Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 17, 2010
It's hard to get non-vegan family and friends to enjoy themselves at parties. Enter Party Vegan. This book is full of recipes from quick bites to full meals, all categorized by holiday, which helps make planning much easier. Along with the recipes are tips for how to estimate the amount of food to make, ideas to make planning easier and a party punch recipe that will have guests wondering just how much bubbly is hidden amongst all the deliciousness.

If you are interested in recipes to bring along to potlucks, or for Thanksgiving & Christmas parties, or if you are planning on throwing a party yourself and want to be a party animal without serving any at your party, do yourself a favor and add this book to your collection.

-Noelle Goveia
[...]
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
I believe this is my fourth Robin Robertson cookbook, and thus far, none have let me down. Party Vegan starts with a solid tips and information section to help plan your party. From there it moves into 25 different menu-themed chapters of recipes. Thus far I have trialed three of the recipes. The Mini Falafels (from the "Crowd Control" chapter in the Moroccan Station) had a spot on flavor and texture, and were perfect for a make-ahead appetizer. The Fingerling Potato Salad with Pan-Fried Arugula Pesto (from the "a Picnic Lunch" chapter) was so rich in flavor that no guest would ever miss the Parmesan. And, the Chai-Spiced Muffins (from the "Mother's Day Brunch" chapter) were perfect for an everyday treat with tea.

This is definitely a must have for entertaining any time of year.
review image
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2010
I have found numerous ideas from this book, tried a number of them and turned out great! If your not wanting to go the way of "the old Vegan style cooking" but looking for something contemporary to modern living that non Vegans will enjoy too... this is a book for you!
0Comment19 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2010
If you're looking for great ideas for what to cook for any kind of gathering, from a special dinner for two to birthday party or other get-together, look no further than Party Vegan. Robin quite literally holds your hand and walks you through the planning and organizing and then the preparation and cooking for any event. Robin breaks it all down and then gives you the freedom to use her guided menus as much or as little as needed for your party.

The party menus in the book guide you through every party scenario from the elegant sit-down dinner to the relaxed buffet and Robin provides you with information for just about any happenstance. Does one of your guests have an allergy? Check out the "Recipe swaps" for the planned menu. Afraid you might goof something up? Make sure to stock your "Impromptu Party Pantry" on page 23 and read up on "Last Minute Rescues". Recipes are also clearly marked with M for Make ahead and Q for quick and easy so you can plan accordingly. The recipes don't need to wait for a party either -- they're great for weeknight dinners, or anytime.

Party Vegan is based on the idea that the best party is where you are relaxed and the guests enjoy themselves. With that philosophy and Party Vegan at your side you can't go wrong.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2010
I own several Robin Robertson cookbooks and love them all, but I think she really outdid herself with Party Vegan. First, don't let the title fool you -- this book is so much more than a "party" book. The recipes are so easy and delicious, you'll want to make them all the time. I rarely entertain, but I've been using this book for everyday cooking and it hasn't let me down. So far, I've made the Sherried Mushrooms, Curried Pakora Puffs, Fava Bean Hummus, Black Rice Salad, Baked Potato Skins, Pan-Fried Sesame Noodles and Broccoli, and Caramelized Tofu which are all fantastic recipes. I've only tried two desserts so far, the Orange-Kissed Chocolate Tiramisu and the Tres Leches Cupcakes. Both were amazing! If great recipes weren't enough, Robin also has a great section for how to entertain without stress that's filled with info and tips from her experience as a restaurant chef and caterer. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2011
....and this book makes vegan food look ravishing.

I love this book for so many reasons.

First, it makes vegan food fun and elegant. The book's design is crisp, the style is new -- it really destroys the old fashioned associations people have with vegan food. Teriyaki shiitake sticks -- so good! Pistachio-dusted chocolate-raspberry truffles -- this is the kind of thing I can bring to a pot luck and surprise all the non-vegans with. Yes, it is possible to have divine, indulgent meals without harming cows, pigs or chickens.

Second, the recipes have grace -- that is, they are easy to make, the ingredients are not obscure, but they end up looking beautiful and tasting delicious. The author uses her imagination to come up with new approaches to food that just work.

Third, the book has personality. This isn't just a cookbook, it's a how-to book on being the type of person who has a heart AND can pull of a classy party. For example, there's a section called "No Forks Allowed" that explains how the way that food is presented can affect the dynamic of a party. Foods that can be dipped, nibbled, stacked, wrapped and skewered are more conducive to mingling.

The recipes are really interesting, like the Gingered "crab" cups with wasabi cream cheese -- it really takes vegan food to a more sophisticated level.

Another thing I like about it is the convenient labeling of which recipes can be made ahead of time and which ones are quick and easy. These labels let me choose if I want to spend more time making something complex to test my culinary boundaries, or if I want to go for something graceful and easy.

It's just a great cookbook!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
With 25 themed menus for holidays and get-togethers, the recipes in this book fit any occasion, even every day cooking! As a tester for this book, I made many recipes and none of them disappointed. No matter the occasion, you'll enjoy the Southern Fried Seitan (the best I've made) and the fingerling potato salad, for example. The Spinach Potato Quesadillas are easy and outstanding. The Porcini Stuffed Seitan roast is incredible, as is the Chinese New Year's Menu. In addition, the front of the book has loads of information to make party planning a breeze. Don't miss this one!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
I received this book from a non vegan friend for Christmas. It has lots of recipes that non vegans can eat and enjoy. I have to agree the set up by type of party can be confusing, but there's an index in the back by type of dish. I missed not having any pictures. However, I liked that they offered what to make to with what and alternative choices:) I also liked that not every recipe has tofu in it. Overall, it's good cookbook with yummy results. Good luck and have a great party:)!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
I love this book! The author has created some really creative and delicious recipes for themed menus for all sorts of parties, from Chinese New Year to Halloween, and everything in between. The recipes are great for these events, or to use for any other time of year. It also includes some really clever themed menus for "anytime" parties, like a child's birthday party, picnic, and dessert night. I'm really enjoying cooking my way through this book and showing off vegan party food to our friends. There are excellent ideas for party planning and food preparation. The menus/recipe collections are comprehensive, and even include bonus recipes for substitutions so you can have more than one choice for the dishes on the party menu. This book is unique, and deserves a spot on your shelf!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2010
This is a really really fun and helpful Vegan Cookbook.I really love the total menus the explanations.It is creative,inspiring and fun!!
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse