Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book, April 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Editor Haun Saussy has done a fine job of organizing this collection of some of Paul Farmer's diverse publications, placing the articles in contexts which will enhance the reader's appreciation. However, a reader could open "Partners to the Poor" at random, start reading and be inspired by Farmer's perspectives. Farmer's unique intelligence, deep morality and sharp humor are expressed on nearly every page. Moreover, the reader will want to know more, through Farmer's thoughts on the subsequent pages and through the reader's own reinvigorated thinking.

Paul Farmer connects material and ideas from scientific, medical, sociological, anthropological, and literary fields, and from personal and professional experience on several continents over several decades, always privileging the perspectives of the poor thereby providing many fresh ways for readers to understand the relationship between the rich world and the poor world. And Farmer provides the reader with new ways to think about reducing inequalities between those two worlds.

Many topics and descriptions of Farmer's patients' lives are heart-rending, but one also emerges joyful to be a human after being in Paul Farmer's written presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Partner to the poor, April 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
This will be a short review, but as reviews are lacking for this new collection I thought I would throw in my two cents. This volume is fantastic as an introduction to Paul Farmer. It is comprehensive and less repetetive than some of his other published volumes (although there is still overlap in cases examples from work to work). The thematic sections greatly aid scholarship. Introductions to the sections and revision of many chapters make for a very solid volume. Recommend for any person in the medical profession and especially those interested in global, development, human rights, international law, or international policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multidisciplinary Approachs to Understanding and Ending Poverty Work, November 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
If you want a multidisciplinary approach to poverty from an anthropologist who is also an physician than this is the book for you. Farmer covers history, gender, medical diagnosis, food insecurity, religion, politics in both a professional/academic manner and with wonderful stories and biographies of those whom he has worked with and treated. This is a long read and the pages are packed with information. I made notes in both the front and back of my book with particular regards to the effects of poverty/sexism on women, Paul Farmer and his organization Partners in Health and general poverty/political/historical facts primarily from Haiti but also from other diverse places. I also know much more about the interaction of various diseases of the poor (HIV, TB, malaria). You will also learn how US and European colonialism have stripped countries like Haiti and Africa of their ability to be self-sufficient and continue to do so today.

If you are working in the developing world then you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars partner to the poor, August 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
A very interesting and informative book Very accessible. A great companion piece to read after Mountains beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder. I found it compelling and inspiring. Made me go and give to Partners to the Poor before I even got into the meat of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice selection of his work., February 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
Paul Farmer's work is extraordinary and inspiring, and this collection of his work is great, especially for those in Public Health/International medicine. For those who enjoyed Kidder's biography and want to know more, beware--Dr. Farmer's writing style is not an easy read. Sometimes the sentences are so convoluted and dense I read them out to my husband for a laugh! Still I enjoy having it on my shelf at work (HIV prevention health scientist) for a quick inspiration-escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, June 30, 2011
By 
Fiona Post (Würzburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
This book brings to life realities of the multifaceted problem of health. Not only the way health is experienced and interpreted, but the complexities and determinants of health. It throws a much needed challenge to political processes underlying many of the health related problems facing marginalized groups. But most importantly ... it is easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Farmer Rocks, May 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
I think this is an excellent anthology of his writings. I had read several of his books before and this is an excellent place to read excerpts and parts of his books through the years. If anyone wants to learn about Haiti I think Paul Farmer is amazing (for any non-local). Why his writings are so valuable is he shows how complex Haiti (or almost any society) is. One cannot address just one aspect of a society needing help, unless you address the underlying causes. He debunks myths. . So far everything I have seen through him and Partners in Health he is one hugely compassionate and educated people. Who (so far) does not have a swelled head. If you are interested in Haiti read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great anthology of writings by a great role model, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've known and admired Paul Farmer as a colleague for over 25 years, and having so many of his important writings in one place is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing man, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't finished this yet --its a bit lengthy. It was amazing stories of Dr Farmer's travels. I highly recommend to any healthcare providers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Med-school stepdaughter, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader (Paperback)
This was one of several "heavy" books my stepdaughter asked for for Christmas. She was thrilled to get a used copy, as she and I share a love for real used books...the ultimate in recycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader
Partner to the Poor: A Paul Farmer Reader by Paul Farmer (Paperback - April 21, 2010)
$33.95 $29.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.