Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Co-op fun.
This game is worth $9.99. It's sort of like Diablo/Nox/Torchlight, but with a combinatorial magic system.

I just spent the past five hours playing this game through single-player with my friend and we could not stop laughing at how ridiculous this game is (while having tons of fun!). It does not take itself seriously at all. A hilarious storyline with multiple...
Published on January 28, 2011 by Wayne

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars May not work for you
Magicka may be a great game but many users who downloaded the game cannot get the game to work. The main issue seems to be Microsoft XNA framework redistrutable. I first check my system compatibility on Steam (required for this game) before I downloaded the game. Even though I pass the system requirement test on their website, I still cannot run the game. My problem is...
Published on March 19, 2011 by Dan Ding


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Co-op fun., January 28, 2011
By 
Wayne (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
This game is worth $9.99. It's sort of like Diablo/Nox/Torchlight, but with a combinatorial magic system.

I just spent the past five hours playing this game through single-player with my friend and we could not stop laughing at how ridiculous this game is (while having tons of fun!). It does not take itself seriously at all. A hilarious storyline with multiple references to movies, games, and pop culture that grows more and more absurd as the game progresses.

There's no leveling in the single player mode and no real inventory system. You do get different wands/staffs and swords in the game. They have their own properties that help supplement the magic system mentioned below. If you're playing co-op and you die, you drop all of your equipment. Your friends can revive you with a spell, but they probably won't until they take your nice shiny equipment!

The magic system is beautifully done. You're given eight selectable elements (fire, water, cold, arcane, earth, lightning, shield, life) that can combine with each other, unless they're opposite of each other -- they cancel each other out. You're able to combine up to six of any element to create a spell (some element combos create new elements!) and they all have various forms. You get a different form from casting it on yourself, your sword, on an area, or just aiming it for a ranged attack. This leads to a lot of different combinations and possibilities with the magic system.

It also leads to a lot of WHOOPS I JUST KILLED MYSELF BY SUMMONING A FIREY METEOR BUT I JUST WANTED TO HEAL MYSELF moments. This is awesome when it is your friend who does this. It is also awesome to freeze your friend and kill him because he just picked up that wicked staff that deflects ranged attacks. There will be a lot of random hilarious moments because of the wacky magic system.

I did experience some bugs in playing this game. I received a few crash to desktops when I started the game, but none while playing through the single-player mode. We also experienced some weird parts like being able to skip several sections of a level because we accidentally blew each other up onto other areas. I'm not sure if that was intended by the developers. It looks like the developers are patching every day currently, but I haven't touched online multiplayer yet so I'm assuming that's where most of the bugs exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, and unique magic system, January 30, 2011
By 
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
I picked this up the other day, not really knowing a thing about it except it looked interesting from the screenshots. I was pleasantly surprised to find it was a very fun, and hilarious game.

The magic system has a unique mapping system where you have 5 slots to put 1 of 8 spell elements into each, and depending on the combination that you use, you get an offensive or defensive spell based on your choices. You can cast this spell either at yourself, at your enemies (as a beam/wall/fireball etc), or as an aoe spell. A lot of the fun in the game is finding combinations that work better for the situation you're in. Sometimes an arcane-lightning-steam bolt will clear a line of enemies charging at you. Other times you need to replace one of the elements with ice/water, or you can turn the spell into an AOE spell to clear everything around you.. etc etc.. There's also the magicka spells, which are combinations that do yet another type of spell when you hit the space bar after queuing up your spell. These are specific combinations that you learn from books lying around in (sometimes) hidden areas, and usually are more powerful than a regular spell.

The humor is very gamer/movie culture humor and it pulls it off perfectly. I loved the references. Some are more subtle than others, so everyone will find at least some of them. The voice acting brings some of the humor since the text that you are reading is english, but they have this funny gibberish language they are speaking.

The only downside to this game is the (lack of?) multiplayer. They obviously made some of the encounters with multiplayer in mind (without spoiling anything, one of the final bosses took me 30-45 mins of retrying since I was solo, but it made a great challenge), and npcs are constantly referring to you as "wizards". The multiplayer supposedly works if you are on a LAN, but I couldn't get a game to start with any of my friends over the 'net. From what I know, they are currently working out some bugs on it, and this didn't detract any of the fun from the game for me.

UPDATE: They've fixed all the issues I was having initially with multiplayer and it works great now!

I had more fun and game time in this one than a lot of 50-60$ games, so it's well worth the money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the $10, April 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
Magicka is a game filled with zany fun and nerdy references. The over-arching type is adventure in the Diablo vein, but instead of being loot/spam focused, it's focused on using certain combinations of elements to create powerful spells. The gameplay takes a bit of getting used to, but once you do it's a uniquely fun and satisfying experience.

The biggest plus (or minus) is that the game is most fun (read as "only fun") in multiplayer. There's an online game hosting system, but no dedicated servers, so in online play, lag is somewhat of an issue, but that's almost completely negated by how fun it is. Friendly fire is on, so it can lead to hilarious situations where you "accidently" kill your teammates with a giant death spell that wipes out all the enemies along with them. There's no death penalty and revival is easy. Unfortunately this also leads to griefing in online games which is very uncommon but nonetheless annoying.

The biggest downside is that it released with a large number of bugs and still has a few of them. There are places where the game crashes or takes 10x longer on a loading screen than normal. Add to it sometimes you can get blasted through terrain or get stuck and you have a recipe for frustration. Every update is solving more and more issues, so eventually this won't be a big deal, but whoever tells you they've completely fixed the bugs in this game is lying.

If you have patience and friends, this is probably the best multiplayer game you'll find in a long time. If you're looking for single player, don't like nerd referential humor, or aren't willing to learn the unique combat system, pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars May not work for you, March 19, 2011
By 
Dan Ding "Dandingo" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
Magicka may be a great game but many users who downloaded the game cannot get the game to work. The main issue seems to be Microsoft XNA framework redistrutable. I first check my system compatibility on Steam (required for this game) before I downloaded the game. Even though I pass the system requirement test on their website, I still cannot run the game. My problem is not an isolated incident. Many people on Steam's forum all have the same problem and no solution is available at this time.

Please be advised before wasting $10 on something that doesn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should be more popular, September 20, 2011
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
this game flew way under the radar. ive never bought or played an indie game before but i gave this one a shot and it was well worth my time. i got the game and all the dlc for 6 something during a sale on steam so maybe look for a good deal like that, but the game is awesome and chaotic and even more so when you have your friends playing with you.

BUY IT, LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Fun, March 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
The controls take a little getting used to, but this game is challenging, addictive and has a great sense of humor. It's fun to just mess around and blow stuff up (or yourself up - depending on your spells), or take it more seriously. No matter your way of playing, it seems that Magicka is intuitive enough to follow your plan.

It's a great game for an awesome price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great little game! (Despite the problems), January 26, 2011
By 
C. Sublett (Virginia Beach, VA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
I'm pleasantly surprised. :)

Although the production values don't match a big budget title like Mass Effect 2, this is a very solid little game.

Attractive graphics, innovative play mechanics, decent interface, a sense of humor and just the right "vibe" makes for a hell of a bargain at 10$, especially if the devs fix the problems and multiplayer becomes truly viable.

At first glace, this might appear to be a Diablo/Torchlight clone, but beyond the barest game mechanics, it's truly something different.

I see the foundation of an absolutely AMAZING game series here... don't get me wrong, this a GREAT start and worthy of purchase, but I'm truly excited about the possible additions through DLC or sequels.

This could be the start of a truly special franchise.

Bring on Magicka II!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magicka: Great game just short of Wizarding greatness!, September 18, 2011
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
This is an amazingly fun, engaging, and creative game. I've never played any other game that's quite given me the feeling of being a wizard. Knowledge and cunning much more so than strength and speed are the keys to victory. One can just have a great deal of fun experimenting with the many different combinations of spells that can be achieved. For every spell, there's also the ability to cast it on enemies, on yourself, as an area effect, or on your weapon. Certain spell types are also much better against different types of enemies en masse or solo. This makes countless ways to creatively combine certain elements to cast in the right combinations at the right times.

I love the game and the concept, but unfortunately the game slows down and lags quite a bit. This definitely takes away from the overall experience. Overall, Magicka is a great concept but the technical difficulties encountered bring it short of greatness. It has a four player cooperative mode that is quite fun, but again technical issues crop up to prevent it from being the great experience that it should be! If pandora builds on this game and address the technical difficulties I will be very excited for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice game, September 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
I tried the demo a while back and thought it was "OK" but had some problem getting used to the configuration. Great deal here today so I went ahead and bought it when I saw it supported the 360 controller. I played the first level with the controller and then changed to the keyboard. The game is, well, just barely playable with a controller because you can't be fast enough when the battles get hairy, IMO. With a keyboard it plays beautifully. Lots of fun, but it DOES take some time to get used to the controls.

My only major complaint (other than the tedious 360 controller controls for spells) is the save system. There are pretty frequent checkpoints, but if you quit the game within a level, you will have to play the entire level over again as it only "saves" when you finish a level.

Overall, a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Fun Multiplayer - Not So Much Solo, April 21, 2011
This review is from: Magicka [Download] (Software Download)
I actually bought this title directly through Steam (which is required to play, as other reviewers have mentioned). My first time playing it was online with a friend of mine. The multiplayer on this game is hilarious and full of plenty of entertainment. It's the exact same storyline, only with up to four people online at a time. The thing to remember as you are playing online is that in this game, magic doesn't care who you are... if it's meant to deal a certain type of damage (or even heal), it's going to do that whether it hits friend or foe. Trying to play this game solo is just asking for cramped hands and a headache from banging your head on the desk as you die over and over again.

The real beauty of this game (besides its extremely simple interface and small install size) is the true complexity of the spell structure. You are given eight elements that you can combine together to cast a variety of spells. Each spell you cast can be cast in one of four ways: enchant your weapon (shift+left click), standard cast (right click), cast on self (careful! middle click), and area effect (careful! shift+right click). There are certain rules to follow when casting as well, for instance, opposing elements will cancel each other out, so you can't combine electricity and earth into a single spell. You can combine to elements to make a new element (fire + water = steam), which can then be used in other spell combinations. Finally, there are a series of special spells you can learn that are cast by combining elements in the right order and pressing space bar.

All in all, the game is great. It's filled with humor both from the story and dialogue and the many many times that you end up killing each other because you accidentally cast the wrong spells at the same time. There are comical references to all your favorite geeky titles over time (don't cross the streams?) and those alone are often enough to leave you in tears from laughter.

4/5 due to the excessively difficult solo campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Magicka [Download]
Magicka [Download] by Paradox Interactive
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.