Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie that keeps you guessing and stays one step ahead of you. Super entertaining and I highly recommend this. I say A-
"There's no backstabbing here, it's just business." Christine (McAdams) and Isabelle (Rapace) are ad executives who have friendly relationship. After coming up with a great ad idea for jeans Isabelle is sent to London to pitch it. When it becomes a hit and is picked up Christine takes the credit. This event begins a chain reaction of trying to one up the other that...
Published 15 months ago by Tony Heck

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LESSER REMAKE OF FRENCH MOVIE CRIME D'AMOUR -- link included below
***2 1/2 stars*** FOR POORLY PLACED CASTING OF TWO TERRIFIC STARS IN A REMAKE THAT DOESN'T MATCH THE ORIGINAL

I love both Rachel McAdams and Noomi Rapace in other films, but I feel they were not used correctly here. Most Americans viewing this film will assume it is an original work if they haven't seen the previous French movie Love Crime (Crime D'Amour). In...
Published 15 months ago by MyD -- The Viewpoint


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie that keeps you guessing and stays one step ahead of you. Super entertaining and I highly recommend this. I say A-, September 16, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passion [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"There's no backstabbing here, it's just business." Christine (McAdams) and Isabelle (Rapace) are ad executives who have friendly relationship. After coming up with a great ad idea for jeans Isabelle is sent to London to pitch it. When it becomes a hit and is picked up Christine takes the credit. This event begins a chain reaction of trying to one up the other that quickly spirals out of control. I have been watching as many movies as I can without seeing the trailer first, that way I have no preconceived expectations. That said knowing Noomi Rapace was in this and Brian De Palma directed this I was excited. I was not disappointed at all. De Palma is the master of the erotic thriller and he again proves why with this movie. The beginning is a little slow but you will be glad you stuck with it. Because I watch so many movies I am getting very good at predicting how a movie will play out. This is one that was consistently one step ahead of me and as soon as I thought I knew what was going on I was proved wrong. To me that is what makes a good movie, being surprised with how it will go keeps you watching and wondering. I am very surprised at how much I enjoyed this. I highly recommend this. I give it an A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LESSER REMAKE OF FRENCH MOVIE CRIME D'AMOUR -- link included below, September 6, 2013
This review is from: Passion [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
***2 1/2 stars*** FOR POORLY PLACED CASTING OF TWO TERRIFIC STARS IN A REMAKE THAT DOESN'T MATCH THE ORIGINAL

I love both Rachel McAdams and Noomi Rapace in other films, but I feel they were not used correctly here. Most Americans viewing this film will assume it is an original work if they haven't seen the previous French movie Love Crime (Crime D'Amour). In fact, Passion is a very close copy of the superior French film staring Kristin Scott Thomas and Ludivine Sagnier.

McAdams simply doesn't have the look of power and authority required for a manipulative business executive (too young) and Noomi Rapace struggles trying to be the young ingénue up and comer in the company. Actually, if they just switched rolls I think Noomi could have projected the authority and manipulation while Mcadams could be the supposedly naÔve one. Where the French version builds the mystery within a mystery - piece by meticulous piece, the devices of suspense in this film come across trite and perfunctory by comparison. If you only watch the US version, you may find it a passable mystery at best unless you are a die hard De Palma fan. Additionally, I didn't find the chemistry between McAdams and Rapace that convincing and the movie as a whole just wasn't that sexy, particularly for the R rating and hype surrounding the film.

I would not call the French film a masterpiece, but it has great depth, meticulous construction of the crime, suspense, and believable sapphic infatuation. Ludivine Sagnier is far more sexy and believable as the naÔve assistant that is initially manipulated in the affair.

PLOT: A rising female advertising exec uses the romantic infatuation of her bright young female assistant to manipulate her into giving ideas, which she steals to promote her own career, later humiliating the assistant when she has what she wants. The assistant is more than just a bright study with a penchant for powerful women. Needless to say, things take a dark turn for several of the characters involved. This is a little simplistic since both movies try to project more allegorical meanings while delving into deep emotional and psychological depths. However, I don't wish to give any spoilers so I will leave it at that. There are also plot divergences between the two movies as they deal with the later half of the film and I found the previous French version more satisfying in that respect as well.

De Palma fans will want to see this movie and may even appreciate it greatly. For other viewers it's probably a mixed bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this work - was cautious having read some of ..., October 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Passion (DVD)
I liked this work - was cautious having read some of the reviews... probably from people who forget film is an art and not construed of a practical scientific something you can get your hands onto and throw at someone. If you are ready to sit back and simply be entertained by a work that is still imaginable,and you like whimsical play and a few twists and curves..this is a fun work for two hours. Truth is, that I will watch it again next year...after I'ver forgotten all the interplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the Original, October 13, 2013
By 
T. Berner (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passion (DVD)
There is an entire genre of Hollywood movies which consist of remakes of better European movies. You take a movie with good reviews (The Vanishing, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo). You have a talentless screenwriter ruin the script and assign it to a hack director. You multiply the budget by ten and then you sit back and wonder why the reviews are so bad. These movies almost always stink and this one is no exception.

Based on a much better (but no classic) French movie called, in English, "Love Crime," this movie tells the story of rivalry of a senior ad executive and her assistant that arises when the senior executive steals the idea of her assistant. Like most French movies, the movie is worth watching, first, because the writing, like most French movies, treats its viewers like adults. The screenwriter doesn't insert into his movie dialogue that no one has ever uttered in the history of the spoken word because he trusts the movie's viewers to make inferences and guides them to the assumptions they need to make in order to make the movie realistic.

The second failure of Hollywood is that no one there knows how grown-ups behave. This is because there are no adults in Hollywood. Rachel McAdams is an adequate actor in light comedy playing ingénues, but she doesn't have a clue how to behave like an employee in an office, let alone a high powered business executive. In fairness to Ms. McAdams, almost no one else in Hollywood does either. Anyone who has spent any time in an office will find the dialogue totally implausible. In contrast, Ms. Scott Thomas is completely believable as a senior executive in Love Crimes and the office scenes were written by someone who either spent time in an office or has enough of an imagination to figure out how office workers behave.

Why does Hollywood keep proving to us that they produce a third rate product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT'S JUST BUSINESS,, July 6, 2013
This review is from: Passion (DVD)
The film focuses on the manipulative Christine (Rachel McAdams) who heads the London branch of an ad agency. She desires to get transferred to NY. She has no problem talking credit for Isabel's (Noomi Rapace) ideas. Dirk (Paul Anderson) completes the third side of this love triangle. Isabel attempts to fight back, but is no match for Christine. The back and forth smartly escalates until there is a murder. At this point the film moves from a straight forward film to a who-dun-it, did they really do it mess which caused me to lose interest and enjoyment.

Brian De Palma fans will see similarities to his other works, which I though superior. Decent acting and plot, but it wasn't my cup of tea.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, brief nudity (Noomi Rapace)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trashy and ridiculous but entertaining, January 26, 2014
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passion (Amazon Instant Video)
An OK thriller by a master of the genre. Brian De Palma's latest film is sleazy and trashy but entertaining. A bitchy executive in an ad company (Rachel McAdams) starts plotting against her seemingly nice assistant (Swedish actress Noomi Rapace, who played Lisbeth Salander in the Millennium trilogy) when she learns she is having an affair with her own lover, the sleazy Dirk (Paul Anderson). And this is only the beginning. Given the name and work of the director, I was surprised by the low production values of this film. Filmed in Germany, the movie has the look of a straight to video erotic thriller. For instance, even though the action takes place within a large company, only four people seem to be working there. De Palma it seems didn't even have enough of a budget to hire extras. This is a remake of a French film that is reportedly better. Still, it is entertaining, even if the plot become more and more ridiculous. The fine performances of Rapace and McAdams help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, I liked it., July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Passion (Amazon Instant Video)
Most people seem to hate this movie, but as a huge DePalma fan, I kind of liked it. It has all of DePalma's usual visual flair and Rachel McAdams is excellent as the wicked ad executive. The original "Love Crimes" is better, but this remake is an o.k. time killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Palma Is Back With A Vengeance...., September 17, 2014
This review is from: Passion (DVD)
After I got through watching Brian De Palma's latest film, "Passion", I have to say it's possibly the best film he's made in his entire career! Amazing how a man in his 70's can still put out such awesome movies!

Now, I've been a long-time fan of De Palma's, going all the way back to when I first saw "Carrie" when it came out in 1977. And, honestly, when I first started seeing previews of "Passion", and reading some of the negative reviews, I wasn't all that excited as I've been over all of De Palma's other releases to see it.

It just kind of looked like it would be a little too bland for want of better word, and from what I was reading, the plot was going to be over-the-top convoluted to the point of being incomprehensible.

Something that I really hate is when I see so many people stating how they've recently seen a movie, and they didn't "get" it, or didn't understand it, thus the movie was bad in their opinion. No, of course it couldn't be because they just don't have the intelligence or the intellect to grasp what the filmmaker was trying to convey, no, it is because the film is bad and that's that.

Well, that is not always the case, matter of fact, probably not the case in any one of the movies those people reviewed. There are lots of great movies out these days that have complicated, intriguing, mysterious hard-to-understand plots, but those of us who follow along and pay attention (and have higher IQ's, obviously) don't consider them "bad films" unless they are badly made.

And, unfortunately, over the entire past decade, Brian De Palma has been blasted so many times for making "bad films" by people who just don't understand his films (because we live in such a dumbed down world these days) it isn't even funny.

(Oh, and just because something is described as an "erotic thriller", doesn't mean that every scene in the film is going to be some kind of titillating erotic soft-porn film for people wanting porno. So, for people complaining about this not being erotic/sexy enough, please buy a clue.)

And, sure, the first half of the film is made with a whole new style than what De Palma fans are probably used to, but honestly, I found that most refreshing, and thought it was a brilliant choice on his behalf to film it that particular way. But, on the other hand, the entire second (and especially the third) half of the film is deliciously, deviously, dementedly De Palma in all his delectable glory.

I'll tell you this, I'm glad I was watching it alone, because the entire last 10 minutes of the film I was shouting out, "Wow! H*ll yeah! Wow! H*ll yeah! Wow! H*ll Yeah! Wow!" over and over, and I would have hated to have interrupted someone else's enjoyment of it.

Plot-wise, I'm not going to divulge anything at all, because to say anything about any particular moment in the film would ruin it for anyone reading this, for every moment in the film leads from one glorious surprise to another, giving the viewer twists and turns like riding a roller coaster.

I will say, though, that the film gives De Palma the chance to work in lots of his given themes from older films, ranging from betrayal to the evil doppleganger.

Style-wise, the film is a cornucopia of styles reflecting not only other great films of the same genre from decades past (I even caught whiffs of nods to "All About Eve"), but also from De Palma's own catalogue, ranging from split diopter to a breath-taking split-screen scene that rates up there with the likes of "Carrie" and "Dressed To Kill".

Anyone who hasn't seen it needs to see it NOW! You'll thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ridiculously bad but Rachel McAdams was gorgeous, September 7, 2013
This review is from: Passion (Amazon Instant Video)
Okay. I knew going into it that this movie was pretty bad. But I couldn't resist the idea of glimpsing sexy Rachel McAdams playing lesbian. Or bisexual. Or I don't know what she was... crazy, kinky, controlling BUT UTTERLY HOT power slut.

Christine (Rachel McAdams) is the very manipulative and ambitious boss of a big ad agency abroad. Hoping to make it to New York City, she takes credit for the ideas of an attractive employee she likes to flirt with... setting off a chain of retaliation and revenge. I was enjoying the initial seduction. But it doesn't go ANYWHERE you really want it to go if you're hoping for some appealing chemistry and fooling around.

Rachel McAdams seems to be reprising her shallow Mean Girls blonde... all grown up, in charge, and probably a closet lesbian. She has this thing going with a slender male employee who wears a feminine mask when they boink, and I had a great laugh over the strap on he pulls out of her drawer (but no, we don't get to see her wear one dammit, lol)... unfortunately, we never get to see her play out her fantasies with any women either. Disappointing. Lustful looks and a few hugs and kisses is all the f/f action in this movie. Meh. Just another silly psycho lesbian thriller... a 1980s throwback.

McAdams was awesome and believable in Mean Girls... here I couldn't buy her as the boss with the similar persona (and looks). Too immature and crazy. I don't know. It just didn't work. But she sure was beautiful and stylishly dressed in any case. And when the movie only focuses on the brunette the last half hour... how dull it was. I laughed out loud at the ending, though I probably wasn't supposed to. Oh hell, I laughed all through this story even though I probably wasn't supposed to!! omg... this was so bad, lol. It shoulda been made as a (black) comedy. Regina George wasn't meant to be in any other genre. But I loved how stylish the filming was and how beautiful Rachel McAdams was. Disappointed she didn't get to play full on lesbian (yep, that's all I came here to find)... but what can I say. When you're a fan, you sit through the bad stuff, lol....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Love This movie, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Passion (Amazon Instant Video)
If you love suspense and some thrilled and some twist in it this movie is it. Love these two actresses and they delivered with some surprising twist to it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Passion [Blu-ray]
Passion [Blu-ray] by Brian De Palma (Blu-ray - 2013)
$14.98 $8.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.