Prime Music

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$0.88 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by Round3.

or
 
   
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.30 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
megahitrecords Add to Cart
$8.68  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
cdgiveaways Add to Cart
$9.00  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Amazon.com Add to Cart
$13.59  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Includes (What's this?)
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Paper Monsters
 
See larger image
 

Paper Monsters [CD+DVD, Limited Edition]

Dave GahanAudio CD
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (50 customer reviews)

Price: $8.68 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 4 left in stock.
Sold by insomniacsonline and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Thursday, Oct. 23? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Amazon's Dave Gahan Store

Visit Amazon's Dave Gahan Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Paper Monsters + The Light The Dead See
Price for both: $21.66

Buy the selected items together


Music Videos by This Artist


Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 3, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2003
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: CD+DVD, Limited Edition
  • Label: Reprise
  • ASIN: B00009KTWW
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (50 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #148,655 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Dirty Sticky Floors
2. Hold On
3. A Little Piece
4. Bottle Living
5. Black & Blue Again
6. Stay
7. I Need You
8. Bitter Apple
9. Hidden Houses
10. Goodbye

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

DELUXE EDITION : File: DEPECHE MODE. 2003 debut solo album from their frontman featuring "Dirty Sticky Floors".Includes a bonus DVD

Amazon.com

The solo debut of Depeche Mode frontman David Gahan has been a long time coming, so you'd expect the album to be brimming with messy ideas formulated while Gahan was forced to sing Vince Clarke and Martin Gore songs while his own were filed away. Yet Paper Monsters is not the wild work of someone newly liberated. These songs feel as if they were written over a short period, rather than plucked from 20-year-worth of unrecorded tunes. There are basically three types of track here: powerful Depeche-style glam ("Dirty Sticky Floors," "Bottle Living"); quiet, urban mood music ("A Little Piece," "Bitter Apple," "Stay"); and rumbling industrial tracks ("Black and Blue Again," "Hidden Houses," "Goodbye"). Lyrically autobiographical, songs deal with Gahan's trouble with relationships and intoxicants and, though they lack Gore's sense of drama and perversity, they do have a maudlin charm. --Dominic Wills

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just that good... June 23, 2003
Format:Audio CD
As the singer/frontman for Depeche Mode, Dave Gahan has that same mystique that many lead singers have. Like Ian Curtis from Joy Division, or Michael Hutchence from INXS, he was a man too beautiful for words, too good a singer for the trappings of the genre he was in, and too troubled for his fans to see. The difference is...Dave Gahan survived, and now he presents us with his debut solo album to tell us about it.
"Paper Monsters" is a very personal album, with Dave giving us his account of the dangers of his past addictions and failed relationships, and how he lived through them to make it to the good place he's obviously in at this point in his life. It's an introspective album, but it's not depressing or boring. The music (which was co-written with fellow '80's survivor, Psychadelic Furs guitarist Knox Chandler) is very well thought out, a combination of ambient electronics with punchy blues guitar. Songs like "Dirty Sticky Floors," "Bottle Living," and "Black and Blue Again" sound like some edgy new style of electro-blues, with Dave giving his voice the same edge he did on Depeche Mode's "Songs of Faith and Devotion." Then there are the softer moments, like "Stay," "Hold On," "A Little Piece," and "Bitter Apple," which show just what kind of range the man has (not just vocally, but emotionally). These are the kinds of songs that stick with you. They speak volumes not just about Gahan's life, but about everybody's lives. The themes are familiar, making this music one can relate to. There's something for everybody here.
It's not Depeche Mode...there are moments that are akin to Depeche's sound, but Dave Gahan has shown himself to be a versatile singer and performer, and this album shows us his human side apart from the image he conveys in the band. It's a great album to just "chill" to.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Solo Outing With a Nice DVD. June 7, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Nearly a quarter century since the release of his band's debut, the vocalist for Depeche Mode finally decides to release his solo album. And you know what? It's actually quite good. For over 20 years, Dave Gahan was the voice of the Mode, but he never wrote so much as a note of the music he sang. Now, for the first time ever, he assumes the duty of songwriter, and with help of producer Ken Thomas (who previously worked with Sigur Ros), he comes up with "Paper Monsters." The album offers 10 tracks of guitar-laced electronica that represents a step forward from the dark synth pop of DM. The opener and debut single, "Dirty Sticky Floors" is a nice combo of drum loops, rough guitars, and Gahan's familiar moan, while "Bottle Living" sounds like a metaphor for alcoholism (Gahan himself is a recovering addict following a nasty fling with drugs back in the 1990s). As a lyricist, Gahan isn't going to make anyone forget about Martin L. Gore, but he makes particularly strong impressions on tracks like the mellowed out "I Need You" and "Black and Blue Again," a tale of a relationship gone wrong. This is an overall impressive solo release; it doesn't stray too far from his DM roots and yet it manages to present Gahan in a fresh new light. "Paper Monsters" is available in a limited edition package with a bonus DVD. As supplemental music DVDs go, this one is a nice set. There's a short documentary featuring interviews with Gahan, who discusses the making of his solo album, as well as the nice music video to the single "Dirty Sticky Floors." We also get additional backstage footage, acoustic performances of the songs "Hold On" and "A Little Piece," and a photo gallery by the brilliant Anton Corbijn. "Paper Monsters" is really a 4-star record, but I'm giving it an extra star for the DVD, which makes it an even more attractive deal for Depeche Mode fans.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is DAVE GAHAN, not DEPECHE MODE - DEAL with IT August 23, 2003
Format:Audio CD
I don't normally do reviews unless I am passionate about the subject. So Here we go. First off, This is a great album, a wonderful solo effort to show what Dave can do. IF you are looking for Depeche Mode'ish' type music, you can read as much or as little into as you have the time. He was a member of Depeche Mode for 20 years so it does have some influence on his musical style.
That said, this album gets high marks just for being different. This sounds like the work of a man at peace with his wild and tragic past, and at home with being a dad and husband. I will admit it took a few listenings to get used to it. But it is a frequent player in my CD player. I work graveyards and get to wear headphones and listen to tunes all night. It is a great CD for headphones. Dave has obviously spent alot of time and effort to come up with his own sound and style. This album overall has more slow songs then "dance" ones, but those ones really rock. The slow ones seep into your brain over time. Overall, this is one excellent CD, a great first time solo effort and I look forward to more. I was also able to catch Dave's appearance on the Jimmy Kimmel show, and he completely rocked the place. Any questions of him being able to still perform live should be put to rest now. This album is great for anyone, new to Depeche Mode or not. Give it a chance, you will like it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine differences July 17, 2003
By Seth
Format:Audio CD
It's typical that a novelist's first work be condemned to autobiography -- and that's exactly what listeners get out of Dave Gahan's solo release, Paper Monsters. A cardinal rule of writing, write what you know, these songs are raw, gritty and well-grounded. Dave is writing about his life, his struggles, his problems, and ultimately, his findings, while Martin Gore's lyrics tend to deal with life intelligently, on a conceptual and spiritual level. The difference between Dave and Martin's lyrics, you might say, is the difference between a lesson in life and wisdom. For those of you disappointed with lyrical quality of Dave's release, cherish Paper Monsters as a rare moment when a celebrated muscian lets you into the nitty-gritty of his life. This is a 300 paged biography summed up in an hour's worth of good music. And his second release, I'm confident, won't sound anything like this at all.
Musically, I'm surprised how much the music resembles Poe's second release, Haunted, than any Depeche Mode album. When I bought the album I was honestly expecting a sound akin to Songs of Faith and Devotion, Dave's favorite DM project, especially since he threatened to leave the band after touring Violator and gained artistic authority over the production of SOFAD. Not quite. I really wish he would have dug deeper into the blues -- more guitar, more drums, more harmonica -- and stayed away from the synthesizers that have encouraged comparisons to Ultra and Exciter.
Overall I give it 4 stars: 5 for the lyrics and 3 for the music. Congrats Dave. This is a mighty successful debut, I've got third row seats to see you in San Antonio and look forward to hearing more. Please keep coming back.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Like it
Big Fan of DM and David G.
I like the music
i like the beats
like like it like it
Published 14 months ago by Manuel Paulin
5.0 out of 5 stars impressed
Even without the other members with him, David Gahan holds true and rocks the house. I love this disc and listen to it often.
Published 17 months ago by Renee Maronge
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
i got this for my husband's birthday. cd jewel case was broken when we got it, but still played great.
Published 20 months ago by sapo1991
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done debut solo album by the frontman of DM
I knew I had to buy this, eventually, since I'm a huge fan of Depeche Mode, mostly due to Dave Gahan's performances, and I wanted to show my support for his solo activities. Read more
Published on December 2, 2010 by Cee Jay
3.0 out of 5 stars CD/ DVD ???????? I only got the CD
When I order this album I was expecting a CD/DVD combo but I only recieved the CD I was a little dissapointed because it was my understanding this was suppose to be a... Read more
Published on October 17, 2009 by H. Mahan
5.0 out of 5 stars David Gahan
The CD is really good and it was a plus that it came with a DVD,

I am a big Depeche Mode fan so buying Paper Monsters, I wondered if I would like it, I sure did,Its not... Read more
Published on January 31, 2006 by Ninadorie
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper Monsters (CD & DVD) ~ David Gahan
Having listened to Depeche Mode for like 25 years now. Yeah it has been 25 years since they first released their first single, I was a bit apprehensive to buy this solo effort from... Read more
Published on April 12, 2005 by Bjorn Viberg
3.0 out of 5 stars Dave Gahan still trying to be a rock star
UGH! Okay, Dave, I'm sure you don't read these reviews, but in case you happen to stumble across them on a bored evening, READ THIS: PLEASE STOP TRYING TO BE A ROCK STAR! Read more
Published on August 5, 2004 by Brutal Honesty
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
It was good, but not the best. I fully expected more than this. But, over all, it was good.
Published on March 1, 2004 by K. Frost
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! FANTASTIC CD & DVD, DEFINATELY A MUST HAVE!!!!!!!
Being a longtime Depeche Mode fan, I was a bit skeptical on what Dave Gahan would sound like going solo. Read more
Published on January 11, 2004
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category

insomniacsonline Privacy Statement insomniacsonline Shipping Information insomniacsonline Returns & Exchanges