Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, But Not Jenga
Jenga this game is not, but it is still fun. I suppose the creators went with the Jenga brand because they thought it would sell better, but I believe that may have hurt them in the long run because people want to compare this game to the classic. There are a few issues that I'd like to address relating to this game.

1) I've seen a lot of complaints about...
Published on May 16, 2011 by J. Jarrett

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just doesn't work
Great idea, in theory. However it does not work well at all, some pieces connect while others will not connect at all. You really can't even play it like that. Returned after 5 minutes. I was really excited because I love the old Jenga, but this is super frustrating.
Published on August 28, 2009 by A. Burningham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just doesn't work, August 28, 2009
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
Great idea, in theory. However it does not work well at all, some pieces connect while others will not connect at all. You really can't even play it like that. Returned after 5 minutes. I was really excited because I love the old Jenga, but this is super frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fun at all!!!!!, December 19, 2009
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
My eight year-old son got this for Christmas from a friend. I suggested that he take it back and buy something else, but he thought the picture on the box made it look fun. We played it for about five minutes and both thought it was a terrible game. He couldn't hang the pieces wihtout making others fall off, which made him very frustrated. I thought it was too easy and was bored with it quickly. The whole thing is made out of cheap plastic. I never leave reviews but I think this game is so awful that I didn't want anyone else to make the mistake of buying it! Regular Jenga is a significantly better game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, But Not Jenga, May 16, 2011
By 
J. Jarrett (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
Jenga this game is not, but it is still fun. I suppose the creators went with the Jenga brand because they thought it would sell better, but I believe that may have hurt them in the long run because people want to compare this game to the classic. There are a few issues that I'd like to address relating to this game.

1) I've seen a lot of complaints about the durability of this game. My six year old son and I have played numerous games and have had no issues with the durability of the pieces. All of the pieces are made of plastic, but by todays standards, they're of decent quality and fit together and come apart easily.

2) A lot of people have also complained that the game pieces don't fit together well or fit too loosely. Part of the strategy of this game is using the weight of the pieces to hold the pieces together. Another part of the strategy is learning how and where to build so that the weight of a new piece doesn't cause old pieces to shift and fall off or bring the game down. While my son struggled with this the first few games, he quickly caught on and now loves the game and often plays on his own to see how long he can build the arms.

3) A lot of people also complain that the game is "too easy" to win. While I do wish that they had included about 10-15 more pieces (really, how expensive could that have been to do?), there is no "winning" the game. If you manage to get all of the pieces in place, than the rules state that the next step is to remove one piece from either of the two shortest arms and place it on one of the other arms. By doing this, it really is only a matter of time until someone loses, and it's another depth to the playability of the game.

This game requires no batteries and can be ready to play or cleaned up in literally two minutes. A game can last anywhere from a couple of minutes to five or more minutes and can be ready to go for the next round of play in seconds. There is no complex setup like the original Jenga or obscure rules like many board games, making it a good (but not perfect) game for a 4-10 year old with a short attention span and developing dexterity. It won't replace the original Jenga on your list of party games, but it isn't a complete miss as some have claimed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much worse than old Jenga, September 29, 2009
By 
Ali Qamer (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
I played it couple of times. It really is not that much fun. The structure is held up by a magnet and there is really no way of knowing when the additional block will cause it to fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Executed., December 29, 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
The Good:
- It is an interesting concept in that you get to build potentially different designs
- Magnets are involved (it acts as the 'adhesive' that drops all the pieces when under too much weight posturing on any given side), those are always entertaining to the children
- The pieces are colorful
- The base is fairly well-made despite being a simple plastic construction

The Bad:
- The pieces that attach to each other to develop the designs do not connect poorly, in that the connectors are too wide. More often than not you will find that the pieces will fall apart just after a few turns.
- Due to the poor connectors on the pieces, if there is any length whatsoever (i.e. 3 linkages or more), the line will be highly susceptible to swaying, and oftentimes it will sway onto a piece of the base structure and rest upon, which is against the game's rules.
- Generally speaking, it fails to hold the attention of the young, and frustrates the old as the pieces keep falling off due to the poor plastic connector build rather than the 'fun way' of having the magnet dropping.

The Ugly:
- This game is a shining example of poor execution of a concept that may have otherwise resulted in a great family game.
- This has been one of the poorest games made by Parker Brothers, hands down. It is not a functioning game by any standard, and as such should not even be released in its current form.
- I personally could not recommend this game to any other individual, not even as a giveaway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to play, May 5, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
I bought this for my 13 year old and I to play yesterday, and it was fun! It's not the best game I have ever played, but it was different and it allowed my son and I to joke around about who was going to make it fall next, which in the end is my favorite part of any game, being able to interact with my kids instead of them being parked in front of the computer or some video game. One other thing I liked about this game was the ability to expand the pieces into different shapes and directions, instead of the typical "boxy" play of the regular Jenga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jenga Max is awesome!, January 8, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
Jenga Max is a blast. Within a few turns crazy arms begin to stem out from the magnetic center, each creating a challenge for players. This is Jenga, so balance and structural integrity are key, but the difference is the players are building as they go along. Tons of fun and a real challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major Fail!, December 29, 2009
By 
Nuknuk (Springfield, VA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
We got this as a gift and got the kids excited at first. Same as Jenga, whoever put the last piece before the tower falls loses. The top of the tower where you attach the pieces are held magnetically on top. Pieces are falling even just in the beginning of the game. The game literature instruction tells you that all you have to do is to place again the pieces that fall prematurely. But that does not happen once or twice in the game; it happens all the time, very frustrating. There are 36 pieces to hang, even if you put all of them, the magnet is too strong that the tower will not fall. So, what's the point? This toy just does not work. Why this game passes production phase puzzled me.

Everybody knows Jenga, a classic, simple and exciting game that uses rectangular blocks of wood or plastic. Jenga is a great game, but this game that carries its name is a black sheep in the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very much fun, December 12, 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
The concept of the game looked neat initially but unfortunately it just wasn't much fun at all. All of the pieces went on easily with no real challenge to it. Now what? Well, the instructions tell you that if you are able to get all of the pieces on without it falling then you can begin taking each piece off. Well, what fun is that? We simply didn't like it. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New twist, July 27, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parker Brothers Jenga Max (Toy)
This is a fairly fun game. It reminds me of Jumping monkeys where the little monkeys have to hang on in order to win the game. Not sure if it is an improvement of the classic, but it is something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Parker Brothers Jenga Max
Parker Brothers Jenga Max by Parker Brothers
$21.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.