Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Partners on DVD
Partners
I saw this move when it was first released in cinemas in the early 1980s. It was funny then and its humour is just as funny now. Many people lampoon it because it supposedly makes fun of gay men. In reality all it is doing is using a stereotype and making a point. A wonderful movie I am glad I purchased because now I can watch it over and over again and...
Published on September 25, 2008 by D. Keys

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Partners-silly 80's movie
I had a good laugh watching Ryan O'Neal and John Hurt stumble through this one. I hadn't seen it since it's original release in the early 80's. Could be taken as homophobic, but I just thought it was silly. I'm gay and I wasn't particularly offended. Worth a chuckle.
Published on April 15, 2010 by Marie A. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Partners on DVD, September 25, 2008
By 
D. Keys (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
Partners
I saw this move when it was first released in cinemas in the early 1980s. It was funny then and its humour is just as funny now. Many people lampoon it because it supposedly makes fun of gay men. In reality all it is doing is using a stereotype and making a point. A wonderful movie I am glad I purchased because now I can watch it over and over again and enjoy its humour and how it brings a smile and laugh to my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars movie buyer with varied interest, November 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
This one is a real sleeper. If you have not seen Partners you have missed out on some great entertainment. John Hurt is as usual and shows he is unsurpassed with his acting ability. You really feel the sense of emotion he shares on screen. Ryan O'Neal should count this as one of his best performances although I read somewhere where he was embarrassed to make this film. He should boast about the way his body looked best in this film as compared to his other films. This movie is a classic. I would recommend to anyone. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Partner Crime Thriller with Wit and a Twist, September 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
This is a great thriller/comedy from the man who brought you "La Cage Aux Folles." John Hurt is wondrously understated and Ryan O'Neal has never been better or more sincere. I'm so glad it's on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeling a bit light in the holster?, November 22, 2010
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
PARTNERS (1982) is a movie I'd never heard of, let alone seen any part of, but it's a fun "gay cop" comedy, in a way you'd never expect. Ryan O'Neal is Sgt. Benson, assigned to go undercover to catch a serial killer who's been bumping off gay male porno models in California.

He's assigned to live and work with Kerwin (a young and hilarious John Hurt), an openly gay police department clerk who knows the scene. While Hurt gives a comically sensitive performance, O'Neal really shines as the good sport who "almost" turns gay by default. Living with Kerwin in deep cover, Sgt. Benson starts to treat Kerwin like...well, like a boyfriend. I guess that graduates to treating him like a girlfriend when he absentmindedly pecks Kerwin on the cheek--the look on both their faces alone makes this movie well worth it.

Of course they do eventually solve the gay male model murders, but I won't spoil that part. I prefer to emphasize the importance of this modest little comedy on a grand scale.

1982, which I recall oh-so-terribly, was a weird year in film. Recall that it was before the media scare that kicked off the AIDS "crisis"--society's goodwill toward the gay community was going in a very different direction than today, and this film shows it clearly. Kerwin's and Benson's boss, Chief Wilkins (the great bit player Kenneth McMillan), treats Kerwin like an indulgent uncle might do. He also chuckles at the growing friendship between Benson and Kerwin.

In most films, the cops are violently smashing their way through gay people's lives, and this far back in time there were no gay characters to speak of; the cops violently smash the gay community in real life even worse.

1982's big hits in film counted among them BLADE RUNNER, E.T., GANDHI, POLTERGEIST, TOOTSIE (more of the typical gay-mocking film if you ask me) and VICTOR VICTORIA (quite great, except I think Blake Edwards probably should not have directed). PARTNERS didn't stand a chance. With O'Neal pretty much on the wane and John Hurt not yet the legend he is today, well....

It's AIDS that really hurt this movie and another similar to it I can recall, the immortal TORCH SONG TRILOGY (1988, but set in 1982). While I was there for the premiere of TORCH SONG, and saw VICTOR VICTORIA as soon as I could, I never saw PARTNERS until today. Sad.

That huge box office explosion in '82 left PARTNERS panting and not in a good way. Furthermore, it was the only "mainstream" gay-themed film you could have seen back then, unless you were lucky enough to catch LA CAGE AUX FOLLES (1978) or VICTOR VICTORIA.

AN EARLY FROST (1985) and VICTOR VICTORIA was all there was besides TORCH SONG. At least Fierstein spared us the AIDS topic by setting TORCH SONG in the time when PARTNERS was screened.

There is no way you can ignore this DVD if you are even remotely interested in the subject matter. It is a bit ahead of its time with the bits of raunchy comedy--which are perfectly timed and executed--and the soundtrack is surprisingly contempo. Deborah Harry's music certainly didn't miss its chance in this film.

Get it and look at what the pre-AIDS, light side of gay life was really like for those of us who lived it. You will learn something sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Offensive? NOT!, November 25, 1999
This review is from: Partners [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Exactly what did Mr. Maltin find offensive in this film? A homophobic learning not to fear people different than himself and actually coming to care deeply for another human being? Or that it portrayed a homosexual loving a straight man in a non-sexual context and not changing the orientation of either character? Perhaps he thinks O'Neal's character should have been "outed" or Hurt's should have been "converted"? God forbid that two people with such divergent sexual orientations should ever be portrayed as being able to co-exist as just friends. I happen to think this was a very good illustration of two people coming to care for and respect one another for who and what they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still endearing after all these years, January 1, 2010
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
I remember sitting in theater when this first came out, holding my breath and scared to death anyone would notice that I was gay.
Ryan O'Neal was beefcake du jour and John Hurt frightened me. I swear when he made me laugh I was the only one laughing.
For the times, this is a very affirmative film. Plus O'Neal is bound and stripped, which was a high school boy's thrill.
I really loved this film and am so glad to have found it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Partners, February 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
Enjoyed this movie-first saw it when it was released in the theaters(1982),than purchased it when came out in video format(Beta and VHS). Had to wait long time for it to FINALLY-NOW!, be released in DVD format-VERY FUNNY,ENJOYABLE GAY COMEDY. It also point outs---helps the straight/hetrosexual(insight into the gay communtity and the relationship that exist within the homosexual community) sector of life.FUNNY,ENTERTAINING FOR ALL AUDIENCES-PARTICULARLY GAY AND GAY-FRIENDLY AUDIENCES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Partners-silly 80's movie, April 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
I had a good laugh watching Ryan O'Neal and John Hurt stumble through this one. I hadn't seen it since it's original release in the early 80's. Could be taken as homophobic, but I just thought it was silly. I'm gay and I wasn't particularly offended. Worth a chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching Comedy . . ., July 30, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partners [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The murder of a male model in a gay, beachfront enclave of L.A. warrants an undercover investigation, so police officer Benson (Ryan O'Neal), a straight, macho, law-and-order type, is assigned to partner with file clerk Kerwin (John Hurt), a mild-mannered homosexual. Benson and Kerwin are to pose as a gay couple who have just moved to the area. At first, Benson's slovenly ways drive the fussy Kerwin to distraction, while Kerwin's sexual orientation and prissy manners are a source of constant frustration for straight arrow Benson. However, the two eventually become friendly roommates, if not exactly friends, and Benson even begins to see the world through Kerwin's eyes. Although he carries a badge, the fussy Kerwin is essentially a civilian, but as he and Benson close in on the murderer, Kerwin reveals himself to be a far more capable cop than Benson assumes him to be.

This movie was made long before the openness of the the gay community and may seem somewhat simplistic in the way it deals with the subject, but that is part of what makes it so funny. It is respectful of both sides of the fence, and allows us to see what stereotyping is capable of leading to. It does exactly what a comedy should do, it keeps you laughing throughout the entire movie. It is well worth a watch and a shame that it doesn't come in a DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Classic, January 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Partners (DVD)
Slow start, but if you stick with it, and aren't turned off by some of the off-color jokes, it's hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Partners
Partners by James Burrows (DVD - 2008)
$15.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.