Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware -- Prices fluctuating wildly on this HD television
This is just a heads up about pricing.

I placed my order for this television on 9/2/2008.

THE PRICE from AMAZON with FREE SHIPPING was $2,835.21.

Delivery time quoted, when I placed the order, was 1 to 2 months. UPDATE: Amazon delivered my TV on 9/30/2008 (in about a month) in perfect condition at the price I've quoted ($2,835.21)...
Published on September 6, 2008 by JustAnotherEngineer

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reflection from inside can be bothersome
I agree with most of the good reviews about this TV, however, I do need to point out a major annoyance of the TV, which I think is a major design flaw and prevent me from giving it a 5 star instead.

Although overall experience with the TV is positive, I noticed an annoying issue with this unit: it can reflect its own video from inside. This is more apparent if...
Published on May 23, 2009 by H. W


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware -- Prices fluctuating wildly on this HD television, September 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
This is just a heads up about pricing.

I placed my order for this television on 9/2/2008.

THE PRICE from AMAZON with FREE SHIPPING was $2,835.21.

Delivery time quoted, when I placed the order, was 1 to 2 months. UPDATE: Amazon delivered my TV on 9/30/2008 (in about a month) in perfect condition at the price I've quoted ($2,835.21).

Prices are changing day by day. In fact, the day after I placed my order, Amazon raised their price by $500.00. That is quite a price increase in one day! Over the course of the next TWO weeks the price went up to match the list price of $3700. So, in just two weeks time, there was a $900 increase in price! Finally prices are drifting lower again. Early in November, the price has dropped back down to the $2800 range.

THE BEST DEAL YET (11/18/2008). Not only has Amazon lowered its price to an all time low of $2689.00 BUT Amazon says that if you add the Panasonic BDK-35 Blu-ray player (CNET - top rated!) to your cart you will get an additional $300.00 off the combined purchase. Since this player costs $239.00 you will not only receive the player for free but also save an additional $61.00 off of the price of the TV. This deal is a no-brainer, while it lasts. This player is top-rated and, of course, plays standard DVDs too. UPDATE: Unfortunately Amazon withdrew this offer after only a week.

There were no reviews published when I purchased this set but its 50" sister - the Panasonic TH-50PZ800U - had received top reviews. In fact, the 50" version of this set is widely considered either the best HDTV ever made or second only to the much more expensive Pioneer Kuros. UPDATE: This HDTV was Awarded "Editors Choice" by CNET on 10/3/2008 (now only the 50" Pioneer Kuro Elite is rated higher). CNET even rated this Panasonic 58" a tiny bit better than Panasonic's 50" version due to slightly deeper blacks.

Don't pay too much for this set. This set is just starting to trickle into stores and only, late in September, did Amazon have this TV in stock. I can't see why any consumer would pay any more than I have ($2835.21) and I hope they will pay less.

As a general guideline: I've found that a good discount for a Panasonic Plasma will be at least 25% off of the list price.

What is interesting is how carefully the other merchants listed on Amazon.com follow Amazon's lead on price. On the day I purchased this HDTV there were other merchants that were VERY close to Amazon's total price even after including any shipping charges (one was actually a few dollars less including shipping). Once Amazon raised its price, within 24 hours, all these other merchants raised their prices to match Amazon's new price. That trend has continued with these other sellers closely following Amazon's lead.

Amazon's white glove delivery service works extremely well. I was concerned about this and wondered how Amazon's delivery service would stack up against buying this set in person? Well, I was pleasantly surprised. The TV was delivered on time, it was unpacked, the stand was installed, and the TV was placed where I wanted it (the packaging was also removed). I knew how to connect the TV to all my other components but you certainly shouldn't expect the truckers to know how to do this for you! Still they waited 5 minutes for me to make all my connections and confirm the set was in perfect condition. Even if you don't know how to connect the set (prior to studying the manual) - just plugging it into a wall outlet (no other connections required) and turning it on displays a menu on the screen which confirms it was not damaged in transit.

KUDOS to AMAZON on its White Glove Service! Well Done and hassle free!!!

The picture quality exceeds my wildest expectations, assuming a few important changes are made to the set's default settings. With good high definition content the picture is absolutely stunning, better than what I recall was shown at my local movie theatre. High definition movies on HBO really do look better than when I saw them in the theatre. If there is a criticism to be found it is that the default settings are either too dim (THX mode) or too garish (custom mode). However it is easy to adjust the settings to produce a much better picture. I'd encourage everyone to use the settings listed in Greg Lavery's Amazon review (these were first published by CNET and then discussed/updated in the AVS forum). These settings are extremely important if you want the best possible picture and the improvements they yield are NOT subtle! However, having said that, this still may NOT be the best TV for a brightly lit room because it is not the brightest set available and the screen is somewhat reflective. For everyone else, you are purchasing one of the finest HDTVs ever made. The quality and naturalness of the picture is often jaw-dropping. It is hard to explain in words, exactly how good this set is --- even to those of you who have already purchased another HDTV. For example, I purchased a 26" Toshiba HDTV (2008 model) for my office. That HDTV looks pretty poor when compared to this Panasonic. It is almost impossible to overstate the quality of the picture that this set can produce.

Keep in mind this is one, very large, HDTV and it can easily dwarf everything else in a room.

One Final Comment: Know who you are buying from at Amazon. Just below the price if it says "ships from and sold by XXX company" you are NOT buying from Amazon but another company who pays a fee to Amazon to sell products on Amazon's website. While these other companies may be fine - I choose to purchase this HDTV directly from Amazon and NOT from one of these other merchants whose track record I could not as easily evaluate. The shipping policies of these other companies may also vary from Amazon's white glove delivery service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This TV is very crisp and beautiful, October 25, 2008
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
I got this TV b/c cnet seemed to rave about it. I had a TH-50PX600U and that was a nice TV and I'm a big panasonic fan, but this TV I can definitely notice an improvement in quality from my cable HD channels, even though both are from the same 720p signal. In addition, watching Blu-Ray from this is beautiful (I'm using a PS3). I'm really happy with the purchase. One recommendation for anyone owning this TV is to use custom settings and not use the settings that are default.

The rest of the review is copy/pasted from "daarrid" over at avsforum.com
[...]

However lets remember that the THX mode can be adjusted!!!! Panasonic's default settings for THX are just wrong. The CNET reviewer, using a completely dark room, adjusted the THX settings considerably upward from their default settings. Just for the sake of example - CNET increased the picture setting from 50 to 100 for their review.

I'd suggest that anyone owning this set start with CNET's THX settings:

CNET's THX settings (completely dark room):

Picture: 100
Brightness: 55
Color: 56
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 50
Color Temp: Warm
Cats: Off
Color Man.: Off
MPEG NR: Off
HD Size: Size 2
Black Level: Light

Or try My THX Settings (for a dimly lite room):

THX MODE:

Picture: 95
Brightness: 62
Color: 50
Tint: -8
Sharpness: 50
Color Temp: Normal
Cats: Off
Color Man.: On
MPEG NR: Off
HD Size: Size 2
Black Level: Light

While I use my Custom settings occassionally - tweaking the THX settings are much more important for everyday use. I use THX 90% of the time. The Custom Mode I created, I generally use ONLY for broadcasts made for TV. Remember THX is a movie standard and does not technically apply to TV shows (although some of these TV shows may also look better in THX).

Here are my custom mode settings again (already posted). Use these settings for TV shows and/or movies shown in a bright room:

CUSTOM MODE:

Picture: 85
Brightness: 50
Color: 34
Tint: -7
Sharpness: 50
Color Temp: Normal
Cats: Off
Color Man.: On
MPEG NR: Off
HD Size: Size 2
Black Level: Light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't assume anything, ask if you're not sure!!!, September 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
Two months ago I bought a 52" LCD TV (not Panasonic) for my family room, so my grand kids could watch TV and play Xbox & Playstation 3 games. The TV was bought directly from Amazon and the shipping was free. When it got to my house over three weeks later, two men deliverd the TV and put it in my family room. They took it out of the box and set it up and pluged it in to make sure everything worked. (It did) They said the white glove service was on all TV's from Amazon. On 08/29/2008 I went to Amazon's web sight and bought my TH-58PZ800U ($2961.99) for my living room and the shipping was free too. My 58" Panasonic TV was actually bought from a partner company through Amazon, called Buy Now Inc., which still honored the free shipping. When the TV was delivered 09/11/2008 (in very good condition), it was only delivered by one man and it was a side walk delivery only. He saw I was disabled and was nice enough to bring it in through my front door and left it in my living room. I unpacked it and set it up two days later. The TV (140 lbs) comes with a stand and it's very easy to set up but you will need at least two healthy people and three is even better. I called Amazon and asked why the difference in my type of delivery? They said, All TV items bought directly from Amazon get the white glove type delivery treatment and from partner companies in most cases it will be a side walk delivery only. Both times the trucking company called a day or two ahead, to set up the delivery I strongly recommed you ask what type of delivery you're getting. I hope this helps?

Now about the TH-58PZ800U Panasonic Plasma TV which I researched for over a month before I bought it. I read all the personal and profesional reviews I could find. I was very lucky to have a major National Electronics store in my area that had a large selection of most of the major brands that made Plasma TV's. I want to be very honest in this review. Three or four other brands of Plasma TV's have come a long way and they looked great. I tried to compare apples to apples by comparing only Plasma TV's because that's what I wanted for my living room. It was very hard to see a major difference in picture and color in alot of todays Plasma TV's on display. I narrowed it down to two or three Plasma TV's in the 58" to 60" range. What made the decision for me was: My 58" Panasonic had a very good picture, colors were excellent, the non glare screen, all the HDMI (4) and other inputs, Panasonics Reputation, Quality and Repair history. I already own a 42" Panasonic Plasma TV that is 5 years old and it still has a great picture. Last but not least, the sound from the TV speakers is great if you don't have a home sound system, which I do, so I checked it out and then I hooked it up to my ow home sound system. The remote control is easy to use and the menu, doing the TV set up, is very easy and quick to do. Right now I have no negatives because I've only had the TV for 5 days and used it for 3 days. I hope this review has helped in some ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, September 13, 2008
By 
F. Rose (No. California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
When I first saw this unit on Amazon, it was $3499. After talking to my wife, I placed an order the next day and was surprised to find the price to be $2999. Two days after my order, the price went to $3699 and was no longer being shipped from Vann's. Mine was shipped from Vann's and arrived in perfect condition 4 days later.

Anyway, the TV is wonderful. I can't imagine getting a better picture from a TV. The colors are significantly richer and deeper than our other TV, a Samsung 42" LCD that's in our bedroom. The display and degree of color on the LCD, although vibrant, sometimes appear to be sightly unnatural and there doesn't seem to be a way (that I have found) to adjust it out.

The Panasonic color is very natural and there are several user friendly adjustments that make it easy to enhance picture clarity, hue and color.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the set-up was straight forward and actually simple. There are on screen prompts that take the user through the process to completion. The remote is uncluttered and easy to use with larger than usual buttons. Aesthetically, the set and the stand are very attractive.

I highly recommend plasma over LCD and the 2008 Panasonic Viera series over the competition we explored. (Vizio, Samsung, Sharp and 2007 Panasonic).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparison shopped, waited & finally bought this on a lark..., June 2, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
This is my first HD flat screen. For months I compared LCD vs Plasma, comparison shopped brands and size. After deciding on the new Panasonic 50" line I took my wife to Best Buy to see the unit I settled on. She made a beeline for the big screen room and for about an hour we sat down and looked at all they had to offer. We settled on this unit - but it was twice the price I had planned to spend. "Buy the big one," she said - so while in the store and using my Blackberry I found this unit on Amazon for several hundred dollars cheaper. I bought it on the spot on Amazon.

Delivery went smoothly - very smoothly. When the unit arrived I helped the guy carry it in and open it up. As he assembled it I went over it carefully, and he insisted on hooking up cable to it to get a picture. After doing that we both inspected it inch by inch. Well, he didn't really but I sure as heck did. The TV arrived flawless.

Since purchasing it I have used it for HDtv, PS3 and a PC (q6600 quad core, 4gb RAM, Sapphire 4870 running eval copy of Windows 7) - all through HDMI. The picture is gorgeous on all three inputs. All HD shows are fabulous - even a gameshow like Wheel of Fortune is enjoyable to watch with the full color and clarity of HD on this TV. The PS3 is stunning; even my Wife who hates video games has stood watching our son and I tearing up the desert in Motorstorm or storming the universe as Ratchet and Clank. She's even expressed an interest in giving them a second chance.

I don't understand the problem some LCD fanboys have with Plasma. There is no ghosting at all - unlike LCD - critical since my son and I are both avid FPS gamers. I don't have every light in the room on while watching TV, so glare isn't a problem that turning a light off doesn't fix. The colors are vivid without being cartoonish, and the motion is as smooth as CRT (well, almost as smooth as CRT if you read the lab tests). As for burn in I haven't seen anything. I tend to flip between channels and input sources during a typical day, so I don't think I'm prone to it.

Spending this kind of money on a television is really tough in this economy. However Panasonic knows plasma, and Amazon knows how to get the unit to you without a scratch.

"Buy the big one." The wife was right. I have no regrets buying this unit from Amazon, and neither will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best performance/value in this size of display!, January 8, 2009
By 
Cliff (Carlsbad, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
I did extensive research and in-person viewing of many TVs before deciding to buy this set. For the price, there is no better set out there at this size.

My previous display was a 55 inch HD RPTV - the venerable Mitsubishi Platinum HD display in the big black cabinet. When fully calibrated, the set was gorgeous in 1080i and produced a picture that was still way better than many of the current LCD displays. Of course, it didn't do 720p or 1080p, and off-axis performance was disappointing. It, too, had a protective acrylic screen overlay that was VERY reflective and caught many glares and reflections in a brightly lit room.

I doubt I could improve on everyone else's reviews of the picture quality of this set, so know that I definitely concur with all the rave reviews on this set.

I have about 150 hours on my set and am using display settings posted by daarid over on avsforum.com. The viewing experience is amazing. Period.

I also own and/or have experience with many LCD displays including Samsung and Vizio. However, I have lately been lusting after a large plasma ever since a close friend acquired a Pioneer Elite 50" Kuro display.

My basic buying criteria - I was looking for something slightly bigger than I had before (55 inch RPTV) that could perform decently in a brightly lit room during the day but still provide a great movie experience at night or when the curtains are closed. Price was definitely a factor, considering I still wanted to have money left over for a new built-in entertainment center for the new screen as well as all the other fun stuff guys like me love buying (new audio gear, replace the 720p LCD projector upstairs, etc... the list is never ending).

Despite the fact that the new plasmas have 100K+ hours rated on their panels and pixel burn-in is largely no longer an issue, I actually believe the preferred display of the near future will be LED LCD displays like the latest Sony XBR 55 inch and the Samsung 950 series. Their black levels are starting to rival the best plasmas but with overall brighter pictures, lower power consumption, and matte finish screens to reduce/eliminate glare. However, in the 55+ inch category, these displays are still way too expensive IMHO. Considering I could get a still-superior image with practically unlimited viewing angle at literally HALF the price, I think the LED LCDs have 1-2 more years before they will displace plasmas at this level. Then again, the Pioneer Elite plasmas are probably closer to being threatened by the newer displays since they cost so darn much.

So for today (Jan 2009), LCDs still too expensive at this size level. Even the LCDs that use traditional backlighting are more expensive than plasmas at this size.

The Pio Elite is by far the gold standard for HD displays for me right now. After watching several hours on a 50 inch elite, I can say that this Panasonic still takes an obvious second place with not nearly as deep black performance and less glare attenuation than the elite. When fully calibrated, however, the colors on this Panasonic are amazing and subjectively right there alongside the elite. Good thing that the Pioneer elite was DOUBLE the price of the Panasonic so it made my decision here pretty easy. Even compared to the non-elite Pioneer 6020FD 60 inch plasma, the Panasonic was a better choice. The 6020FD just had a few glaring color management issues that I didn't think warranted paying still $1500 more than the Panasonic.

Then comes the question of the LG 60PG60. LG's latest THX certified display that effectively costs nearly the same as the Panasonic. LG is 2 inches larger, utilizes a seamless 'single pane of glass' front panel for a jaw-dropping work of art that is definitely the most sexy 60 inch display for me. Add to that a swiveling display stand (probably not a big deal for most, but it was certainly attractive for me) and it was a tough choice for me between the LG and the Panasonic. In the end, from 10-11 feet away (my viewing distance) the 58" and 60" look almost the same size, and I felt much safer buying from Panasonic who has been making high quality displays for much longer than LG. In fact, two of the LG's I went to go look at in the big-box stores were having some sort of weird issues-- so it didn't make me feel great about the LG compared to the Panasonic. I know there are many happy LG owners out there and I'm sure I would have been happy with one, but I'm even happier with a Panasonic that also has THX display certification (more adjustable than the LG's THX display mode, too).

My new Panasonic TH-58PZ800U is located in a very bright room that has windows on both the side and rear of the room. While I was very worried that the glass on the plasma display would reflect too much in this light, I've been pleasantly surprised that the anti-glare coating provides a good deal of glare attenuation. Still noticeably not as good as a Pioneer Elite plasma in terms of glare management but much better than the acrylic protector on my previous RPTV. It's pretty easy for me to turn the screen just a bit to get rid of annoying reflections, so not a big deal for me.

After the break in period, I've actually spent some time putting static images on the screen to actually see how much image retention would be noticeable. I'm happy to report that I have not seen any IR at all yet on this set. Granted, IR may be more visible in a dark environment and with specific viewing material, but after getting a bit spooked reading various folks' reviews on avsforum.com I was pretty worried about things like IR, motion trails, and flicker/judder on 24p material when viewed at 48 or 60hz. All I can really say is this: not an issue for my eyes. And I'm pretty critical when it comes to viewing - just not one to get hung up on tiny technical details.

I watch HD satellite content on DirecTV and BluRay content via PS3. Both look wonderful on the set in either 720p or 1080p. Much of the content from DirecTV is sent in 1080i, and I can definitely say this display looks way better than my previous 1080i display on the same content.

All in all - I'm very, very satisfied with this display purchase.

Bought directly from Amazon with white glove delivery service. The set showed up several days earlier than orginally quoted but was professionally arranged for delivery via phone. Two guys showed up, unpacked the set, helped me inspect for damage, setup the TV on the stand and powered it up for inspection. All in about 10-15 minutes. What an amazing buying experience.

I opted NOT to purchase an extended warranty since they tend to be overpriced for plasma technology. Considering a good third party extended warranty can still be purchased on a plasma up to 9 months later (as long as 90 days still remains on the factory warranty) I feel pretty good about the decision.

Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding TV, February 4, 2009
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
I came very close to buying a Samsung LCD, mostly because I had pointed myself toward LCD TVs a few years ago and, in doing the research, found that Sony or Samsung were the way to go for quality and Samsung was both a little better and a little less expensive. When I starting looking at a model I wanted in the big box stores, I also talked with the sales people. After the second store and the second sales guy said they preferred plasma, I decided I better restart my research from scratch. I believe anyone who starts with an open mind, looks at all units and reads the right unbiased reviews will conclude, as I did, that the only LCDs which can equal the picture of this Panasonic Plasma are the new backlit units from Sony and Samsung which you can't touch anywhere for less than $3500 for the 55" unit. The Panasonic TH 58PZ800U 58" is a tremendous bang for the buck compared to similarly price 52" LCDs from anyone including Samsung or Sony. As many reviews in other places have stated, the pictures you see in the stores will not necessarily give you a good idea of what the TV will look like in your house, so keep that in mind. My nontechnical experience with this set can be summed up pretty easily; 1) Exceptionally clear and sharp picture with true colors, 2) Plenty of brightness - I have a room that lets a lot of light in during the day and my brightness setting is only 58 out of 100, 3) Reflections are like they are with almost any TV or computer monitor, they are there if you are looking for them, but very seldom do they distract from veiwing.

I also need to comment on the delivery; it was great. If you are thinking about buying this unit at a store and setting it in place by yourself you better be pretty strong and very tall. I was very pleased with the two people from the Pilot affiliate that brought my set. They had to let me put the stand on the unit, but they waited patiently while I did that. This is by far my most expensive on line purchase, and while I was a little leary of a DOA or damaged unit, I figured the $900 or more savings compared to the big box store's sale prices with sales tax added was worth the gamble. So far I'm winning and very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing deal and service!, November 27, 2008
By 
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
Thanks to another poster here, I discovered the "bundle deal" - 58" Panasonic w/ the BD35 Blu-ray player. All did not go smoothly at first. I tried to buy the bundle which was a no-brainer - Buy the BD35 for $232 and get a $300 credit on the combo (w/ free freight). After entering both items (which were both listed as in-stock), the $300 credit never appeared on the last screen before hitting the "purchase" button. So I cancelled the transaction and cleared by cache and tried again. This time I used "option 2" which was a small link to the deal. After everything looked ok I hit the purchase button and when I printed it out, it said that the TV would ship between Dec 30 & Jan 20! - Needless to say I freaked. I called Amazon Customer Service immediately and they explained that the "deal" was only through Amazon - if I didn't want the free freight and $300 credit I could've purchased it through their partner and received it in a week or so.

The order was placed on Tues, Nov 18 at 9pm (I kept the Amazon deal). The Blu-ray player arrived on Thursday, Nov 20 (w/ the free freight option). On Sunday, Nov 23, the TV still had a ship date of Dec 30 - Jan 20. On Monday I rec'd an email stating that it should arrive around Dec 12 (awesome compared to the original estimate). Guess what - The TV arrived via CEVA on Wed, Nov 26! The whole deal took one week w/ free freight and arrived in perfect condition and the guys even carried it upstairs to my home theater room. I tried to tip them and they said they weren't allowed - I felt bad cause they looked like they were gonna die after navigating my stairway.

By the way - I mounted it w/ a Sanus LT-25 tilting wall mount which I bought through Amazon for $107. It was $219 plus tax at BB. Picture is awesome w/o even tweaking the controls yet. Flesh tones are spot-on. Love the way it looks so much more natural than an LCD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reflection from inside can be bothersome, May 23, 2009
By 
H. W (Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
I agree with most of the good reviews about this TV, however, I do need to point out a major annoyance of the TV, which I think is a major design flaw and prevent me from giving it a 5 star instead.

Although overall experience with the TV is positive, I noticed an annoying issue with this unit: it can reflect its own video from inside. This is more apparent if you are watching from side angle and image is contrasty - like white over black (i.e. texts over black background), you can see a shadow image being reflected from one inch down the screen surface. It is so obvious that you can notice it from 10 feet away. If you watch straight in front of the TV, you won't be able to detect this though.

Given the price of this TV, I hope such annoyance should be not be there in the first place. I don't see such thing in other LCD TVs, let alone older CRT TV. This TV is otherwise an excellent one, with good video and audio quality. It is really a pity Panasonic did not get this right.

There is another minor flaw: it does not decode DTS audio - I have a DVD player connected to HDMI input, if I change audio encoding to DTS, the TV is silent. It does decode Dolby Digit audio without problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great deal on a great TV, February 9, 2009
By 
This review is from: Panasonic Viera TH-58PZ800U 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Electronics)
I have owned Panasonic Plasma's for the last 5 years...When it was time to upgrade it was an easy decision. TV delivered on time...Pilot Freight did an excellent job with the White Glove delivery aspect.
The picture and features are the best in the industry in my opinion. You can pay $1,500 more for a Pioneer, but unless your are a high end tech there is no difference in the picture to the average person.
THX turned out to be excellent with some tweaking provided in the AVS Forum for this TV. There are recommended picture adjustments in the menu that work! You can find the owner's forum at [...]
I'm very happy with Amazon and the purchase. If you are in the market this TV is the best bang for your buck...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.