Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$3.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some light highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Party Girl: A Novel Paperback – Bargain Price, May 27, 2008

4.3 out of 5 stars 30 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, Bargain Price, May 27, 2008
$4.86 $2.99

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

David, who has written about celebrities for glossy mags, delivers the saga of Amelia Stone, who writes about celebrities for a trashy gossip magazine. Amelia's on the L.A. merry-go-round of sex, booze and drugs, and she likes the ride and the A-list company. The patter is bubbly and witty, whether Amelia is getting in trouble at work, getting tangled up in another sexual exploit, snorting lines or puking on herself. Then her parents send her to a luxe rehab clinic after she ODs and gets fired, and on her last day there she learns she's been tapped, on the basis of her wild reputation, to write a column for a major magazine. The hitch? She's now sober, something she's afraid to admit to her employer. Amelia's deliberation on this point is drawn out, though David finds a steady supply of material in Amelia's closet sobriety. Between fake vodka shots and interest from HBO to turn her column into a series (yes, really), Amelia finds her way to a happy, sober ending. There will be inevitable comparisons to Sex and the City (Amelia is certainly cast in the Carrie Bradshaw mold), but pink book jacket connoisseurs will likely prefer the original.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

Fans of Candace Bushnell and Jane Green will lap up David's debut novel, based on her real-life experiences as a cocaine-snorting Hollywood socialite. Billed as this summer's beach read, Party Girl is the tale of twentysomething Amelia Stone, lowly staff writer at Absolutely Fabulous, a celebrity gossip sheet. Amelia's round-the-clock revelry (and frequent visits to the office bathroom for a fix) get her fired from her job. There are the obligatory stint at rehab (the book's best moments, by far) and the chance at a new beginning as a society columnist for a leading magazine. But can Amelia banter about the decadent lifestyle without actually indulging in it? If journalist and television commentator David has done even half the drugs of her fictional creation, it's a wonder she's alive—and coherent enough to write about it. It's hard to muster much sympathy for Amelia, who lacks the self-deprecation of Sex and the City narrator Carrie Bradshaw. This is mildly engaging stuff, most valuable, perhaps, as a cautionary tale (Paris Hilton, take note). Block, Allison --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Interested in the Audiobook Edition?
If you’re the author, publisher, or rights holder of this book, let ACX help you produce the audiobook.Learn more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (May 27, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061374008
  • ASIN: B0064XGS7Q
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.6 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,524,018 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I won't lie, I was first attracted to the covers of Anna David's Bought and Party Girl novels. And after reading the descriptions about how if you are intrigued by celebrity glamour and lifestyles then these would satisfy your reading cravings, I figured I'd give them a try. And they truly did. I loved Party Girl, not for a light and humorous book, bust just for a wild, witty, ironic ride to the dark side of a party lifestyle and back through recovery. I didn't put the book down once I began the first page of Amelia's party of a life.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Fist before I trash anything I will say that the author clearly knows how to write well; how the book was written was the thing that kept me there until the end of it. Each situation was well illustrated and I give anyone credit who can paint a vivid picture in my minds eye.

HOWEVER, I was told I would laugh, I would be held captivated; the whole time I was reading it I was wondering when that would happen, then I realized I was half way through the book.

Every situation and interaction between characters in the book, in other words, the entire basis of this novel was that a) the main character lived an interesting life, saying intelligent things and giving intelligent insight, and that b) other people were amused by the main characters' anecdotes and found them to be unique, well told and funny. Both a and b were not true. "Party Girl" has many good reviews already from my fellow readers and I simply cannot understand them; at no point was the main character living an interesting life, experiencing interesting things, or commenting about them intelligently. I have heard better tails told by party girls I went to high school with and, I imagine so has everyone else. When the main character tells an anecdote to other charters and then informs us, the reader through her narration that those people being told the anecdote laughed and laughed, and furthermore proclaimed how unreal, improbable and hilarious the tail was, than that had better have been just as funny, and crazy to us as it was to the those other characters; it simply was not. Her insights were not clever or intelligent; she was just shallow from beginning to end; and the end was a fantasy as well.

In all honesty I finished reading because I did not have another book for the subway.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Party Girl is the tale of a girl who thought she wanted all that glitters but found out the price was her soul.
Amelia Stone is a journalist for a celebrity magazine in Hollywood, she gets paid to interview celebrities and go to glamorous parties. Who would not love that life? The problems start when she takes her partying a little too seriously and ends up relying on cocaine and narcotics to keep her going.
Party girl is a great book; it’s almost a little too good. As a former party-girl coke-addict myself, albiet in less glamorous circumstances, I cringed in recognition when I read David’s descriptions of coke-fuelled nights and come downs. The taste of cocaine at the back of your throat and paranoia were all too familiar.
The book follow’s Amelia’s journey into rehab and recovery. At times funny and moving it’s a testimony to David’s writing that you have sympathy for Amelia and root for her success despite her narcissistic and selfish ways.
Eventually Amelia becomes a likeable and relatable character and I’m glad that David avoided the obvious conclusion of a relationship being her salvation. Instead Amelia finds a way to save herself.
I was so engaged with the character and willing her to succeed I would truly love for there to be a sequel. It would be great to see her navigate a new career and dating sober with all the humorous adventures that could entail.
This is a well-written novel that anyone looking for an engaging read will enjoy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I absolutely loved this book. I thought it was very well written n I couldn't put my kindle down. I was drawn into it n loved how even after she got sober she still wrote about her crazy druggie times. N how she got her life back on track.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Amelia Stone is a party girl, in every sense of the word. In fact, her story begins with her being caught in a compromising position with the cousin of the bride at a party being thrown at her mother's house. The story then goes on to describe her almost having a menage a trois with two groomsmen, before sobering up and falling asleep. Because this is what party girls do. Living her life in a haze of cocaine and alcohol, Amelia stops partying only long enough to turn in her articles at Absolutely Fabulous (an Us Weekly-type celebrity gossip mag), feed her cats, and catch some zzzzz's. Other than that, you can find her at the hottest industry parties, doing drugs in the bathroom, staying up all night, and using Ambien and alcohol to fall asleep. That is, until her hard-partying lifestyle catches up with her and Amelia finds herself in rehab.

Though she doesn't believe she has a problem with alcohol, Amelia is willing to admit she has a drinking problem. When she checks in to Pledges, her life is in shambles, she's been fired from her job, and she doesn't know what she's going to do for work. One month out of rehab later, she re-enters the world only to find that an admirer of her party girl lifestyle (the publisher of Chat, a different magazine, with a more Cosmo feel) is offering her a job to write about the crazy nights she used to have. Amelia knows she can't pass up this opportunity, but can she make a living out of writing about a life she no longer leads?

If you're the sort of person who reads Perez Hilton or Pink is the New Blog every day, and can't live without her (or his) Us Weekly, Party Girl is going to be right up your alley. This book has all the fun and entertainment of reading trashy gossip rags without the guilt, since the characters are fictional.
Read more ›
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?