Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frolicking in France
The Olsen twins kick off their world-tour of movies in this girl-power adventure in Paris.
THE STORY:
Junior High students Melanie and Allison Porter (Mary-Kate and Ashley) are sent off by their parents to spend Spring Break in Paris with their grandfather to gain some culture. Unfortunately, grandpa, the U.S. Ambassador to Paris, is too busy to spend time with...
Published on September 22, 2003 by Mr. JKW

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Passport to Boredom
As someone who has followed the Olsen's work for many years, I must say that Passport to Paris made me weep. My tears were not of joy but were, rather, of mourning. Mourning for a bygone era to which I had nary a chance to say "goodbye." Goodbye to the sweet, sensitive protrayals of pre-pubescent siblings whose surpisingly complex characters were beautifully...
Published on January 31, 2000 by D. T. Engstrom


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frolicking in France, September 22, 2003
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passport to Paris (DVD)
The Olsen twins kick off their world-tour of movies in this girl-power adventure in Paris.
THE STORY:
Junior High students Melanie and Allison Porter (Mary-Kate and Ashley) are sent off by their parents to spend Spring Break in Paris with their grandfather to gain some culture. Unfortunately, grandpa, the U.S. Ambassador to Paris, is too busy to spend time with the girls so they are babysat by one of his staff members. Hilarity ensues as the girls sample French culture (namely the odd food) and cause their chaperone all types of headaches. Along their adventures the girls befriend a famous French supermodel, bring American culture to the embassy, teach their chaperone some important life lessons and of course, meet some cute French boys!!!
THE ANALYSIS:
While a lot of the dialogue is VERY (pre)-teenish, (jinx anyone???) the story itself is very nicely done. Forgiving some of the antics (given the target audience of the film it's actually perfectly acceptable and in fact probably expected) the movie is just another nicely done story for the pre-teen/teen girl crowd and families. The Olsen's deliver another solidly entertaining story, fun, adventurous and with a moral about standing up for one's self (and the environment) to boat!!!
THE DVD FEATURES:
Like most of their releases on DVD the Olsen's have packed on the standard mini-feature and DOZENS of plugs for their franchise. Here's what you get:
1. Cast and Crew Info: Listing of the main cast and crew.
2. "Fashion Close-Up" - Nice 4 minute featurette detailing the various outfits the girls wore during various scenes in the movie and why they were chosen
3. "Mary-Kate and Ashley Video Highlights" - Extensive filmography off ALL the films done by the girls to date (2001 when this video was released on DVD).
4. "Mary-Kate and Ashley Video Collection Trailer" - The standard video trailer highlighting the girls' various video franchises.
THE VERDICT:
In all, overselling in the DVD features aside, the movie was great for a family viewing on the weekend. Olsen fans should love this first installment in their ever-growing "world tour" video franchise series and parents should be pleased with another clean, quality product from America's favorite twins. Paris' sites are an awesome backdrop to all the fun and adventure in this film. Overall, not a bad addition to their franchise and a fine choice to add to your Olsen collection if you're so inclined.
GRADES:
Film: 4 stars
Extras: 3.5 stars
Overall: 3.75 stars
Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful scenery and cute story!, November 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Passport to Paris [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When I bought this movie, I was buying it just for the promise of beautiful Paris scenery. I was not disappointed and found myself involved in the story as well. Unlike most Olsen fare, this movie is not superficial and annoyingly sweet. The twins did an admirable job of acting, their best in my opinion. I would recommend this video to people of all ages, not just 13 year olds, as I am older and enjoyed it thoroughly. If your a Paris fanatic like me, or just enjoy the cute twins, this movie is worth your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great and these boys Wow., November 24, 1999
By A Customer
This was great, and I'm 13 so I enjoyed it alot. And being my age it's great I get to see something at my age. But girls if you want to see guys in Paris see this movie it's grea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only the Olsen Twins!, October 25, 2002
By 
This review is from: Passport to Paris [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Only the Olsen Twins get to travel the entire world making movies! You just gotta be jealous!
Ok, my 6 year-old daughter really likes Mary-Kate & Ashley... So, we have been collecting all of the "Teen" movies. Nothing from the early years. The collection started with "It takes Two".
This movie is one that you can watch over and over without being bored! (So for you Mom's out there that are looking for a movie that doesn't get on your nerves the 15th time through, this is a winner.) In this one, the girls are off for yet another adventure in Paris... Along the way, they meet two boys. (OF COURSE!) There is romance, adventure, and quite possibly the 2 most fashionable girls on the planet.
Perfect for the girls who are into style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bon Jour, Bon Jour, Bon Jour, Oh My G*D!" ~ "Tres Magnifique Journey", March 18, 2006
This review is from: Passport to Paris (DVD)
I know, you don't have to say it. My G*d it's the Olsen twins, what are you thinking? You're right, Mary-Kate and Ashley are, as always all-knowing, overly cutsie, predictable, trite and juvenile. Every one of their movies is basically the same story set in a different location. Again, all true. However in this one particular film for some reason the formula works.

Join the Olsen twins as they take Paris by storm when they visit their Ambasador Grandfather in the "City of Lights". Aided by a superior supporting cast for a film of this genre you'll be surprised how enjoyable this movie is. My daughter fell in love with this movie years ago and now eighteen, she still watches it. Putting all rational, intellectual criticism aside, this is plain and simple a fun, carefree movie that can be enjoyed by young and old alike!

Wonderful supporting performances by Matt Winston and the lovely Yvonne Scia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Olsen fan pleaser, April 15, 2002
By 
Rebecca (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passport to Paris (DVD)
Even though I'm a lot older than the Olsen twins themselves, I still enjoy watching their movies from time to time. In PASSPORT TO PARIS, we meet Melanie (Mary-Kate Olsen) and Allison (Ashley Olsen) Porter who think they've got it made living in Los Angeles, California. They don't take anything all that seriously, and all they ever do is talk on the phone with their friends, hang out at the mall, and go shopping. What else can you expect from two 13-year-old girls? Their parents think the girls need to know that there's more to life than what they think, so on spring break, the girls' parents send them to visit their stern grandfather in Paris, who just happens to be the US Ambassador to France. Mel and Ally think their lives are over because they were just asked to the Spring Fling Dance by the two most popular, cutest guys at their junior high school, which happens during their spring break. So while in Paris, the girls try to make the best of it--especially after they meet two cute French boys about their age--and end up having the time of their lives in Paris! During their trip to Paris, they also befriend Jeremy, the man who's supposed to take them everywhere and always be with them and they even befriend a French supermodel!
PASSPORT TO PARIS is a fun flick to watch with your friends. The acting is quite good by the entire cast, when the cast speaks in French, it doesn't seem fake, and the plot is good. Plus, the scenary is absolutely gorgeous, particularly because the movie was actually filmed in France. And even the two French boys aren't that bad looking--especially the one who can only speak French. I also liked the way that the Oslen twins themselves produced this movie besides just acting in it. Highly recommended for all Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen twins fans!
NOTE: Some parts are kind of unrealistic, but then again it's a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Passport to Boredom, January 31, 2000
As someone who has followed the Olsen's work for many years, I must say that Passport to Paris made me weep. My tears were not of joy but were, rather, of mourning. Mourning for a bygone era to which I had nary a chance to say "goodbye." Goodbye to the sweet, sensitive protrayals of pre-pubescent siblings whose surpisingly complex characters were beautifully interwoven into simple and yet poignant storylines. Hello to a new breed of Olsen - an Olsen who would rather quickly coast through a predictable plot and grab her paycheck on the way out the door. When did this all get so commercial? Needless to say, Passport to Paris will not be the vehicle to bring the Olsen's their long-overdue Oscar nomination. But it is the perfect vehicle to expose Mary Kate and Ashley for what they've become: Sell-outs to corporate greed who put money ahead of their artistic values. Shame on the Olsens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cute Movie!, June 11, 2000
By A Customer
I liked this movie well enough. It was cute and fun. My 11 year-old niece got me to look at it with her and I enjoyed it. The Twins did a good job as did the actors who played their "love interests." The whole cast was decent. I didn't like the idea much of two 13 year-old girls running off all around Paris with two teenaged boys they didn't know at all (they were only there for a week)! but I took the movie for what it was. A fun fantasy movie for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passport to Paris, December 2, 1999
By 
Ariel Kirst (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
I thought Passport to Paris was a wonderfull movie portraying the adventures two teenage girls have when the visit their grandfather (the american ambassador to france) who expects them to behave like young ladys. Of course the have other plans. I won't give away the ending, but I garentee you, It's a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passport to Paris is funny and has 2 really cute guys!, June 6, 2000
By 
Lauren (Tennesee,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Passport to Paris [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think Passport to Paris is by far one of the best movies of 1999.Brocker Way and Ethan Peck are SO adorable and have the cutest French accents (even though it's easy to tell they're not really from France!)Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen are wonderful actresses, but I think that Brocker Way and Ethan Peck should get a little more attention for their roles as Jean and Michel because the movie would have no point without them.But the movie is still great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Passport to Paris
Passport to Paris by Alan Metter
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.