Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another fantastic show canceled by network ignorance
There aren't words to describe the anger I felt when I heard Party Down was canceled after such a solid second season. While I'll admit the first few episodes weren't the show's strongest, the second season ramps up and culminates in a more mature - and hilarious - fashion than even its stellar inaugural season.

Buy these DVDs and make Starz realize what a...
Published on August 6, 2010 by Seth R. Boyer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly not renewed.
Better than a lot of sitcoms on these days it's disappointing it wasn't picked up for a third season, especially since there is no solid resolution to most of the major stories. Season 1 just felt more "conclusive" (if bittersweet) in its ending. Wasted potential. Only having Jane Lynch for one episode of season 2 hurts, because while Megan Mullally was fine she's...
Published on October 27, 2011 by A. Washburn


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another fantastic show canceled by network ignorance, August 6, 2010
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
There aren't words to describe the anger I felt when I heard Party Down was canceled after such a solid second season. While I'll admit the first few episodes weren't the show's strongest, the second season ramps up and culminates in a more mature - and hilarious - fashion than even its stellar inaugural season.

Buy these DVDs and make Starz realize what a mistake they've made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant conclusion to the best American comedy series ever., January 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
After seeing Season 1 and the way it ended, I figured there was no way Season 2 could live up to its pedigree.

It does. Oh, it does.

The biggest change this season is a reversal of Ron and Henry's roles...which may seem jarring at first, but it's done so well you can hardly complain. Seeing Henry have "Ron moments" is hilarious, through and through...and seeing screw-up/doesn't-care Ron is similarly awesome. Constance (Jane Lynch) is no longer a recurring cast member (she has a guest appearance on the Season Finale) but her replacement, Lydia (Megan Mullaly) is even better imo. While Constance was just a bit too stupid and insane to really be believable, Lydia is that overly-nice Mom type and adds quite an amusing dynamic to the group. She has a few accidently-racist lines that catapulted me into laughter.

Season 2 definitely feels a bit different than Season 1, especially at the beginning (first 4 episodes), but it's in no way a bad change. Sadly, the series was cancelled by the powers that be, probably due to the fact that the show is on a network known for receiving the left-over scraps that HBO passed on. It also aired new episodes at night on Friday if I remember correctly--did they want the show to fail or something?

But yeah--this season's season finale is actually the series finale. That said, it ends on an amazingly positive, wrapped-up note that gave me that feel-good warmth that only a genuinely well-told story can give you.

Not to say I wouldn't lie, cheat, steal, and murder to get even one episode of a Season 3.

I've watched this show start to finish loads of times--probably approaching the 30s now, and I still find new things I didn't notice and it's still funny. This is comedy at its absolute finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise laughs and hidden depths, September 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
As with many shows, Party Down will most likely attain mainstream popularity after its demise. Witty dialogue, engaging characters and a slightly skewed sense of humor makes this show a hit. While Jane Lynch's character was practically irreplaceable, the addition of Megan Mullally helped add its own twist to season two. If you didn't watch it on STARZ and you loved shows like Veronica Mars, Cupid, Arrested Development or My So-Called Life, you will love Party Down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly not renewed., October 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
Better than a lot of sitcoms on these days it's disappointing it wasn't picked up for a third season, especially since there is no solid resolution to most of the major stories. Season 1 just felt more "conclusive" (if bittersweet) in its ending. Wasted potential. Only having Jane Lynch for one episode of season 2 hurts, because while Megan Mullally was fine she's definitely a downgrade. Lynch and Hansen played off each other so well in season 1, I feel that type of dynamic is largely missing in Season 2. However Season 2 certainly isn't bad. It did have my pick for best episode of the series (Steve Guttenberg's Birthday) as well as a few other very strong episodes.

Created by Rob Thomas it's not nearly as good as Veronica Mars (Season 1 of that show being one of the best seasons of television I've ever seen), and not nearly as bad as his 90210 reboot. I think Thomas just does better when he takes the time to fully flesh out an entire season going in. For fans of Veronica Mars, there is definitely something here for you. As you get to see nearly the entire cast of that show as cast members or guest stars over the course of this series.

The DVDs themselves are pretty bare bones. No commentary (unlike Season 1 which had commentaries for 2 episodes), just a gag reel and a promo. It feels like they're not trying (and I'm guessing, since it didn't get picked up, they weren't). Feels like Starz took the "just be happy it's getting released at all" approach which, while understandable to an extent, is a disservice to the fans.

4 stars for the show
2 stars for the DVD treatment
3 star total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Comment Card Would Read: Just As Good As The First Season!, July 24, 2010
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
Our favorite lovable characters are back for a second season of "Party Down," with new gigs, more nudity, and just as many laughs!

"Party Down" plays upon the common stereotype of the Hollywood waiter slash actor. In this comedy series, a group of aspiring young actors, writers, comedians, and musicians work for a catering company named "Party Down," while they are desperately searching for their next big break.

This season starts out a little slow, but be patient! When Ken Marino's character "Ron" returns, the show goes back to being funny. If you caught last season, you know that Team leader Ron (Ken Marino) left to pursuit his dreams of running a "Soup 'R Crackers" restaurant. Well, to his devastation, the business fails miserably! And he comes back to join the crew once again this season (thank goodness!). Also, Casey (Lizzy Caplan) was away performing stand-up on a cruise ship in hopes of finally getting her big break. Unfortunately, things don't really pan out, so she also returns. Not soon after her enthusiastic welcome back, Casey discovers her friend with benefits Henry (Adam Scott) has moved on, and moved up in management. This season we are also joined by a new face and fresh crew member named Lydia (Megan Mullally), who delights us with her sweet attitude and unique voice.

Episodes include:
1. Jackal Onassis Backstage Party
2. Precious Lights Pre-School Auction
3. Nick DiCintio's Orgy Night
4. James Ellison Funeral
5. Steve Guttenberg's Birthday (probably my favorite!)
6. Not on Your Wife Opening Night
7. Party Down Company Picnic
8. Joel Munt's Big Deal Party
9. Cole Landry's Draft Day Party
10. Constance Carmell Wedding (Jane Lynch returns!).

Like I mentioned before, this season has more nudity. In my opinion, it's distasteful. Which for me, brings down the season and series overall rating. However, season two has surprise guest appearances by stars like Christopher Mintz-Plasse ("Superbad"), Steve Guttenberg ("It Takes Two"), Rachael Harris ("The Hangover"), Jimmi Simpson ("It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia") and many more, making up for it a little bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Partied Down, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
Party Down is a Great show.
It should be much more popular than it is.
You should definitely check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars works great, shipped fast, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
This show is fantastic--funny, awkward and weirdly poignant. It's also endlessly rewatchable, which is why I bought it on DVD, and you should too.
In terms of the physical DVD: works great, shipped fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Scott: The Early Days, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
Remember the Adam Scott from Step Brothers?

Remember the Adam Scott from Party Down? You will after this.

It's a shame when TV series exaggerate their original characters to such a warped and unpleasant version of themselves in later seasons of what started out as a promising series. Think Friends, Parks & Rec, Community, blah blah blah.

This is solid, situational comedy, with great characters, some awesome cameos, and very well acted and sharp writing.

I own both seasons. Not a lot of humor out their in my wheelhouse. But this cast, the various environments they cater in and no one character is type cast. Each character has ups, downs, moments of triumph, of failure, of being the hero, the villain, the observer, the indifferent.

Buy it. Do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Party Down: Season 2 (DVD)
This was such a great series for the small amount of time that it was on air. I wish this would've lasted longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Episode missing from streaming, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For some reason, I can currently stream the entire series of this show from Starz, with the exception of the one episode that I came here to purchase (s2e4: James Ellison Funeral). It isn't even listed! I'm glad that I noticed the episode number because I would have hated to miss any of this. While nothing particularly hilarious or exciting happened in this episode, I believe that seeing the characters progress is important.

I can't believe that I had never seen Party Down prior to 2014. This show really is a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Party Down: Season 2
Party Down: Season 2 by Adam Scott (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $5.99
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.