Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy New
$5.72
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.95
  • Save: $2.23 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, W... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book Board book – July 11, 2006

4.6 out of 5 stars 149 customer reviews

See all 22 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Board book
"Please retry"
$5.72
$3.04 $0.01

Featured in Children's Books
Press Here
Press Here
Press Here
$5.72 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book
  • +
  • Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? (Brown Bear and Friends)
  • +
  • From Head to Toe Board Book
Total price: $17.08
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Fans of Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? will be delighted to see another title in this lilting call and response series. Much like their earlier picture books, Panda Bear features a string of fine feathered (and furry and scaly) friends watching over each other. In this book, however, all the animals are endangered, from a swinging spider monkey to a strutting macaroni penguin (kids will get a kick out of that name!) to a splashing sea lion. Carle’s trademark tissue paper collages will be as familiar--and welcome--as the text ("Whooping Crane, Whooping Crane, what do you see?" "I see a black panther strolling by me."); young readers will quickly get the hang of the rhythm and join right in. The book concludes on a hopeful note, with a dreaming child seeing the ten f! eatured animals "all wild and free--/ that’s what I see!" Martin includes a note on endangered species that may spark concern and interest in older readers--our hope for these disappearing creatures. (Ages 3 to 8) --Emilie Coulter --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

PreSchool-Grade 1-While some adults may sigh at the similarity of this title to Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (1983) and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? (1995, both Holt), children will be thrilled. A water buffalo, a green sea turtle, a black panther, and other animals answer that familiar call, "What do you see?" Readers view all these creatures and more, a treat considering that the 10 animals featured are all endangered species and therefore rare sights. The book closes wistfully with a dreaming child who sees the animals all "wild and free." Names like "macaroni penguin" contribute to some awkwardness in the text's rhythm, but the bright collage images and lilting language bring the animals to life on the page-soaring, swinging, or even strutting. Opening with a helpful note on the importance of animal protection, this title will make a perfect segue into conversations about endangered species.
Julie Roach, Malden Public Library, MA
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Age Range: 2 - 5 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - Kindergarten
  • Lexile Measure: 640L (What's this?)
  • Board book: 28 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); Brdbk edition (July 11, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805080783
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805080780
  • Product Dimensions: 4.8 x 0.6 x 7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (149 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,915 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Bill Martin Jr, an elementary-school principal, teacher, writer, and poet, held a doctoral degree in early childhood education. His many books, among them the bestselling classics Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?; Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?; Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?; and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, are a testament to his ability to speak directly to children.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on July 20, 2003
Format: Hardcover
I love children's books by Bill Martin and Eric Carle. I really love reading "Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?" and "Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?" to my preschoolers and when I heard there was a new book, I had to find a copy and buy it. I can't wait to read this book to my class along with the other two books. It is soooo adorable! The pictures are cute and easy for the children to remember.
Comment 17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
It's a nice concept and most kids will love the words, different animals and the concept of going from one animal to another. Panda Bear was really written because Brown Bear established such a terrific template. In other words it's a sequel. Like most sequels it doesn't quite measure up.
Kids will still enjoy the colorful pictures, sounds of words and guessing what comes next in the story. Perhaps that's all they need. Sometimes the educational aspect is important and sometimes kids just need entertainment. This is entertaining for little ones and it's a simple enough story so that little ones can start pretending to read and feel more grown up.
Comment 18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This book is similar to the original Brown Bear book, with illustrations of panda bear, bald eagle, water buffalo, spider monkey, green sea turtle, macaroni penguin, sea lion, red wolf, whooping crane, black panther, and moon-faced dreaming child.

The illustrations are beautiful--Carle's signature watercolor-collage style. While Brown Bear's illustrations show each animal against stark white backgrounds, Panda Bear's illustrations feature them against bold backgrounds. (My sensitive younger toddler found the red wolf and the black panther illustrations a little scary, so we skip those pages for now.)

Although this book doesn't lend itself to teaching basic colors and animal sounds the way that the original does, it is a good way to teach the concept of endangered species to younger children. Overall, a great companion to a classic!
Comment 15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book
My son and I LOVE this series (brown bear, Polar bear, Panda bear, baby bear). The slide and find version is a very smart idea, which baby can see the next animal described in each answer. We got both brown bear and Panda bear in slide and find; and Polar bear in sound book. I hope that the baby bear will come in this version, too.
Finally, the book is much bigger than I thought. It may be a little heavy for baby, but otherwise, baby will enjoy much bigger pictures than in the original version
I highly recommand the slide and find than the original one
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book
I received this in a full set with the other 2 Eric Carle books of Brown Bear, etc. I love this set though the cardboard box they came in took a beating - the books are very sturdy and has withstood a drooling 20 month old since she was 6 months old.

Each of the book has sturdy pages filled with bright colorful pictures. The rhyme is perfect for those toddlers learning how to read and is an easy read.
I read Brown Bear when i was younger and was so excited to get my daughter into it now too!

I would highly recommend this series of books to anyone!
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Not as good as the original brown bear. Doesn't roll off the tongue that well. Also, a lot of the animals look aggressive, with sharp teeth. Brown Bear and Polar Bear are better choices.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Children love this book mand so do the parents or adults who read this book to their children. Bill Martin, Jr and Eric Carle the authors, have well thought out this book. Besides the beautiful, colorful illustrations, the storyline us one that each of us should read.

As in their other books, the authors begin asking 'Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See'!, with each successive animal,we move on to another one. However, these animals are endangered, from the spider monkey to a penguin. The children will all fall in line, with the deductive lilt of the rhymes. The hopeful part of this book is one that children and adults will really like.

Recommended. prisrob 06-04-15
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
My son had this book read to him at preschool and loved it, he actually put it on his birthday list. He's only 4 and he reads it to me. A must have for toddlers.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book
This item: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book
Price: $5.72
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: you do what, natural world and you, nature books about bears, color board books, reader jr. baby