Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive HDTV / Monitor
Was looking for a big screen monitor for my new home theater / gaming PC and also used as a occasional second HDTV. Wanted an energy efficient LED display, (my main home theater TV is a plasma Panasonic G25 - which has performed flawlessly for 2 years) and this model certainly fits those requirements.

This is a new Panasonic model - released in September I...
Published on November 22, 2012 by Zdriver

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many defects
As long as there is a full image on the screen and it's not a dark scene, the picture is great. Unfortunately however in dark scenes this display's flaws are exposed. First you will see annoying light leakage from the corners and some of the sides, in my case from the top.

Also, there are blotches of cloudy spots on the screen which are viewable anytime the...
Published 21 months ago by B. Coyote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive HDTV / Monitor, November 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
Was looking for a big screen monitor for my new home theater / gaming PC and also used as a occasional second HDTV. Wanted an energy efficient LED display, (my main home theater TV is a plasma Panasonic G25 - which has performed flawlessly for 2 years) and this model certainly fits those requirements.

This is a new Panasonic model - released in September I believe, and could find very little review information online. I have never purchased a large fragile item like this online, but due to Amazons stellar return policy, I decided to take the risk & am very happy I did.

Delivery was excellent +. Appointment was for 9AM, received a call at 8:30 from CEVA - the delivery contractor, and it was in my living room at 08:50. Arrived in pristine condition - no damage to the set or the box. After a quick power up test, carefully inspecting the panel, I signed off & CEVA went on their way.

HD content looks supurb. Panel brightness looks uniform across the display. There were no dead or stuck pixels. The factory settings are not the best - used some reference settings from reviews of other similar LED / LCD models and tweaked the custom settings for now to:
Backlight 70
Color 60
Brightness 30
Tint 5
Sharpness 10
Color Temp Normal

Looks pretty darn good. Will set it up properly with Disney's calibration disc when it settles in for a few more hours. I have owned it for less than a week.

Connected to my new PC, corrected for the overscan a TV monitor gives you vs a PC monitor, and WOW, a big and impressive desktop. Can read my email from across the room! Fired up 1 game on it, 1080p, looks fantastic. Audio is typical of a thin panel TV - since I have it connected to my PC with 5.1 surround, not an issue for me.

The finish of the TV is excellent, piano black thin bezel with a clear acrylic surrounding it - not visible in the pictures. The black bezel thickness is 7/8" top and sides, bottom is 1 1/4". The acrylic adds 1/8" top & sides, 1/4" bottom.

Overall, this is one very impressive unit. Not fair to compare it to the output & features of my plasma display. This has 2 HDMI (one with audio return) and 1 USB inputs, not a smart TV - but perfect for my purpose. If you want the smart & network connected features, all you have to do is connect a inexpensive networked blu ray player and you are there. My Panasonic plasma has never seen a network cable, the blu ray player provides all the Viera features. When I upgrade it next year, I'll move it to the LM50EM5 other HDMI port.

Thanks Amazon - Recommended .... 8.5 / 10 (may go up after I calibrate it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV for the money, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
The caveat to this TV is that it is bare bones. It's simply a TV with no bells and whistles. With that being said, I purchased it because of that, not despite of it. I'm running my home theater through an AV receiver (the Sony STRDH520).

When I first got the TV I quickly hooked it up directly to my cable box (Comcast HD DVR) and the picture was horrible. I was getting worried. But then once I ran the HDMI from the cable box to the receiver and then to the TV BOOM, Crystal clear picture. In our house we have Vizio, Philips, and Samsung and now this Viera. Give me the Panasonic any day of the week. It's beautiful picture and deep black background make watching movies a dream. I bought it specifically for Movies and sports. NFL Redzone looks amazing in HD as well. All the colors "pop" without being annoying. I played with the picture settings for a while and once I fine tune it enough I will add my settings to the review. I started with the "Standard" settings however, and went from there, and frankly the Standard setting is fine for most. Also, though this is a 60Hz TV, you can't tell the difference when compared side by side with a 120Hz TV which our 42" Philips is. Movement is crisp and realistic. I have already recommended this TV to everyone that is looking for a 50". I only have it 4 stars because if you don't have an A/V receiver with HDMI, you WILL be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing TV for incredible price, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
I have a home theatre system but was hoping to upgrade my TV - bigger screen and 1080p. Look at the flyers through black Friday, over the weekend and then into cyber Monday left me assuming that it wasn't going to happen this year. Then I stumbled upon this Panasonic 50". 50" HDTV 1080p. It apparently has speakers and other stuff - but isn't a "SMART" TV. Maybe this is why the low pricetag. Anyway, I got it delivered this Friday. It looks amazing. Wickedly thin - and half the weight of my old 37". Picture is beautiful. I can see everything from across the room without squinting! And the detail I can now see on plain old cable and movies - incredible! Watching old movies again and exclaiming "I didn't know xxxx was on the wall!" or whatever.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many defects, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
As long as there is a full image on the screen and it's not a dark scene, the picture is great. Unfortunately however in dark scenes this display's flaws are exposed. First you will see annoying light leakage from the corners and some of the sides, in my case from the top.

Also, there are blotches of cloudy spots on the screen which are viewable anytime the screen goes dark (while still powered on), the spots can also be seen when a darker image is on the screen. In addition, when I watch blurays, where the picture meets the black bars at the top and bottom is a bright band of light running horizontally. It's very distracting.

Needless to say this tv is going back to amazon. You really do get what you pay for unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid if you use HDMI, December 27, 2012
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
My fiance and I purchased this tv back in mid November. It looks great, has good sound. After only a week, the unit started randomly cutting off and sitting there blinking there blinking until we had to unplug power from the back of the tv. If cut back on afterwards and not even 10 minutes later it did this again. We thought it had something to do with our cable box. We returned the TV for the same model through Amazon with no hassle. We've had the new TV for maybe 2 weeks now and this one is even worse. we are exchanging it for a higher end model. This one is made out of plastic. The models with the ICS are much better. They are a bit heavier yet are made out of metal and not cheapo plastic. It's a shame. This could be a great new line for Panasonic, but it needs to be tweaked. When playing my 360 tonight it was cutting off every few minutes. Very annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture but lousy sound, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
Very good picture. A good selection of screen formats. Sound is OK but you really need an audio system to make the system complete. Much lighter in weight than my previous wide screen television.

The major complaint I have about this TV is that it has no provision for listening with either headphones or blue tooth.
Primarily no head phone hookup so I can't listen to the TV without disturbing others since like many households, each of us has our own TV.

Blue tooth would be a nice feature since many head phones are going to blue tooth support and that would eliminate any wires between myself and the TV. But this TV has neither so the sound system is definitely second rate while the picture is first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bargain, January 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
Bad thing - lousy sound. No deduction because I knew this before I ordered (thank you reviewers).

Good things - Great picturte after I tweaked the settings according to another reviewers recommendations. Easy set-up. Good remote. A bargain, and Amazon refunded the difference when they dropped the price $50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing TV!, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
We love love love this tv. it's in our living room and the picture is stunning, it was shipped on time, plugged it in and bam it was working, 6 months later zero problems. great tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV for the money, April 1, 2013
By 
James (Monroe, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
Loving this TV and it's priced as a great deal! Our TV had a cracked screen during shipment, but amazon promptly sent us a replacement that arrived the very next day. The 2nd TV has worked flawlessly.

Only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it only has 2 HDMI ports. would like to see 1-2 more HDMI ports and maybe a component in. On the plus side, it's skinny and looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic TC-L50EM5 50-Inch 60Hz LED-lit TV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
I just got this TV. So, based on a couple of days of use, after fiddling around with the contrast, etc, the picture is amazingly beautiful! I love it, it's giant and not all complicated. That is exactly what I wanted - a giant screen on which to play my video games and have it look giant and beautiful, and by all that's holy, I'm practically life sized in my game of Skyrim! (FYI - the first one I got was defective, but Amazon's awesomeness sent me a replacement super fast!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.