Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun
This book was a quick fast read with clear directions for making cool pop-up. Good graphics showed the concepts. You really didn't even need to read the text if you don't want to.
Published on December 19, 2009 by D. McKnight

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic paper engineering book, there are better
The book provides you with the very basics you need to know. However, I find Carol Barton's how-to books on paper engineering much more useful, and also, Carter and Diaz' The Elements of Pop-Ups much better. If you are a beginner, or even if you do know your pop-ups and need some additional pointers, those books are better than this one. As I said, this one is a pretty...
Published on October 3, 2009 by Iza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic paper engineering book, there are better, October 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
The book provides you with the very basics you need to know. However, I find Carol Barton's how-to books on paper engineering much more useful, and also, Carter and Diaz' The Elements of Pop-Ups much better. If you are a beginner, or even if you do know your pop-ups and need some additional pointers, those books are better than this one. As I said, this one is a pretty good basic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, April 9, 2009
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
Throughout the years I have bought quite a lot of "for Dummies"-books, they give me a good knowledge about things that I find interesting.
This time, though, I was more then disappointed. Not about the context of the book, I have read different books written by the author, Rob Ives, and they are all good. But the quality of the printing and the paper are far bellow an acceptable standard. Unfortunately, this time the editor chose a paper quality comparable to those we can find on the cheapest newspapers you can get in the poorest countries on the world: This greyish paper, that make all the photos show in low contrast, is cheap and annoying from front to back cover.
In fact, after seeing this, I am sure that I am not going to order any new books from this series, until I am sure that the quality is back to normal again.
Sorry,
Georg Ulvehøj
Norway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, December 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
This book was a quick fast read with clear directions for making cool pop-up. Good graphics showed the concepts. You really didn't even need to read the text if you don't want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall, A Good Book, April 18, 2009
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
I suppose I had received my copy of the book the day after it had gone on sale at Amazon. Isn't it a common thing for us to make judgements based upon first sight? Such could be the initial tendency here, as the pages are made from what appears to be recycled paper; the newspaperish greyish rag type of paper. Certainly not the standard paper of past Dummies books. But this is a book, right? Should we make a bad judgement on a book soley on the paper? Not at all. It is the content that matters. Don't get me wrong, you want a book that will stand up to the test of time (which I think this one will), but it is the content that you are after, isn't it?

As an initial, upfront summary, for those that don't want to wade through a lot of text, I have found the content to be nicely thought out, well layed out and organized. I give it an A+ for content. As as for the price, I think it is a good value for a low cost.

As with the style all Dummies books, this book is intended as an introduction to the subject matter, which is some of the various types of paper engineering and pop-up projects. It is not intended as an end-all in and of itself. As with all subjects, there are many other books out there that go into more of the nitty gritty on each of the areas covered. But as a single source book, this book does an excellent job of presenting some of the different types of paper projects, and it delves nicely into the specific area of paper automata (paper animations). Below is a bit of a wordy presentation of the table of contents, but it is helpful in having a look at what you would be getting, and I think it speaks for itself. (Hopefully the publisher will not mind my listing such here.)

Introduction

Part I: Introducing the Magic of Paper Engineering

Chapter 1: Unfolding the Mystery of Paper Engineering

Including the Right Supplies in Your Workplace
Cutting Away with Cutout Greeting Cards
Rising to the Occasion with Pop-ups
-- Looking at how pop-ups pop up
-- Eyeing the different pop-up methods
-- What you can do with pop-ups
Moving Pictures: Pull Tabs and Wheels
Going 3D with Paper Sculpture
-- Focussing on basic paper sculpture
-- Folding paper Japanese-style
-- Exploring other sculpture techniques
Brining Paper to Life with Paper Animations
-- Checking out the characteristics of paper animations
-- Making moving parts

Chapter 2: Paper - The Essential Ingredient

Choosing the Right Paper (or Card): Reams of Possibilities
-- Paper types
-- Paper weight and thickness
-- Paper size
-- Paper finishes
-- Exotic materials: More than just paper
Shopping Smart: Where to Find Paper and Embellishments
-- Relying on arts and crafts shops
-- Making your shopping wallet-friendly: Thrifty sources for new goods
-- Using the Internet
Going Green: Recycling and Reusing Materials
-- Locating good, reusable finds
-- Recycling paper
-- Project 2-1: Homemade Paper
-- A green Christmas: Making a winter scene from reused holiday cards
-- Project 2-2: Winter Peephole Box

Chapter 3: Making Youir Paper-Engineering Workshop Work for You

Creating Space for Your Workplace
-- Setting out your workspace
-- Storage: Keeping everthing clean and in order
Tools of the Trade: What Your Workshop Needs
-- Scissors: Your most important tool
-- The sharp craft knife: Your cutting edge
-- Cutting mat: Protect your assests!
-- Tools for measuring and moving paper
-- Including computer hardware in your space
Color and Adhesives: Stocking Up on Materials That Play a Supporting Role
-- Using the right glue for the job
-- Adding elements of color

Chapter 4: Putting Everything Together: Techniques and Safety Tips

Measuring and Marking Your Paper
-- Measuring up: The ruler
-- Doing the rounds: The drawing compass
-- Getting a new angle: The protractor
Tracing to a T: Tricks of the Trade
Scoring and Cutting Techniques
-- Scoring for crisp folds
-- Keen cutting
Sticking to It with Adhesives
Coloring Paper with Paints and Inks
-- Not too much of a stretch: Helping wet paper dry flat
-- Applying watercolor washes to your paper
-- Marbling

Part II: Going Flat Out: Commencing with Creative Paper Crafts

Chapter 5: Wipping Up Cards and Flyers, from Classy to Crafty

Making Cute Cutouts
-- Project 5-1: St. Valentine's Delight
Embellishing with Attitude
Cut and Mounted: Adding Layers with Decoupage and Montage
-- Bringing images together through montage
-- Project 5-2: Montage Community Poster
-- Adding depth: Decoupage that card!
-- Project 5-3: 3D Decoupage

Chapter 6: Making a Pop with Your Pop-up

The Particulars of Parallel Pop-ups
-- Cut it out: A simple, sunny pop-up card
-- Project 6-1: Rising Sun Card
-- The goodness of glue: A pop-up surprise
-- Project 6-2: Standing Castle Pop-up
-- Making your pop-up multilayered with photos
-- Project 6-3: Bursting onto the Scenery Pop-up
The Lowdown on Pop-ou Pop-ups
-- Making a moving-mouth card
-- Project 6-4: Talking Frog Card
-- Popping out with a single sheet
-- Project 6-5: O Christmas Tree! Single-Sheet Surprise
-- Rising above and twisting into view
-- Project 6-6: Soar-Away Kite Card
-- Mixing pop-up mechanisms
-- Project 6-7: A Card with Open Arms

Chapter 7: On the Slide: Moving Along with Tabs and Wheels

Eyeing Practical Pull Tabs
-- Making a linkage pull-tab project: Pull-tab pivot
-- Project 7-1: Waving, Not Sinking
-- Sliding-picture pull tabs
-- Project 7-2: Paper Peepers Pull-Tab
Two Tabs Are Better Than One: Putting Multiple Tabs on a Page
-- Project 7-3: Two-Tabbed Tabby Cats
Rolling Out the Wonder of Wheels
-- Project 7-4: Mood Wheel

Chapter 8: Mixing It Up! Pop-ups, Pull Tabs, and Cross-Fades, All in One

Putting Tow Pictures in One with a Cross-Fade
-- Project 8-1: Cross-Fade Picture
Making Movable Books
-- Planning your pages
-- Project 8-2: A Slightly Cheesy Mouse Story

Part III: Paper Sculpture and Animation: Adding Some 3D Life to Paper

Chapter 9: Paper Sculpture: 3D Art from Paper or Card

Identifying Key Characteristics of Paper Sculpture
Creating a Freestanding Paper Sculpture
-- Working in 3D
-- Project 9-1: Water Lily Sculpture
Shallow Sculpture: Limiting the Point of View
-- Adding a little depth with curves and creases
-- Project 9-2: Ladybug in the Grass
Trying Origami: The Classic Crane
-- Project 9-3: Origami Crane

Chapter 10: Lights, Cams, Action! Having Fun with Paper Animations

Creating a Simple Cam Model
-- The look and feel of a simple cam model
-- Project 10-1: Octopus Action
Story Variations: Using Irregular and Multiple Cams
-- Varying the amount and type of movement
-- Project 10-2: The Dancing Dog

Chapter 11: Getting Past the Limitations of Paper in Your Paper Animations

Change Will Do You Good: Using Coins for Weight
-- Solving cardboard creep
-- Project 11-1: The Nodding Moose
Getting a Handle on a Better Working Winder
Using Triangles for Strength

Chapter 12: Using Mechanisms to Bring Models to Life

Giving Life to Your Models: The How-to
-- Understanding some common mechanisms
-- Adding personality: Matching movement to your model
Linking Clever Levers
-- Connecting levers with the four-bar linkage
-- Project 12-1: Halloween Moneybox
Trying the Crank Slider: A Rounded Flight Path
-- Building a crank slider
-- Project 12-2: The Flying Hippo
Using Gears to Get You Going - or Slowing
-- Making paper gears
-- Project 12-3: The Snail's Tale

Part IV: Drafting Your Own Designs and Creations

Chapter 13: Developing Your Own Designs

Coming Up with and Recording Design Ideas
-- Putting your ideas in a notebook
-- Warming up your thinking machine
-- Choosing colors
Understanding the Fine Art of Sketching
Making the Transition from Sketch to Model

Chapter 14: Using Technology to Design Your Own Projects

Understanding How Your Computer Can Help with Your Design
Relying on Software to Help with Your Rendering
-- Drawing the line: Software for templates and color experiments
-- Software for editing photos and creating patterns

Chapter 15: Making Some Extra Moolah by Selling Your Paper Creations

Getting Ready for the Market
-- Getting the legal stuff in order
-- Starting small
-- Naming your price
-- Packaging greeting cards and kits
Selling in Person: Hitting the Craft Fairs
-- Finding shows to attend
-- Preparing for the craft fair
-- Presenting your wares
-- Selling at your show
Selling Online

Part V: The Part of Tens

Chapter 16: Ten Tips for Perfect Paper Projects

Read the Directions
Stay Clean and Organized
Use the Best Materials Available
Mark on the Back of Your Paper
Pay Attention to Accuracy
Score Your Crease Lines
Take Care of Your Good Scissors
Replace Dull Craft Knife Blades
Use the Right Amount of White School Glue
Keep Your Projects Dry

Chapter 17: Ten Ways to Develop Your Design Skills

Carry a Notebook and Sketch It Out
Do a Little Aimless Construction
Study Machines and Mechanisms
Look for Inspiration from Other Artists
Start with a Simple Design
Be Open to New Methods
Experiment with Different Weights of Paper
Try Creating a Model in a Different Size
Collect New Types of Materials
Don't Give Up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hum.., April 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
very very very cheap paper print.. cheaper than any other "for dummies" book I ever had before.. I must say that I payed very little for it so I cannot complain about that..

About what the book covers: I was looking for a book on pop-ups. The title suggests as much but it's mainly about paper engineering. And it describes this pretty well I guess.. it's just not what I was looking for..

So the 3 stars are for the quality of the book, not its contents.. that is just bad luck. In a brick and mortar store I would never have bought it.. not even for the price I payed, which all in all (with P&P) is about 14 dollars US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise, October 1, 2010
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
I borrowed it from the library before deciding to purchase it. I particularly like the section on pull-tabs, best I've seen yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
great book, wife loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., February 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
These are so much fun to make. They make very unique handmade gifts. Fun for all ages and interests. I recomend this for the paper crafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, August 10, 2013
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is great everything it says it is. I recieved iron time and in excellent conditions I will purchase from them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars College text book supplement, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies (Paperback)
Fast shipping and nice packaging. This supplement was helpful to my daughter since she had never experienced creting any type of 3 or 4 dimensional art forms..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies
Paper Engineering and Pop-ups For Dummies by Rob Ives (Paperback - March 3, 2009)
$21.99 $14.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.