglasses. Pretty dorky, but hey, they work great and they stay in my ears too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 205 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably Best for the Money, But not High-End Sound, January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic RPHJE120K In-Ear Headphone, Black (Electronics)
Depending upon your listening needs, these earbuds offer a lot of value for a very low cost, but they don't stand up well in comparison with more expensive, higher-end earbuds. For voice and music that isn't demanding, these earbuds are highly efficient and offer a selection of three different-size rubber earpads to fit most ears.

Unfortunately there is an almost complete absence of bass. Brass musical instruments reproduce pretty well, but string instruments sound metallic and harsh. If your preference is for classical music or music that has a lot of sound at the low-end of the frequency spectrum, I don't believe that you'll have a satisfying experience with these earbuds. In fairness, however, I'm comparing these earbuds with others that sell for at least six-times as much.

With this in mind, if your expectations are not for outstanding broad-spectrum, high-fidelity music reproduction, these earbuds may serve your needs well for an amazingly-low, bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 21490 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Panasonic RPHJE120K In-Ear Headphone, Black
$9.99 $7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.