Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 3, 2002
One thing that's bugged me in my various efforts at writing a comic book script is that no reference I checked seemed to agree as to what format is right. As this book explains, that's because there IS no "right" or "wrong" format, just different ways to do it.
Every script in this volume shows you something. Gaiman's reads like a personal note to the artist, Wolfman shows how plot-first can work, McDuffie shows you how to work in a recap, Kevin Smith shows a more movie-script style of writing and Kurt Busiek's entry... heck, when I read the original comic book I thought it was one of the greatest comic book stories I ever read, but the script for "The Nearness of You" just made it all the more powerful.
If you want to try to write comics, you could do a lot worse than picking up this book.
11 comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2012
This book is exactly as advertised: a great collection of comic scripts by some of the best writers in the field. This is important for two reasons:

1) There is no set format for comic scripts, so seeing examples of how other people write theirs is invaluable.

2) It can be hard to find sample comic scripts online, especially by the top names in the field. Here's nine of them in one shot.

Reading this book will give you great insight into how comics are made, and also how some of the best creators in the field approach their craft.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
This is very similar to Panel Two, which I bought because of certain comic book writers that I enjoyed. Panel One is basically the same, which provide examples and even so "how to's" and "why's that" type of information.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2011
This book is exactly what it claims to be: a collection of scripts by top comic book writers. As such, it is instructive: the scripts follow one another and it's fascinating to see how each creative mind works differently. And presents finished scripts differently! The book is definitely worth reading and studying, but I found myself wishing throughout that there had been more information, comments, instructions, and/or suggestions from the editor.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
It's a collection of comic book scripts, written by some of the best in the business. I'd love it if there were more examples of the finished product, and a step-by-step of back-and-forth between writer and the rest of the creative team would be awesome, but if what you really want is examples of the real deal, this is it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2008
This book is amazing. It is a real pleasure to read these scripts and to admire the different styles. This is truly inspiring but... What is this ugly cover ? Why is the inside presentation so cheap ? I'm sure there are a lot of explanations, but, in case you re-edit it, would be a good idea to make this jewel shine.
Thanks a lot mister Gertler.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2010
It's very instructive to see how differently every writer approaches his or her script; as Nat Gertler says in his introduction, comic book scripts are direct lines between writers and artists, and each particular relationship influences the way that communication works. Sometimes it reads like a story pitch, and sometimes it's all visual descriptions. There's not a single "correct" or standard way to write these things.

I was highly amused by the fact that Greg Rucka felt the need to include actual endnotes in his script for Whiteout: Melt. Neil Gaiman and Kurt Busiek are brilliant, even in this stripped-down presentation. And Kevin Smith's script is about what you'd expect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
I love this book and have absolutely no talent drawing, etc.,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
I love this book. If you are interested in how comics are made do yourself a favor. Also pick up the WIll Eisner textbook trilogy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2003
This is a great text that takes you through the creative process of several unique writing styles. The variety of script and drawings from a host of authors, really made this book encouraging to the aspiring comic writer. I'm looking forward to getting Panel Two when it comes out.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse