Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIX STARS IF I COULD....
I was shopping for some cards the other day and heard delightful music and a Frenchman's lilting voice singing playing the store - followed by an equally gorgeous woman's voice singing French pop. I lingered through about 5 songs, long enough to know I NEEDED this CD. There is not one cut on this expertly chosen collection that is not fantastically melodic and...
Published on September 20, 2006 by R. Penola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good background soundtrack
It's a nice little soundtrack to listen to while sipping champagne and eating Brie. Some were not to my liking, but most were pleasant.
Published on December 28, 2012 by Pamela Samuels


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIX STARS IF I COULD...., September 20, 2006
By 
R. Penola (NYC, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
I was shopping for some cards the other day and heard delightful music and a Frenchman's lilting voice singing playing the store - followed by an equally gorgeous woman's voice singing French pop. I lingered through about 5 songs, long enough to know I NEEDED this CD. There is not one cut on this expertly chosen collection that is not fantastically melodic and beautiful, and all of the artists are great. And you will have no problem translating the French into something emotional - warmly appealing - even if, like me, you can't speak a word of it. I love this album and have listened to it several times every day since I bought it. Now I'm planning a trip to Paris...as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nouvelle French Chanson Thrives in the Global Village, May 21, 2006
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
As a sequel of sorts to last year's catchy throwback to French chanson, "French Cafe", a new collection of cafe-style chansons has been released by the world music label Putumayo but this time solely with contemporary singers inspired by the likes of Serge Gainsbourg and Edith Piaf - a movement called appropriately "nouvelle chanson". The result is pleasing and sometimes quite luminous but often lacking the wine-soaked gravitas of the original artists from the 1950's and 60's. As compensation, these artists seem to embrace the world music scene with enthusiasm as they easily incorporate sounds that would seem at odds with the Gallic-centric music.

On "Au Cafe de la Paix", Thomas Fersen starts things off with a deceptively buoyant tune that describes a man waiting at a cafe for a woman who never comes. Coralie Clement brings a Brazilian bossa nova backbeat to "Samba de Mon Coeur Qui Bat", as Pascal Parisot does similarly to his ennui-filled "Je Reste Au Lit", which sounds like it would fit right in on the Riviera circa 1965. A nice gypsy jazz feel pervades both Karpatt's "Dites Moi Tu" featuring guest singer Fleur, and Paris Combo's "Lettre A P...", a downbeat waltz with an effectively muted trumpet underlining singer Belle du Berry. Cara Bruni's folkish "Quelqu'un M'a Dit" is a high point with her breathless lyrics wafting over a strumming acoustic guitar.

Global vibes abound with Keren Ann, who lends a darker, Latin-tinged tone to "Jardin D'Hiver", and Myrtille, who seems to bring a whole third world beat to "Les Pages". Sounding like a Gallic version of Men at Work, Tryo performs "Serre-Moi" with jaunty fervor. There are a couple of songs that border on the strange. Preque Oui's "L'ongle (The Fingernail)" is an odd little track about the personal remnants lovers leave behind, while the circus has apparently come to town in Amelie-Les-Crayons' "Ta P'tite Flamme" with a sad accordion accompanying her forlorn vocal. Aldebert ends the disc with the hopeful, country-twanged "Carpe Diem". It's quite a hodgepodge but one that works well together as a collection, providing ample proof that French chanson is here to stay. As with "French Cafe", Putumayo has included an informative booklet that gives a thumbnail sketch of each artist and describes the genesis of each song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool and seductive., March 10, 2007
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
Why is it so easy to sound cool and seductive when singing in French? The language seems to demand a dulcet, husky singing voice that implies the song was composed, practiced and recorded in a bed.

Packed with some of the best, chilled French café songs of the moment, Paris is this summer's essential for barbeques, soirées, dinner parties or possibly just for those hot nights in.

From Coralie Clément singing seductively about the "Samba de Mon Coeur Qui Bat" to the equally seductive Carla Bruni's "Quelqu'un M'a Dit", Keren Ann's "Jardin d'Hiver" -- which she whispers rather than sings -- and Karpatt's caressed and tapped acoustic guitar, this is a compilation of class and smooth charm.

While Paris recalls the heyday of French chanson it is a thoroughly modern mix from the nouvelle scène. It's entirely easy listening -- nothing from the outer reaches of French culture here.

Part of the proceeds from each CD sold goes to Terre des Hommes, who support disadvantaged children around the world, so you can feel good about your purchase while humming along to the catchy tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the Putumayo series, June 21, 2008
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
PARIS is the first compilation in the Putumayo series that I really took a shine to. The first cd in the series I heard was ARABIC GROOVE earlier this year but I was bored with it. It wasn't until the PARIS compilation did I realize how great Putumayo series is.

PARIS is a delightful compilation of Parisian music from the Nouvelle Scene (new scene). When I listen to the cd, I feel like I am sitting outside of a Parisian cafe. The music is very mellow. It is a mix of folk and pop with a French twist. Although I do not understand the French language, I nevertheless love listening to the language the artists sings in. One of my personal favorite songs on the album is "Quelqu'un M'a Dit" by Carla Bruni, the latest wife of France's president. Normally I get turned off when models try to sing (or act) but with Carla she surprised me by showing that she is more than a capable artist. I also enjoyed the songs by Coralie Clement and Aldebert in particular. There is not a single track on the album that I didn't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary Cafe, April 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
How fun is this? Contemporary groups doing cafe music in the "apres la guerre" style. Loved this album.
I'm a French-American gal and speak fluent French, but you don't have to to enjoy this CD.
Put it on, have a cafe, and simply pretend you are in Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection, November 20, 2008
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
This CD includes a great mix of cafe style french music. Its a relaxed and eclectic compilation of modern, alternative artists. I like literally every song on this mix, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a mini-vacation, January 7, 2009
By 
Lori (Hopewell, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
One of the best things about Putamayo is that when you listen to their selection of music you are transported in space right to the locale they are recording. Paris is a wonderful collection of cafe style music that makes you want to sip your cafe au lait and savor a delectable croissant, even in the middle of a Jersey winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing CD, October 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
I have listened to this CD so much- it is the best Putumayo CD by far. It has the most gorgeous jazzy pop songs from Paris. My kids love it too. We've listened to it on road trips for hours on end because it was so much better than any other CDs. You have to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Francais', October 1, 2008
By 
George John (Melbourne,Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
The wife hasn't taken it out of the CD player yet.
I guess it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The hottest music from france?, May 4, 2006
By 
aquabella (new york city) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paris (Audio CD)
After reading the editorial review, I had to laugh. The hottest new musical movements around the world are many, and these movements occur in regions all over the globe.

The hottest musical movement in France, is the new electro funk, jazz, and pop, rock that comes from new artists like Daft Punk, Air, Alex Kid, St Germain, Phoenix, Terrasse Tranquille, Molecule, Oscar, Bob Sinclair, etc. I mean come on, the french chanson is nice and sweet but is not some hot new musical movement. Vive Edith Piaf! But, lets not forget the real new musical movement that is happening in France. Check out Paris under a groove, or paris lounge for a reference. enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Paris
Paris by Putumayo Presents (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.