Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars34
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 23, 1999
Abstinence from alcohol and other drugs is only the beginning of sobriety. It's the ticket to get into the theater, not the movie we are going to see." -- Passages through Recovery
One of the most important things we learn in recovery is that there really is a way out of all the misery -- if we know which way to go. But abstinence from alcohol and other drugs is just the beginning of our journey, not our destination. And, that journey can be a rough one if we don't know what lies ahead.
Passages through Recovery clearly demonstrates that sobriety is more than just healing the damage. "It's a way of thinking, acting, and relating to others, "Gorski writes, "That promotes continued physical, psychological, social, and spiritual health. The skills necessary for long-term sobriety are all directed at finding meaning and purpose in life."
Use this book as a compass in your recovery to help you stay on course.
11 comment|94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2006
If you work in the field of addiction run out and get every book Terry has written. He is simply the best. I would recommend his work to lay people who have substance abuse or recovery issues also. this book, as are all of his books, is indispensable if you run chemical dependency, family, PC 100 or CDIOP groups. There is a wealth of practical usable information. Also, this is the first book of it's kind that I have found that deals with the specific issues common to long term sobriety. Most books I come across deal with the first 2 years which is understandable. But how wonderful to find a book that specifically has a section on double digit (those with decades) sobriety. I can't recommend it enough.
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2009
This is a very valuable book for counselors as well as for addicts in recovery, but it is especially helpful for families and loved ones of addicts who just want this to "be over with", even though it isn't and will never be. But there is hope and healing in understanding and in educating oneself, and this book is VERY helpful in understanding, and developing patience toward, the long path away from substance abuse/dependence and toward a more solid sobriety. There is an understanding in recovery that if you aren't moving forward, you're sliding backwards. This book helps the addict to understand where he/she is along the path of recovery and how to keep moving forward.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
Being the father of a drug addict and having been frustrated for years with repeated relapses after high cost, residential treatment programs, I found this the best discussion of addiction and recovery in the library full that I've read. Like most, I had believed that once through a residential program and generally free of the drugs, life should be back to normal and it was only will power necessary to remain on the straight and narrow. This excellent discussion points to a far different world for the addict. Far from providing recovery, the residential program provides just a platform from which to launch recovery. The recovery itself requires parents and friends to understand the altered nature of the brain, the behavioral challenges the addict faces on a day to day basis, and the limited capacity the addict can face to deal logically with "normal" situations. For those committed to the idea of human free will, this book will be a challenge. They will find that belief to be a major hinderance to dealing with an addicted loved one. Imposing the expectations arising from the belief that the addict has full free will to change can be a catalyst to failure. For those more willing to accept that brain chemistry has at least a domineering, if not commanding role in directing the addicts thoughts, responses, and mental capabilities this is an excellent discussion leading to understanding the addict's post treatment behaviors. The understandings arising from reading the book have made sense of many frustrating behaviors and allowed a more positive and supportive response.

It also gives better hope that the deficiencies can be overcome in time.

I am certainly no happier to have my daughter plagued with addiction, nor with the pace of her gaining workable mastery of the addiction and its effects. But, it is a different frustration. The discussion in the book gave me a new perspective that allows greater appreciation for progress and less room for disappointment in the individual.

Like most books dealing with a subject with a constantly changing knowledge base, this is not the definitive bible--it is not the total answer. It is a much needed broadening of the discussion of addiction and the addicted mind.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2009
I found this book useful for the stages of recovery that it explains: Transition, stabilization, early recovery, middle and late recovery. Everything Gorski writes is clear as day, there's certainly no need for a dictionary at any point of this book. If he says a word that might not be understood, he makes sure to explain it. Even your ten year old can read this book, it's almost too straightforward. You can also read it in a day or two, a good quick read. However, it's more targeted towards alcoholism and the twelve steps. The title of the book should be "Recovery from Alcohol, (and other drugs)", which he says about a thousand times in the book, by the way. "When it comes to alcohol, and other drugs"; "Due to alchohol, and other drugs", etc. He seldomly mentions weed or cocaine. The only time he mentions the word heroin is on page 55, when he is walking you through denial of your addiction, and uses an example of a person stating "I may have a drinking or drug problem, but I'm not really addicted. I'm not as bad as a heroin addict or skid-row bum". Well, I was a heroin addict. To me this book is targeted for people that have a drinking problem and smoke some bud sometimes, not a junky that has no doubt that they have serious problems due to their drug use. This book is just skimming the surface. I personally learn more about my habit by reading a random William S. Burroughs novel. I'd recommend trying a different book out first if you're more than an alcoholic, even though it's nice to have the stages of recovery at your fingertips. It doesn't hurt reading something new if you learn at least one thing here and there.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
Gorsky's Passages are so much help for recovering people. It is good to know that we are going through what he has seen and documented after many encounters with other recovering addicts. The text was easy to read and I understood what he was talking about. Have recommended it to others in recover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2009
This is simply another recovery book, no better or worse than so many others I have read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
Direct and easy to understand. If you want to know the stages recovering people go through this is the book for you.if you are beginning your recovery journey this book will outline what's going on with you & help you find comfort in the process you are experiencing is normal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2010
Terence Gorski's outstanding research and publications are well known to most Recovery Specialists. This is his most fundamental contribution. Also check out Empowering Your Sober Self by Martin Nicolaus and [...] for an approach to recovery similar in spirit to what Gorski suggests and not based on behavioral change via religious conversion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2010
It is easy to read, and it is very helpful in understanding addiction and recovery.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse