Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do You Know What You's For!?, January 29, 2008
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
Wow! Ex-Scarve singer, Guillaume Bideau. Knows what it means to be a vocalist. He over laps his verses up to sounds like 4 or 5 times and It's amazing.

I have all Mnemic albums and this one is by far my Favorite, well, until the new one comes out. The reason being, because people say if your fans of Fear Factory or SYL or Mnemics main Influence, Meshuggah, then you'll enjoy their music...

I love this album because it sound nothing like their previous albums. This album seems uninfluendted. It's very very so unique also. It's just one of those albums you listen to and it takes you away from everything...Physically and Mentally...If you're wandering How? Buy It...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let The Passenger Take You For A Ride., May 10, 2007
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
As furious as it is catchy, as dense and layered as it is accessible, Mnemic's latest offering, "Passenger," is an album that has the ability to please just about anyone who loves a good shot of the heavy stuff. Taking obvious influence from groups ranging from Fear Factory to Deftones to Meshuggah, Mnemic do an exceptional job of sounding like something you've heard and loved before, and taking it to the next level, giving it a unique stamp.

Perhaps the biggest help would be in the band's new frontman, Guillaume Bideau, who can scream and shout with the best of them, yet can also handle and balance the melody beautifully, transcending punk rock and heavy metal simultaneously. The band is in top form here, with the rhythm section of bassist Tomas Cowan Koefoed and drummer Brian Rasmussen taking to the forefront and dominating each of the albums eleven tracks. Unfortunately, this doesn't leave much in the way of innovation for co-guitarists Rune Stigart and Mircea Gabriel Eftemie (do you realize what a pain it is to type these names?), as their work, while being solid in it's own right, just doesn't push the limits like the rest of the album.

But that's just fine, because on the whole, "Passenger" is a supreme album. The average listener isn't likely to find themselves getting bored, and after it's all done, you're left feeling like you've just heard something unique. True, the overall soundscape of the album isn't anything new to the genre, but how the band approaches their songwriting, in such an unpredictable, twisting and turning way is more than enough to keep you on your toes and scartching your head. I could get track into track with this album, but there's no point, really. Each song is just as strong as the next and after each listen, you'll surely want more. This isn't just senseless gushing, mind you. Out of all the albums I listen to on a regular basis, this one has truly captured me. Each time I listen, I find something new, which is why it deserves five stars. You're definitely getting your money's worth with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fasten seatbelts! 'Passenger' is one hell of a ride!, February 10, 2007
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
MNEMIC are one of the most promising modern metal bands out there - in fact, their debut and sophomore albums outshine just about anything released in extreme metal within the last 5 years. Both 'Mechanical Spin Phenomena' and 'The Audio Injected Soul' (the straighter, more accessible of the 2 discs) are brilliantly twisted amalgams of Meshuggah-esque polyrhythms, FFactory-style industrial coldness, and the catchiness of Gothenburg melo death masters Soilwork and feature some of the best songwriting anywhere. 'Passenger' still sounds unmistakably like MNEMIC yet is a noted departure in terms of production, style, and overall vibe. Now fronted by former Scarve vocalist Guillaume Bideau who displays an incredible range from clean, melodic singing to OTT screams and growls that border on the psychotic, much of the new album comes across as a lot more frantic, jagged, and sonically stripped down recalling Meshuggah's 'Chaosphere' and Canuck madmen Strapping Young Lad. While there are strong chorus hooks all over the place (first single 'Meaningless' being a prime example) the bulk of the songs take longer to fully wrap your brain around this time. But give it a few spins and 'Passenger' will reveal its many strengths albeit without quite reaching the genius level of earlier gems like 'Deathbox'. Still, nobody does it better than MNEMIC when it comes to facemelting-yet-sophisticated Bladerunner Metal and tunes such as 'In the Nothingness Black', the anthemic 'Pigf*ck', 'Electric I'd Hypocrisy', the stop-and-go bludgeon riffola of 'Stuck Here' (the sitar textures mid way give this a mad Oriental feel), or massive epic closer 'The Eye on Your Back', which climaxes beautifully in an almost cinematic fashion, will have you bow to these Danish new school gods! 'Passenger' is an early contender for metal album of the year - let's see who can step up to the plate and give these guys a run for their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without Skipping a Beat, March 8, 2007
By 
N. Kellogg "\m/" (Katonah, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
Mneimc return after nearly 3 years with their follow-up to The Audio Injected Soul. But something is different. New vocalist Guilliaume Bideau, formerly of French tech-metal band Scarve, joins the group, picking it up perfectly where Michael Břgballe left off. The Passenger has got all the industrial textures and polyrhythmic mayhem you'd expect from Mnemic, and then some. As for live, Guilliaume does the old songs better than one could hope. This CD should not be past up by previous fans of Mnemic and is highly recommended to fans of Meshuggah and Fear Factory. And while you're at it, head over and check out Scarve, Guilliaumes old band. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Production Value, Sounds Great, June 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
I'm very particular when it comes to my metal.

I like de-tuned, grungy guitars, lots of palm-muting and less of the high-pitched leads is thrash/speed/death/black metal.

I like lots of low end, combined with powerful drums and strong vocals.

Finally, I like excellent production value and melodic harmonies in the chorus to balance the heaviness of the main riffs.

Mnemic? They have it all. Excellent, technical drum work, heavy-guitars that really bring out the low-end, and vocals that can sing and harmonize as well as they can scream.

Listen to track 2 and 3. If you like those tracks, buy all of their albums. I absolutely love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!!!, February 14, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
Between Strapping Young Lad and Meshuggah, there is Mnemic. The combination of heavy guitar riffs, a very complicated tempo changes in drums and with an exquesite melodies like Soilwork, Mnemic makes a winning album that all the metal heads need in your collection. Every song is worth the listen but my favorites are: "Meaningless", with a catchy melody and a heavy musicianship, "In control" and in my opinion the best song in the album: "Eye on your back". So try a spin and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to say the least.., April 26, 2007
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
New to this band, picked it up on a whim after seeing the Fear Factory connection (Producer) and trust in the label. What i got was a blend of Fear Factory(riff style, melody lines) + Meshuggah(off beats) + Devildriver (execution and vocal screeches).. Songs actually sound like these bands thrown in a blender, but slices of each carefully pasted together(if that makes sense). If your familiar with all 3 this will be apparent on first listen.
Thats not saying it doesnt work...
The vocalist does grate on ya after a while, but at other times shows an abilty to actually sing well. The offbeats are very strange, in the song 'Stuck Here' it nearly sounds like a warped record. Very cool. Very Meshuggah-ish (if your a fan).There are also plenty of FF style harmonies intertwined within the songs, maybe through suggestion of the producer.Almost sounding like a blatant rip at times, but it adds another dimension to the already (welcomely) overbearing experience. Personally i like it a lot, but it takes a few listens to stick..
The sound quality is really good. Clear.

Best Tracks : Meaningless, Whats Left, Stuck Here, In Control, Psykorgasm, Eye on your Back..

Flaws : Vocal delivery VERY overbearing at times, Songs take a few listens

Positives : Killer riffs and offbeats, Harmony lines are Unique, Great Production.
THE DRUMS ON 'STUCK HERE' ARE TOTALLY SICK!

Good band. I will now look into their prior work. Also a good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mnemic - Passenger, Mnemic's 3rd Album, June 2, 2007
This review is from: Passenger (Audio CD)
Mnemic is one of the most underrated, unknown bands I have ever heard. These guys are hard, heavy, talented, brutal, and unbelievable. The only problem with their CD's is that they are very hard to find in the stores. I would imagine this has a lot, if not everything to do with the fact they are just not from the United States.

After hearing their second CD, I went online and bought both of their other CD's immediately. There really is nothing to complain about with this band. There is no weak point in their music. The vocals are excellent, especially the guy with the really low voice, but all of the vocals are great, so it's hard not to acknowlege. Mnemic is one of those bands that have perfect vocals along with some of the heaviest, hardest, and best drums and guitars you will ever hear. There is a lot of bands out there with great drums and guitars, but when it comes to their vocals they are horrible and you can't understand them. THAT IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WITH MOST HEAVY METAL BANDS! Except for bands like Soilwork, Mnemic, Machine Head, Fear Factory, A Perfect Murder, Pantera, Down, Killswitch Engage, Dry Kill Logic, Diecast, Soil, Drowning Pool, and some others.

Mnemic's third album is their best and heaviest of the three. I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that they are just great musicians who are getting better at what they do with time. If you like heavy metal and want to hear a great album, go out and buy this one, because it's nothing less than unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Passenger
Passenger by Mnemic (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.