Customer Reviews


1,125 Reviews
5 star:
 (945)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Show
I enjoyed this show right from the beginning, but as each episode aired I fell more and more in love. The writing is intelligent and incredibly full of depth - the characters in this family have been developed in such a way that I honestly feel like I know them in real life . . . they mirror such traits that are so often found in everyone's family. The acting is...
Published on June 23, 2010 by ShopGirl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but gets better
First season a little slow, but good development. Towards the end of the season the entertainment picked up. Season two gets better.
Published 12 months ago by Kat Auer


‹ Previous | 1 2113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Show, June 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parenthood: Season 1 (DVD)
I enjoyed this show right from the beginning, but as each episode aired I fell more and more in love. The writing is intelligent and incredibly full of depth - the characters in this family have been developed in such a way that I honestly feel like I know them in real life . . . they mirror such traits that are so often found in everyone's family. The acting is absolutely top-notch. Peter Krause and Lauren Graham shine in every episode and do a nice job of anchoring as the oldest siblings. The younger two siblings, played by Dax Shepard and Erika Christensen, also give surprisingly poignant, and often hilarious, performances. As if that weren't enough, add in Monica Potter, Craig T. Nelson, Mae Whitman, and Bonnie Bedelia to perfectly round out the cast. One of my favorite things about this show is how it has lovely balance of drama and humor. Just as in real life, the most heart-wrenching of dilemmas will be quickly followed by a hilarious quip (usually perfectly delivered by Lauren or Dax) that instantly takes the viewer from tears to laughs. This is scripted family drama done to perfection. Also, the look and feel of the show is simply gorgeous - kudos to the set designers. I very much appreciate the journey I have taken with the Bravermans during these thirteen episodes, for I have very much come to care for this fictional family, and cannot wait for season 2 to begin in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath Of Fresh Air, September 4, 2010
This review is from: Parenthood: Season 1 (DVD)
Parenthood swept onto the airwaves mid-season this past year and filled in a void on television. As the title of my review says, the show was a real breath of fresh air. I have never been one for procedurals and doctors and lawyers, and we get a lot of that on network TV. So, it was nice to see a family show come on that was just about people. It's not flashy, or gimmicky, or trying to be hip and edgy(which most other shows fall all over themselves trying to be and end up looking and feeling like everything else). Given it's pedigree (coming from a wonderful 1989 hit film and a cute 1990-91 series)from executive producers Ron Howard, Lowell Ganz, and Babaloo Mandel, it had a lot going for it. So, let's jump right in....

The series is not about the same family in the 1989 movie or previous series. It's a whole new family. They are the Bravermans, and they reside in Berkley, California. The patriarchs of the family are Zeek and Camille Braverman(Craig T. Nelson, Bonnie Bedelia), and the family extends to their four grown kids and their families. The oldest is Adam(Six Feet Under's Peter Krause), married to Kristina(Monica Potter), and has 2 kids, Haddie and Max. Next up is Sarah(Gilmore Girls' Lauren Graham), who is a single mother to two teenage kids, Amber(Mae Whitman)and Drew. Next is Crosby(Dax Shepard), a single guy working in the music business who has a girlfriend and lives on a houseboat. And lastly, there is the youngest of the four, Julia(Erika Christensen), a lawyer, who is married to stay at home dad Joel, and has a little girl named Sydney.

Because it was a mid season show, the first season consists of only 13 episodes, instead of the usual 22 or so. Still, season 1 packs a lot into the shorter seasons. I won't go into detail for every episode, but here are some of the stuff you can expect in the Braverman's debut season. The "Pilot" episode establishes the setting and the characters, including Sarah's return home(and moving in with her parents with her kids), and Crosby learning he has a son he never knew from a previous relationship. Episode 2 is "Man Versus Possum", an episode that has Adam and Kristina coming to terms with the fact their son Max has Asperger's Syndrome, Autism, and all that details. It's a strong storyline and is a major focus all year long. Sarah is also job hunting in this episode. Episode 4, "Wassup", is the season's first really great episode, with Adam and Kristina going out of their way to find out about their daughter Haddie's secret relationship. It gets very comical elsewhere when Sarah(and then others)try to deal with Drew becoming "a man". Jason Ritter begins a guest arc in episode 5, "The Situation", playing Amber's teacher, who strikes a chord with Sarah. Julia and Joel fear Sydney may have Asperger's in episode 8, "Rubber Band Ball", where Adam learns of a financial situation his father is in. Sarah learns of her father's situation in episode 10, "Namaste No More". A 3 episode arc begins when Amber betrays Haddies in episode 11, "Solace". The last two episodes of the season, "Team Braverman" and "Lost And Found" continue to deal with the two cousins' fallout, as well as Crosby's future with his son, and the Braverman patriarchs' problems. There is much more here, but that would be spoiling.

Season one of "Parenthood" is a delight. The "Pilot" episode was a strong debut, but it was a little unsure of what it was. While the 1989 movie had no problem balancing the delicate act of comedy, drama, and family dynamics, the pilot isn't quite as assured as you hoped. A little more on the drama than the comedy. Thankfully, it gets better and becomes stronger and more sure of itself with episode 2. From there, the show grows and becomes it's own thing. It wonderfully balances the daily lives and schedules of a family, with the right helpings of drama, heart, warmth, and humor. It doesn't hurt that the writing is great, but it would be nothing if it didn't have the right cast bringing it to life. The cast is wonderful. Each character is their own person and the actors bring each to life with his or her own personality. Not surprisingly, Krause and Graham are the stand outs, but it must be said that Dax Shepard is the biggest surprise out of the cast. He is funny, but deals with his newfound parenthood with a lot of heart and honesty. Seriously, everyone here is great. One of the best casts currently on TV.

"Parenthood" is a wonderful show. Season 1 was a winner and great way to be introduced to the large Braverman clan. I can't wait for season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great show, August 29, 2010
By 
This review is from: Parenthood: Season 1 (DVD)
This is one of the best shows on TV. Real-life drama that gets to your heart because it's stuff that actually happens in real life. You'll find yourself relating to these characters and yearning to find out what is going to happen next. Add in the subtle humor, great videography and there's not much more you need in a TV show. The actors/actresses all do a beautiful job in playing their parts. Can't wait to see what comes next in Parenthood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the pulse of the American family, September 12, 2010
By 
BJ "bj" (Natick, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parenthood: Season 1 (DVD)
I hate sappy dramas like Brothers and Sisters with ridiculous plot lines, but this series is a breath of fresh air, and deals with real life issues and interpersonal relationships. It's a perfect balance of drama and humor, with characters both multi-dimensional and complex. It shows the daily struggles and triumphs of families today, with issues ranging from school girl bullying, single motherhood, Asperger's Syndrome, and more. The writing is smart and witty, and the actors are extremely talented at portraying the complexities of their characters. They are all outstanding but most notable are Amber Holt (played by Mae Whitman), Max Braverman (played by Max Burkholder), and Adam Braverman (played by Peter Krause).

I think this is one of the smartest shows on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A family drama that people should watch, December 8, 2011
In the 90's there were a hundred family drama's. Then in the 2000's we started coming out with the new aged drama's but drama along was never enough. Everyone had to be doctor's or family had to be running for office, people had to sell drugs or some other crud. All of those shows while good, focused more on topics that don't relate to the everyday person. Enter Parenthood. A show I avoided watching just because I hated Six Feet Under so much and Peter Krause was in that show as well.
Having watched both Season's 1 and 2 I can't name another "regular" television show I like more. While sure I love Game of Thrones and Dexter. Breaking Bad entertains me but it's not very relatable to the common person.
Again, Parenthood is perfect. I don't feel is strongly about the show as another reviewer who said, "If this show goes off the air I will literally no longer exist." But, I can say I really really like the show. I'd be said, but I'd go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO glad I gave it a chance, October 13, 2012
By 
Rosie (California) - See all my reviews
When Parenthood first came out, I wanted to watch, but real-life got in the way. I had been a fan of other family-centered comedy/dramas of the past (thirtysomething, Once & Again, Gilmore Girls) and had been yearning for something similar for years, something with intelligent writing, great acting, and realistic scenarios. But I watched only some of the pilot and none of the rest of the series. After all, who has time to sit down to an hour-long show these days?

When I saw the show pop up on Amazon Prime, I gave it a shot--and I'm so happy I did. This is one of the most intelligent, realistic, and heartwarming shows in a long time. When I finish with one episode, I can't wait to see what happens next.

All the actors are terrific, from crotchety Craig T. Nelson to the youngest members of the clan. (Someone did an incredible job with casting!) Every character is well thought out and multidimensional. The writing is so realistic. People talk over one another, there are multiple conversations going on at once--it's even more realistic than some of the so-called reality shows on the air.

Parenthood is a real-life drama that's a huge break from real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A family-themed show that has grown on me, January 7, 2012
I only started watching Parenthood because Lauren Graham, one of my favorite TV actors (from her days on Gilmore Girls) was in it. The show's storyline which is based on the Braverman family, explores the dynamics of being part of a large extended family, single parenting, teen angst, and marital difficulties. Also, this is one of the few shows on television that explores what it is like to have a special needs child. The storyline each week is interesting, keeps viewers engaged, and the acting by the ensemble cast has grown from strength to strength.

Craig T. Nelson plays Zeke, the patriarch of the Braverman clan, who is married to sweet and gentle Camille (Bonnie Bedelia). The couple have four adult children - Adam (Peter Krause, one of my favorite actors in this show), Sarah (Lauren Graham), Erika Christensen (Julia), and Crosby (Dax Shepard). Adam is a senior executive at a shoe manufacturing company and is married to housewife Kristina (Monica Potter) and they have a teenage daughter and a young son. Sarah is the 'problem child' who married young, moved away, and then gets divorced and moves back into her parents' home with her two teenage children, Amber (Mae Whitman) and Drew. Sarah has her own set of problems - can't seem to find a job that really brings out her potential, isn't sure what exactly she's meant to do, and her teenage daughter Amber is quite a handful in this first season. Then there's high achiever Julia, who is a hot-shot attorney, married to a building contractor turned stay-at-home dad, Joel Graham (Sam Yaeger), and they have a precocious young daughter. Finally, the youngest in the family is carefree, wild child Crosby, who lives on a houseboat and to his great surprise discovers that he has a biological son, Jabbar (Tyree Brown) from a relationship years ago with beautiful Jasmine (Joy Bryant).

Over this first season, the Braverman family go through ups and downs - the older Bravermans find their marriage hitting rock bottom; Sarah finds herself searching for some form of identity while trying to be a responsible parent; Adam and Kristina face some true challenges when they discover that their young son may be autistic and have Asperger's Syndrome; and Crosby tries to come to terms with his new role as father.

The stories play out well, and mostly don't come across as contrived. The ensemble cast does a wonderful job, especially Nelson, Bedelia, Krause, Graham, and Potter. It is such a refreshing change from all the trashy reality TV that passes off as TV programming these days. I'm still a fan after three seasons, and look forward to another great season with the Bravermans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parenthood - helpful, funny, reassuring, November 6, 2013
This review is from: Parenthood Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Best tv series I've ever watched! I can relate to so much and still it's full of surprises. The baseline is this quirky, supportive, loving family who struggle to find time for all the things that really matter. You know, just like we all do. But the struggles are deep and important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parenthood Season 1, February 13, 2013
I usually only review top or bottom stuff. Parenthood is just a rare delight... funny, genuinely honest, but a great teacher for families of all ages who don't mind learning from a wonderful real-life drama. My best recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 episodes and I'm hooked!, January 13, 2014
This review is from: Parenthood Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
It may take you a few episodes...but you quickly get so wrapped up in the lives of these characters. I can't stop watching it! It's my new favorite show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.